We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort

Save
Share
Sugar Beach, Val des Pitons, Soufriere St. Lucia
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Up to 25% Off
Booking.com
$574
View Deal
Free cancellation until 04/02/21
Expedia.com
$574
View Deal
Free cancellation until 04/11/21
travelup.com
$786
$534
View Deal
SAVE $252
Trip.com$786
eDreams$574
Hotels.com$574
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2786)
360
Panoramas (12)
Videos (2)

About

#6 of 11 hotels in Soufriere
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2020 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort is set amidst more than 100 acres of tropical rainforest on the island's scenic Caribbean coast. Embraced by St Lucia's majestic World Heritage-listed Pitons, the resort's 96 Luxury Sugar Mill Rooms, Cottages, Villas and Luxury Beachfront Bungalows boast elegant styling, private plunge pool, four poster bed, luxurious Egyptian cotton linens, every possible modern amenity, and personalised butler service. Two stunning white sand beaches, beautiful Rainforest Spa with tree house treatment rooms, full PADI dive facility, and superb waterfront dining ensure the ultimate vacation experience with space enough for honeymooners and families alike.
Read more
Room & Suite (823)823
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Canoeing
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Private pool
Plunge pool
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Diving
Snorkeling
Tennis court
Fishing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Mosquito net
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Dining area
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Bay View
Hotel links
Special Offer:Up to 25% Off
2,096Reviews303Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,581
  • 308
  • 119
  • 53
  • 35
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sassshhhaaa wrote a review Nov 24
Atlanta, Georgia41 contributions12 helpful votes
I have visited a few Viceroy properties and this one was very nice. The location is unbeatable. Not far from hikes and other activities in town. Nice, spacious villas. Friendly staff, although I found the service to be inconsistent. Some service at the beach and restaurants were below average. While sitting on the beach, it would take a while to be approached by someone with towels or a menu. Staff doesn't really follow up and it took at least 15 minutes to get a water or drink. They were not readily available. It was quicker to go up to the bar and order yourself. Staff at breakfast was not very attentive. Would have to ask multiple times for things and orders came out missing things. Staff didn't seem too concerned. We did the couples massage which was insanely expensive and wasn't worth it. Overall, great experience and nice people.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Close to the beach and reception
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
James M wrote a review Nov 5
3 contributions
Hotel's Favorite
First time in Saint Lucia and so pleased that we picked this resort. It's absolutely stunning, and for once, the place looks just like the photos on the website. Service was amazing, food was great, and we will definitely be back in the future.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Sterner, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear jamesmL3081KN, Thank you for sharing this excellent review about your stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort. We are extremely pleased to hear you had an unforgettable stay with us, and that our resort facilities, unique location and services provided contributed to it. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future. Sincerely, Mark Sterner General Manager
Read more
handhos wrote a review Nov 24
Atlanta, Georgia54 contributions47 helpful votes
The service here is just atrocious....I’m not sure if it’s the island or the resort, but it just seemed like everything we asked for was an inconvenience at best and an annoyance at the worst. We were able to get a very competitive rate on the room we booked...if we hadn’t, I would have been absolutely beside myself to have paid more. I felt so badly for the honeymooners. The pros are that the location is beautiful and the resort is well maintained. The beach is great and the staff is attentive. Although, even on the beach they forgot to bring us plates and the bill after multiple requests....we ended up leaving and just figured they’d figure out how to bill our room. However, the rest of the service was stunning. We took a taxi from the airport and when we arrived, they instructed our driver to a different part of the resort...we waited outside with our bags for 15-20 minutes before they figured out that they had told us incorrectly. All the bags back into the car and then to the correct room. Other small things that just add up...the plunge pool didn’t work, the hair dryer didn’t work, water on the balcony constantly that created a safety issue, rude butlers that needed to be snarky in their comments when you asked for things, the service at the restaurants was beyond inconsistent with missing items, incorrect orders, etc....I also cut myself and needed bandages which took about 20 minutes to assist with and then no one even asked how I was. Finally, the airport upon entry is terrible if you are coming in with multiple flights. They say it’s COVID, but we have traveled to multiple islands during the pandemic and many are handling it fine and with adequate safety protocols. They just don’t choose to staff this appropriately. Choose elsewhere!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Sterner, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Responded yesterday
Good Day handhos, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort. I would like to apologize for the less than ideal experience you had with us. Our management team will be discussing your concerns to gain a better insight into what went wrong and to ensure there is not a repeat of what you have described. I would have hoped that these issues would have been voiced to management while you were at the resort, so we could have had the opportunity to turn your experience around. Apart from the disappointments mentioned, we are happy that you enjoyed the beautiful setting and one of a kind location of the resort. Once again, thank you for your business and comments. We welcome your feedback as a valuable tool in our efforts towards maintaining the high standards we pride ourselves on. We hope to one day welcome you back. Best Regards Mark Sterner General Manager
Read more
Amber H wrote a review Nov 24
Atlanta, Georgia3 contributions
2020 has been an odd year for many of us, and as such, I was determined to get away for a bit of rest and relaxation. I made the absolute BEST choice in choosing to vacation in St. Lucia, and an even BETTER choice in choosing Sugar Beach as my home away from home. This property is ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!! I visited as a solo traveler, and everything was so perfect! I can't begin to thank my amazing butlers Eugustus and Felecia enough...they made my stay so awesome!!! All of the staff on the property are beyond helpful and friendly! I booked the Superior Luxury Cottage, and I didn't want to come back home. lol. The resort is beyond beautiful, and the service was exceptional! I fell in love with St. Lucia and the people of St. Lucia, and I can't wait to come back! I also want to point out that St. Lucia is doing the most amazing job amid the Covid Pandemic...kudos!!! We could all take a lesson in how they are handling business amid the current pandemic. I am looking forward to booking another stay here in 2021. It was so dreamy!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Heather K wrote a review Nov 21
Bolton, Massachusetts31 contributions2 helpful votes
A true gem of a location – with views of both the Pitons and Caribbean Sea. Overall resort grounds are exceptional, and you really feel like you’ve escaped to paradise. Pros: • The Superior Cottage in the 700s was spacious and had gorgeous views. • Breakfast was a star of the meals, as many other reviews have stated. Nice variety and service. • The beach was clean, and the marine reserve for snorkeling was great (definitely recommend the night snorkel through Water Sports), and we also used the kayaks and saw a sea turtle during our kayak trip. • Shutter drivers were beyond nice, helpful and very informative. We tipped them day and night, most of the drivers were wonderful to interactive with…maybe some of them should be butlers! Learned more from the shuttle drivers than we did from our 2 butlers. Cons: • Food is hit or miss for lunch and dinner. With limited dining options the Bayview restaurant is the main option. For several nights in a row the menu did not change and there were no nightly specials. • Butlers not great. The female butler never wore the mask over her nose – never! Not even when standing a foot away checking us into our room. She also confirmed the night snorkel excursion which never happened, we were left by ourselves in the dark. We ended up booking for the next evening with a weak apology from the butler. She also did not acknowledge my birthday. We spoke to her during check-in process and she said something “special” would be done. I also wrote down on the paper during the check-in that it was my birthday and we were at the resort celebrating. Never have I been to a resort where they completely missed doing something for a celebratory event. • Fisherman on the beach during morning hours. We were told fishing was a priority and to watch-out. The man with the walky-talky was rude and even asked what room we were in…not sure why our room number mattered, we were swimming in the ocean and already had provided that to get our chairs and towels. It was a terrible experience! • The noise! The constant noise of shuttles, golf carts and workers made it nearly impossible to enjoy being on our cottage patio. I was not expecting a hit or miss experience with the food and butler service. It’s unfortunate, as this is not our first visit to St. Lucia.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$589 - $2,188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
jalousie plantation hotel soufrière, jalousie plantation soufrière, jalousie plantation st lucia, jalousie hilton
LOCATION
CaribbeanSt. LuciaSoufriere QuarterSoufriere
NUMBER OF ROOMS
96
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort?
Nearby attractions include Pitons (0.7 miles), Zaka Art Cafe (1.7 miles), and Tet Paul Nature Trail (1.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jade Mountain Club, Martha's Tables, and Fedo's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Balenbouche Estate Heritage Site (5.4 miles).
Does Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.