We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Norman Manley Blvd, Negril Jamaica
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Snaptravel
$826
$554
View Deal
SAVE $272
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
ZenHotels.com$826
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (5081)
Pool & Beach (1243)
Room & Suite (975)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 08/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sunset at the Palms
Updated 08/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#11 of 82 hotels in Negril
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2020 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best
A great spot for romantics or a destination wedding. Nestled amongst tropical gardens and flowering plants at the edge of Negril, this unique all-inclusive gem is best described as intimate, chic and serene. The resort offers 85 "tree-house-style," elegantly appointed guestrooms on ten-acres of lush landscaping, a design praised by Architectural Digest. Melt away with a soothing spa service in our unique treatment garden, cool off at the swim-up bar with a tropical drink or "chill" at the resort's five beachfront acres and two miles of white sand beach, just steps away. When dining is on the menu, you'll enjoy both international and authentic Jamaican cuisine at four restaurants and bars.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Boating
Diving
Taxi service
Secured parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Snorkeling
Water sport equipment rentals
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Adults only
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Private bathrooms
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
3,483Reviews662Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,513
  • 690
  • 179
  • 72
  • 29
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
wayne c wrote a review Jan 21
Palm Harbor, Florida3 contributions2 helpful votes
When we first started planning our Jamaica trip, we came across the Sunset at The Palms website. The next day we booked our stay and it was the best, romantic tropical garden oasis location that we could have found. Our Wedding Planner, Nadine, work with us over a few months, arranging our beach wedding down to the smallest detail. Our ceremony was perfect and Nadine did an awesome job. The entire staff was warm and attentive to all our needs. Patrick, one of the Managers, went above and beyond everyday to make us feel right at home. Thanks also to the staff that we got to know over our stay: Coleen, Capt Kirk and Damion at the pool and beach bars, Brenda and Avelline who gave us a great couples massage (you must get one), along with Tobian, Kadian, Stacey, Vanessa, Kemisha and Dwayne. The entire Resort setting is just amazing. Total relaxation in a tropical setting. Amongst the individual treehouse units you'll find a wide variety of birds, flowers and hummingbirds throughout the lush gardens. Loved the private beach and the beach bar for lunch, dinners were very good, especially New Years Eve. After dinner drinks in the Piano Lounge or at the Pool bar. What could be better than going back home to see some of our new family at Sunset at The Palms for our First Anniversary.... All the Best, Robin & Wayne
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Location
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Cindy K wrote a review Jan 16
Elkton, Maryland212 contributions43 helpful votes
We returned today from our weeklong stay. So very glad we chose Sunset at the Palms. We had a 2 story suite with 2 full baths. Each floor had its own air conditioning unit. I saw a review just posted by Dave - our room was next to his and we heard the towel discussion as well as the demands he made to the staff during his stay. We felt bad for the staff, he was out of line in our opinion. What we really loved is that we had the run of a beautiful resort, often had the pool to ourselves and never had an issue getting a beach cabana. The staff was highly accommodating, especially during this pandemic. They genuinely appreciated us as guests. In terms of Covid, our temps were taken by staff 3-4 times each day. We observed the staff always wearing a mask, even the groundskeepers (Linford was our favorite). Since each room has its own a/c unit, you aren’t getting hotel air. Yes there is one dining area, the one open to the outside. So they basically rotate the restaurants to you, each night is a different restaurant. I especially loved the Chef’s showcase held Tuesday and Friday nights. There’s no way those meals could be considered bland. Definitely take advantage of Club Mobay at the airport. We whizzed through passport control and customs before catching our ride from the airport. On our return, we sped through security and then waited for our flight in their lounge, having a meal & drinks there.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Fallon C wrote a review Jan 11
New Orleans, Louisiana101 contributions42 helpful votes
