We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ivy Hotel

1149 Ave Magdalena Condado, San Juan 00907-1710 Puerto Rico
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (39)
360
Panoramas (6)
Room & Suite (23)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#58 of 58 hotels in San Juan
Location
3.6
Cleanliness
3.0
Service
1.6
Value
1.9
The Ivy Hotel at Condado is a newly refreshed and remodeled hotel located in the Magdalena Avenue. After over a year in remodeling our structure and rooms, we offer our guest the experience to enjoy, relax and stay at a urban boutique hotel where they can enjoy the nightlife and the Condado activities. Offering up to 26 rooms, The Ivy Hotel has the best spot for you to enjoy an escape from the routine or just to spend some time with the family. Choose between our Tropical Double Queen, Fresh Double Twin or our simple Modern King and stay with us and enjoy your time.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Bicycle rental
Bicycle tours
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Canoeing offsite
Evening entertainment
Walking tours
Nightclub / DJ
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
51Reviews2Q+A9Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 12
  • 4
  • 8
  • 6
  • 21
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Dan B wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
Pros: not corporate...great location one block from beach...large, quiet room. Check in was easy, fast and allowed us to do so several hours early. Cons: Almost no housekeeping for us! We stayed 8 nights and although our clean the room sign was visible outside our room every day, our room was only cleaned 1 time! Dirty towels got stacked up on floor (see photo) and I had to ask for clean towels every day (and toilet paper eventually too). Trash backed up. I asked for a broom to at least sweep the sand in the room myself...was not provided with one (in fact each time I went to the desk to ask they took my room number for some reason...but nothing ever happened). Spoke to 2 different people at the front desk about getting the room cleaned on 2 separate occasions with nothing happening. We saw a cleaning person cleaning the room across from us and assumed we would be next...so we grabbed our things and left quickly...unfortunately no one cleaned the room. Kind of unacceptable and eventually unsanitary...as one of the front counter people said to me it should have been cleaned everyday. Hotel location etc excellent...hotel service poor.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Most of the amenities listed on trip advisor for this hotel don't exist.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
J6798FXjosev wrote a review Oct 2023
San Juan, Puerto Rico3 contributions
We purchased a Gustazos that included welcome drinks and Continental breakfast, which we did not receive any of them. When we asked for the Continental breakfast we got an actitud from the host, indicating that service is no longer available. We asked how can we solve this situation, because we paid for a stay with Continental breakfast included. The host continue with actitud and make some phone call. We were referred to another hotel and had to walk a block, where they had no Continental breakfast neither. So we had to purchase breakfast elsewhere, spending more money. Also the elevator is not in service. We had to climb four floors with luggages and absolutely no help from the hotel concierge or staff.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rafael Elías, General Manager at The Ivy Hotel
Responded Oct 18, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at our property. We appreciate your comments and regret that your experience did not meet your expectations. Our deepest apologies for your experience. Our goal is to ensure that every guest has a pleasant and memorable experience. We take guest feedback seriously and use it as an opportunity to enhance our services. We still serving breakfast at our sister hotel, The Wave, but since October 1, 2023 we replace our Continental Breakfast for coffee, juice and a selected wrapped sandwich to honor the Gustazo offer. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide you with an even more enjoyable stay with us. Best Regards!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sandrine M wrote a review Sep 2023
5 contributions
+1
This hotel looks nice in pictures. It’s been all renovated. But when you get there, this is an entire other story. We didn’t have toilet paper when we arrived. We had to ask twice for them to give it to us (and we had to go get it at the front office ourselves), the towels were all stained (yellowish and brownish), the soap (usually packages in paper) that was used by the previous people was used in the shower, with the paper next to it. There was a Q tip in one of the night stand drawers. The floor wad all dirty. At night, around 1am, people were yelling and partying in The hallway and the bedroom with laud music and slamming doors. I tried to call the front office twice but no one answered. The worse thing is the staff is not friendly and helpful AT ALL. They just don’t care. We asked them to clean the room after spending one night but they said they only had 1 maid that day and she was gone already. I would ‘t recommend this hotel to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Edwin wrote a review Sep 2023
Puerto Rico1 contribution
Rooms were ok… nothing out of the extraordinary but it had a weird smell to it. The location is nice, it’s near condado area almost everything walking distance. AWFUL service. Since we came in we had problems to check-in and confirmed our reservation had the late check-out at 1pm since it was included. We had Late Check-out included and when we were about to check out, we told the lady at the front desk that our check out was at 1pm. She looked at us and said no it’s at 12pm but with a bad attitude. Then I told her that our stay had included the late check out. She then said with the same very bad attitude, “well if you said that at first”. Then my partner said well there’s a problem with organization because we said that at check in and she confirmed it. She then responded with even more attitude… “No the problem is communication” Honestly for being a “Hotel” it had a horrible customer service. Not recommended at all if you want a pleasant vacation.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rafael Elías, General Manager at The Ivy Hotel
