We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Carretera Macao SN Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 23301 Dominican Republic
38 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!EXTRA 5% OFF
Expedia.com
$434
View deal
Barcelo.com
$434
View deal
Destinia.com
$411
View deal
Travelocity$434
Booking.com$490
Lol.travel$587
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (12054)
360
Panoramas (99)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 06/24/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Occidental Caribe
Updated 06/24/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#78 of 197 in Punta Cana
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
3.7
Service
3.7
Value
3.7

Finding an ideal family-friendly all-inclusive resort in Punta Cana does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Occidental Caribe, a nice option for travelers like you.

As your “home away from home,” the all-inclusive resort rooms offer a flat screen TV, a minibar, and air conditioning, and getting online is easy, with paid internet access available.

Guests have access to a 24 hour front desk, room service, and a concierge while staying at Breezes Punta Cana. In addition, Occidental Caribe offers a pool and breakfast, which will help make your Punta Cana trip additionally gratifying. And, as an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

If you like Italian restaurants, Barcelo Premium Punta Cana is conveniently located near Ciao and Capriccio Mare.

Occidental Caribe puts the best of Punta Cana at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Casino and Gambling
Babysitting
Parking
Paid wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Water park
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Iron
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Great View
Languages Spoken
French, Russian, Spanish, German
Hotel links
Special Offer:EXTRA 5% OFF
14159Reviews1351Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 5,822
  • 3,792
  • 2,136
  • 1,246
  • 1,163
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Elizabeth B wrote a review May 6
2 contributions
The only thing that was good about this hotel was the view and the pool. Checked in on Thursday which we stood in line for over an hour; Had a rain storm on Friday night which lead to no elevators for 5 days; no internet or tv for 3 days; hair dryer didn’t work; the fan only had 1 speed (warp); lights didn’t work; no one answers the phone at the front desk; music at night went until 2:00 in the morning and the food was not very good.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Alvaro Fontenla, Propietario at Occidental Caribe
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Customer, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at our hotel. Before continuing, I would like to extend a genuine and heartfelt apology for not having exceeded your expectations on this occasion, we are sorry that our efforts have not been sufficient, of course, we have taken note of the areas of opportunities that you bring us so that they can be reviewed as soon as possible. before by those directly responsible, your valuable contribution is greatly appreciated. Please, you can write to us at caribe.rrpp@occidentalhotels.com, to follow up on your problem. On behalf of all of us here at Occidental Caribe, we would deeply appreciate another opportunity to welcome you back. We will do everything possible to make your next experience with us an absolutely wonderful one. To be honest, Alvaro Fontenla General Manager
Read more
Chasmebadur wrote a review Sep 2021
New York City, New York23 contributions22 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Awesome staff and the cleanliness only thing that i felt missing was bathroom needs to be updated and Restaurant and buffet needs to have more food choices for vegetarian food and for some culinary experience
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Alvaro Fontenla, Owner at Occidental Caribe
Responded Sep 3, 2021
Dear Customer First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing this wonderful opinion about your recent stay with us. It is very gratifying to read it. We are very grateful for your compliments to our staff, whose kindness and kindness is one of our hotel's greatest strengths, and I promise to congratulate all of them on their behalf for contributing to your well-being during your stay at our hotel. Last but not least, We are proud to know that you were able to enjoy the result of the effort of our chefs to satisfy the culinary desires of our guests, offering them the most delicious dishes. Thanks again for this heartwarming review about your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. Álvaro Fontenla Director Occidental Caribe
Read more
James R. F wrote a review May 3
Berkey, Ohio9 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
It's an older resort so it's a little tired. They are constantly working on keeping it clean and I saw painters working every day. The buffet needs some variety. If you enjoyed the breakfast, lunch, and dinner the first day, you can expect its the exact same meal on your last day. As I don't speak Spanish it was pleasure to find a staff member that spoke English well. This is a very poor country. Make someone's life better and tip these people well. If you get a chance to partake in the romantic beach dinner, do so. It was the best meal of our week's stay. Bottom line this was a wonderful vacation for myself and my group. Avoid the Rolingo game in the casino. Oh the story we can't repeat. Wow.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Schedule your restaurant meals the day you arrive. The casino can take a lot of your money if...
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Alvaro Fontenla, Propietario at Occidental Caribe
Responded 2 days ago
Receive a cordial greeting from Occidental Caribe; We are pleased to have had your preference for the enjoyment of your last vacation, thank you for letting us know both the aspects that you liked the most and the improvements that we should focus on to enhance your experience and that of our future visitors, thank you very much for your fruitful comments. We would love to welcome you again soon for a better experience with us. Best regards! Alvaro Fontenla General manager
Read more
Michael S. wrote a review Apr 2022
Chicago, Illinois7 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
How to summarize this hotel is stunningly difficult. I’ll start with a few basic facts that should give anyone an immediate feeling of the hotel and the company behind it. - They universally block the Travel Advisor website on their WIFI. - They send people around to accost visitors to leave reviews on google reviews about the hotel and literally watch you do the review. (Technically it’s vastly harder to block Google reviews given its tie-in to other Google services). Lets start. This hotel is truly awful from just about any angle and is everything that has driven all-inclusive stereotypes. My family trip was 5 days and 4 nights including 2 adults and 2 children. I included pictures, as you will find that the pictures put out by Barcelo are rather non-descript. (Lots of happy people at weddings, conference rooms, and not surprisingly very few pictures of the rooms). Rooms/Amenities: - We got a Premium Suite. I paid around $400 more for this, somewhat hedging our bets in the hope of not getting what our friends got. First off, it’s a very dirty, ill repaired, smelly set of two connected rooms. Clearly remodeled in the early 90s. One room had a king, and the other was according to booking to be ‘two queen beds’. In reality, it was furniture pushed to the side, and two rollaway cots jammed in. - Two bathrooms! Awesome! Both toilets didn’t work. The parts in the tank were all corroded. I constantly was self-fixing the toilet’s, which is gross, given the bathrooms were filthy. Even when they did work, as other reviewers have noted, the water pressure is so poor that flushing is a challenge, and showers are almost a trickle. - All the furniture is tired, worn, or rusted. The sheets were not much better, but I will admit, they smelled of bleach, which was a positive. - Public indoor areas smell of vomit. There is no better way to describe this. - They have a gym, but for your own health, please don’t touch anything without your HepA, HepB, and Tetanus shots. Bars: - So this is all controversial. The selection of drinks is theoretically comprehensive, but lots of weird things here you need to read into: o Often you wait. Sometimes a long time, for someone to serve you the 8oz plastic cup of whatever. o The liquor is questionable. They show top-shelf stuff, and will pour it for you, but it DOES NOT taste right, and there are signs these top-shelf bottles are just topped off every day with ‘whatever’. (e.g. Absolute Vodka should not taste like Gin – and it’s stunning that the same bottles are full each day). If you want to be safe, just drink the beer. Imperial. It’s not bad in the little shot-sized solo cups. Servers will fill up just about anything for you – if you’re looking to get a good tanking on. Lots of people bring their water bottles to just fill up. (Yup – that kind of place). In my early twenties I would have appreciated that. Not with kids. o Coffee is surprisingly hard to get, and when you do get it, it’s often given to you in the same 8ox plastic beer cup, so when you get it, it’s basically a cup of hot brown imparted with a heavy plastic flavor. o Oddly they are trying to sell you bottles of booze in the lobby at night when they are pushing their time-shares. Just weird… I’ll assume that stuff is real. Food: - Universally disgusting. As others have mentioned, you will lose weight on this trip. It’s awful. Never have I had a buffet that is so bad. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner. All miserably bad. You’ll be dreaming of airline food and that Taco bell back at the PUJ airport. (We hit it hard on the way home and all agreed it was the best meal of the trip). - The non-buffet restaurants are equally poor, just take a lot longer to get out of. The one exception that offers anything of reasonable taste is the Japanese restaurant. I mean it’s really Chinese, but work with them. I take this as a win. - Lunch is particularly troubling. It’s all bad. How you can screw up hamburgers and hotdogs in odd. Meat in hamburgers and hotdogs should never be that color. Like ever. Really hard to describe, but not something that should ever enter the body in that color. Tips for someone who was suckered into staying here (and now needs a way to survive): - “Hello family, you have a bountiful family”. B.S . This is one of an army of time share-salesman who openly are admit there is a better resort close that they will take you to and give you a free meal if you only look at it. It’s a total timeshare scam. Look around. Is this the type of company you want to saddle yourself and dependents with a timeshare. Run. - The service (as I mentioned before) is universally horrible. Saying this, the maid will be your only savor ironically for water. Leave a note and tip around $5 a day and ask for “mucho agua”. You’ll get water. Note that there is a fridge in the room, but it generally will not work, and it will be stocked pretty much on day 1 with whatever soda they had available. They will not returned regularly again, and if you don’t get water from the maid, your stuck going to the bar and getting water in tiny solo cups that tastes like bar cleaner. - There is a pizza place upstairs of the pool snack bar. Use it. It opens at noon, and don’t show up wet. (Yeah, seriously). You will get yelled at and sent away. Somehow this is considered fancy and is one of the many arbitrary rules you will encounter that seem to exist to just annoy people. Anyway, the pizza is entirely editable. Best food in the resort. Eat it every day. IT closes around 4. This will be your only meal of substance. - Check-in is a terrible experience. Hard to explain really, given its overshadowed by the disappointment of the room once you get it. They oddly have chosen there most ‘hardened’ and non-english speaking employees to deal with this. I feel for them. All we saw was arguments (Mostly after people saw the rooms). - Speaking of rooms, get an ocean view. Not because of the ocean, but they run some nightclub on the pool side that runs until 4AM. If you are into that, great, if you want sleep or have kids, forget it. - Bring soap and all your toiletries. We never really got any. If you, can also bring something to try and cover the biscuits and ass small of the rooms. - Bring a $10 alarm for the doors. Ideally two of them. Our deadbolt was broken, and clearly our door had been smashed in once or twice. Also the patio door didn’t lock. We didn’t get rolled, but the security is bad here. We saw lots of people milling about without bracelets. If you get rolled here, I wouldn’t count on security doing much. - Best tip of all. Never book here or at a Barcelo hotel (given they own this place and clearly are out to just scam people).
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Alvaro Fontenla, Propietario at Occidental Caribe
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Mumcs01 Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us last year. We are disappointed to hear that you did not have the experience you were hoping for at Hotel Occidental Caribe, and the specific concerns have been raised with the appropriate departments. We are committed to providing the warmest of service and want to ensure all our guests have a memorable stay from the moment of arrival to the time they depart so of course, it is with regret you felt otherwise. We hope you will give us an opportunity to make amends by making a return visit and in the meantime. We encourage you to contact us directly, so that we can further discuss your experience Kind regards, Alvaro Fontenla. Hotel Manager. Hotel Occidental Caribe
Read more
Logan_Lac wrote a review Apr 2022
Miami, Florida10 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
This has to be the worst hotel I have ever stayed in my life, absolutely nothing was good about it. Please don't waste your time and money in this hotel, I really don't know why it has so many good reviews, I guess is the type of traveler that stay there call me elitist I don't care. you are warned. Where do I start? upon arrival around 3:00pm they told us there weren't any restaurants available only the buffet by the pool with burgers and hot dogs, my wife and I got to the buffet just to find that it was a free for all with some of the worst food. we decided not to eat and just wait for the restaurants to open at 7:00pm. We got our room, no remote control for the TV but it didn't matter because the TV did not work anyways, the AC did not work either, the smell of mold and humidity was unbearable, we raised hell and ask for a different room for the next day. We decided to get a reservation for the restaurant and with our fabulous luck everything was booked, the staff just told us to go back to the buffet and fight for a table. we were starving and with no delivery service... buffet it was Super loud music at all times from early in the morning to 2:00am more less, forget about resting isn't going to happen, for some reason they think you need to be entertained 24/7 We got our new room, YES! BEHOLD THE PREMIUM ROOM (Trumpets in the back ground)....................most of the light bulbs did not work, not remote control for the TV again, I think they have something against remote controls in this place, the thermostat was UPSIDE DOWN! who does that? the toilet, the blow dryer, and the shower drain didn't work. we really didn't feel safe, we were waiting for the bullets to start flying at any moment. the food, liquor and service was mediocre at best. the whole thing felt like we were in constant fight with the hotel, wasting vacation time with the staff, lines, front desk, bartenders, people trying to sell you something, etc..... What broke the camel's back, in one of the restaurant they served my wife's soup in a broken plate! enough. this place is ghetto as f.. we could not wait to check out and leave, we didn't walk, we ran out of there. our flight was a 4:00pm we were at the airport by 10:00am. Finally at home... now we need to work in our eye bags due to the lack of rest.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: there are no good rooms
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Alvaro Fontenla, Propietario at Occidental Caribe
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Logan, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us last year. We are disappointed to hear that you did not have the experience you were hoping for at Hotel Occidental Caribe, and the specific concerns have been raised with the appropriate departments. We are committed to providing the warmest of service and want to ensure all our guests have a memorable stay from the moment of arrival to the time they depart so of course, it is with regret you felt otherwise. We hope you will give us an opportunity to make amends by making a return visit and in the meantime. We encourage you to contact us directly, so that we can further discuss your experience Kind regards, Alvaro Fontenla. Hotel Manager. Hotel Occidental Caribe
Read more
Olga O wrote a review Apr 2022
chesterfield16 contributions4 helpful votes
We stayed for 5 days. We enjoyed the shows, specially the Micheal Jackson show. Espectacular. We went to the restaurants, we loved the Dominican and Japanese, great customer service and food was delicious. We ate breakfast @ the buffet restaurant which you can go everyday for lunch also, and and they had lot of variety . The coffee server, Dominga De La Cruz was Awesome. Also Mikey was so nice , and Juana Diaz. We loved the beach, water was so clear. This Resort is huge and so pretty. Also the It’s the Resort with the lost Palm Trees st the beach and inside. I felt in love with the structure. We loved the pools also. We had an awesome time and we are planning to go back. ❤️❤️ We bought souvenirs at the beach and Jorge is the man to buy the stuff. We loved it! ❤️❤️
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alvaro Fontenla, Propietario at Occidental Caribe
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Olga, Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review of your recent stay with us, it is our primary aim to deliver the most exceptional of experiences to all our guests, children and adults! We are thoroughly delighted we achieved this and that you and your family had such a wonderful time. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our colleagues do take such pride in delivering an individual level of service to our guests, and we will be sure to pass on your comments to the staff and the rest of the team across the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Occidental Caribe on many more occasions. Best regards, Alvaro Fontenla. Hotel Manager. Hotel Occidental Caribe
Read more
beachlover wrote a review Apr 2022
2 contributions
