We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
109 Ave Universidad Paseo Jaime Benitez, San Juan 00925-2424 Puerto Rico
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$133
Hotels.com$105
Travelocity$105
Orbitz.com$105
Agoda.com$133
Tripadvisor$105
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (89)
360
Panoramas (1)
Room & Suite (266)

About

#34 of 59 hotels in San Juan
Location
3.7
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.2
Value
4.3
GreenLeaders Gold level
A gem for the budget traveler. Centrally located in San Juan, Puerto Rico. Not in the touristic area. Very clean, comfortable and recently renovated rooms. Nearby Int'l Airport, University of Puerto Rico, Plaza las Americas Shopping Center, VA Hospital, Paseo de Diego, Piers. Old San Juan and Puerto Rico Convention Center are 4 miles away from us. Exceptionally warm, friendly and professional service.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
309Reviews41Q+A71Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 124
  • 96
  • 42
  • 19
  • 28
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ramon A wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
I am a local who stayed for a couple of days during Hurricane Fiona and the experience was horrible Staff spying on costumers room poor costumer service veri high prices for what you are paying and poor and dangerous location. You would be better staying at a motel. There are a couple of motels in the island that are of better quality. And cheaper I would not recommend. And if you do stay here by any chance don't leave anything in the room this people like to spy on people's rooms and go thru people's stuff. This is place us not safe and very expensive
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
PuertoRicoLorna wrote a review Jul 2022
Puerto Rico4 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed for the Bad Bunny concert event, because we knew it would end late and did not want to di Drive late at night with children. The room smelled like mold. Linens were not as clean as one could expect. I even felt bugs biting. Lightning of the room poor. We have stayed in better places for the same amount of money, even less. The beds also need Improvement.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Rocketpup55 wrote a review Jun 2022
156 contributions75 helpful votes
Clean, safe hotel in location convenient to the airport. Great for a quick stopover just to sleep. Beds are hard and pillows not so comfortable for my taste but it’s an inexpensive option that we will likely use again when passing through San Juan on a late flight. We got in at three in the morning and they were gracious and able to accommodate at that hour.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
JLos World Shop wrote a review Jul 2021
3 contributions
I am here as of right now in room 211 and I can't even sit in the room due to the mold and mildew smell. Either from the air conditioning or the firdge. This is very unsafe for anyone with health conditions or with children
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
vel4769 wrote a review Dec 2020
Boqueron, Puerto Rico11 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
This hotel is a budget hotel and I truly understand that. However budget or not certain services come standard (Hot running water for instance). Me and my wife had a unsatisfactory stay here at this hotel. The hotel is located near the university of Rio Pierdas so it’s noisy at night. That’s to be expected as young adults congregate nearby the bars. The thing is the neighborhood has a homeless problem and many of them seem to have substance abuse issues. When I asked the front desk was the neighborhood safe. The young lady answered this is Rio Piedras. I guess it meant no. Our room was clean and neat but had no running hot water. I told the front desk and several hours later the maintenance man showed up and tried to fix it. There was hot water for several minutes while he troubleshoot it but after the maintenance man left . The water was cold again. My poor wife had to shower one body part at a time in order to shower. I was going to go back to the front desk and complain but realize what good would it do. The maintenance man said the hot water came from all the way in the 5th floor and it takes awhile for it to make it to the bottom of the building. I was at street level and 30 minutes later running the water it never got warm again. The only thing that worked was properly was the AC. I walked around the neighborhood during the day and noticed drug sales taking place out in the open. Vagrants congregating on corners. Not a Safe place where families would feel safe. I tolerated the 3 nights because My wife had to attend a job meeting in the San Juan area. My advice is you skip this BAD Dreams hotel and for a couple of dollars more stay in a secure hotel elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elena Pagan, Owner at Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Responded Dec 23, 2020
Hi Mr. Marcelino Vazquez: We regret that your stay was not what you expected and we apologize if the right thing was not done. You complained to the front desk regarding the hot water. We immediately called the plumber to verify the situation. How would you understand he was not on the property and had to get to it. With you in the room, the situation was verified and you told us that the problem was resolved. We were not told that you had problems with the hot water again, and no other guest reported a complaint. More than that you extended additional nights after the incident. From that we thought, everything was fine. In my personal opinion, if I don't like a place, I don't extend more nights. We are very sorry for the situation and hope you and your family have a Merry Christmas.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
galos593 wrote a review Mar 2020
Kissimmee, Florida, United States440 contributions43 helpful votes
Nice and clean small hotel but good the room was clean and neat comfortable beads good AC has a bar and some fast food down stairs also a Walgreens around the corner ,good staff members has a fridge microwave table cable tv VERY CLEAN .
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: room 312 was super clean
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from elenapagan, Manager at Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Responded Mar 26, 2020
Thanks for you visit and for the nice review. Thanks for let other people know that we are a very clean hotel, and that our staff members are good. Thanks for choosing us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Francesca F wrote a review Jan 2020
Belchertown, Massachusetts33 contributions4 helpful votes
Everyone here was so friendly, especially Kathleen who checked us in in the wee hours of the morning, and Maricarmen, who was full of wonderful, helpful suggestions whenever we had questions. The rooms are spacious and the location is wonderful, right near the university and with lots of eateries right nearby. We came at the end of the Christmas holidays (Jan 5–9), and even though many places were closed, many were open--and many stayed open even when the earthquakes hit and the whole island lost power! The hotel has generators, as did many local businesses. You're within walking distance of the Tren Urbano, and not far from the university's botanic garden, which is beautiful.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Carol Z wrote a review Dec 2019
Bend, Oregon22 contributions8 helpful votes
We stayed here prior to flying home from a family trip. It’s a short trip to the airport, 5-10”. I appreciated the friendly staff, clean rooms, and green focus. But we didn’t get any sleep. Both the noise outside, and from a group of loud girls in the room next door who partied all night kept us awake. Perhaps because it was the weekend between Christmas and New Years, there were also intermittent fireworks all night. But it’s also along an active street with bars and restaurants, near a university and student housing. If you stay here and want an excellent meal at a very reasonable price try El 8 de Blanco less than a block away.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
reblyn2016 wrote a review Dec 2019
Chandler, Arizona18 contributions7 helpful votes
Room is basic but sparkling clean. Comfortable and in good location several restaurants within walking distance. Walgreens a block away for last minute essentials. Staff is exceptionally friendly. Three blocks from university. Would definitely stay again and recommend to friends
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ann L wrote a review Jun 2019
Madison, Wisconsin181 contributions18 helpful votes
This hotel and its location give you a much better cultural feel than the cookie-cutter chain hotels. The rooms were very clean and had what you needed, with the exception of a hairdryer and shampoo/conditioner so pack your own. Remote controls were helpful for the A/C unit as well as the on-the-wall tv. There was microwave and mini fridge which were appreciated. A walk up the street towards the university has bars/restaurants/laundromat. A walk down the street has an amazing rolled ice cream/bubble tea shop and a Walgreens. Staff was very helpful, friendly, and engaging. Unlike the review from ksmith870, we had hot water and unlike the review from longneckthree, we did not have a noise issue whatsoever.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: We were in room 103 and did not have a noise issue whatsoever - but to be honest, I did use my...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from elenapagan, Manager at Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Responded Aug 22, 2019
We appreciate your visit and your great help explaining other things you did in Dreams and in our surroundings. San Juan is the capital of PR and is very populated. We are in a university area where many young people are seen in the surroundings of different countries of the world. All rooms have their microwave and small fridge, hot water. In the lobby we have hair dryers so guests can use it. We do not offer shampoo or rinse, because those that come in small containers instead of helping the hair what they do is leave the hair very dry, and we are a green hotel and the waste affects the environment. As I mentioned there is a walgreens very close to us. We appreciate your visit and hope to see you in Puerto Rico again. Blessings.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$114 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CaribbeanPuerto RicoSan Juan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DREAMS HOTEL PUERTO RICO $95 ($̶1̶6̶5̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Reviews - San Juan

Frequently Asked Questions about Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Which popular attractions are close to Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico?
Nearby attractions include La Plaza Del Mercado Santurce (0.2 miles), Museum of History, Anthropology and Art (0.3 miles), and El Boricua Rio Piedras (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, reduced mobility rooms, and baggage storage.
Which room amenities are available at Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico?
Conveniently located restaurants include El Hipopótamo Restaurant, Arrope, and El 8 de Blanco.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico?
Many travelers enjoy visiting San Juan National Historic Site (4.3 miles), Fortín de San Jerónimo del Boquerón (4.5 miles), and Caparra Ruins Museum and Historical Park (3.8 miles).
Is Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.