We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica

Save
Share
Salt Coopers, Runaway Bay Jamaica
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
3 people have started booking this hotel
BahiaPrincipe
$241
View deal
Expedia.com
$241
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/28/22
Trip.com
$186
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/29/22
Booking.com$241
Priceline$241
getaroom.com$295
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (15612)
360
Panoramas (34)
Pool & Beach (3500)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Read more
Updated 06/25/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica
Updated 06/25/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#8 of 18 hotels in Runaway Bay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Facilities and services 3 lake-style connecting pools with 2 areas for children 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace with gardens, sun umbrellas and loungers BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 2 tennis courts, volleyball court, football pitch Water activity centre Pool and beach towel service WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Wedding gazebo 2 buffet-style main restaurants and 5 speciality restaurants 4 Bars Snack bar Entertainment amphitheatre Meeting and convention room The 18 hole Breezes Runaway golf course is just 5 minutes from the hotel. Pueblo Principe: local craft stores, live music, shows, sports bar and disco Rooms 848 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Sea View Junior Suite, Club Golden and Club Hacienda Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Pillowtop mattresses Fully-equipped bathroom with separate shower and hydromassage bath tub, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathroom amenities Air conditioning Ventilador de techo Sitting area with sofa Balcony or terrace Telephone Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden and Club Hacienda Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children (aged 4 to 12) will have the time of their lives with these facilities: Children's pool Special shows and activities Entertainment team Mini Club (4 - 12 years) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Nudist area on the beach Bahia 'au Naturel' (over 18s only) The hotel has a nudist bathing area apart from the other areas
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Babysitting
Parking
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Nightclub / DJ
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Iron
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
Spanish
14126Reviews2844Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 5,095
  • 4,286
  • 2,393
  • 1,219
  • 1,133
Traveler safety
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Rose M wrote a review Jan 20
3 contributions
I recently stayed at the Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay and would like to thank all the staff for the fantastic job they do in putting measures in place to ensure everyone stays safe during these challenging times. I would also like to commend you for taking feedback on board and actioning issues in a timely manner. Special thanks to Travis for looking out for me and making sure I had what I needed to make my stay a pleasant one. Thanks also to other members of the Butler Team (Garfield, Peta Gaye, Orlando, Rayan, and Rushane), and Joanne at the Front Desk for all contributing to making my stay memorable. My personal advice to anyone planning to visit: Before you make any judgment, please go and have your own experience as it is always better to have an opinion based on experience.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ocean View 5th floor and above.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator, Guest Services / Front Office at Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our services, and amazing staff during your vacation. We are grateful for your recognition of our team members, for being of great service to you during your vacation. We are always striving to give our guests the highest quality service so that they could stay absolutely content with their vacation at our hotel. Sending you our Warmest Regards, Kemesha Parkes Online Reputation Coordinator
Read more
Nick R wrote a review Jan 19
Harpenden, United Kingdom3 contributions3 helpful votes
Booked before reading the other reviews and was quite nervous but shouldn't have worried - this is a large hotel in a fabulous location, with gorgeous beaches, good food and helpful staff. Probably a 3-4 star instead of 5 if I'm honest, our seaview room was large, the only negative was that the bathroom was quite tatty, overall we thought it was great value for money. Would recommend pre-booking dinner before you travel for the a la carte restaurants to make sure you get in. Perhaps we visited at a quiet time, but we never needed to wait for a table in the main restaurant and the buffets were plentiful, good quality food and frequently replenished. The staff do appreciate tips but this was never expected and we got great service throughout the resort. Definitely recommend trying the High Seas Seafood Raft (not connected with the resort and extra cost) for amazing lobster!! This moors up at one of the beaches every day and is a wonderful experience. Covid arrangements are reassuringly good, masks throughout the hotel even the buffet, hand sanitiser everywhere so it felt very safe. On site pre-departure testing at a reasonable cost. Great customer service at the front desk, in the restaurants and bars. Would recommend and consider visiting again if we return to Jamaica.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you don't want to hear the evening entertainment!
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator, Guest Services / Front Office at Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Guest, On behalf of all the Management and team members at the Bahia Principe Luxury Runaway Bay, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments. It is indeed a great pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at our resort; your kind words have been shared with the team, they were happy to know they continue to create memorable experiences with our valued guests. May I use this opportunity to thank you again for choosing Bahia Principe Luxury, to be your holiday destination in the Caribbean. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable retreat to our sunny island. Kind Regards, Kemesha Parkes Online Reputation Coordinator.
Read more
Jim G wrote a review Jan 18
Oakville, Canada27 contributions15 helpful votes
Here is an honest review of the hotel. Ill make it short (like I always do) Pros 1. Nice resort 2. Clean Pool Cons 1. Front Desk 2. Food 3. A la carte-Restaurants are closed 4. Rooms 5. NOT 5 star--- 3 star at Best 6. Andre "the manager" Soooooo. We travelled for 10 days, somehow got covid. Sent to the covid section , where they treated you like 2nd class citizen. NO A/C I REPEAT NO A/C. WE WERE TOLD WE HAD TO QUARANTINE for 10 days. BULL. THERE WAS A NURSE named Rodriguez... She was disgustingly rude. She said she takes her orders NOT from the health ministry of JAMAICA but from some MYSTERIOUS individual named.. jerlene.brown. WE EMAILED JERLENE and left messages, the LADY NEVER CALLED US BACK. WE WERE SUPPOSED to be released after 5 days of quarantine, BUT NO... WE WERE FORCED TO STAY 10 days WITH NO EXPLANATION. The health dept told us to email Jerlene and have her contact the ministry so they can explain to her that 5 days is the MAXIMUM quarantine needed. ANDRE, the manager is also another liar.. He said he would have jerlene contact the Health DEPT, but never did. I WOULD NOT STAY HERE UNTIL COVID ENDS.. The hotel staff is lazy and never follows thru any promises. WE SPENT 20K plus 1000 on PCR TESTS PLUS 1500 on our airline tickets. There are better choices in Jamaica. Stay away for now. BTW, the other 4 people that we shared a room with, dined out with (everynight) and shared food with NEVER got covid, so you draw your own conclusions. I believe the testing was flawed. BE CAREFUL. Bring your own TESTING KITS..
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Luxury Side IS MUCH BETTER (but its adults only)
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica, Other at Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Guest, Firstly, we want to express how sad we are we could not exceed your expectations. Please be assured that we will be working into improving the communication towards our guests in these difficult times. We can guarantee you that we have been offering the services and assistance to our guests that unfortunately had to remain on our premises, following the Jamaican government guidelines. Our team members have been working continuously working into adapting to a situation that has been indeed, continuously changing, therefore we apologize if you felt that we were not providing the answers you were expecting, as certainly, we are not the entity responsible, nor the one owning the latest information in regards health procedures. As mentioned, we are working very closely with the authorities in providing the best service to all our guests. Again, we apologize if we were not able to transmit that. Kindest Regards
Read more
Marion Pryce White wrote a review Jan 17
2 contributions3 helpful votes
My spouse and I spent last Christmas here. Checking in was quick and staff was very courteous. The room was spacious, clean and very well equipped with necessities. Entertainment wasn't that good. The beach party was well attended for about the first half an hour but the music was terrible. People started to leave. The safe didn't work. We had to call front desk for assistance. It still didn't work. There are no instructions on how to operate the device. The buffet food was lukewarm. Guests served themselves at a time when Covid virus is rampant. We asked some staff member to serve us. Overall I would recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica, Other at Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Guest, On behalf of our team, we thank you for taking the time to express the details of your holiday experience at our hotel. We appreciate your comments. We always strive to provide our guests with the highest quality service so they can stay absolutely happy with their holiday. For the points that you have mentioned, we have sent the information to the departments involved to apply the necessary actions that guarantee the quality of our services. Thanks again for your choice and we hope you give us the opportunity to host you again. Sending you our best regards,
Read more
Terri A wrote a review Jan 14
London, United Kingdom51 contributions26 helpful votes
