We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

East Winds

Travelers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
East Winds
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

794 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for East Winds
See the most recent reviews
Showing 783: English reviews
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Caribbean is good news in most areas, but the easy-going friendliness of most St Lucians is second to none, and the staff of EWI exceed even that! From reception to the dining room, and from gardeners to porters they are unfailingly cheerful, courteous and efficient which gives the impression they would do anything for you. We were very pleased...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank SGM701
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review

THANKS FOR THE GREAT, WELL WRITTEN REVIEW After re-reading the first sentence of your review three times over, it was obvious this was going to be an interesting and excellent posting – which it certainly turned out to be. Thanks for stating, in essence, that the staff at East Winds Inn are more than just friendly St. Lucians, but downright...

Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Wow, what a hotel. The staff were absolutely wonderful and nothing was too much trouble for them. They were so helpful, (always smiling) and made you feel very special. They were happy to arrange any trips you wanted to go on even if it was something out of the ordinary. I am sure the manager must be really proud of...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank LizM186230
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review

DREAM REVIEW – THANK YOU Wow – what a review! Thank you very much for your enthusiastic posting relating to your recent stay at East Winds Inn. Everything you comment on, from the “absolutely wonderful staff” who were always smiling and clearly out to please, the “wonderful, airy and spacious rooms” that had everything you needed, the “beautiful grounds” of...

Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

First time in Caribbean, so unsure what to expect. But St. Lucia and East Winds have both met our best expectations in all respects. We have just completed the most relaxing one week break we could ever imagine. Booked via BA holidays and was upgraded to deluxe cottage with aircon. In fact never used aircon as ceiling fan more than...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank approaching60
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review

THANK YOU FOR THE LOVELY REVIEW OF A WEEK IN PARADISE Any review which begins by stating that you have just completed the most relaxing one week break you could ever imagine has to be a good one, and yours certainly is. We greatly appreciate all the kind comments and recognition of detail that made your trip so enjoyable, and...

Oxford, UK
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We choose to go to EWI after our original honeymoon destination caught fire and we didn't want to change our travel dates. We wanted, small (no more than 40ish rooms), all inclusive and no kids. Our travel agent spoke highly of it and we had considered it when doing our research so we set off happy in our choice. We...

 Report
Helpful?
18Thank Lennox'smom
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review

THANKS FOR THE VERY GOOD REVIEW We appreciate the review of your recent honeymoon stay at East Winds Inn, where you chose to come after your initial selection of a Caribbean location experienced an unfortunate fire. We are pleased we could accommodate you on such short notice, as there is typically a lull in hotel occupancies shortly after the New...

Ashtead, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is a small resort where you really can relax. The staff are delightful and they make a real effort to please you. The food, cocktails and wine are excellent. There are no queues and there is no scramble for sun beds. The most stressful activity you are likely to encounter is whether to choose the pool or beach; the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank John W
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review

RELAXED AND ENJOYED YOUR REVIEW – THANK YOU Your review of the second family visit to East Winds Inn is greatly appreciated, particularly the manner in which you highlight the relaxing aspect of the hotel and the choice of activities. Comments pertaining to the delightful staff and their efforts to please are also recognized, as were your enjoyment of the...

Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had a wonderful time. The service was superb and warm. The food was generally delicious particularly the produce. The accommodations were top rate. We loved the semi outdoor but very private shower. The grounds were like a botanical garden. The beach was very inviting and the swimming area was gentle and quite large. We used the Hobie cat and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jesse K
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review

A WONDERFUL REVIEW – THANK YOU We greatly appreciate your candid and favourable review covering your recent stay at East Winds Inn. Your style is concise and to the point, and your overall tone and remarks are most flattering – especially relating to the service being “superb and warm”. All the staff at East Winds will be most happy to...

London, England
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a lovely place. It's not earth-shatteringly stunning in the way that Jade Mountain is. It's a cosier, simpler, gentler experience. The staff are really exceptional. The food is good (not mind-blowing, but good). The beach is very pleasant and, apparently, this is the only small hotel on the beach in St Lucia. The other beach-front places having been...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank BLJ
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review

THANKS FOR THE SPECIAL REVIEW This is a lovely review. It encapsulates all the important elements of East Winds Inn accurately and with feeling – particularly the human characteristics that make it tick. Receiving such positive feedback from a seasoned traveler and reviewer is both gratifying and meaningful for any potential guest, with emphasis on some of the adjectives which...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I am usually a "cup half full gal" and from all the fabulous reviews on Trip Advisor, I thought I had it figured out, East Winds was going to be perfect for a 6 day get away, on my own for peace and quiet and from what I was charged, I was expecting to receive reasonable luxury and good service....

 Report
Helpful?
21Thank FreeGal23
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review

CUP HALF EMPTY REVIEW GOOD, BUT CERTAINLY NOT GREAT We acknowledge your review of the six days spent at East winds Inn over the recent Christmas period, and are genuinely disappointed that you did not have the total experience of your expectations. The Christmas Season is viewed as a very special time of year for the resort, with all the...

Birmingham
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I visited East Winds for 10 days in summer 2012, having spent the past 3 summers at different resorts in Antigua. The primary reason for choosing East Winds were all of the positive reviews on Tripadvisor, and knowing how much stock the resort places in the reviews I've given it 4/5 with some trepidation (!) but ultimately...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank PaulandJane10
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review

THANKS FOR THE “VERY GOOD” REVIEW FROM YOUR TRIP LAST SUMMER We appreciate receiving our first review for the 2013 calendar year, albeit based on a very good experience dating back to June 2012. The minor items you have specifically commented upon that held you back from granting an excellent review have been dealt with - quite some time ago...

New York City, New York
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Like many of the other reviewers on this board, we had read the trip advisor posts and figured everything people said was too good to be true. Well, it wasn't. Following our wedding earlier this month, my wife and I headed to East Winds for a much needed 9 day vacation and by the time we departed, we agreed we...

 Report
Helpful?
13Thank Jim G
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review

THANK YOU FOR THE PERFECT “SPOT ON” HONEYMOON REVIEW As we have been by so many other reviews before receipt of this special posting relating to your honeymoon experience at East Winds Inn, we are again humbled by the sheer magnitude of positive comments which we too find too good to be true, yet appreciate so gratefully. It is only...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,109 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (842)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (186)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (99)
Viewed
View from Room (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (76)
Viewed
Dining (101)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
2:21
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (306)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (231)
Viewed
Amenities (29)
Viewed
Beach (40)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (44)
Viewed
Pool (21)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
15.3 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
896 reviews
7.6 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
17.2 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,003 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
825 reviews
22.3 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover Saint Lucia’s best kept secret and immerse yourself in true Caribbean luxury. East Winds Saint Lucia is a breathtaking garden-by-the-sea, planted on the island's most picturesque sandy bay. Our Island Hideaway is Saint Lucia's original boutique resort featuring 30 cottage style suites, tucked away amongst lush plants, trees and a kaleidoscope of colourful bird-life. East Winds is home to what many consider the finest beach on the island and our guests share it with very few others just like them; travellers looking for personalised care and all-inclusive service in the most authentic of Caribbean experiences. Come experience the Caribbean the way it was meant to be experienced. ... more   less 

Additional Information about East Winds

Address: La Brellotte Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Price Range: $652 - $1,176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — East Winds 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, West Indies, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your East Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Winds Hotel Gros Islet
East Winds Resort All Inclusive
East Winds St. Lucia/Gros Islet
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from East Winds staff and other travelers.
69 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (69)

Questions? Get answers from East Winds staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms further away from the beach are more intimate but just a short walk away.”
 of 5 bubbles grankan, 1 week ago | Read review
“Our room number 28 was excellent, a cottage overlooking the beach and palm trees, we would have no hesitation of taking a sea view cottage.”
 of 5 bubbles Tikkitie, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“The Suite is superb.”
 of 5 bubbles davidlP226HC, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“This is a small resort, all cottages are wonderfully placed.”
 of 5 bubbles 333beachgirl333, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Ocean front mini-suite is beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles , Feb 8, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question