Responded Sep 23, 2023
Dear Edwin, Thank you for letting us know about this particular situation. Our sincere apologies for the misunderstanding regarding your departure time. We are working with our reception staff to ensure that this does not happen to other guests. With regard to the smell in the rooms, the cleaning fragrances have been changed, so that it has a fresh and pleasant smell.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Dar G wrote a review Jun 2023
San Antonio, Texas3 contributions3 helpful votes
The area is unsafe, no parking on site or even nearby, staff doesn't care enough (if you can get their attention from being on the phone), no towels or sheets, rooms not properly cleaned, mattress had stains, AC doesn't cool, windows don't close, no closet, no hangers, our room had no nightstand and only ONE working outlet to charge our phones on floor! Staff does nothing except “notate it,” there’s no restaurant, and DO NOT leave your credit card on file! They will charge random things like $91 for checking out 5 minutes after noon. Internet never worked! Management NEVER reached out even after requesting many times to fix charges. No apologies. A comment under this review will not suffice! I want my money back!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Unsafe to walk around at night, nearest parking is $20 and blocks away! No restaurant, no towels,...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daisy Otero, Revenue Management at The Ivy Hotel
Responded Jun 27, 2023
We appreciate the time you took to share your overall experience with us. Our property check-out time is 12noon or before, there is a fee for late check-out if it’s not informed before hand to our front desk staff. We also apologize for any miscommunication as we are in the process of a management restructure and apologize for any miscommunication that may have happen during your stay, we are working hard to improve the overall experience for our guests.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Flip Texas B wrote a review Jun 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The ONLY thing great about this hotel is its gorgeous outside structure and it's close proximity to the beach despite having any view. It is located blocks from the beach, however it's not the safest place to be strolling at night. Every single time we walked outside someone popped out of nowhere to aggressively beg us for money. The inside rooms were horribly put together. The beds were cheap and uncomfortable. Not enough sheets or towels. The shampoo conditioner wall fixture was broken and on the floor. Our window in the shower would not close and no one ever showed up to fix it. Therefore, our room would never cool and our room was infested with mosquitoes! When I asked the front desk for towels, they gave me a collab of what looked like pool and lost and found towels along with one white towel covered in blood stains. When I repeatedly requested to speak with management, no one was ever on the premises. All they could do was "notate it" in the computer. I was never contacted by anyone, nor did anyone attempt to fix the many issues I encountered. Even after many attempts after my stay, did anyone return my calls or emails but I bet they are going to respond with a half ass apology in the comments below instead of trying to make things right! I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rafael Elías, Director General at The Ivy Hotel
Responded Jun 21, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at our property. We appreciate your comments and regret that your experience did not meet your expectations. Our deepest apologies for your experience, we have been in the process of dealing with a management restructuring. Our goal is to ensure that every guest has a pleasant and memorable experience. We take guest feedback seriously and use it as an opportunity to enhance our services. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide you with an even more enjoyable stay with us. Best Regards!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Peter W wrote a review Apr 2023
Leicester33 contributions37 helpful votes
This hotel is a disaster. We arrived at 16.05 hrs the booking in time was from 16.00 hrs. Only 1 of the 2 rooms was apparently ready so we all went to this room. We were promised that the second room would be ready in 30 mins. When we got to the first room we noticed there were no towels. I enquired at reception only to be told that there were none at the moment as they were all in the laundry. I asked how long and she said about 30 mins. We waited for over an hour and there was still no sign of the second room being ready or any towels. We checked the bedding and noticed some staining on the pillow case. We went to recption and enquired again about the second room and towels and was told they would be ready shortly. On our way back to our room we noticed the second room which we had been allocated was being cleaned, but the maid was sitting on the bed having a drink of water and talking on her phone. We asked if she was cleaning the room for us and she replied yes but in an unfriendly manner. We waited a further 30 mins, still no room or towels. We decided we had had enough and left. I would certainly not recommend this Hotel to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rafael Elías, General Manager at The Ivy Hotel
Responded Jun 18, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at our property. We appreciate your comments and regret that your experience did not meet your expectations. Our deepest apologies for your experience, we have been in the process of dealing with a management restructuring. Our goal is to ensure that every guest has a pleasant and memorable experience. We take guest feedback seriously and use it as an opportunity to enhance our services. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide you with an even more enjoyable stay with us. Best Regards!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
fabiochairman wrote a review Apr 2023
4 contributions2 helpful votes
I unfortunately had a terrible experience with Ivy Hotel Puerto Rico. They charged me an incorrect amount on my credit card, without my authorization and after almost a month, several calls, several emails (nobody answered any emails), I still haven't received my money back, showing a huge disrespect to their guests/ customers. Don't trust them to share your credit card information, pay cash only.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Worst hotel service I have ever experienced. (I travel twice a month every month due to my job)
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rafael Elías, General Manager at The Ivy Hotel
Responded Jun 18, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at our property. We appreciate your comments and regret that your experience did not meet your expectations. Our deepest apologies for your experience, we have been in the process of dealing with a management restructuring. Our goal is to ensure that every guest has a pleasant and memorable experience. We take guest feedback seriously and use it as an opportunity to enhance our services. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide you with an even more enjoyable stay with us. Best Regards!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Enzo Mammato wrote a review Mar 2023
Trapani, Italy15 contributions17 helpful votes
The stay had gone well up until the time we left. We checked out and they told us everything was fine, when I got home I saw that they took $27 without knowing why. I tried to call them and write emails but as soon as I touch the subject they hang up the phone and they don't answer anymore. We called with another number and they finally answered telling us that they took the money as they found some make-up on the pillow, what absolutely false. We asked for photos but they didn't have any, suggesting to block the money from our credit card. A real scam that I hope to solve. Definitely change hotels.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Daisy Otero, Owner at The Ivy Hotel
Responded Jun 27, 2023
We appreciate the time you took to share your overall experience with us. Our property does take security deposit for any incidentals and that includes damages done to the room, this is explained on the policy signed during the check-in process. We are in the process of a management restructure and apologize for any miscommunication that may have happen during your stay, we are working hard to improve the overall experience for our guests.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sandra F wrote a review Mar 2023
New York City, New York1 contribution
The hotel entrance was clean, but the room was much smaller than it looked in the photos and we were supposed to have 2 beds. The room we were given when we checked in only had one and the bed was quite soft and the WORST pillows ever. We were given towels that we couldn't tell if they were white and old or a light grey. Even though it was an adult only hotel, our floor had people running down the hall all night and it was hard to get a good nights sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rafael Elías, General Manager at The Ivy Hotel
Responded Jun 18, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at our property. We appreciate your comments and regret that your experience did not meet your expectations. Our deepest apologies for your experience, we have been in the process of dealing with a management restructuring. Our goal is to ensure that every guest has a pleasant and memorable experience. We take guest feedback seriously and use it as an opportunity to enhance our services. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide you with an even more enjoyable stay with us. Best Regards!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the San Juan area.
PRICE RANGE
$147 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ascend collection le consulat, ascend collection san juan, clarion san juan
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Le Consulat An Ascend Collection Hotel
LOCATION
CaribbeanPuerto RicoSan Juan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE IVY HOTEL $148 ($̶2̶3̶0̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews - San Juan, Puerto Rico

Frequently Asked Questions about The Ivy Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Ivy Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Condado Beach (0.09 miles), Ashford Avenue (0.1 miles), and Casino del Mar at La Concha Resort (0.08 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Ivy Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and facilities for disabled guests.
What food & drink options are available at The Ivy Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free instant coffee during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to The Ivy Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pannes, Cocina Abierta, and Ben & Jerry's Condado.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Ivy Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Ivy Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to The Ivy Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Old San Juan (2.9 miles), San Juan National Historic Site (2.9 miles), and Castillo San Felipe del Morro (3.4 miles).
Is The Ivy Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.