We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
1055 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907 Puerto Rico
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2424)
Panoramas (18)
Room & Suite (540)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 06/30/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Updated 06/30/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#4 of 53 hotels in San Juan
Travelers' Choice
Magnificent Spanish Revival architecture, stunningly opulent interiors and dramatic ocean views frame the graceful facade of one of the most storied hotels in San Juan, Puerto Rico. Since its inception in 1919, the Condado Vanderbilt Hotel has catered to sophisticated travelers who place one aspiration above all else - to pursue a lifestyle of five-star luxury and leisure within some of the world's most exclusive destinations. Restored to its original grandeur by virtue of a meticulous renovation, this cherished landmark stands today as a monument to timeless elegance and style. We invite you to discover Puerto Rico as it is meant to be experienced - where exacting service, exquisite amenities and fine dining are a hallmark of every stay. Become part of the Condado Vanderbilt legend during your next escape to San Juan.
Read more
Room & Suite (540)540
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycles available
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Plunge pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Poolside bar
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private beach
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Room service
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Great View
Languages Spoken
2,668Reviews296Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,081
  • 350
  • 121
  • 55
  • 62
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Honestly Tori wrote a review Oct 2020
San Juan, Puerto Rico136 contributions14 helpful votes
We come here often as residence of Puerto Rico. We spend a lot of money, tip well, enjoy the pool, & have a great time! We came here with visiting family on a Tuesday afternoon. It was empty with only 4-5 people in the pool. We asked for towels so we could sit on the day beds (which we’ve done a number of times before) but they refused. We spoke to the manager politely & he suggested taking our business elsewhere because they aren’t allowed to offer day beds to non-hotel residence. The place is empty! I realize businesses have to take serious COVID precautions, but this is just ridiculous. Use common sense! Businesses are shutting because of lack of customers during the pandemic yet the Vanderbilt is refusing to accommodate regular, paying, appreciative customers. Such a
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Response from Ben Tutt, General Manager at Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear honestlytori, We appreciate the feedback and apologize for any confusion. As a rule we only allow guests staying at the hotel to use the pool facilities. These areas have never been open to non-hotel guest. I believe when you came in the past they must have assumed that you were staying at the hotel. Additionally, with the new executive order from the governor we can only seat 25% of the capacity of the area and are required to have a reservations system for our hotel guests only. We do appreciate the business but have to advise that the hotel pool areas are exclusively for guests staying at the hotel. If you decide to come and stay with us we would be happy to have you join us on the pool deck. At your service, Ben Tutt
Read more
Gloria Pilar wrote a review Oct 2020
12 contributions6 helpful votes
The hotel is the best in Puerto Rico 🇵🇷. The service is excellent excellent!!!. All the staff is very helpful. I’m going back in November.It’s also very clean and safe.🧿🌹❤️😘🇵🇷🧿🧿My family and my daughter’s friend they go twice to every 3 months
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
1 Helpful vote
divadan wrote a review Sep 2020
Chicago, Illinois186 contributions130 helpful votes
I have wanted to stay here for years on previous visits, but it never worked out. Finally, I decided to take a trip with my mom and treat her to this legendary hotel. I’m not sure why it’s so famous, as it does not live up to the hype. Ok, so yes we are in a pandemic and that’s true for every hotel operating right now. They are all under new restrictions, rules, and regulations. I’ve been to many in these times and never did I get the lack of professional service like I received here. Also, I’ve been to over 80 countries and stayed in huts, hostels, tents, caves, and luxury hotels all over the place. I keno what a property like this should provide. PROS: Excellent food. Wonderful spa services. Great views. Quiet rooms. Nice bedding. Great bathrooms and toiletries. Nice pool
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4 Helpful votes
lmr227 wrote a review Sep 2020
Sydney, Australia41 contributions12 helpful votes
It used to be a nice hotel. Marble floor and pretty staircase - that’s all there. There are also: - heavy smell of marijuana everywhere - rude security saying that it’s fine - meanwhile front desk saying that it’s a non smoking hotel but what can they do - dirty common areas - extremely slow service in restaurant - like 2-3 hours wait for breakfast. We were waiting for a boiled egg, for few hours ! I wish it was not true. - drunk, high, heavily tattooed crowd - overcrowded pool with described above crowd. We would never be back!!! And we used to come every couple of years. And as a nice addition - no doormen, no porters, one extremely rude front desk person and of course no maid services
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
2 Helpful votes1 Repost
Response from Ben Tutt, General Manager at Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear IMR227, My apologies for your experience while at the hotel. During the time that you were here there were extreme restrictions on the hotel because of our governors executive order that are not typical of our operation. Since this stay we have been allowed to return Valet services, Porters, Doormen, and restaurants. By law we would not clean rooms unless guests had meet the restrictions of testing when they come to Puerto Rico, this is still in place as a protection for our team members. On the side of the other guests that negatively impacted your stay I am truly sorry. We do have security and enforce a $500 penalty for anyone smoking on the property. Even with this we do have problems from time to time. I can share that during the time that you were here we did have to remove some guests from the hotel for what you describe and the fact that they negatively impacted other guests. I would like to try and make this up to you and invite you back based on your past experiences and time with us. We all know and hope that the current restriction and rules will be lifted and we will get back to 100% but we know that for know we have to do what is required. Please feel free to reach out to me directly, 787-985-7819, as I would appreciate the direct feedback and would love the opportunity to keep you as one of our loyal customers. At your service, Ben Tutt General Manager
Read more
hsam wrote a review Sep 2020
West Hartford, Connecticut35 contributions34 helpful votes
I got a great deal using a 3rd party website. I absolutely loved the hotel and the grounds. If I had no desire to conveniently swim in the ocean, I would stay here every time I go to San Juan. Here are a few pro's and con's: Pro's: Room was great. Large, clean and comfortable. Great in-room amenities. Quiet. Loved the restaurants. Loved having a quiet pool and hot-tub. Lots of interesting places to linger on the property. Free coffee in the lobby. Con's Smoking. The grounds are signed as no smoking but every single day there were smokers around me. Staff didn't do anything about it. Hopefully with COVID they are now more attentive to that. Beach - the beach was great but swimming was difficult, even for someone like me who generally is ok with large waves. I think next time
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
$313 - $615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
CaribbeanPuerto RicoSan Juan
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing