We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Tropical Lagoon Resort

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Tropical Lagoon Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 60: English reviews
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I spent a night at this villa resort with my husband and we had a great time. Very quiet place that is perfect for getting some piece of mind. The rooms are basic but nice enough. Staff is very friendly and warm. Lovely grounds too. Just wasn't too fond of the breakfast though....egg and roast with a teeny weeny class... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicola M
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We (a large group of 30 people) stayed one night in San San and were looking for a restaurant to eat. We made a reservation at 8 pm. When we got there, not even the table was ready. We were waiting for about 10 min until they arranged somehow the tables. After that we got the menu. It took them... More 

Helpful?
Thank Selina S
Tropical Lagoon... V, Public Relations Manager at Tropical Lagoon Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback! 1. We don't usually do large groups without an advanced reservation so the staff allocation for that day was tailored to in-house guests only. 2. To compensate for the slow service, the guests who got their meals late received them free of charge. Additionally US$300 was removed from the bill in order to... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Listen. Let me first start this off by saying I am a yaadi. I am a yaadi who looooves Jamaica. I got the opportunity to get a 1 night stay at Tropical Lagoon for a much reduced price through the amazing BrawtaLiving.com (go check them out for awesome deals). It was truly an amazing experience. I left from Half Way... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank O L
Tropical Lagoon... V, Front Office Manager at Tropical Lagoon Resort, responded to this review

Greetings Yaadi, Thank you for taking the time to write this beautiful review and for showing the Kingstonians etc, how to easily get to Portland :) We are happy that you enjoyed yourself, please come again when you can. One love TLR Family More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family and I went on a special being offered on Brawataliving for 2 days 1 night. In our group were two mid-teens and three adults and everyone had a marvelous time! The staff were very courteous and friendly and the grounds were immaculate. The cabin also came with access to kayaks. One staff member, Linford, took us on a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Schinell G
Tropical Lagoon... V, Front Office Manager at Tropical Lagoon Resort, responded to this review

The Tropical Lagoon Resort family were pleased to have you here and thrilled that you enjoyed yourself. The "eggs any style" breakfast served with the rooms is complimentary and not a favorite with residents but Jamaican breakfast is also available at a reasonable price in the form of ackee, callaloo, rundown etc. It was heartwarming to see our local residents... More 

Montego Bay, Jamaica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

My Stay the The Tropical Lagoon was a good one. I was greeted by a friendly security didn't remember his name but was polite... to my surprise it was my first time in the parish of Portland so i didn't expect that much of a hill to climb. The Resort is located on a hill so you can just imagine.I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bre876
Tropical Lagoon... V, Front Office Manager at Tropical Lagoon Resort, responded to this review

Beautiful, candid review, thank you so much. We are always pleasantly amazed how much details our guests can recall and record. Since you stay we have put out a more affordable menu. The Tropical Lagoon Staff anxiously await your next visit. Best regards, The TLR family More 

Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2016

Stayed there for a single night a couple of weeks ago... My wife and I seemed to be the only guests. Staff seemed friendly but told us that the restaurant was closing early so we would have to "eat early" if we wanted food on site. Then found an old half eaten plate of food in the microwave in our... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 0bradley
Tropical Lagoon... V, General Manager at Tropical Lagoon Resort, responded to this review

We would like to again apologize for our oversight, and can assure you that our kitchen hygiene is up to standard according to Ministry of health requirements. Our housekeepers’ mistakes have been addresses and the necessary measures have been taken to ensure they are not repeated, likewise the insistence of my staff to gain your meal order timely. Again I... More 

Rosedale
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2016 via mobile

I had a very relaxing time at the Tropical Lagoon Resort. The grounds were beautiful and the staff very pleasant. It did what I needed it to do which was help me relax. I was a bit disappointed that the restaurant hours and food options where limited, secondary to staff shortage. However I enjoyed my meals. Additionally, the walk to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Renee P
Tropical Lagoon... V, Front Office Manager at Tropical Lagoon Resort, responded to this review

We are very happy to hear that your stay was relaxing. We have two new chefs so you should find the restaurant more appealing on your return, also the opening hours have been extended to 10pm. We look forward to hosting you here again in the near future. Best regards, TLR Family More 

Aldeburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2016

We chose to stay at the TLR basically from a map as it was a perfect base for what we wanted. As it transpired we picked just the right place. We stayed for two weeks in November, and the hotel was getting ready for the season but that didn't effect our stay. We stayed in "Coconut House" which is the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank luke C
Tropical Lagoon... V, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Lagoon Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, candid and kind. Travellers will appreciate the information you have provided. To be honest we are truly grateful for the many compliments and we strive to be better each year. Thank you for coming and we look forward to hosting you again as soon as you can. Best regards, TLR... More 

Potsdam, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2016

We stopped by this resort wanting to use their beach for privacy and peace so we could swim in the Blue Lagoon. We had lunch, were treated like royalty (very kind staff) and spent the afternoon on the beach with their wonderful lifeguard sharing stories of Jamaica, goofing with our teen boys, and we met Becky (spelling) and found a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Paula13613
Tropical Lagoon... V, Public Relations Manager at Tropical Lagoon Resort, responded to this review

Hi Paula, Thanks for stopping by. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Unfortunately, there are many people who do not know that guests can simply drop by for breakfast, lunch and dinner, or just lime at the bars. See you again when you can. Regards, TLR family More 

San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2016

This resort is well located, private, resort. It has a small beach with access to blue lagoon. The grounds and location of the property are great. The poor rating is due to lack of staff at the resort. The staff that is there, is very friendly and helpful (especially Donovan), but the owner has cut back way to much to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Manoj B
Tropical Lagoon... V, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Lagoon Resort, responded to this review

Hi Manoj, Thanks for your feedback, the following is a response to your concerns; 1. LACK OF STAFF - The majority of the staff were on break in preparation for the extensive reservations coming in after Christmas Day. We had almost no bookings for that day. We only agreed to accommodated your group because you had a serious problem with... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

127 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (86)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Antonio hotels
1.5 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 17 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moon San Villa
Moon San Villa
#7 of 17 in Port Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#8 of 17 in Port Antonio
4.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 17 in Port Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Jamaican Colors
Hotel Jamaican Colors
#6 of 17 in Port Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tropical Lagoon is an exclusive resort in Port Antonio, Jamaica, nestled on a lush hillside that transcends to the beautiful, world famous Blue Lagoon. Tropical is a hidden gem that offers a lovely mix of modern style in the midst of truly verdant rainforest surroundings. Some of the most picturesque views of Blue Lagoon and the beautiful Caribbean Sea are visible from this resort and, in addition, there's the distinct advantage of having direct, undisturbed access to the therapeutic waters of the Lagoon. The resort consists of 12 elegant, modern apartments, most of which are fully self contained, 2 swimming pools and a central restaurant with a beautiful outdoor terrace open to the views. Located just outside the San San resort area, neighboring beaches are only a 3-minutes drive away. Attractions, the town center and other conveniences are within reasonable reach. Enjoy delightful home cooked Jamaican cuisine. Feel free to discover new surroundings and events taking place in the quintessential town of Port Antonio. The choice is yours, if you desire you can stay on property, sit on the patio and watch the ocean with a drink in your hand! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tropical Lagoon Resort

Address: San San, Fairy Hill, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Price Range: $168 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Lagoon Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Tropical Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Lagoon Resort Jamaica/Port Antonio
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay