We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Carretera Macao SN Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 23301 Dominican Republic
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Additional 5% off
$117
View deal
Travelocity
Hotels.com
Expedia.com$117
eDreams
Orbitz.com
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (11551)
360
Panoramas (99)
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 06/24/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Occidental Caribe
Updated 06/24/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#79 of 161 hotels in Punta Cana
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice

Finding an ideal family-friendly all-inclusive resort in Punta Cana does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Occidental Caribe, a nice option for travelers like you.

As your “home away from home,” the all-inclusive resort rooms offer a flat screen TV, a minibar, and air conditioning, and getting online is easy, with paid internet access available.

Guests have access to a 24 hour front desk, room service, and a concierge while staying at Breezes Punta Cana. In addition, Occidental Caribe offers a pool and breakfast, which will help make your Punta Cana trip additionally gratifying. And, as an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

If you like Italian restaurants, Barcelo Premium Punta Cana is conveniently located near Ciao and Capriccio Mare.

Occidental Caribe puts the best of Punta Cana at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Casino and Gambling
Babysitting
Parking
Paid wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Water park
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Iron
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Great View
Languages Spoken
French, Russian, Spanish, German
Hotel links
Special Offer:Additional 5% off
13751Reviews1288Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 5,586
  • 3,747
  • 2,099
  • 1,214
  • 1,106
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
juanfem0lina wrote a review Sep 12
Calgary, Canada1 contribution
The service was very good, the people was very friendly and helpful. The food was good but the drinks no too good for the quality. The bedrooms are ok, the view amazing and the only downside was rather bathroom because are very dangerous.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Alvaro Fontenla, Owner at Occidental Caribe
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Customer First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing this wonderful opinion about your recent stay with us. It is very gratifying to read it. We are very grateful for your compliments to our staff, whose kindness and kindness is one of our hotel's greatest strengths, and I promise to congratulate all of them on their behalf for contributing to your well-being during your stay at our hotel. Last but not least, We are proud to know that you were able to enjoy the result of the effort of our chefs to satisfy the culinary desires of our guests, offering them the most delicious dishes. Thanks again for this heartwarming review about your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. Álvaro Fontenla Director Occidental Caribe
Read more
Petra C wrote a review Jul 2021
San Jose20 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Hotel's Favorite
We have spent 14 days there in July 2021. Three adults and one child, all in one double room. ====== Overall value for the money ===== You get what you pay for. For their affordable price, the services were quite adequate. If you want a real scooped ice cream, go to a five star resort. If you want top-notch rooms, go to a five star resort. If you want Italian food to taste like Italian food, go to Italy. :) ===== Internet ==== If you want to work while staying at Occidental Caribe, be prepared that the internet (we got it for free) is not fast enough for any ZOOM calls or any real work. You might be ok browsing Facebook but you can not rely on the internet to work at all hours. You would need to re-enter credentials to log-in about 2-3 times a day. ===== Food ===== Disclaimer: I am a snob/foodie from San Francisco, a fan of Michelin starred restaurants. The food here is just okay, you get what you pay for. The best deal is the French restaurant (serves real foie gras), but it is only open on Thursdays, so make your reservation one week in advance. The second best are Mexican and Dominican -- not surprising, since the latin cuisine is just something they are familiar with. On the other hand, if you go to the Italian, you realize that the quality and authenticity of the dishes is way off. And if you go to the Japanese, you will get served a pineapple sushi roll (for real!). It is what it is, it has a Caribbean flavor, even for Japanese food. Just relax and don't come in with any expectations, and you will have fun. The seafood and Pizza restaurants were closed for dinner due to COVID. Get garlic mofongo or sancocho at Dominican Restaurant. Get garlic shrimp or fajitas at Mexican. Get seafood linguine at Italian. They were always out of burrata. Get foie gras and onion soup at French. Their lobster bisque was terrible. Get duck confit or lobster crepes. Buffet uses low quality ingredients (the desserts do not seem to contain real butter, the fish is too fishy, etc). But it is what it is. We spent another night at a 5 star resort by Barcelo (Occidental Punta Cana) and their food was a step up in terms of quality. Avoid ANY AND ALL fish anywhere in the resort -- it is not fresh, appears to be previously frozen and tastes fishy. Avoid salmon carpaccio at Italian. Shrimp and chicken dishes were good in all restaurants. If you want a great ice cream, take Uber to the Jumbo Mall or Blue Mall, each has the ice cream kiosk called Valentino, with phenomenal ice cream. Blue Mall is way nicer and bigger, so go there. When in Blue Mall, spend the extra money at Bachata Rosa restaurant for dinner, and order a fish there (fresh, amazing experience). ====== Drinks ===== Google “popular all-inclusive drinks” and do your own research into the options you have. They do have a QR code with drink menu, but they are more than happy to make any drink you instruct them to make. Tipping goes a long way. My daughter always ordered hot milk from the bartender called Alexis. Everyone was so sweet to her, ordering her "leche caliente". ====== Entertainment ====== Rafael Corsino himself comprises 90% of all the fun. The other entertainers are skilled (amazing saxophonist Joel, phenomenal female singer, pianist, etc) but Rafael actually brings in the show, whether it is during his poolside Zumba dance instructions or during the weekday nights by the bar. He is beyond hospitable, for example he brought us a small side table all the way from the pool deck to the bar, just so we have a place to put our drinks while listening to music. My daughter keeps talking about Rafael and misses him greatly. If it was not for Rafael, I would have given a much lower star rating. Occidental management, please give Rafael a big raise! There were no big mid-week shows when we arrived before 4th of July, and most guests were from Spanish speaking countries. After 4th of July, the whole vibe changed when Americans started rushing