We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holland House Beach Hotel

Save
Share
Front St 43, Philipsburg 00393 St Martin / St Maarten
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com$297
eDreams$297
Priceline$297
Booking.com$297
Trip.com$297
Travelocity$297
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (691)
Room & Suite (286)
Dining (217)

About

#2 of 12 hotels in Philipsburg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Perfectly located, right on the beach in downtown Philipsburg, the Holland House offers great charm, a unique ambiance and a rich Caribbean experience. Meet the friendly Islanders, relax and enjoy all that St. Maarten has to offer. The hotel is also located on Front Street, where you will find the best shops and boutiques on the island, all still Duty Free! The Hotel offers 55 rooms and suites all recently renovated, an award winning restaurant and wine cellar, a beautiful outdoor lounge deck and a magnificent beach right in front of the hotel with personal and attentive service. It's great to be here!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool / beach towels
Bar / lounge
Beach
Kids stay free
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Dutch
1,009Reviews40Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 474
  • 391
  • 79
  • 37
  • 28
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Necola S wrote a review Apr 13
Orlando, Florida1 contribution
This hotel is a hidden diamond hidden within the busy downtown area on the Dutch side of Saint Maarten. It is family owned hotel which makes it very intimate for travelers. The location to the beach is awesome. You have the opportunity to sightsee downtown without driving around. I love the open floor plan of the lobby area, bar and restaurant. The dining room food is amazing. It is a must to try for dinner during your stay. The hotel rooms are spacious, comfortable and modern. The staff is amazing and they are always willing to assist with your daily plans. I would like to give big shout out to the Front Desk Manager Diana, our amazing waitress Latoya Cross who made us feel at home. The food and beverage manager Jesse who assisted her staff when ever it deemed necessary so the guests didn’t have to wait and last but not less important John who made sure I always had enough tea in the morning and night. I can’t wait to come again and I am sure I will be back to the Holland House. If you are thinking about a nice place to stay which is not to big and has a homey feeling. I suggest you try Holland House. You will not be disappointed. Also don’t believe the people who say that you can walk from the French side to the Dutch. They are telling a Lie. I suggest you rent a car. Necola Tillmon
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Boetekees, General Manager at Holland House Beach Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you so much for your 5 star review! We are very happy that you had a great experience and we look forward to welcome you back soon! Best regards!
Read more
Stephen wrote a review Mar 2021
Miami Beach, Florida2,525 contributions217 helpful votes
+1
We were assigned an older room, on the 3rd floor edge of the building with a partially obstructed view of the Ocean, not what we expected.  We discovered the 4th floor has been fully renovated and was in much better condition.  The central AC is very loud when running, as loud as the older window installed versions of AC.  They start the common grounds music very early, around 7am, and this can be heard inside the room.  The blackout curtains don't block all the light.  All combined with the noise from music & AC made it very uncomfortable for us to rest properly.  The bed is very firm, so much that if one partner moves, the whole bed shakes. The staff experience ranged from friendly to indifferent to rude.  The cleaning staff did a great job.  We waited on the elevator one day for it to open with a uniformed staff member inside who didn't move to make room for us until I said excuse me, and then she didn't even respond verbally or acknowledge us - very rude and awkward.  We had to seek out service for drinks while using the beach lounge chairs on our first day, after asking the staff to direct us where we can sit.  The service at the restaurant was slow  each day & on our last day, despite being seating 5 mins first, a subsequent large group of men showed up next to us, whom the waitresses seemed to know, & chose to take their very large order of 8 people first.  I got up and requested a different waitress take our order, which she did & was very nice to us after that. 
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Choose a room on the 4th floor
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Boetekees, General Manager at Holland House Beach Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Mr. Fox, We are actually surprised and disappointed with your two star review that you also posted on Google. When you made your reservation through Expedia you had various options in room category. The Executive rooms are on the fourth floor and as such carry also a higher rate point. You reserved a regular room with beach view at a 40% discounted rate which was assigned to you; Unfortunately we could not honor your repeated requests and demands for the fourth floor when you arrived at the hotel. Yes indeed, the hotel is full at the moment even with the the Covid situation. The AC's are turned om maximum so its nice and cold when you arrive in your room, simply turning the fan down a bit will reduce any noise to an acceptable level and still give you nice airconditioned room. Unless you leave the sliding door open. In that case the air conditioning will keep running but no cold water will reach the coils. It also helps a lot to close the sliding doors so you have a quiet room. All rooms have upgraded hurricane resistant sliding doors with 1 inch thing glass. At the morning we play very relaxing, soothing music. Not too loud. Most people seem to enjoy it a lot when they relax in the lounge or are heaving breakfast ocean side. The beach side rooms are indeed rather bright, we will look into the black out curtain. Regarding the bed, we use Serta Presidential mattresses. Never had any complaints but we will check out what may have happend. Regarding the staff, and the elevator, considering the covid situation, only one person is allowed in an elevator. We have a bit of a small one but all staff is trained and guest are informed that you keep a distance. during these trying times. We apologize if the service was a bit slow although we also regret that during your stay and your conversations with the Front desk Manager this was not brought up. As a matter of fact none of your complaints have been brought up while you were at the hotel and your pictures show that you seemed to have a really great time here. We try everyday to accommodate each and every guest and we regret when something goes wrong or is not according to expectations. We will instantly make it right, but we also very much recognize when guest are retaliating.
Read more
mhele613611 wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution
Just like a home away from home and Kim and Maggie in a caring but unobtrusive way make sure you are cared for. The house is beautiful and nice to have a pool for cooling off. Also close enough to the beach
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Angela M wrote a review Jan 2021
2 contributions
My husband and I were on our honeymoon. We tried to go to Holland House for breakfast and both times we were denied! The first time we were told we were too late for breakfast so we stayed and had lunch. Not a lot of choices but we ordered. Service was the worst. It took over 40 minutes for them to make a burger and fries and a ceaser salad with grilled shrimp!!! Neither entree was that great considering the wait! When we were leaving another couple just got up and left because of the long wait to be served! On our second attempt to have breakfast we were told they stopped breakfast early because they have residents that had to check out and we could sit and wait more than an hour to have the same crappy lunch we had the last time.....NO THANK YOU The service here sucks and the attitude of the staff is even worse. I come to St Maartin every couple months and always wanted to stay at this hotel but after today my mind is definitely changed. I don’t think I would ever go back not even for breakfast!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Boetekees, General Manager at Holland House Beach Hotel
Responded Jan 11, 2021
Dear Angela, Of course we are disappointed with your review. Unfortunately due to the covid-19 pandemic there are some restrictions in order to provide safety and security for our guests and staff. Therefore we are no longer serving breakfast for guests that are not staying in the hotel. This is to make sure our hotel guests get the best of service with the limited staff we have. For your lunch experience we do apologize if the order was taking a bit longer than normal. I fully understand your disappointment and wish we could have served you in a better way. We will discuss your review within our team meetings and of course you can reach me through our website direct for any further contact.
Read more
RodN wrote a review Jan 2021
Manhattan, New York, United States6 contributions1 helpful vote
I stayed at the Holland House over the Christmas holiday and it was nothing short of brilliant! I'm someone who doesn't like hot weather but I took a chance to get out of my comfort zone to go to the Islands and decided on a stay at the Holland House. What a smart choice! The staff was amazingly friendly and I felt like I had know them for years. The Christmas dinner was wonderful and as a single traveler, I didn't feel alone one bit. My beach view room was awesome and what a view it was. Doing my morning run and ending it with a breakfast at the hotel with a view of the ocean....lovely. The Holland House was a reward for coming out of my comfort zone. I'm definitely coming back in 2021 and beyond! Bravo!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Beach view is a must!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$229 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holland hotel beach, holland beach
LOCATION
CaribbeanSt Martin / St MaartenSint MaartenPhilipsburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
55
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holland House Beach Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holland House Beach Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Joe's Jewelry (0.1 miles), Grand Jewelers (0.03 miles), and Majesty Jewelers (0.03 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Holland House Beach Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Holland House Beach Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holland House Beach Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holland House Beach Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holland House Beach Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Maxine's Caribbean Grill & Bar, Dirty Sanchez Crew Bar, and Gelateria Milano.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holland House Beach Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holland House Beach Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holland House Beach Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Holland House Beach Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Fort Amsterdam (1.1 miles).
Does Holland House Beach Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.