We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Salt Coopers, Runaway Bay Jamaica
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Exclusive discounts!
Bahia Principe
$290
View deal
Expedia.com
$248
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/30/22
Agoda.com
Only 1 left at
$204
View deal
Booking.com$248
Hotels.com$248
Travelocity$248
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (15994)
360
Panoramas (34)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 06/25/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica
Updated 06/25/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#9 of 18 hotels in Runaway Bay
Location
4.0
Cleanliness
4.1
Service
3.7
Value
3.8
Facilities and services 3 lake-style connecting pools with 2 areas for children 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace with gardens, sun umbrellas and loungers BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 2 tennis courts, volleyball court, football pitch Water activity centre Pool and beach towel service WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Wedding gazebo 2 buffet-style main restaurants and 5 speciality restaurants 4 Bars Snack bar Entertainment amphitheatre Meeting and convention room The 18 hole Breezes Runaway golf course is just 5 minutes from the hotel. Pueblo Principe: local craft stores, live music, shows, sports bar and disco Rooms 848 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Sea View Junior Suite, Club Golden and Club Hacienda Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Pillowtop mattresses Fully-equipped bathroom with separate shower and hydromassage bath tub, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathroom amenities Air conditioning Ventilador de techo Sitting area with sofa Balcony or terrace Telephone Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden and Club Hacienda Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children (aged 4 to 12) will have the time of their lives with these facilities: Children's pool Special shows and activities Entertainment team Mini Club (4 - 12 years) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Nudist area on the beach Bahia 'au Naturel' (over 18s only) The hotel has a nudist bathing area apart from the other areas
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Babysitting
Parking
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Nightclub / DJ
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Iron
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Exclusive discounts!
14446Reviews2903Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 5,164
  • 4,335
  • 2,440
  • 1,269
  • 1,239
Traveler safety
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Sylvia M wrote a review Today
1 contribution
Not impress First things first! 1)Room - in need of renewal the bed and furniture is tired and out dated. Room cleaning is spot on but the bath towels are way too small. The complement drinks in the fridge are re packed every day or on request. The coffee a treat. 2) Corridor - was smelly and the carpets dirty probably because of the constant rain in September. 3) Sun - be mindful when to travel to Jamaica it rained everyday spoilt the vibe. 4) Food- The waiters and staff are fab, the food though in abundance is bland, breakfast is the best. The food venue changes all the time with no notification in advance to the guests, they say you have to dress proper but many in skimpy (not appropriate). The open air buffet is full of flies being a pest whilst you are eating and the fruit section is full of dead flies nesting in the desserts DAILY!!! 5) Mosquitoes- Everywhere got eaten alive, no deterrents by the hotel awful had to buy Bop! in the supermarket. 6) Bars - Most close @ 11 pm have to travel right over the other-side to the village to get a drink, poor solution for the disabled and older folk like myself!! Long wait time for drinks I noticed some staff serve Men first who ‘tip’. Too many stairs to climb in most areas of the resort tiles, always wet and slippery. 7) Entertainment - Could be better boring evenings. Snooker equipment poor needs upgrading only one que to share!! 8) Teenage club - Never open on time - total disaster!! 9) Booked Restaurants - Terrible not authentic ie Italian cooked by Jamaicans ‘ the Italian way’ 😂 Most not worth the time and effort to book. Waited over 1 hour to be seated in and Japanese finally seated with 12 other people 9 unknown squeezed like sardines, walked out steaming made a formal complaint told it was the only restaurant opened that night clearly overbooked! Finally if you wants to see ‘ larger’ size guests wearing explicit attire then this is the place to go. Welcome to Jamrock! I have been to Jamaica many many times but never going back to this resort ‘ overpriced’ ‘over rated’ and ‘under’ managed.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
LadyLestat wrote a review May 2022
Toronto, Canada52 contributions101 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favorite
This resort is great. While I wouldn’t put it at a 4.5 to 5 Star, it’s got something for everyone. Here is a breakdown of our stay. We travelled May 10-17. Firstly, I do want to recommend you book Club MoBay. It makes a huge difference bypassing lines for Customs, which was insane on both arrival and departure. We were through the lines within 10 minutes. The food is good too. Their beef patties are the best I had all week. CHECK IN: On arrival, there was a bit of a wait to check in. The welcome drink really helps. Our room was not ready yet, and they told us to come back after lunch. ROOM: When we finally got to our room about an hour later, they gave us one King bed (2 female friends travelling). The rooms are very dated, and in need of an upgrade. But they were clean, we called to see if we could switch to 2 beds, but no one was answering the front desk, so we just said forget it and decided to just go with it, not like we’re spending the entire stay in the room. The bathroom was big, and we had hot water all the time. The shower pressure was perfect. Room was cleaned every day and towels were stocked. I would suggest though, to bring a blanket as the room tends to get cold even with the AC off. We asked for an extra blanket, but got a thin sheet instead, or you could just wear warm pjs. BEACH: There are several beaches on property. The best one is by the snack bar/Children’s area. Nice powder sand, beautiful aqua water. There was lot of beach chairs. We went early and laid our towels and went for breakfast, which was what most people were doing. The other beaches are a bit rocky, but still beautiful, nonetheless. The nude beach is not the prettiest. It reminded me of a lake. Water sports is free, so we did kayak a few days. It was fun once you got the hang of it. POOL: The pool is massive. We always got great seats there. They have entertainment at the main section and while we stayed away from crowds for the most part, it was a riot listening/watching from a distance. The one thing I will say is that we were very impressed with the professionalism of the entertainment staff. There were a few guests being raunchy, and the MC got on the mic and asked for them to behave and be respectful as there were children and families around, so kudos to them! FOOD/DRINK: There is something for everyone. I do not understand why people complain. The buffet and snack bar has everything, and they are not repetitive at all. There is a variety of Jamaican food. Their Saturday night theme is Jamaican and man, did we feast on oxtail and curry goat. They NEVER ran out of food no matter what time you went. People, if you’re going to complain about food options, either bring your own, or better yet, don’t go! So sick of reading reviews about food quality and quantity. We did book 3 A la Carte’s. We went to Dolce Vita, The Knife and Rodizio (on Luxury Side). Our favourite by far was Dolce Vita. The pasta was amazing!!! The Knife was good too. The steaks were cooked to perfection. The Rodizio could’ve been great, but we had late reservations. The earliest we could get was 930pm. By that point, they started putting things away and the servers barely came to our table. What we did try was tasty, but we were so annoyed at the level of service, we left and went to the buffet. Just a suggestion, but if you’re going to allow such late reservations, make sure service and food is not lacking. The drinks are amazing and wowza, they do not skimp on the alcohol. We were very very happy ladies! Also, if you enjoy lobster, there is a boat that comes with a Canadian Flag. Well worth the $30 USD ENTERTAINMENT: We didn’t really see many of the shows. The fire show at the beach was fun. We mostly sat at the lobby bar after dinner where they had a band playing and they were fantastic. The beach party was by far the most fun. Nothing like dancing under the moon and stars. The Disco is fun too. It’s spacious enough so you’re not all up someone’s space (which is what I prefer in these “times”). I see many reviews shouting out certain staff members. I am not going to do that. I want to give every single person that works there the highest praise possible. We never saw anyone being rude or disrespectful towards anyone. It was a hello or other greeting every single time. I am disgusted at reading reviews that say they’re rude to white people, black people, purple people etc. This is simply not the case. I wouldn’t believe it for a second. If anything, from what we witnessed, it was the tourists/guests that were rude, and ignorant. Just because you leave your country for a vacation, doesn’t mean you leave your manners at home either. A little respect goes a long way. Thanks for the great time Bahia Grand Jamaica!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
26 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
sallyfalmouth wrote a review Sep 19
Manchester, United Kingdom8 contributions25 helpful votes
This hotel is in a large complex which is private and isolated with no surrounding local shops apart from the shops in the complex. Prices in the shops are inflated so remember to bring your own snacks plenty of sun cream and definitely mosquito repellant and anti histamines. We were all bitten every day and they were very uncomfortable. The Wi-Fi access was excellent and free for all guests you can access it from anywhere even on the beach The mini bar is restocked daily with water cocoa cola and orange and beer for the fridge which was amazing Daily maid service was excellent clean towels bedding etc The food and drink was varied and was probably the best we have had in an inclusive resort. The quality and cleanliness was 100 percent. They had theme nights e.g Italian every night. The buffet restaurant catered for all nationalities including vegan etc. there was always lots of options. The breakfast was amazing and the omelettes were fabulous Don’t forget to download the hotel app as you can book up to 7 a la carte restaurants in 2 weeks. I would strongly recommend using these as they are 5 star service and the food was incredible There is also a map in the app showing where everything is as you don’t get one at check in If you like your coffee or tea there is a coffee machine in your room where you can make tea too but during the day in the complex round the pool or beach only cold drinks available If you are an early riser the coffee machine in the lobby bar gets turned on about 6am Check out where the late night snack bar as it can change but great selection Remember to barter in the village shops but not in the main complex You can pay in American or Jamaica dollars or on your debit or credit card and there is an ATM machine in reception and it charges 6 dollars a time Please remember to tip the waiters staff behind the bar and a la carte restaurants and cleaning staff you will get an excellent service You can change money to lower denominations at reception for tips The complex is no smoking but you can go outside the front and smoke on the beach or on your balcony We booked a trip with TUI and it was amazing and I would recommend booking excursions through the app and always use a tour guide as they are about 20% cheaper Please note that the beach is private and there are secure fences at each end and the complex is gated. Good air conditioning hair dryer and ironing board and iron in the room lots of storage If you have beach shoes then take them as it’s a bit rocky and gravelly but beautiful clear water and swimming lines There are always plenty of sun beds available with parasols and tables around the pool at anytime during the day You get towels which you can change regularly near the main pool bar Beer is red stripe in cans straight from the freezer cocktails of the day were great and lots of various spirits etc the house wine was great knowledgeable bar staff who could make you what you wanted All drinks were full strength and not watered down Water park is great for the kids with a handy snack bar next to it A raft comes in to the sea about lunchtime which sells seafood platters $35 per person Don’t be offended if you are offered to buy special cigarettes or brownies just politely decline if you are not interested Watch out for the black birds in the Piscis snack bar Amazing friendly staff fabulous piece of paradise to unwind relax and chill with the family would totally recommend
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kimberly Watson, Other at Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Guest, On behalf of all the Management and team members at the Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments. It is indeed a great pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at our resort; your kind words have been shared with the team, they were happy to know they continue to create memorable experiences with our valued guests. We would like to extend our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience experienced as a result of the situation brought to our attention. May I use this opportunity to thank you again for choosing Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica to be your holiday destination in the Caribbean. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable retreat to our sunny island. Kind Regards, Kimberly Watson Online Reputation Coordinator Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
chris e wrote a review Sep 18
Liverpool, United Kingdom84 contributions68 helpful votes
We travelled to Jamaica for the first time after 7 trips to the beautiful Cuba. On reflection the hotel was great the staff were mostly great except for few surely ones and reason for that was $$$$$ I have never been to a place that basically runs on tips if you don't tip your ignored to certain extent. We do tip but only good service it's the other way round at this hotel, Now the other issue i'm afraid Americans in all my born days i've never run into a more arrogant ignorant bunch of people. I was warned before i travelled and they were mostly right. I thought Brits behaved badly abroad, But this crowd take the biscuit. You would expect them them to be teenagers No not this lot 60yr African Americans, On the plane home in conversation the same thing was happening in other hotels, Suffice to say it will probably be our last trip to Jamaica
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kimberly Watson, Other at Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Guest, We really appreciate you taking the time to send your valuable comments about your stay with us as it helps to improve the quality service at our hotel. I am happy to know that you chose us for your stay, while on vacation at our beautiful resort. However, we regret that we were unable to exceed your expectations; please accept our sincere apologies, as it certainly does not reflect the commitment and the quality that we have exhibited for many years. Please rest assured that your feedback has been forwarded to the head of the relevant departments, so they can take the necessary corrective and preventive actions. We appreciate the comments and suggestions of each and every one of our guests; we see them as opportunities to continue working towards improving our product, quality and services. We are looking forward to hosting you again in the near future to experience our new services. Best Regards, Kimberly Watson Online Reputation Coordinator Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steve wrote a review Sep 17
3 contributions2 helpful votes
Just had a 2 week stay here. Great service great staff. Great food across all the restaurants. We where delayed with TUI for 5 hours and the hotel sorted a room for us free of charge. Would highly recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kimberly Watson, Other at Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest, On behalf of all the Management and team members at the Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments. It is indeed a great pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at our resort; your kind words have been shared with the team, they were happy to know they continue to create memorable experiences with our valued guests. May I use this opportunity to thank you again for choosing Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica to be your holiday destination in the Caribbean. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable retreat to our sunny island. Kind Regards, Kimberly Watson Online Reputation Coordinator Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul W wrote a review Sep 17
Chippenham, United Kingdom59 contributions34 helpful votes
+1
Enjoy our stay at this hotel. Stay here from 1st September till the 15th September. Check in was quick room was good plenty of space big bed good shower (only got one complain the room had no safe and it took a 6 days to put one in asked reception and quest services and it was only when I asked our tui rep it was done in two hours. ) food was good plenty of choices and the specialist restaurant were good the best was mikado experience the chef was brilliant. Swim up pool bar good and the pool good four feet all over. Entertainment ok some better than other. Bahia village good but not explained properly about where it is .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kimberly Watson, Other at Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest, On behalf of all the Management and team members at the Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments. It is indeed a great pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at our resort; your kind words have been shared with the team, they were happy to know they continue to create memorable experiences with our valued guests. May I use this opportunity to thank you again for choosing Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica to be your holiday destination in the Caribbean. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable retreat to our sunny island. However, we will strive to improve in the areas you mentioned above. Kind Regards, Kimberly Watson Online Reputation Coordinator Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kristin w wrote a review Sep 16
New York City, New York15 contributions1 helpful vote
Would never visit again and I would strongly urge anyone considering this hotel and reading this review to choose somewhere else. I depend on honest reviews when planning my trips so I intend on being honest and fair in all my reviews . This by far was the worst all inclusive I have ever been to and I have been to quite a few in different countries of all different categories (Iberostar, Excellence collection, Barceló, Level, etc). Now you definitely get what you pay for here. If I’m being honest, I did not expect a 5 star experience when I booked this hotel. I am originally from Jamaica and have previously heard of their reputation even though this is my first time staying there. I decided to give them the benefit of the doubt as our family needed a hotel in the runaway Bay Area which accepts kids and wasn’t too far from where we needed to be as my son was being christened at a church in the area. This hotel was not my first choice but the one I wanted to book (Jewel) was closed for renovation. I will try to be as detailed as possible because I believe reviews are important. Check in was long and tedious but im willing to bypass that considering they only had two people working at the time and a lot of guests were arriving. We booked the trip as a group under two separate reservations but were placed in completely different buildings and were told the computer selects the rooms so that’s why. Believe the reviews people. When I read reviews people went on and on about the smell of the hallway carpet. I decided to look past that as they said they must have fixed that issue. WRONG! The carpet still exists and still smells. One of our family member was on that side and had to request a room change due to the smell of the carpet. Let me point out the main issues. The food is absolutely horrible. I’m Jamaican and they couldn’t even get the food on Jamaica night right. The food was often times bland and items which should have a soft consistency were hard. I have an 11 month old with no teeth and it was a struggle finding food he could eat. For example, they had potatoes and pumpkin etc in the buffet line but they were too hard after they were “cooked”. Most days my family of 12 would go off the property and bring food back and often times that’s what we brought to the dining room with us as they had a microwave inside that we could use. My husband is a pescatarian but only eats certain fish. Tilapia was very common on the buffet line nightly and he doesn’t eat that. I think tilapia is absolutely gross and cheap and was utterly disgusted that they chose to serve that on the line. One or two other nights they had salmon, king fish and I believe they had snapper one of the 7 nights we were there. The made to order pasta I was told was good but I never tried it. The food altogether here was absolutely horrible. The worst I have had at any resort. Please don’t go here if you’re a food snob. The food in piscis was absolutely disgusting. The only place you could find something decent to eat was on the beach where they did jerk chicken. Next biggest issue was that Our room key kept deactivating. I mean anywhere from 2-4 times a day!!!! It was a longgggg walk back to the lobby to get the card activated but deactivated once again when we got to the room. The card was never near any electronics because we tried to be super careful of that so I left it in the back of the baby’s stroller. Sometimes I had to ask the housekeeper who was on the floor at the time to open our door for us. Next biggest issue was no blackout curtains!!!! The sun would beat us in the face every morning and I have 10 month old so this was certainly not ideal! The track was there for the curtain and we kept calling the front desk to ask them to put one after asking for 3 days the front desk clerk finally told me that she spoke to her supervisor and apparently that’s how all the rooms are ok the block we were on which was the rooms in building 18. We had family staying in building 14 and they certainly had blackout curtains. My sister in law was also in building 18 had no blackout curtains and no working phone. The housekeepers barely gave us washcloths and when we asked she said she doesn’t keep them on the cart so some nights we didn’t have washcloths to use. Some positives: The dining room staff in orquídea were very nice, honest and attentive. We told them how bad the food were and they were very apologetic and even said they’ve heard that from guests before. The pool was big and looked pretty nice but I didn’t get a chance to go in. We were mostly at the beach which wasn’t too bad. The jerk chicken on the beach was literally the best food we had there. This hotel doesn’t deserve a second visit or even a consideration. I would never ever visit again and would discourage anybody considering this hotel to choose otherwise. There are many other hotels in the area which are much better. I would stay at a 3 star hotel over this which I think deserves only 1 star.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kimberly Watson, Other at Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, We really appreciate you taking the time to send your valuable comments about your stay with us as it helps to improve the quality service at our hotel. I am happy to know that you chose us for your stay, while on vacation at our beautiful resort. However, we regret that we were unable to exceed your expectations; please accept our sincere apologies, as it certainly does not reflect the commitment and the quality that we have exhibited for many years. Please rest assured that your feedback has been forwarded to the head of the relevant departments, so they can take the necessary corrective and preventive actions. We appreciate the comments and suggestions of each and every one of our guests; we see them as opportunities to continue working towards improving our product, quality and services. We are looking forward to hosting you again in the near future to experience our new services. Best Regards, Kimberly Watson Online Reputation Coordinator Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Morgan P wrote a review Sep 16
London, United Kingdom15 contributions5 helpful votes
Right, where do I start. We booked Bahia Principe for 2 weeks in August to celebrate my 30th birthday. From the moment we arrived, to the moment we left, every single thing about hotel was PERFECT. From guest services and bar staff, to entertainment and resturant, service is EXCEPTIONAL throughout this hotel. When we arrived we were greeted with welcome drinks and automatically upgraded to the luxury side to mark the celebration. The pool and beach areas are beautiful, clean and spacious. Buffet food was good quality and if not your type of thing, you also have a selection of Al a Carte resturants you can book in advance, you can also order food from local restaurants to be delivered. Pineapple mimosas are a must at breakfast and we had them every day!! The evening entertainment is good typical all inclusive hotel entertainment, not bad, however we'd planned to spend most of our evenings in Ochi, which we did, so was never a problem for us. The nude beach is a must! I love that the hotel have this option, it was a first time for us all, so to be in such a small and private space was perfect. The hotel has a white party every Saturday, I think the vibe is dependent on the crowd. We went to both Saturdays we were there, the first one was amazing, the 2nd not so much but by this point alot of guests had left the hotel. We did meet many many wonderful people, but I would like to give a special and specific shout out to a few people who truly made our experience one of a life time. Our butler Nashwell was a lovely guy, very attentive and always making sure we had everything we needed, decorated the room beautiful for my birthday. I'd also like to thank Tooth pick, the barman around the pool and sometimes at the lobby bar). And finally I would like to thank DJ Scotty for always keeping us entertained with the tunes, for completing every single song request (and we did have alot) and for all the birthday shout outs. A good DJ who can read a crowd well and keep them truly entertained! Thank you Bahia!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kimberly Watson, Other at Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, On behalf of all the Management and team members at the Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments. It is indeed a great pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at our resort; your kind words have been shared with the team, they were happy to know they continue to create memorable experiences with our valued guests. May I use this opportunity to thank you again for choosing Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica to be your holiday destination in the Caribbean. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable retreat to our sunny island. Kind Regards, Kimberly Watson Online Reputation Coordinator Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Teeb wrote a review Sep 14
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Every MOSQUITO on the island congregated inside the room even though the balcony doors were not once opened so have to wrap up like a mummy in the heat because there's NO AC to deter them... A JAMAICAN HOTEL THAT ONLY HAS JAMAICAN FOOD NIGHT ONCE A WEEK ON A SATURDAY... I CAN GO ON AND ON. The staff... the staff are great...
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Burrell, Other at Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, We really appreciate you taking the time to send your valuable comments about your stay with us as it helps to maintain the quality at the hotel. We sincerely apologies for disappointments at this time because it certainly does not reflect the commitment and the quality that we have exhibited for many years. We review the incidence and deeply regret the situation; our staff always tries to give the best possible experience to the guests; and we give the proper follow up to all the requests and necessities during the stay of our customers. All your observations have been forwarded to the Management of the resort as the guest’s satisfaction is our priority and rest assured we will be constantly striving to the excellence in our services. Best Regards, Kemesha Parkes Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Juliana M wrote a review Sep 13
2 contributions
I never write reviews (this is my first) but I don’t want anyone to experience what we did. After hearing rave reviews from our friends about this place, 11 friends and I decided to go Labor Day weekend. We loved the Tulum Bahia Principe so we thought we would have a similar experience but we were wrong. DEFINITELY book private transportation from the airport to the hotel and back, if you can just dont even Book with the resort at all-we did the shared transportation the hotel recommended and it was an absolute nightmare we waited at the airport for almost 2 hours after our scheduled time and they were also over an hour late picking us up from the resort to catch our flight back home-and extremely rude about it and very disorganized. The hotel itself is fine, the buffets are the worst I’ve ever seen at an all inclusive (no options, everything is cold, the fruits and vegetables are bad quality, and if you don’t like traditional Jamaican food you are out of luck that is 80% of it every day). It is nearly impossible to get reservations, my party tried as soon as the website allowed us to (midnight 5 days before our trip) and there were only 1 or 2 restaurants available for 1 or 2 time slots and there is no other way to make reservations, they dont take Walk ins or phone calls. The restaurants were near empty every day they absolutely could have accommodated more people. The two reservations we were able to get was The Knife and the hibachi restaurant which were both average. The service at the buffet and restaurants was excellent though. The day time activities listed on boards at the hotel and also on the website were almost all canceled without notice, we tried going to the foam party, the chocolate party, and volley ball-but after waiting about 30 minutes after every start time we asked the entertainment and concierge each time when they were going to set up and we’re dismissed with a shrug each time “oh it was canceled we just found out I don’t know why.” There was no inclimate weather or any other reason I could have seen to cancel. The pool bars are atrocious the bartenders do not know how to make the same drinks, the little alcohol that they do use is very bad I recommend getting your own bottle elsewhere. DO NOT do the catamaran excursion it was also very disorganized, we were packed on a pontoon boat with 60+ other people from other resorts, we had to wait in the sun over an hour after the time they said we would leave. The reef you snorkel in is dirty and there’s not much to see, the Dunn Falls hike is pretty cool I would recommend checking that out separately, they said you would get food on the boat-you can buy with cash only expensive Jamaican food from a restaurant or you get one (very good to be fair) beef patty at the end of the day. If you do still want to go to this resort get a very good idea of where things are there are barely any signs, the staff is unhelpful with directions and the “shuttles” are very infrequent. The pool is fine and the beach is pretty good. I stayed at the adult Luxury side so I can’t speak for the childrens side. To be honest this was a very low price trip, and I got what I paid for. I would never recommend this place but again the Tulum location was great!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kimberly Watson, Other at Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, We really appreciate you taking the time to send your valuable comments about your stay with us as it helps to improve the quality service at our hotel. I am happy to know that you chose us for your stay, while on vacation at our beautiful resort. However, we regret that we were unable to exceed your expectations; please accept our sincere apologies, as it certainly does not reflect the commitment and the quality that we have exhibited for many years. Please rest assured that your feedback has been forwarded to the head of the relevant departments, so they can take the necessary corrective and preventive actions. We appreciate the comments and suggestions of each and every one of our guests; we see them as opportunities to continue working towards improving our product, quality and services. We are looking forward to hosting you again in the near future to experience our new services. Best Regards, Kimberly Watson Online Reputation Coordinator Bahia Principe Luxury Runaway Bay
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$204 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bahia principe jamaica, grand bahia principe jamaica, gran bahia jamaica, gran bahia principe jamaica hotel, grand bahia jamaica, bahia jamaica, gran bahia principe runaway bay jamaica, gran bahia principe jamaica resort
LOCATION
CaribbeanJamaicaSaint Ann ParishRunaway Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
850
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica
Which popular attractions are close to Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica?
Nearby attractions include Green Grotto Caves (1.7 miles), Sharkies Beach (3.2 miles), and Runaway Bay (1.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica?
Conveniently located restaurants include Milestone Restaurant Sports Bar and Grill, Ultimate Jerk Centre, and Sharkies Seafood Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica have airport transportation?
Yes, Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.