When we booked this trip, we expected for Sunset at the Palms to not be at their best considering the global environment. We were prepared for that. Instead, we had a small resort experience with large resort amenities—multiple dining options; staff that remembered who we were; multiple places to hangout; and a small, wonderful community of fellow travelers. Food: all around, breakfast, lunch, dinner, and drinks were good. My favorite meal consistently was the off-the-menu Jamaican breakfast. Highly recommend asking about this daily. Coffee was exceptional. Every day we hit the beach grill for lunch. Jerk chicken is the best, but jerk burger and blackened fish were also top notch—I take back what I said earlier, maybe the jerk chicken was my favorite part! Cannot speak to the jerk pork because it was unavailable the days we were there, which was sad. We were a bit disappointed by dinner, which I thought lacked flare and flavor, but it is not a deal breaker when choosing your resort. This is my only complaint because I am a huge foodie who lives for a dinner to die for. Drinks: we loved the swim up pool bar! Though the water was a little chilly, nothing that doesn’t make a few Red Stripes worth it! Beach bar was also great with exceptional service—at the bar and without leaving our beach chairs! Towards the end of our trip, we learned to check out the piano bar and pool bar before and after dinner for a little fun. There was some limitations at the bar--limited beer selection, for instance--and that was also unfortunate. I do credit it that to the global conditions, however. Beach/pool: the beach is lovely. The water is wonderful. The beach was the most blissful place I’ve ever been. To get there, you do have to cross the road, but this is much less of a hassle than you’re thinking it is. A traffic guard helps you get across and boom—you’re there. This is where we made the strongest relationships with fellow travelers and staff members. To those chippers who previously complained about the peddlers on the beach—they are incredibly kind individuals just trying to make a living. Even when you say no, they part quickly with a blessing, respect, and love. When you get annoyed for your reading or nap being interrupted, consider that these people are only trying to make a living. Plus, you might find something you like! Every morning, we were the only couple at the pool. It was wonderful together time and it was the best part of the limited capacity. I think the pool would be far more action packed during full capacity. Treehouse: the treehouse was a dream! The nature sounds are so choreographed that you might think they’re fake! Every time I woke during the night, I smiled. We felt very comfortable even with our windows open because of the night watch security that patrols the grounds. The bathroom was spacious and top notch. One day we ordered room service for breakfast on our porch—highly recommend!! To those who chirped about poor lighting, I found it very romantic. Excursions: my partner and I are very laid back and enjoy relaxing on a vacation—as much beach, nap, and reading time as possible. But, cajoled by fellow travelers, we took the One Love pub tour and that was the most memorable part of our trip! I would recommend speaking to a personal concierge about booking the perfect trip for you! Traveling during COVID: the resort was incredibly safe. I never saw a staff member without a mask or even their nose over their mask, even outside. You are asked to sanitize you hands at each threshold and your temperature is taken before any meal. But, you’re going to be met with shortcomings—less staff, less selection in terms of food/drink; a few more rules to follow. I URGE you to have empathy. Chances are, you’re getting this at a great discount and you’re still in paradise. We chose not to have our room serviced, but the service staff was incredibly generous with extras towels and taking our trash. Maybe you should bring: bug spray or hydrocortisone (not so many mosquitoes, but a few little annoying biters), insulated tumblers (so your frozen drink doesn’t melt while you’re in the water!). However, there is a very well stocked gift shop to get all of this and more. Most importantly, bring cash. We did not bring enough to show this phenomenon staff how much they meant to us (there is no on site ATM) No need to bring: robes, slippers, water bottles/water tumblers (they give you all the bottles you’d like); shampoo/conditioner/body wash/lotion; more than 2-3 dinner outfits (they’re very relaxed with the dress code) Special shout outs: to our personal concierge, Kadian, who was so incredibly warm, kind and friendly; to Ms. Claudette who was so plentiful in her knowledge of Jamaican cuisine; to Alexander, the other wonderful lifeguard who’s name slips my mind now, and Ferguson, who made our trip so fun!; to Benji our driver to and from the airport who made us feel so safe and shared his knowledge so freely and proudly; and to the gate security guards who always remembered our room number, even when the rum made it so that we did not--thank you so very much to all of you!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Sarah N wrote a review Jan 11
3 contributions3 helpful votes
My husband and I got married on the beach and enjoyed our honeymoon at Sunset at the Palms Resort. We cannot say enough good things about this resort! The accommodations are beautiful, the grounds are well kept and you feel like you are in a tropical paradise. The tree house rooms are spacious and private. The food is delicious! Above all else, the hospitality is what won us over and will keep us coming back. Nadine was our wedding planner and she is phenomenal. Nadine has a kind and calm demeanor and it was truly apparent that she genuinely cared about us and making our dream wedding come true! Every detail was perfect and planned out. She checked on us throughout our stay, before and after the wedding ceremony, and just made us feel really cared for. Patrick was another employee who truly took our vacation to the next level. He was always cheerful, kind, and funny! He made the absolute best Jiggy coffees and had a smile on his face the entire time. When we were lucky enough to have him serve us meals, he was prompt and attentive. The best! Don't let the pandemic stop you, the staff here went above and beyond to make sure everything was santized and safe. We highly recommend SATP and cannot wait to return! Love, Sarah & Cody Millspaugh
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kamarla Simms, General Manager at Sunset at the Palms
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you Sarah & Cody Millspaugh for taking the time out to share your stay with The Sunset at the Palms Resort on Trip Advisor. We are truly elated you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Sunset at the Palms Resort. We are so happy we made your wedding day a special one. I will be sure to share your comments with Nadine. Looking forward to hosting you once again!
Read more
Dave D wrote a review Jan 9
Jamaica4 contributions6 helpful votes
Start w/ love the people and the resort. So amazing and very accommodating. If this was not covid, then things may have been different. Only one restaurant open for dinner and lunch is across the street. Both, Very bland and limited options. Ran out of a lot of items . Patrick did an amazing job trying to help and once again, applaud the staff, but food 1-2 stars best. Entertainment, besides Paul, (every 3-5 days) horrible or non existent. Bars, wait, bar, Closes down at 10 and then ghost town if u need something for the room. We had two towels we brought that were mistaken by the maids and they took, but when we went to pack and realized not in the room we were told they would need to search our bags??? Really??? They did not but were more then welcomed too but that was icing on the cake. It is very peaceful, very laid back, but 80%of our good memories were off the property. Sad knowing how people only want good reviews but have to share our own individual experiences.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Kamarla Simms, General Manager at Sunset at the Palms
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you " H1146VPdaved" for taking the time out to share your review with us. We are always appreciative of guest feedback. It is a mandatory security protocol in 4 or 5 star resorts; to assist guests in locating lost and found items. My apologies if you were offended; as that was not the intent. The team was extremely excited that you enjoyed the lobster dining experience we extended when you highlighted that you loved seafood. As well as they made sure to extend the dollar value of the lost towels; as we want to ensure our guests are always happy. The quiet nature of the property is the reason entertainment is on the quieter side; as we really want our guests to be able to enjoy the relaxation aspect of the Product. We truly appreciate your feedback and will most certainly work on the highlighted points.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$260 - $566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sunset at the palms hotel negril, sunset at the palms negril, sunset palms jamaica, sunset palms negril, sunset at the palms resort
LOCATION
CaribbeanJamaicaWestmoreland ParishNegril
NUMBER OF ROOMS
85
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sunset at the Palms
Which popular attractions are close to Sunset at the Palms?
Nearby attractions include Mary, Gate of Heaven Catholic Church (3.5 miles), Seven Mile Beach (3.1 miles), and Bloody Bay (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sunset at the Palms?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Sunset at the Palms?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sunset at the Palms?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Sunset at the Palms?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sunset at the Palms?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fireman's Lobster Pit, Office of Nature, and Rasta Ade Refreshments.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sunset at the Palms?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sunset at the Palms?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sunset at the Palms?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.