Well where do i start. Travelled with 2 yr old and 16. I wished i had spent my money else where. No snacks or ice cream for kids No food by pool We arrived and reception was slow and staff was rude. The place is huge we was given no map and had no idea where to go. Arrived to room it absolutely stunk of damp and sewage! There was one big bed a small sofa bed and a cot we walked into bathroom which was vile. I walked straight out and to reception demanding a different room. When got our new room it was based on 2 adults sharing. There was 4 of us. My 16 yr old slept on a bare sofa no blankets and my 2 year old had to sleep in with us. There was no tea or coffee facilities which there was meant to be. No iron took 3 days to get one. There was no menu to any bars so you had no choice! Also we had 5 visits to al a carte restaurant what a waist of time. We went to knife starter deep fried dried chicken wings couldn’t eat why fry when says grilled also no drink menu and no kids menus. Then most restaurants wouldn’t take kids and 2 that did no kids menus ! Fridge in room There was 4 soft drinks in fridge that go asap. To get a refill is once a day ! So 4 drinks to a room once a day ! My 2 year old slept in our bed as they didn’t provide a cot My 6ft 2 16 yr old son slept on a crappy mattress no sheets pillows nothing! No children entertainment for youngsters! As my 2 year old had nothing My 16 year old wanted to come home after 5 days. You get no information about resort ! Also if you don’t tip staff they avoid you ! I spent so much tipping! U cant do everyone! Also shop on site in a rip off ! I ran out of nappies 2 days before home it cost £20 yes 28usd for a pack if nappies! £5 pringles small pack £3.00 twix Food - raw cold and dangerous if you have allergies avoid! I had diarrhoea for a week which ruined it ! Several reactions as no information on food Be careful with food ! Pool my husband cut his foot in pool when looked we pulled 23 tiles up from pool bed ! Life guArd brushed it off. They don’t care. If you don’t tip staff they are rude and dont put effort in. So expect to tip everytime for a decent service! I cried with this holiday and how we paid 7500 gbp ! I could not wait to get home. The tui rep offered £500 refund which i refused. She also advised this is the worst hotel she works in as too many complaints! We went on dolphin experience booked direct another rip off ! You pay to get in and then want 140 usd for pics after 350 usd for 2 ! Just a hole let down O and locals or people smoking weed around the pool ! Which i left on several occasions as my son has bad chest… AVOID There is so muchmore
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica, Other at Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Guest, We really appreciate you taking the time to send your valuable comments about your stay with us as it helps to maintain the quality at the hotel. We regret deeply the concerns noted in the review and would like to extend our sincerest apologies. We would like to comment that our Hotel Management is very concerned about all our guests, their well-being, safety, during their stay with us as they are the most important to us. As it represents a huge responsibility for a big part of our staff, organization, and a big effort to create a safe environment that satisfies our clients' requirements, especially at a special time when they do not expect more than to just relax and enjoy their holidays. Guest safety is our top priority. Any incident on our properties is handled according to a strict protocol, including referral to the proper Managers for investigation. We want to ensure that our guests have a relaxing and enjoyable time with us We apologies for your expectations not being met at this time, they certainly do not reflect the commitment and the quality that we have exhibited for many years. Our staff always tries to give the best possible experience to the guests, and we give the proper follow-up to all the requests and necessities during the stay of our customers. All your observations have been forwarded to the Management of the resort as the guest’s satisfaction is our top priority, please rest assured we will be constantly striving for excellence in our services. Best Regards,
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$147 - $849 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bahia principe jamaica, grand bahia principe jamaica, gran bahia jamaica, gran bahia principe jamaica hotel, grand bahia jamaica, bahia jamaica, gran bahia principe runaway bay jamaica, gran bahia principe jamaica resort
LOCATION
CaribbeanJamaicaSaint Ann ParishRunaway Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
850
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica
Which popular attractions are close to Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica?
Nearby attractions include Green Grotto Caves (1.7 miles), Sharkies Beach (3.2 miles), and Puerto Seco Beach (3.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ultimate Jerk Centre, Sharkies Seafood Restaurant, and Highseas Seafood Raft.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica have airport transportation?
Yes, Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.