We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

S.J. Suites

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
S.J. Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 224: English reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2016 via mobile

Over all I enjoyed my stay. It was inexpensive. A bit in the older side. Nobody at the desk at night no phones in the room. Parking is a few blocks a way. But it was very cheap. We paid like 3 bucks a day. The daytime concierge Raymond is awesome. Very informative and helpful. The room was very clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jay D
SJSuites, Manager at S.J. Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review Jay D. We hope to see you on your next trip to Puerto Rico. Raymond

Reviewed August 5, 2016 via mobile

This place is a joke they said there's complimentary coffee but they have no cups, the smell in this place is unbelievable our first time here in Puerto Rico and this is the service weekend I will never stay at a place like this ever

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Longoria E
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed June 22, 2016

Two of us went to San Juan Memorial Day weekend to celebrate my birthday. It was my first time in Puerto Rico and didn't much care for anything spectacular in a hotel choice. My main thing was location...which this hotel is smack in the middle of everything important. We did book this hotel through a package on Kayak. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SheKnowsOk
Sierra Madre, California
Reviewed May 30, 2016

1st night: no hot water in our room. Lumpy mattress. Night clerk did not change our room. Next morning: day clerk changed us to the adjacent room, that had plenty of hot water and a comfortable bed. Bare minimum supplies: no drinking glasses; one tiny wastebasket, in bathroom. No windows. Room rate was very inexpensive. AC worked. Really not a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jonathan K
SJSuites, Manager at S.J. Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid review, we really appreciate it. Apologies for any inconvenience in the room changes. We are striving to better our guest experience. Thank you for letting us know, your opinion helps us. We do hope you return sometime in the near future. Regards, The S.J Suites Team.

Monroe, New Jersey
Reviewed April 12, 2016

Great location for a night's stay before going on a cruise. It is conveniently located in Old San Juan, close to sights, restaurants and shopping. The staff is friendly. The negatives are no windows in the room, a/c is controlled at desk and very spartan. The "suite" is one room. We did ask several times to have the temperature adjusted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CCH1223
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed April 6, 2016

We cancelled our trip a month before due to the Zika virus and pregnancy. The CDC and our doctor told us to not travel. Unfortunately we booked our first and last night here. S.J. Suits is the only hotel that would not refund our money. The other hotels/airline/excursions all gave us full refunds. The owner and manager were not helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank katelholmes
Reviewed April 2, 2016 via mobile

Booked a Hotwire deal and received this hotel. Met by excellent and friendly staff. Vídal checked us in and gave several helpful tips about the area. We stayed here before boarding a cruise and they allowed us to store our luggage until we could board our ship. Would recommend staying here if you're in town.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank JRQ15
Houston, Texas
Reviewed March 16, 2016

I really want to give a perfect rating based on staff, location and prior visits and feel bad for only giving very good rather than excellent... reasoning below. Pros: Raymond is awesome. Out of all hotel personnel I have encountered in nearly 45 years of life, Raymond has been by far the friendliest and most knowledgeable person I have ever...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kevinbduff
Phoenixville
Reviewed February 29, 2016

Great location for one night before a cruise. Free sightseeing trolley passes right by, easy walk to restaurants, lots of sights, and can even drag luggage to the pier (all level or downhill). Lobby is on 2nd floor, and you must be buzzed in. Then need to use key to unlock another barrier door after exiting elevator on room floor....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe O
Sudbury
Reviewed February 28, 2016

This is a great little hotel in the heart of old San Juan. ?Raymond at the front desk is a credit to the establishment. He went above and beyond to answer questions, offer advice, provide directions, store our luggage and call cabs for our party of 4. If you're looking for glamour go elsewhere. If you're looking for a clean,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lana J
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#34 of 46 in San Juan
884 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
0.1 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#27 of 46 in San Juan
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#17 of 46 in San Juan
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cervantes
Cervantes
#23 of 46 in San Juan
472 reviews
0.1 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 46 in San Juan
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of Old San Juan. Enjoy the rich history of Old San Juan. Old San Juan has an abundance of museums, stores, excellent restaurants, open air café, tree shaded plazas, majestic homes and buildings the let you appreciate its old beauty and architectonic peculiarity.Whether for a day or a week, by staying in S.J. Suites Hotel you are assuring that you’ll have a stay full of interesting things to do in Old San Juan, declared as World Heritage Site by UNESCO in (1983). Explore & enjoy the amazing array of points of interest in Old San Juan and then come and rest in one of our comfortable rooms.We're also conveniently located close to the Cruise Piers. There are over 40 points of interest steps away from S.J. Suites Hotel… so get ready to explore! ... more   less 

Additional Information about S.J. Suites

Address: Fortaleza St. #253 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Price Range: $92 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — S.J. Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your S.J. Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s.j. Hotel San Juan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from S.J. Suites staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
SAN JOSE
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from S.J. Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“check that hot water is available. check for comfort of mattress. check that bathroom sink is securely attached to floor.”
 of 5 bubbles mrhipster2, May 30, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with windows.”
 of 5 bubbles CCH1223, Apr 12, 2016 | Read review
“The rooms overlooking Fortaleza can be a bit noisy at night (car noise and passers-by)”
 of 5 bubbles kevinbduff, Mar 16, 2016 | Read review
“Stayed on level 4 - found the room to be quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 871lanaj, Feb 28, 2016 | Read review
“As for a non-interior room, or you won't have a window.”
 of 5 bubbles teenasnewyork, Jul 8, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay