We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Carretera El Macao - Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 23000 Dominican Republic
Hotel direct offer!Up to -40% Black Friday
Booking.com
Riu.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Algotels
Priceline
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (10816)
Pool & Beach (2829)
Videos (1)

About

#80 of 201 hotels in Punta Cana
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.1
Value
4.1
The Adults Only & 24h All Inclusive Hotel Riu Republica opens all year round and is located right on the beautiful Arena Gorda beach. The RIU Classic Hotels offer comfortable rooms and excellent facilities with great leisure and relaxation facilities, as well as international gastronomy. Enjoy a relaxing holiday - whether alone, with family, partner or friends! The location is ideal due to its proximity to Punta Cana Airport (28 km), Pueblo Bávaro (23 km) and invites you to explore the area. The hotel has 1382 comfortably furnished rooms and offers many amenities. Relax in our spa or get in shape at the gym. 8 outdoor pools. Day and evening entertainment, as well as our Pacha Discotheque, Splash Water World. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer 2 main restaurants with live cooking stations, Asian, Indian, Spanish, Italian specialty restaurants, Steakhouse, 2 Gourmet restaurants, and 10 bars.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Aerobics
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Adults only
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
VIP room facilities
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Up to -40% Black Friday
7692Reviews2256Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 3,558
  • 2,105
  • 1,088
  • 487
  • 458
Traveler safety
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Liz wrote a review Yesterday
2 contributions
Ok for us this place was just all wrong! It felt like an 18-30's holiday! If you like constant music, noise, being drunk and smoking weed then this place is great. If you just want peace and quiet then do not come here. I thought adults only would be quiet but hey you live and learn! Children are far quieter and far better behaved!! On the whole the resort is OK, food is OK as long as you like buffet service, there are 2 restaurants that are full service but limited menu choice so gets boring after a while. Rooms are adequate but nothing special. Also a big no no for anyone with mobility issues, lift worked sporadically and resort is huge! I could easily clock up 10,000 steps just walking to meals and the pool. Our room was nearly 3/4 K from the sea. Generally not the cleanest place either. Staff are OK but more helpful if you tip well. Also hard to get low denomination notes so if you can, order these before you come. Also bring your own towels! The ones they provide are not great and they run out.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Only come here if you want noise!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
DLLLS wrote a review Aug 2021
British Columbia, Canada57 contributions53 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Check in was easy the gentleman at the front Desk was so amazing and helpful. My husband to be Manny and I stayed for four days.. they upgraded our room for us for free. The Dominican show in the evening was amazing! Shout out to The DJ he is super nice. Variety of three pools was amazing..if you wanted to be in the middle of the busyness of everyone for fun or some romantic time alone with the one you love. We only ate at the Buffet but the food variety was good. Drinks were strong m, just the way I like them..definitely like the strawberry slush with a little tequila jeje. Our room was really nice. Overall a great stay and we will come back. The only complaint that I would have was that the younger crowd can be a little out of control and nothing seems to be done about it. I am all for fun but the Disrespect I seen towards the employees because of excessive drinking was ridiculous. Sometimes there should be a point where people are cut off.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
26 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
D W wrote a review Yesterday
Toronto, Canada4 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Check in - was fast and efficient. Make sure you download the Riu app before you go and do the virtual check in, makes things very easy. Property - This is a large sprawling resort, I was up early each morning to work out so I witnessed the staff cleaning the pool and maintaining the grounds, walls being painted etc. THIS IS A PARTY RESORT!!! Do not go here is you are looking for quiet and relaxing atmosphere, but because the property is so large there is a swim up bar and pool that is far away from the main party pool (if you want quiet). Rooms - This is where this resort falls short of its 5 star rating. THIS IS A PARTY RESORT!!!! Most people that book here are not going to be hanging out in their rooms all day, so the fact that the TV doesn’t work wouldn’t matter. The staff clean every morning, mini bar was stocked on a daily basis. I was traveling with guys who had an issue with shower, staff went to their room and fixed it with in the hour. If you are looking for a luxury room to lounge in all day do not book here, but you are in the Caribbean what the hell are you hanging out in your room for?!?!? Staff - A group of very hard working individuals. From the bartenders to the front desk staff and the cleaning staff. I’m a big believer that you receive the type of energy you put out, a smile and a kind word is enough to receive great service, if you learn a couple Spanish phrases even better. Tipping is appreciated by these hard working folks. I tipped two USD for bar service, 5 USD per day to the room cleaning staff. Food - THIS IS A PARTY RESORT!!! lol. If you are looking for fine dining do not book here. That being said, the food is a solid four star. The steakhouse was our favourite. The main buffet was ok. Asian food restaurant was similar to what you would find at a supermarket. Like I said it’s solid four star all inclusive resort food, enough variety so that you won’t starve. Wifi - The best wifi coverage that I have ever experienced at an all inclusive resort. Only had to log in once, not many dead spots. It even worked on the beach! Conclusion - THIS IS A PARTY RESORT!!! Our group was looking for this, we were a group of guys celebrating our 50th bdays. Average age was young, about 30, but hey if you go to party your age isn’t really an issue. My only real issue was the music, the crowd was probably 80% North American, but the music in the disco was mostly Spanish focused. As a result, most of the english speakers would not hang out in the disco. It was really funny, anytime any type of hip hop came on the music starved people would get sooo excited.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Get up early (8:00am) for beach towel service. Arrive early (6:30pm) for specialty restaurants,...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Anne J wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Staff is friendly and helpful Although finding someone that can speak English can be trying at times. Rooms in the older, eastern portion of the resort are dated and there is evidence of deferred maintenance. The room door locks use a card system for entry that was extremely problematic and required a return to the main desk for replacement four times while we were there. I would estimate the distance to the room and back was at least a quarter of a mile each time. Two other couples travelling with us indicated that in addition to problems with the door lock the bathroom door locks were also broken. They indicated their coffee maker did not work, the hairdryer was broken and the shower head handle had broken away and was hanging down. After a number of trips to the front desk, most of these issues were resolved over the course of 3 to 4 days. On a positive note, I found the rooms to be clean. During our two week stay, our refrigerator was restocked only two times. The greatest disappointment was the food situation. In my mind every one of the restaurants was essentially a continuation of the main Buffet. Selection at the specialty restaurants was extremely limited, and in the case of the steakhouse, produced a fatty and very tough steak. During the course of a two week stay we migrated from the specialty restaurants to the buffet which seemed to carry virtually all of the same dishes that the specialty restaurants were serving. Given the size of this main Buffet it was very surprising to learn that only one toaster was available to use. Waits to use it were long. This was Completely and totally inadequate. Bread was often dry or stale. Liquors were offbrand and the beer seemed watered down with low alcohol content. The supply of towels to use at the outdoor pools was very limited. Waits for towels were lengthy. The towels them selves were often bleach stained with holes and rips.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Find a better resort I would definitely not return.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
aelizabethl wrote a review Nov 28
Ottawa, Canada23 contributions9 helpful votes
While this is not a 5 star resort, it is a very decent 4 star property and if you’ve already booked don’t let the bad reviews scare you. Check-in -easy, room was ready for us at 3pm and there was no need to change rooms from the one we were assigned. -there is no bell boy or anyone to bring your luggage so you will need to bring it to your room yourself Staff -very friendly, always happy, and always willing to help -never expected a tip (I have never seen anything like this at the 10+ all inclusives I’ve been too, everyone was genuinely thankful for any tip provided but did not change service whether a tip was given or not!) Gym -terrible, as someone who works out daily I only managed one workout in the gym which felt more like a sauna with all windows and mirrors completely fogged up and the broken equipment Food -very good! -buffets have something for everyone -jerk chicken is the best -steakhouse,Spanish and Asian dinners are also delicious -no issues with anything being undercooked or cold and neither of us were sick *if you have allergies I would definitely avoid this resort as the buffet food is not labelled well and all serving spoons are mixed between dishes* Drinks -top shelf would be the equivalent of North American bar rail -drinks were all good, fast service and never had an issue of them running out of something/unable to make it -no straws or single use cups -only water bottles on resort are the large ones provided in the rooms but water at the restaurants was safe to drink Room -fine, nothing special but nice enough -cleaned daily -no soap provided until the last day, even after requesting via the app. We had to use a body wash I packed to wash our hands -freezing! If you open to door to outside the air conditioner turns off and there was no way to turn it on low or increase the temperature so our room was 15-18 degrees celsius most nights Pools -they do appear cloudy but are cleaned daily -plenty of options for quiet/relaxing or entertainment/party/pool bars depending on what you want -towels were available all morning, never had issues getting them before 1030am -towels all look dirty, you just kind of have to accept it Entertainment -the entertainment staff are hilarious by the party pool -if you are not looking to participate in dance parties then you will not enjoy the entertainment at this resort. Most shows and activities were either parties or some type of dancing Beach -beautiful -no seaweed -can walk for miles -water is rough, usually a red flag but if you walk down the beach to the right the water is a bit calmer and easier to swim if you don’t want to jump the waves -you can actually go to the beach at night at this resort but if you do bring bug spray as the sand fleas are terrible at night.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Fai214 wrote a review Nov 28
1 contribution
Once you arrive you realise that this is definitely not a 5* No welcome drinks or cheerful staff upon arrival and plenty of drunken people lounging around or being held up by others. The room was large enough for three beds which would of been great but instead they made up the sofa bed to which would of be great if it wasn’t broken, I had asked for a new one to which they never replaced, so unfortunately someone had to make do for a 14 night stay. While the cleaning staff changed the beds daily and towels every 2 days they didn’t really give the room a good clean the same marks on the mirrors and glass from when we first arrived still there when we left for this 1* The food was plentiful if you like to have the same food for lunch and dinner the best service was breakfast to which you had to make sure you was in there before 9am to ensure freshness for this 3* Entertainment was good Riu could do with spending a bit more money outfits and props for the staff to ensure that it doesn’t look like the staff had to pay for their own outfits.£££ for this 3* The bar staff at the La Ola were fabulous Kelvin, Eduardo, Ladey all the staff that worked on that bar from 13th to 27th of November were outstanding for these people they get 5*+ The guy that cleaned the pool bar at La Ola in the mornings was always doing a great job 👏🏻 and he definitely took pride in his work. The beach was lovely the weather was fantastic everything that you would like for November. All in all we had a nice 14 nights yes after the so called pasha closed it was nosier for 1hr or so until people probably passed out and went to sleep 💤 So when the guy at the airport said to me which hotel are you staying at I said the Riu Republica he said oh Party Party hotel ok 👌🏻 He definitely wasn’t wrong.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Location
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for top floor in main building best location.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Tracey J wrote a review Nov 27
1 helpful vote
I feel compelled to write a review having read some of the poor reviews on here , the poor reviews filled me with dread and I was really put off by my hotel choice . I have just returned from a weeks stay with my daughter at Riu Republica . We was welcomed by very friendly check in staff . The room was clean and very basic everything worked as it should so no complaints. If you are looking for home comforts then I suggest you stay at home . The hotel is laid out over a huge complex if you want to party hard or just relax around one of the more chilled relaxed pools there is something for all adult ranges . The beach is beautiful yes there is some seaweed which is regularly cleaned off the sea shore , the sea is a bit rough if you like waves then you will love spending your days soaking up the sun under the palm trees. The buffet and other restaurants all had plenty of food choices if you can’t find something to eat then you really are very fussy , the food could be a bit warmer but when you are feeding the masses then this will always be a challenge. The evening entertainment is amazing , yes you will see groups of younger adults enjoying themselves and having fun . The hotel staff are amazing they work extremely hard keeping the hotel and grounds clean and tidy the waiters and bar staff are all very pleasant and friendly, we had a lovely stay my only complaint is the week went too quickly.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: I have never seen so many sun beds , no need to get up at the crack of dawn to reserve a bed...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Scott B wrote a review Nov 26
Manchester, United Kingdom232 contributions132 helpful votes
+1
Great location. Great party . Mostly great guests but the usual scruffs and people that can't handle their ale . Staff mostly were great Inc swim up bar , Luis the mini bar man, breakfast buffet staff and housekeeping. Dropped a star due to often miserable lobby bar staff ( not all ) who often couldn't be bothered filling up the decent spirits and insisting on serving the awful cheap stuff to the point we complained to the rep and riu . Great location but watch the sea undertow it's caught a few unawares. Clean and vibrant I'd return no issues but demand the premium international spirits we paid for and not accept apathy.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: You've paid for international spirits so ask for them ( can see list on riu app as they changed...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
dmart69 wrote a review Nov 26
Chesterfield, United Kingdom8 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
Once you get your head around the this is not a ‘luxury’ 5 star resort (4/4.5) then you can relax and get the very best out of this funky, cosmopolitan Riu offering. Food plentiful in choice and always cooked to a good standard. Recommend a visit to the a la cart Steak restaurant as the staff were so engaging and could not do enough to ensure a great night. More than enough drinks options at any of the numerous bars. Always found staff in good spirits and humour (special mention to Rosie who always went out of her way to make us feel extra welcome ❤️) It was my wife’s birthday whilst there and Rosie and her team made a real effort! Much appreciated. This hotel has a lovely friendly buzz to it throughout both day and evening. We’re both in our 50’s but young at heart and never felt out of place for a second. So for atmosphere, food, drinks and all round great time fully recommend 👌
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: We were always in bed before midnight so avoided any overly raucousness
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Kristina B wrote a review Nov 23
11 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel HELL!!!! Don’t know where to start maybe best way to say it is DON’T stay in this hotel its a hell hole! We been staying here from 5th of November to 16th and basically couldn’t wait to get out of here within few days! Rooms are dirty from day one hairs on the bed finger prints all over balcony door mirrors dirty with toothpaste floor dirty! Service is terrible on every restaurant they lazy rude and arrogant! Want your money but don’t want to do any work for it absolutely shocking had to get our own drinks on table service every day ) ( coffee,tea, water etc ) and if you eventually get asked takes them forever to get it to the table you can finish your meal and still no water on the table! Staff arguing on front of guests shouting on each other first thing in the morning while guests having breakfast straight away put you into bad mood! Reception staff is extremely unhelpful and rude mocking guests in front of there faces no class or professionalism! Food is disgusting I wouldn’t feed a dog with food we been given! There is no a la carte restaurants as the advertising it’s same buffet food self service like in main restaurant you just have to wait to get in with some sort of buzzer they give you reminded me of a take away place that’s all! TUI should be ashamed for advertising this hotel as 5 star it’s a dump! I Wouldn’t give 3 stars!!!!!! It’s a party hotel full of drunk people who don’t sleep and drink day and night and don’t care what they eat or where they sleep! Can’t get a normal nite sleep without someone shouting or blearing music in the middle of the night outside guests rooms! I wish i never come here and glad to be leaving!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t stay there do your research before and you will see everyone says same thing! Rude...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Republica
Responded 6 days ago
Dear kristinab363, We are truly saddened to read that despite our efforts of our team and the goodwill of our staff, we were unable to fulfil your wishes and you did not find anything positive about our resort. Best Regards, Hotel RIU República Online Reputation Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$176 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicLa Altagracia ProvincePunta Cana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1382
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL RIU REPUBLICA $131 ($̶3̶6̶0̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Resort (All-Inclusive) Reviews - Punta Cana, Dominican Republic

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Riu Republica
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Riu Republica?
Nearby attractions include Hard Rock Casino Punta Cana (0.3 miles), ORO Nightclub (0.4 miles), and Little Switzerland (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Riu Republica?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Riu Republica?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Riu Republica?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Riu Republica?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Riu Republica?
Conveniently located restaurants include Montserrat Manor Restaurant, Toro, and Los Gallos.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Riu Republica?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Hotel Riu Republica have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hotel Riu Republica offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Hotel Riu Republica have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Riu Republica offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Riu Republica?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Riu Republica have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.