We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel El Convento

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,649 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel El Convento
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,491: English reviews
Clinton Township, Michigan
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This hotel was so beautiful and the staff was so kind. Everything was very clean. Food was wonderful as well. Great location in Old San Juan with awesome views of the city streets. Would stay here again for sure!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank karen c
Faribault, Minnesota
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Lovely hotel,a bit over priced I feel but beautiful. If u want solitude old San Juan is not place to be,but if you like being in center of everything you are in right spot.... Old San Juan has great food and stores, rooms and beds are cozy

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JannaC
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My wife and I spent about 36 hours in Old San Juan on our way back home from St. Croix. After reading so many favorable reviews on Trip Advisor, I booked a room at the Gran Hotel Convento. I was excited about our stay in this hotel, even though our visit would be short. Unfortunately, we encountered a few problems...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank GatorMills
Osvaldo S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel El Convento, responded to this review

Dear GatorMills, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences encountered during your visit. We are working with all the departments involved in order to improve the wait times and respond to our guests requests in a timely manner. I regret that we were not...

chicago
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We really enjoyed staying here. Loved our room--had a beautiful overlooking patio and sitting room. There was plenty of space. It's a older hotel (I mean, the convent has been there 350 years, after all), so you have to take that into account. Personally I loved the charm, the "Old World" feel of a different time, and a different Puerto...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chatnoir0
California
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The hotel enjoys a great location in central Old San Juan, near restaurants and the old fort. We got great service and the people at the front desk were very helpful, if sometimes not very knowledgeable about Old San Juan. The restaurant was adequate for breakfast, but I wouldn't count on it for a great meal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David_Carmel
Los Altos, California
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The hotel is particularly well located in the heart of downtown in front of a charming plaza. It's very quiet too, despite its central location. The staff is nice. It is not, however, a Small Lux Hotel. While it has a lot of historical charm, it does not have enough of the "lux" aspect to make this category. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank marrunner06
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had an excellent experience at this A-1 Classy hotel. The feel of the former monastery is ever present in the rooms, hallways and courtyards. The upper floor has an open library with coffee, bottle water, fruit and cheese/crackers during certain times that was a great opportunity to interact with other hotel guests and view the city from the open...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dubyew S
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We decided to book the hotel after reading impressive reviews on Tripadvisor but, with the understanding that everybody's experience will vary based on the circumstances. I had called the hotel prior to arrival in order to avoid any surprises as we were traveling with our 2 year old. Talana was very helpful in addressing any of our concerns. Upon arrival...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SRBe
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We used the tapas restaurant when we're visiting the old San Juan. It's nice, friendly and the decoration make sense with the spirit of the place. Good for relax, take some drink e enjoy the old San Juan. Recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank diegonery
new york city
Reviewed December 31, 2013

i am a regular user of TripAdvisor when booking hotels. Usually, the overall ratings and the more recent reviews are fair and on target. However, when it comes to El Convento, it feels that I was completely misled. We are a family of two adults and two children, who spent three nights at the hotel the weekend following Christmas. I...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank nnouhi
EROSA, General Manager at Hotel El Convento, responded to this review

Mr/Mrs. Nnouhi, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Hotel El Convento. I sincerely regret that the same was not equal or better than the majority of our guests. We place great value on our guests experience and take very seriously our guests comments and positive suggestions. I will share your comments with our staff and will ensure that...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2,176 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1765)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (601)
Viewed
Room/Suite (296)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (82)
Viewed
View from Room (81)
Viewed
Bathroom (42)
Viewed
Dining (85)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (569)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (359)
Viewed
Amenities (68)
Viewed
Double Vista Room (46)
Viewed
Junior Suite (57)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (17)
Viewed
Queen Vista Room (46)
Viewed
Dining (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.2 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
6,769 reviews
12.0 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
2.0 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
20.0 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
El Picoteo de Tapas y Paellas
El Picoteo de Tapas y Paellas
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish, Puerto Rican, Mediterranean
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of historic Old San Juan, Hotel El Convento has set new standards of luxury, comfort and service while preserving the rich character of this former 16th century convent. This landmark treasure, a member of Historic Hotels of America and Small Luxury Hotels of the World, has earned four diamonds from AAA each year since its opening. This is the exclusive hotel experience to indulge the most discriminating of travelers, and is a hotel like no other. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Address: 100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Price Range: $192 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel El Convento 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento San Juan
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel El Convento staff and other travelers.
51 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (51)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel El Convento staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“all are good, the higher the better”
trip647, yesterday | Read review
“The rooms on the 3, 4 and 5 floors”
perravnm, yesterday | Read review
“Some rooms on 1st/Fl less private & open to main courtyard. 2/Fl and above not accessible by non-hotel guests. Plunge Pool on 4/Fl outside;”
davidhM1677VN, 4 days ago | Read review
“We stayed on the 5th floor "queen vista" style room - nice view of the harbor!”
Z7538JSbeths, 6 days ago | Read review
“Ask for an outside looking room.”
charlesbm2016, 1 week ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question