We had a really good time here with our family. The beach is absolutely beautiful and the pools are great. Always plenty of beach chairs. One pool is more for partiers, but the other pool was much quieter and great for kids. Access to parasailing as well as other extra excursions is available right next to the property making it very handy. Catamaran, swim boards & kayaks available there as well at no extra charge. We were happy with our room, though the bathroom could certainly use updating & sprucing up. The food was ok. The specialty restaurants were better, but had some mixed signals about how far ahead you could book those. The acrobatic show was great. The other nights the musical shows were good, but not as unusual. Other resorts may have better food and newer decor, but you would probably pay more for them as well. The strengths of this resort are definitely the beach & pools and property with character- important things that we were looking for. The views from our rooms of the pools and ocean were fantastic.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: We had two rooms only a few doors apart. Even two floors above it, the one directly above the...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Alvaro Fontenla, Propietario at Occidental Caribe
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear A6022HAv, We are convinced that there is always room for improvement and your comments will help our team in its continuous efforts to meet the expectations of our guests, so we greatly appreciate the time you have spent sharing your constructive criticism with us. You can be sure that your comments will be taken into consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. We hope to be able to welcome you again very soon. Alvaro Fontenla Director Occidental Caribe
Read more
Roguin P wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
I thought that this resort was going to be worth every penny because of the good reviews it has, in my case it was a disaster leaving aside the pools, beach and food (4/5) the customer service is too poor I had to go several times to report a single problem in the room even though in fact there were several, air conditioning, safe, telephone etc. apart from that the activities are overpriced for what they offer, little organization with the buffet tables. I am 100% sure that I will not return or recommend it
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Brian D wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We stayed here for 10 days and were dissapionted for a Barcelo property, we always try to make the best of every place we visit. Over the 10 days we had to go twice to the front desk because our room cards didn't work, several days we had to hunt down a maid because we didn't get any towels. This morning at breakfast there were no tables to eat at and when we finally did get a seat we had to ask 3 times to get coffee and when we went up to eat there were no plates. The food here is not what we've seen at other Barcelo properties its really dissapointing to see the food here. This is an honest review...the nice thing about this resort is the beach....the main pool was filled with drunks playing those carry around speakers blasting music and carrying on . Won't be coming back
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
dev00312 wrote a review Apr 2022
Scranton, Pennsylvania147 contributions84 helpful votes
The property is beautiful the beach is amazing with soft sand and crystal clear water. The down side is the food is not that good and the rooms need updating, the food is not what we have seen in other Barcelo properties.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alvaro Fontenla, Propietario at Occidental Caribe
Responded Apr 10, 2022
Estimado Dev00312, Gracias por tomarse el tiempo de compartir sus comentarios acerca de su reciente estadía en nuestro hotel. Lamentamos realmente saber que su experiencia no resultó ser completamente satisfactoria. De parte de todos aquí en Occidental Caribe, nos disculpamos por cualquier inconveniente que experimentó durante su estadía, y prometemos revisar y analizar todos sus comentarios en orden a mejorar. Entiendo que no podemos deshacer su experiencia, sin embargo quisiera extender mis más sinceras disculpas, una vez más, por las carencias que experimentó. Esperamos poder darle la bienvenida de nuevo muy pronto. Álvaro Fontenla Director Occidental Caribe
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$101 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
barcelo punta cana hotel punta cana, breezes punta cana, barcelo punta cana resort, barcelo premium punta cana, barcelo dominican punta cana, punta cana barcelo
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Barcelo Punta Cana
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicLa Altagracia ProvincePunta Cana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
798
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Occidental Caribe
Which popular attractions are close to Occidental Caribe?
Nearby attractions include Hard Rock Casino Punta Cana (0.6 miles), ORO Nightclub (0.6 miles), and Little Switzerland (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Occidental Caribe?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Occidental Caribe?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Occidental Caribe?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Occidental Caribe?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Occidental Caribe?
Conveniently located restaurants include Montserrat Manor Restaurant, Toro, and Los Gallos.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Occidental Caribe?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Occidental Caribe have airport transportation?
Yes, Occidental Caribe offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Occidental Caribe?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Occidental Caribe offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Occidental Caribe?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including Spanish, French, German, and Russian.