We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Canario Boutique Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Canario Boutique Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 170: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2016 via mobile

Need I say anymore. Just look at the pictures. This place has false advertisement written all over. Dirty room, dirty toilet, broken shower, no smoke detector... Like a horror movie!!! All they said was no refunds!!

Helpful?
1 Thank alexis m
Fernando S, Guest Relations Manager at Canario Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're not a high end hotel, we're a small boutique hotel with simple rooms and amenities. We are known for our great location in the heart of Condado and our friendly staff. We're very sorry that your stay with us wasn't how you expected it. We’ll work hard to fix... More 

Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016 via mobile

This is the hotel that casa del caribe brought me to since they say they are being remodeled. The staff is friendly and the place is clean The room is far inferior to photo's. The bed is worse than a yoga mat on a gravel road . I will definitely not return to this hotel.

Helpful?
2 Thank trafficdan
Fernando S, Guest Relations Manager at Canario Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know. More 

Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

There are 3 Canario hotels in Condado (San Juan); this one is located on Avenida Ashford--a block from the ocean. (Another is on the ocean and the third is on the lagoon.). Ashford is the main commercial street in Condado--with all kinds of eateries and boutiques. There are two bus lines (T21 and D53) into Old San Juan; buses run... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank John F
Fernando S, Guest Relations Manager at Canario Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for your review. Our property is located in Condado at the heart of all the bars and restaurants, lots of nightlife during the weekends. We are glad you were able to enjoy the most out of the area and our hotel. Our room though small, can accommodate a couple and is perfect for resting before a big... More 

Ojai, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

I have worked in the hotel industry for years, and so has my family. Whenever I travel, I have one expectation: A CLEAN ROOM. Upon taking a red eye flight to San Juan from California, we arrived early morning. We called to ask for an extremely early check-in (although we knew it might not be possible). We were "helped" by... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank hdezdiana
Fernando S, Guest Relations Manager at Canario Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016 via mobile

This hotel was great, we came here to spend the night and celebrate our 10 year anniversary and it was perfect. The hotel is beautiful and full of Character and culture. The rooms are small but we also had a king bed. So the room is big enough for your needs. Bathroom is also small...but again it was fine it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Omar-y-Erika
Fernando S, Guest Relations Manager at Canario Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you had such a wonderful time at our property and were able to celebrate your anniversary at Condado. We offer the best value based on location compared to the big chain hotels and were able to get the most out of your stay with us. We hope to see you again next... More 

New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2016

This is a very nice, small hotel on Ashford Ave. No direct beach access, but just go next door to the Marriott and use their beach, pool and outside bar. Across the street is a modest priced restaurant, with good local food and al fresco seating. On Monday nights there is a band of the island's best jazz musicians in... More 

Helpful?
Thank ModdyinVermont
Fernando S, Guest Relations Manager at Canario Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are at the heart of Condado next to restaurants and bars as well just a block away from the beach. We hoped you enjoyed your stay with us and consider us next time you visit Puerto Rico. More 

Grand Prairie, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

We had booked for 4 days, stayed only 1 day, no parking, no phone, toilet didnt flush, wi-fi internet not working, 1 toilet paper 1/2 ways, tiny ants, booked with 2 beds got 1, horrible customer service.. We asked for refund, they immediately said no, that it stated no refunds on cancellations they could care less all the failures all... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mary D
Fernando S, Guest Relations Manager at Canario Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you were unhappy with your room. We will work hard to fix the issues you experienced. Thanks for letting us know. We sincerely hope you have had a wonderful experience in our beautiful island. More 

Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2016

Located in the middle of downtown Puerto Rico. Parking is one building away in the Marriott Hotel Parking lot and not free, an additional $22.00. During the week, the traffic is horrible. Hotel desk people are very nice. Beach is a short walk behind the hotel. No breakfast, however there is a community kitchen for use. I was grateful to... More 

Helpful?
Thank fl02u
Miguel H, Guest Relations Manager at Canario Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We are always looking to make improvements to satisfy your needs. Hope to see you again soon! More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2016 via mobile

Not fancy - but oh so comfy. It was very clean. Staff was helpful and courteous. The AC in the room was perfectly ice cold after our humid afternoon walking old San Juan. There are several restaurants and shops within walking distance. There is a small beach nearby, but the access is not ideal if you are carrying beach supplies.

Helpful?
Thank theresa c
Fernando S, Guest Relations Manager at Canario Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for that awesome review! We are always looking to better our service with our guests and are happy that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope you coma and stay with us next time you visit our island. More 

Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2016

It is a nice place to stay. Nothing fancy. It is on a busy avenue with food and drinks nearby. Very close to the beach. The room we were in was pretty small and a bit more expensive for what we got than I had hoped, but it was a clean, safe place to stay.

Helpful?
Thank Brian B
nathashabonet, Digital Marketing & Social Media at Canario Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Brian B! Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write us a review. We appreciate your feedback. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.4 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#21 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 stars 299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandy Beach Hotel
Sandy Beach Hotel
#39 of 46 in San Juan
3.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
0.6 mi away
Acacia Boutique Hotel
Acacia Boutique Hotel
#28 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 stars 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Casa Condado Hotel
Casa Condado Hotel
#31 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Del Caribe Inn
Casa Del Caribe Inn
#16 of 29 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Canario Boutique Hotel

Address: 1317 Cond Ashford Plz, San Juan 00911-1102, Puerto Rico (Formerly Canario Inn)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Price Range: $81 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canario Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Canario Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Canario Hotel San Juan
El Canario Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay