We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bahia Principe Luxury Runaway Bay

Save
Share
Salt Coppers, Runaway Bay Jamaica
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$280
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/03/22
Booking.com
$280
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/03/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
$198
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/30/22
Priceline$220
Hotels.com$280
Travelocity
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (5647)
360
Panoramas (16)
Pool & Beach (1596)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Contactless check-out
Read more
Updated 06/25/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Bahia Principe Luxury Runaway Bay
Updated 06/25/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 18 in Runaway Bay
Location
4.2
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.2
Value
4.1
Facilities and services 3 lake-style pools 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace with gardens, sun umbrellas and loungers Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (20% discount on some treatments) Sports facilities: gym, 2 tennis courts, volleyball court, football pitch Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) Entertainment amphitheatre Wedding gazebo WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (additional charge) 2 main restaurants 5 speciality restaurants 5 Bars 1 Snack bar Exclusive terrace bar serving Premium drinks Private check-in/out Late check-out subject to availability 18 hole golf course. Pueblo Principe: stores, live music, shows, bars and disco. Rooms 70 Deluxe Junior Suites Room facilities: Four poster king size bed or 2 full size beds Pillowtop mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Sitting are with sofa Balcony or terrace with sea view Fully-equipped bathroom with separate shower, hydromassage bath tub, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathro be and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Radio alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Ironing set Beach towels in rooms 24 hour room service Butler service in rooms (available on request) Evening turndown service Pillow menu Safe (no additional charge) Internet and international newspapers and magazines in the Club House WiFi (no additional charge 24H) Aroma menu Bahia 'au Naturel' (over 18s only): The hotel has a nudist bathing area apart from the other areas
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Adults only
24-hour security
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
Spanish
4755Reviews1831Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,383
  • 1,207
  • 573
  • 317
  • 277
Traveler safety
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
MazS75 wrote a review Yesterday
Washington DC, District of Columbia87 contributions19 helpful votes
+1
Resort was ok……be prepared at the airport to have cash because they will hold our luggage for ransom. First day at resort we had no hot water and then lost complete pressure. Drinks were mediocre at best and barely any alcohol. The restaurants has decent food….make sure to book all reservations WAAAAAY in advance. Travel to and from the resort was a nightmare. They were late to the airport and had to ask another service to pick us up cause they never showed at the time requested. Staff is very friendly and it was a pretty quiet resort. Can’t do a lot of swimming here either, they have it pretty blocked off or there just isn’t any.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
homesoonbut1st wrote a review Yesterday
Gatineau, Canada23 contributions23 helpful votes
+1
The grounds of this Hotel are stunningly beautiful; immaculate by upkeep. The price I got on this vacation was excellent and well worth being on the Luxury side. It was much quieter but did not have a great beach. The beautiful beach was on the opposite side; a 5-10 minute walk. I go to Jamaica for the beach so I did this walk every day and loved the peace I found there. The food was pretty good and I was okay with the variety. I understand supply chain issues are probably magnified in the Caribbean. Over all, I enjoyed myself at this location. I have some feedback however for older travellers. If you have any sort of mobility issue, this is a sprawling complex and has stairs with no railing outside. There are only a few ramps. They work well for people who have mobility aids like scooters and wheelchairs. The tile throughout the complex is very slippery even when dry. Wear good shoes and walk carefully. I was made aware of 2 bad falls while I was there and these were young able-bodied people. There are no shower mats available. Even I (able-bodied) would bring one with me should I go back??? My room was not clean when I arrived. There was toothpaste and a bottle cap on the bathroom counter. I had suspicions about whether the bed sheets had been changed as well! The pool bar and lobby bar offer great service to some. I was ignored at these bars. It didn't feel good but I still tipped! The white hut beach bar was the best by far in service and quality of drink! I got great service from Kerwen who stocked my fridge everyday and from the dining room staff who go out of their way to make sure you have a pleasant meal. Getting reservations at the speciality restaurants is not easy, so book them asap! At these restaurants, the food is usually very good, some better than others. Avoid 9:30pm reservations. On two occasions, the greeting at these restaurants was less than curious! We were addressed abruptly for being late (when we were not) and for looking through the doorway for a friend without presenting to the host(est) first.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Jay wrote a review May 21
Key West, Florida25 contributions26 helpful votes
Where does the sad review begin? Booked 11 family members for get together. Hotel staff a complete joke. Ask for time water sport staff to start work? They don’t know, 9, sometimes 9:30, sometimes later. Appears staff answer to no one. Ask for a manager? Not here today “man” The staff you do find are most likely sitting around 3 to a table chatting it up, unpleasant when questioning if any of the 3 know an answer to a question. Need a room key? Go to front desk, then be told you need to contact security. Security show at your room, and they say go to front desk. Want to see a real “show”? Sit in the entrance lobby and watch not 1 or 2 people standing around, but 6 or 8 or more. Want to see deferred maintenance at its finest? Look at exterior of structure. Interior, windows that have not seen cleaning in not weeks or months, but years. Why should they fix this place if they have guests and money flowing in, keep it l8je @ wreck. Staff wear same uniform for days on end, since you can spot them and identify the holes in their clothing. Total hole. Staff needs months and months of basic human training. They live in a poor country and feel entitled by giving them a uniform and name tag.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
aliroc1964 wrote a review May 20
Oxford, United Kingdom4 contributions7 helpful votes
Absolutely terrible service at the knife restaurant ordered same time as table next to us there stater and ours came out same time there main came out 45 minutes later we still waiting and walked out not even 25% full how hard is it to cook the same as them a ribeye steak ???????? Balcony door jammed open twice now and bathroom flooded once .
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Avoids it
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Burrell, Other at Bahia Principe Luxury Runaway Bay
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Guest, We appreciate you taking time to express your comments about your stay with us, and we will do our best to reinforce in such areas. We must apologies for the issues during your vacation, and we will review the areas mentioned. We hope you come again to enjoy our new services. Sending our warmest Regards, Online Reputation Coordinator.
Read more
Alana K wrote a review May 20
1 contribution
My boyfriend and I visited this resort for 2 weeks in May 2022. We booked the Luxury Bahia Principe, and when we booked everything looked fantastic, one of the reasons we booked this hotel is because it was advertised as adults only. When we arrived at the hotel it became apparent that the luxuary bahia and the grand bahia were the same resort but split into two. This was not clearly advertised. The grand side is a family hotel. There are two pools and a private beach in the Luxuary side of the hotel. One of the pools are connected to the grand side. Some of the people on the grand side have access to the pool which connects to the luxury side and often we noticed that children would be on the luxury side with their parents. Occasionally, security would come and ask them to return to the family side. The main pool on the luxury side is heavily guarded with security and the chances of someone from the luxury side getting through to the main pool is slim to none. It is shame that this was not the same with the quieter pool on the luxury side which connected to the grand. The main pool on the luxury side is beautiful on the face off it, very clean and tidy and plenty of space for all. The issue is, there is nothing luxury about it. It would describe that pool as an 18-30s hotel. Heavy partying, heavy drinking, twerking, dancing, screaming etc. That is absolutely fine, but not what I would expect for a hotel which defines itself as luxury. The bar staff by both pools on the luxury side would often be found pouring shots straight into people's mouths from the bottle and then pouring extra over women's breasts. (This was also happening at the pool which connected to the grand where children were present). At the swim up bars, stock was often limited. There were no starawberry daiquiris for 3 days, no bananas, no rum cream and no rum. Perhaps some would have been available if it wasn't wasted being poured women's breasts. The food at the hotel was great. Absolutely no complaints, very good variety and a number of different restaurants to choose from. Although the hotel is advertised with a 24 hours snack bar, but this does not exist. When we enquired with reception about this, they informed that the restaurant by the pool is the 24/7 snack bar, but it is only open for breakfast lunch and dinner (reservation needed for dinner) One of the big issues at this hotel is the attitude of some of the staff, particularly at the Jazmin buffet restaurant on the luxury side. Those who stand on the door to great you were rude, and often looked as if they didn't want to give you the time of day. One morning I greated the front of house with a 'good morning' to have a dirty look in return. There were a number of occasions when we had a meal without a drink because nobody could be bothered to take our drinks order even though 4 different waitresses walked by and acknowledged us. It is a shame that some of the staff are quite rude, because there are a number of staff who are really friendly, helpful, welcoming and hardworking. It is those staff who make the experience better. We found that the service was better in the al a carte restaurants. The rooms were clean and tidy and there were always fresh towels each day and the mini fridge was replenished daily. On one occasion we returned to our hotel room to the door left open after it was cleaned by the maid. Thankfully nothing was taken. On our last few days there were models at the resort having photoshoots. They were in the pool, on the beach etc but on a number of occasions they were noted to be walking around with no clothes on at all. They would take up half of the pool which made guests feels they had restricted access to the pool. The evening entertainment is good, the entertainment staff clearly work very hard and they are very friendly. The shows repeat themselves after 7 days so if you are here for 2 weeks then the shows are reparative but there are other parts of the resort which provide different entertainment too. Overall our experience was nor terrible but it was just average. We did not see any luxury and I would honestly say that this is not a hotel for people seeking a relaxing holiday with luxury. Young couples and elderly couples can definitely do much better. This is more of a party hotel and I would probably recommend it for large groups of friends who want to chill out but also have a party.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica, Other at Bahia Principe Luxury Runaway Bay
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Guest, We really appreciate you taking the time to send your valuable comments about your stay with us as it helps to maintain the quality of the hotel. We apologize for your expectations not being met at this time, it certainly does not reflect the commitment and the quality that we have exhibited for many years. Our staff always tries to give the best possible experience to the guests. For the points that you have mentioned, we have sent the information to the departments involved to apply the necessary actions that guarantee the quality of our services. Thanks again for your choice and we hope you give us the opportunity to host you again. Sending you our best regards, Bahia Principe Luxury Runaway Bay
Read more
ChrisBToronto wrote a review May 18
Toronto17 contributions35 helpful votes
This was our first trip since Covid began, we were actually scheduled to come here in April 2020 but it was cancelled. This was our second visit to the Bahia Runaway Bay, and the first time staying on the luxury side. A quick comp. between Grand vs. Luxury in our view. Luxury offers brighter rooms, better selection of beverages and more in the way of dining, i.e. unlimited a la cartes, but we still found ourselves on the Grand side more than the Luxury. In our opinion, the Grand side has the better beach. Check in was very easy, we did this online prior to arrival via the Bahia Principe App/Website. We booked most of our dinner reservations via the App without issues. We were unable to select our specific room, but the request for building 26 5th floor was honored and we couldn't have been happier! Upon arrival we stopped by the front desk, in person arrival check in, intro to the butler and luggage took less than 5 minutes and we were on our way. The Butler, Jeffery, was very personable. He asked if we had made dining reservations (which we had), he gave us the highlights of the hotel, answered a few questions and got us set up in our room in a very short time. We did not require Butler related services, so we did not see him for the rest of the trip but he was around if we needed anything. The Resort itself, it's large, be prepared to walk (or wait for a golf cart trolley/shuttle) if you want to see the entire resort. We are active, so walking was not an issue for us. The resort is beautifully landscaped, the are many pools for swimming, the beach on the Grand side (IMO) is better, larger for swimming, more palapas, etc., but we did spend a few days on the Luxury beach and enjoyed that too. It's very quiet, has a nice little swimmable reef with various sea life and the bar and washrooms are close by and well maintained. The Food, we are foodies, we travel for food experiences and prefer to enjoy the local cuisine. Buffet's usually get a bad rap, this is not the case here, we ate at Jazmin everyday for breakfast and most days for dinner, the biggest hit was the Jamaican station and the Smoothie bar, so many authentic tasty options. The a la cartes were ok (Picasso/Rodizio), The biggest a la carte hit at this resort is The Knife, which is their newest restaurant. It is modern, the menu resembles a typical chain steakhouse and the food was awesome. So much so we ate here twice for dinner. Great addition to the resort. For lunch we dined most days at the Grand side beach buffet restaurant for the jerk chicken sooooo Good! (Big Up Melford the Chef) The drinks, definitely not watered down or too strong. Most of the bartenders take pride in making drinks that taste great. Some bars have menus, but in any case the bartenders can usually make what you ask for or they can be creative and give suggestions. Our best experiences were with the Lobby Bar, which serves great drinks all day long and on the Grand side beach, (BIg up to Colin), Colin runs a clean, efficient vibe, drinks are on point, and he is fun to talk to. Great day drinks, blended Dirty Banana or Brandy Alexander. The Entertainment, we attended the shows most evenings, they were very good. The Entertainment team puts a huge effort into ensuring everyone is having a good time, and the performers are very good. Tom Cruise is the man in charge and does a wonderful job! The service in general at this resort is very good, we had some real stand outs that will stick with us, Bahia, do whatever you need to keep these staff members, they are awesome and we would be happy to see them again when we return. . Melford, Mr. Jerk from the beach restaurant, a very busy guy making the best Jerk around, Suzette from Jazmin, always warm and welcoming and it was nice to see you everyday, Colin from the beach bar (Grand Side), he had us all day long with the DB and BA's, Leterica, our housekeeper, thank you for keeping such a clean room stocked with everything we needed and working your schedule to fit with ours, we couldn't have asked for more and Dimario from the Ent. team, the Vibe and Energy you bring to the resort is awesome. The new gym on the luxury side is well equipped, spacious, not very busy and if you are into fitness, it makes for a good place to visit after a day at the beach or early in the morning before heading out. We went 4 or 5 times and it was always clean, well stocked with water, apples, etc., and the person in charge was always friendly. The only real negatives I feel deserve a mention relates to the guests in general, we can do a few things to make this place even better. When heading to the buffet, if you don't know, go slow, try small portions, see what you like and then go back for more, food waste is never cool and we saw a lot of it. The Party Pool, caution, know your limit and play within it, there were a lot of things that went on from 3 - 6pm that were in excess, go easy, yes the reviews that mention excessive drinking, projectile vomiting, sex in the pool are accurate, we were witnesses to it. But to be clear, that is a very small area/segment/population of the resort, and I'm not hating on them, hey you do you that's cool, but avoid the party pool area if you don't like that vibe, there are plenty other quiet pools, beaches for relaxing. So to sum it up, would we go back? Yes, we have been to Jamaica many times, this is our only repeat resort and when we go back to Jamaica, Bahia Runaway Bay will be our home again. One love and thank you for a great stay! Toronto
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Burrell, Other at Bahia Principe Luxury Runaway Bay
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Guest, On behalf of all the Management and team members at the Bahia Principe Luxury Runaway Bay, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments. It is indeed a great pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at our resort; your kind words have been shared with the team, they were happy to know they continue to create memorable experiences with our valued guests. May I use this opportunity to thank you again for choosing Bahia Principe Luxury, to be your holiday destination in the Caribbean. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable retreat to our sunny island. Kind Regards, Melissa Burrell Online Reputation Coordinator.
Read more
Raghdah B wrote a review May 16
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We went there for our honeymoon, everyday there was a little surprise on our bed. The staff is very friendly. As for the food, we fell in love with the restaurant The Knife. The manager Alwayne was amazing and very very friendly. The server Clark was outstanding!!! His smile was contagious!! we loved it so much that we wanted to have our last dinner with them. The food there is just wow. We would definitely come back. There are so many activities to do to stay busy. The room was so clean and would always be on point thanks to Brenda (she is amazing at what she does). Again shout out to Clark, Alwayne and Brenda who made our whole trip special.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Burrell, Other at Bahia Principe Luxury Runaway Bay
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our services, and amazing staff during your vacation. We are grateful for your recognition of our team members, for being of great service to you during your vacation. We are always striving to give our guests the highest quality service so that they could stay absolutely content with their vacation at our hotel. Sending you our Warmest Regards, Melissa Burrell Online Reputation Coordinator
Read more
ScotiaGirl wrote a review May 16
5 contributions
The resort is very big and by itself (not like Punta Cana where resorts are back to back). The grounds are spectacular and well groomed. Pools are big and very clean and sparkly. Lots of beach but not great for swimming in some spots. We liked up at the point (before the nude beach which is around the fence). There are lots of chairs up there, washrooms, bar and daily BBQ. Its abit of a hike but you can get the trolley cart to take you there (catch outside the main lobby) and also reserve him to come back to pick you up. We walked most times. Its not that far from the beach buffet also. There always seem to be a warm breeze up there which made the heat bearable. The rooms are your typical resort rooms, they are in good shape and very clean, just dated furniture, color schemes, etc. For 5 star resort they really should be updated but they are very functional as is. The hallways that were carpeted where nothing short of disgusting and that would be my biggest complaint. They looked like they had not been cleaned in years and need to go asap. Outside the resort could use a coat of paint and the dormer windows repaired, The buffet was meh - same thing all the time and got very tiring. We went to four ala carts (you are only suppose to get to go to 3 but if you go right to the ala carte they will fit you in if they can - which is how we got the 4th one in. We did Italian, The Knife, the Japaneese with the show and the Asian. The Knife and Japanese where the best, Asian ok and Italian I would pass on. The Knife and Italian ones seem to have had their sites revamped as they seemed more modern. (Please feed the cats who reside somewhere around there) The most depressing thing for me at any of these resorts is the poor stray cats (and at this one a very emanicated dog). With the amount of waste from the buffets it seems inhumane that these animals which are god's creatures like us, are starving. They don't necessarily have to feed them right onsite they could have a spot at the base of the resort they dump food for them. I know there are people who will roll their eyes at this, but come on in a world that is cruel choose to be kind. I was very happy to find that there were several people, like me, actually taking food from the buffet and feeding them. It was reassuring to see there are kind people with hearts from all over the world. In particular there was one cat who sleeps in the planters up at the outside lobby bar in the evenings and mornings. We put a dish in one of the planters and between myself and another women we put food in it every morning and night. I got her a saucer of milk from the coffee bar which is right around the corner from the lobby bar each time too. She loved it. Please, please please feed her. It only takes a second to be kind and rid your cold heart. I suggest the resort management should try to incorporate the strays into their program as many guests respond to them as we have pets at home who are like family. Only mean, cold hearted people find them an annoyance and it says alot about them doesn't it. Overall, I liked this resort and would go back, the carpets (why I gave cleanliness a lower rating) and the dormers outside where the only things that made it seem run down. The rooms could be revamped more modern but still fine.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Burrell, Other at Bahia Principe Luxury Runaway Bay
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest, We really appreciate you taking the time to send your valuable comments about your stay with us as it helps to maintain the quality at the hotel. All your observations have been forwarded to the Management of the resort as the guests satisfaction is our priority. May I use this opportunity to thank you again for choosing the Bahia Principe Luxury resort, to be your holiday destination in the Caribbean. Best Regards, Melissa Burrell Online Reputation Coordinator.
