We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Donway, A Jamaican Style Village

1.2 miles from Montego Bay center
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
36 Gloucester Ave, Montego Bay 02, Jamaica
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 52: English reviews
Start your review of Donway, A Jamaican Style Village
 Click to rate
New Jersey
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Positives: I travel a lot so I prefer a non all inclusive hotel. This place met all of my needs. I have stayed other places on the hip strip that seemed dusty, but Donway was clean and I felt comfortable. This place was very basic but met all of my needs. It is in a perfect location right on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ndennifer
Sayville, New York
Reviewed January 7, 2017

I have stayed here with a few times. This place is clean, updated ,quiet , housekeeping service is good, within walking distance of center of town . However I stayed there for New Years Eve (December 31, 2016 and January 1, 2017) and they charges my 2 different cards TWICE. Tried to call the hotel on 2 different numbers ...one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette F
Donnal C, General Manager at Donway, A Jamaican Style Village, responded to this review

Hi Jeanette thank you for your feedback. I'm glad we caught the accidental double charge and we were able to reimburse you promptly. Thanks so much for your referrals we are grateful for all of our guests and we hope you will continue to be a loyal customer and continue with your referrals. When we are able we do offer...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed November 14, 2016 via mobile

Clean, uninspiring hotel. No personality in rooms or surrounds. Very noisy due to the lizards, locals don't notice it, but the noise starts at sundown and doesn't stop until morning! Good location, were able to walk down to the beach and hip strip. Tourist police everywhere along the strip made us feel a lot safer walking around as we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lydia S
Plantation, Florida
Reviewed October 3, 2016

Everyone from the hotel manager to housekeeping were amazing.The hotel manager even printed our boarding passes,as my laptop was not working.You could eat off the floors, sooo clean..Can not wait to return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dulcemama
CT
Reviewed August 26, 2016 via mobile

It's a clean hotel (at least our room is). We were able to check out at 2pm. There was no one at the front desk or anywhere for that matter. Looks like only one person at the time was working. There is free wifi, no pool and is at a good spot. Probably why the price is more than what...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cafemocha_f
Reviewed August 26, 2016 via mobile

1.The room was not fancy but it was clean. The yound lady who cleaned our room during our stay was Jasmine. Jasmine was wonderful. The room always smelled like fresh bleach when i came back to it. (so i knew it was clean). She even took my swim shoes and dusted the sand off and placed them neatly inside my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monique B
Tustin, California
Reviewed August 15, 2016 via mobile

Good service. Everyone who works here is very nice and helpful. We kept our 'do not disturb' sign up most of the time. The one day we took it down, the girl did a wonderful job cleaning the room. The hotel is in a busy area of town, but tucked away in shear quietness. We really enjoyed our stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olesya J
Donnal C, General Manager at Donway, A Jamaican Style Village, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We do value all our guests and make every effort to exceed their expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property and our beautiful Island.

Port of Spain, Trinidad
Reviewed August 13, 2016

We had made reservations for a special room. On arrival we were given a standard room and charged more than what was quoted. We did get the correct room and the price stayed up even after I showed front desk a copy of my booking. First day your receipt was stamped "no refund". My husband described our room as a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dianne B
Donnal C, General Manager at Donway, A Jamaican Style Village, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very grateful for your feedback and share it with the entire team. We will address your concerns and do our best to ensure that the correct action is taken. Thank you for all your comments as we do make every effort to go above and beyond for all our guests and your feedback...

Reviewed August 6, 2016

The accomdation is situated on the Hip Strip a stones throw from the local beaches . Our room was dark a lack of natural light due to it being built inside . The room was damp clothing would not dry inside . Poor facilities. Our room was not always cleaned unless we requested. One tiny bin in the bathroom ....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CarolinaGianna
Donnal C, General Manager at Donway, A Jamaican Style Village, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We always honor the guests requests to not service/ enter their rooms unless requested to do so however if this was not your intention we sincerely apologize. We have TV's pool tables and fee internet in our public areas but perhaps you were expecting additional entertainment. We regret that you were disappointed with our property...

Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Reviewed June 29, 2016

The hotel is inside a small complex of businesses, the front desk staff was always away and no way to get them unless somebody go and call them for you. I asked for the key of the safe and I was told that I could get it the day after, after check out time, what?? The room was not cleaned,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GingerAleOnTheRoad
Donnal C, General Manager at Donway, A Jamaican Style Village, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we very much appreciate the feedback. As we work very hard to provide excellent service for our guest we acknowledge your comments and will take the appropriate action. We hope that you will visit us again and allow us the opportunity to provide you with a wonderful guest experience.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Deja Resort
Deja Resort
#23 of 62 in Montego Bay
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#28 of 62 in Montego Bay
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#33 of 62 in Montego Bay
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Toby's Resort
Toby's Resort
#24 of 62 in Montego Bay
480 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Greco Resort
El Greco Resort
#27 of 62 in Montego Bay
484 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Donway, A Jamaican Style Village, is a property located in Montego Bay facing the sea. It offers comfortable accommodations with free Wi-Fi access, a/c, hot water queen size beds, flat screen TV and cable. You will find a full service restaurant onsite offering the best Jamaican cuisine. There is also a coffee shop/bakery which carries an assortment of beverages, fresh baked pastries, sandwiches, fresh fruit and ice cream. The Donway also features the Stage Bar on site,a Sports Bar and a wine bar. There is a gift shop and full service salon and spa. Other attractions guests can enjoy are Dunns River Falls that are 1 hour and 30 minutes' drive from the hotel and the Green Grotto Caves 60 minutes' drive away. Doctor Cave Beach is a 5-minute walk and Sangster International Airport is 2.4 km away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Donway, A Jamaican Style Village

Address: 36 Gloucester Ave, Montego Bay 02, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Price Range: $82 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Donway, A Jamaican Style Village 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Donway, A Jamaican Style Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Donway, A Jamaican Style Village staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Donway, A Jamaican Style Village staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Convenient to get the refrigerator.”
 of 5 bubbles ndennifer, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“All rooms were spacious ,clean and air conditioned.”
 of 5 bubbles dulcemama, Oct 3, 2016 | Read review
“I just don't recommend any”
 of 5 bubbles CarolinaGianna, Aug 6, 2016 | Read review
“The room I stayed in was lovely on the top floor”
 of 5 bubbles ebonyfeline, Jun 20, 2016 | Read review
“no stay here”
 of 5 bubbles joebZ6571BC, May 17, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question