Read more
Michelle M wrote a review May 15
1 contribution2 helpful votes
+1
I wouldn’t even give this place one star. We have stayed at this resort before, 5 years ago in fact. Then, we loved this place. We decided to come back and holy crap is it different. The first floor carpet smells like death. It’s so black you can’t even tell what color it was supposed to be. Next we waited over an hour and 20 min for our room to be ready after a hour and 30 minute drive to the airport. We were told to “walk around and come back in a hour” so we went to get lunch at the buffet by the pool. Everything was disgusting!! The chicken nuggets were stuck to the bottom of the pan and had the oddest color. The bread was stale and had mold on it. The jerk chicken on the grill was just sitting there for hours cooking by the time you got it it was drier than the Sahara desert. I thought nachos would be safe but the chips were so stale you couldn’t bite into them. DO NOT EAT HERE. After that horrible experience we tried to go see if our room was done. The woman said yes and on our way we went with a tour guide. Half way to our room the lady from the front desk runs over and tells us the room actually isn’t ready and we must wait longer. After waiting an additional 30 minutes after the hour wait we already did they finally gave us our room. Upon getting into it the lady told us this wasn’t even our room but they threw me in here anyways. It’s the worst room you could ever have. Right outside my balcony is the dj so we got NO sleep. There is splatters of god knows what all over the walls. The balcony door doesn’t even lock and there’s this gross mildew smell. Then at 10pm at night the front desk calls our room, mind you we went to bed at 8pm cause we’ve been traveling all day. We answer the phone and the woman wants to know how the check in process went. I told her everything written here and she says “I’ll send someone over right now for the door”. NOOO! We’re sleeping! She didn’t even offer to move us to a different room or anything. Once I climbed into bed I was stabbed by a stick of some sort that was stuck inside the sheets! Just a reminder, we’ve been here for not even a whole day and I want to leave. I hate this resort so much! Also be careful what you order as far as drinks cause this isn’t actually all inclusive and they will charge you! We also went 3 days without hot water!! They did NOTHING to help us!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica, Other at Bahia Principe Luxury Runaway Bay
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest, We really appreciate you taking the time to send your valuable comments about your stay with us as it helps to maintain the quality of the hotel. We apologize for your expectations not being met at this time, they certainly do not reflect the commitment and the quality that we have exhibited for many years. Our staff always tries to give the best possible experience to the guests, and we give the proper follow-up to all the requests and necessities during the stay of our customers. All your observations have been forwarded to the Management of the resort as the guest’s satisfaction is our top priority, please rest assured we will be constantly striving for excellence in our services. Best Regards,
Read more
N0mastequila wrote a review May 15
Indiana10 contributions65 helpful votes
We just returned from 5 days on the Luxury side of the Bahia and had a wonderful time. I was skeptical after reading some reviews, but have learned that some people have unrealistic expectations of All Inclusive resorts. I think the Bahia was a great property for the price. This was our 4th time in Jamaica & 1st time at this resort. So let's get to it! ROOMS: We were on the 7th floor of Building 26; literally the most amazing view of pool and ocean. Spend the extra money on the ocean view, some of the non-ocean view rooms overlook the road, adjacent fixer upper and tennis courts. Our room was very large with a seating area and large balcony. PRO TIP: Use the app! 5 days prior to check in you can select your room and make dinner reservations. BUFFET: We enjoyed breakfast & lunch at the beach buffet and did dinner at Jazmin (the adult buffet on the Luxury side). We ended up cancelling dinner reservations as we were enjoying the beach and bar too much to be tied to a dinner hour. There was plenty to choose from on each buffet. Breakfast-Eggs, fruit, bacon, pancakes etc plus mimosa's and bloodys. Owen at the omelet station is super! Lunch- always had my 2 favorites...jerk pork and jerk chicken! Plus fresh fruit, cheeses and so many side dishes. I believe I always saw burgers and snacks at the pool as well. Dinner-The Jazmin is the preferred buffet in my opinion. They always had a nice grill station where they had shrimp, salmon or fresh meat to grill if you wanted something simple. Trays were always full and being replenished. If you can’t find something to eat here, then I do wonder what you eat in your normal life. After 5 days it does get monotonous but if I don’t have to shop, cook and clean I’m happy! BARS: We spent 99% of our time at the Coconut Bar and our bartenders were simply amazing! Shout out to Moesha, Janell and Karla. Pleasant and always willing to mix my drinks! They knew after day 1 that I liked my daily fresh coconut with a vodka cocktail and there was always one there. Yes, you can purchase a coconut for $5 at any bar. These ladies work hard! Don’t forget to try the Dirty Banana and Blue Lemon Drop. Also, Kamar at the pool bar did mix a spectacular martini for me as well. Much more of a party vibe up there and some people love it. I wanted quieter. BEACH: This is a personal preference. We spent all of our time in the smaller beach area on the far end of the Luxury side. I loved being able to sit, walk or stand in the calm water with a cocktail and watch the snorkel fishes swim by. If you are looking for waves, you won’t find them here. We grabbed a hut and spent the day here. There are some seaweed patches and some rocks, we used water shoes (but you don’t need them) and could see the bottom. It was blissful! I walked to other end and some folks liked that beach a bit more. I didn’t care for the kids and harder sand at that end. CHAIRS: I have been doing All Inclusive’s for 20 years and have never seen a resort with this many loungers. You never have to play the towel game as there are always chairs, beach or pool. It was fantastic. TIPS: I always plan on tipping since I know these employees bust their butts, work long hours and honestly have some entitled/demanding customers. Housekeeping $5 per day always had fresh towels. Mini Bar Refiller $2 in my fridge with a note about what we drank, it was always filled with way more than 2. Waitress and Omelet Bar $2 just for making sure we always had fresh drinks Bartenders- I gave them a tip with my coconut purchase and then left them each a nice big tip at the end of the week. DRINKS: They were good and the bartenders will make them as strong/weak/sweet as you request them to. I enjoyed some of the pop up coffee/frapp stations as a frozen treat too. Beer is Red Stripe on tap and El Presidente in the mini bar. Most of the bars also have fresh mint to muddle you an amazing Mojito! GYM: Awesome gym with lots of weights, machines and equipment. Overlooking the beach too! STAFF: Everyone I encountered was very friendly! From the front desk to the landscapers. The Butlers were fantastic if you called or had a question. They handled it, then followed up with a phone call. We are always pleasant and outgoing with every staff member we walk by, it’s vacation. Nothing will dull the vacation sparkle. Not even the lack of hot water for a day, truly no big deal, took a chilly shower and was ready to head to dinner. Check In and Check Out was super easy….if you used the app first (See Pro-Tip) My overall impression was very good at this resort. Yeah I’ve seen carpet complaints in the few hallways and it is dated BUT the hallways with tile echo like crazy when people talk so maybe there is a reason. Do people smoke weed on balconies and at the beach? Yes, but you are in Jamaica, Yea Mon!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Burrell, Other at Bahia Principe Luxury Runaway Bay
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, On behalf of all the Management and team members at the Bahia Principe Luxury Runaway Bay, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments. It is indeed a great pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at our resort; your kind words have been shared with the team, they were happy to know they continue to create memorable experiences with our valued guests. May I use this opportunity to thank you again for choosing Bahia Principe Luxury, to be your holiday destination in the Caribbean. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable retreat to our sunny island. Kind Regards, Melissa Burrell Online Reputation Coordinator.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$197 - $1,016 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CaribbeanJamaicaSaint Ann ParishRunaway Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
525
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bahia Principe Luxury Runaway Bay
Which popular attractions are close to Bahia Principe Luxury Runaway Bay?
Nearby attractions include Green Grotto Caves (1.7 miles), Sharkies Beach (3.2 miles), and Puerto Seco Beach (3.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Bahia Principe Luxury Runaway Bay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Bahia Principe Luxury Runaway Bay?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Bahia Principe Luxury Runaway Bay?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Bahia Principe Luxury Runaway Bay?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bahia Principe Luxury Runaway Bay?
Conveniently located restaurants include Milestone Restaurant Sports Bar and Grill, Ultimate Jerk Centre, and Sharkies Seafood Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bahia Principe Luxury Runaway Bay?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Bahia Principe Luxury Runaway Bay have airport transportation?
Yes, Bahia Principe Luxury Runaway Bay offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bahia Principe Luxury Runaway Bay?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Bahia Principe Luxury Runaway Bay offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Bahia Principe Luxury Runaway Bay?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Runaway Bay (1.7 miles).