in. More English music started being played, the entertainment was more robust and frequent, lines at a bar started forming, etc.. If you want a quiet vacation, visit before 4th of July. ====== ROOMS ====== We changed the room mid-stay because we noticed mold in multiple places in the bathroom. Please examine the bathroom in great detail before you unpack, and ask for a different room if you see something you don’t like. My daughter has asthma so we did not take chances. A/C is very weak and rooms are humid, if you expect the room to cool to 72F, you should go to a different hotel. Expect wet clothes to take multiple days to dry. Bring anti-humidity spray for your hair, or keep them braided or in buns. The hotel staff quickly responded to all requests (fixing, later replacing the safe, getting pediatric medications at 4am, etc). They are working with old equipment, the building needs repairs, but they are doing their best. ===== EXTRAS ===== AguaMenta boutique has amazing swim suits. I dropped about $400 there. Kids show was great, acrobats and other entertainers, just go grab a seat by the pool at least an hour before the show starts. Or watch it from the pool. The big shows in the theatre start at 10:30pm (they tell you they start at 9pm but you just end up waiting for an hour and a half for it to start). We did the glass bottom boat trip, great with kids. The party boats were too loud/annoying. We spent a day at Scape Park, best day ever. Ziplining, blue hole swim, cave swim, monkeys, etc. Great for the whole family. Take Uber to downtown, and know that Punta Cana does not have a real downtown (with a square or something). It is only the CocoBongo area, the Jumbo mall and few shops at Plaza San Juan Shopping Center. But the best shopping is 15 min away at the Blue Mall.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Examine the bathroom in great detail before unpacking. Stay in building 3 which is closest to...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alvaro Fontenla, Owner at Occidental Caribe
Responded Jul 28, 2021
Estimado Cliente Nos gustaría expresar nuestro agradecimiento por los comentarios que ha realizado sobre su reciente visita, puesto que nos ayudan a entender como nuestros huéspedes disfrutan de su estancia con nosotros. Es siempre nuestro objetivo alcanzar la máxima satisfacción de nuestros clientes y estamos encantados de escuchar que disfrutaron de sus vacaciones en el hotel. Nos esforzamos continuamente en ofrecer la mejor calidad y asegurar que todos nuestros huéspedes regresan a sus casas con bonitos recuerdos de sus vacaciones. Su entusiasmo por nuestro personal es muy apreciado por todos nosotros y le aseguramos que será una gran fuente de motivación para ellos. Gracias de nuevo por esta revisión reconfortante sobre su estancia con nosotros, esperamos su próxima visita. Álvaro Fontenla Director Occidental Caribe
Read more
Thomas K wrote a review Sep 6
Ohio City, Ohio2 contributions1 helpful vote
Very good hotel to have a good time, the staff is incredible, Luis was super friendly and kind, the rooms are super modern and large, the restaurants are very well located, the food is too good, the resort in general is perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Alvaro Fontenla, Owner at Occidental Caribe
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Customer We would like to express our appreciation for the comments you have made about your recent visit, as they help us understand how our guests enjoy their stay with us. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your vacation at the hotel. We continually strive to offer the best quality and to ensure that all of our guests return home with fond memories of their vacation. Your enthusiasm for our staff is greatly appreciated by all of us and we assure you that you will be a great source of motivation for them. Thanks again for this heartwarming review about your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. Álvaro Fontenla Director Occidental Caribe
Read more
Lissette V wrote a review Sep 6
1 contribution
First, to start we spent mare than 2 hours to j uh st checks in. Second, at the buffet we spent mare than 45 minutes just to get inside and once inside the place was packed and the food wasn't coming in the same speed that's it was leaving. third, it wasn't room service on less you pay(buy the food). The food options was very poor and limited. We purchase ticket a exclusion we vacasiones Barcelo we couldn't make it for parsobal reasons we couldn't get the money back. Mosquitoes everywhere so bad, oh before i forget we been there 4 time already and this's the worst ever and the last time.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Alvaro Fontenla, Owner at Occidental Caribe
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Customer We sincerely appreciate the time you took to share your opinion after your visit to our hotel. The opinions of our clients are of the utmost importance to ensure compliance with our service standards at all times. Please accept our sincere apologies for the incidents you experienced during your stay. We are convinced that there is always room for improvement and your comments will help our team in its continuous efforts to meet the expectations of our guests, so we greatly appreciate the time you have spent sharing your constructive criticism with us. You can be sure that your comments will be taken into consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon. Álvaro Fontenla Director Occidental Caribe
Read more
Bobby B wrote a review Sep 6
3 contributions
We moved to this hotel after our flight got cancelled. Our check in was smooth and accommodated us to get our rooms earlier. The rooms are outdated, lamp shades look dirty, spider webs on the ceiling, AC not working in our room or in the restaurants especially the Japanese restaurant. The pools are nice especially the kids area. Life guards on site. The beach is nice and they clean the sea weeds in the morning so guest can enjoy the beach.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Alvaro Fontenla, Owner at Occidental Caribe
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Customer We are convinced that there is always room for improvement and your comments will help our team in its continuous efforts to meet the expectations of our guests, so we greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share your constructive criticism with us. You can be sure that your comments will be taken into consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Álvaro Fontenla Director Occidental Caribe
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$103 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
barcelo punta cana hotel punta cana, breezes punta cana, barcelo punta cana resort, barcelo premium punta cana, barcelo dominican punta cana, punta cana barcelo
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Barcelo Punta Cana
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicLa Altagracia ProvincePunta Cana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
798
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Occidental Caribe
Which popular attractions are close to Occidental Caribe?
Nearby attractions include Hard Rock Casino Punta Cana (0.6 miles), ORO Nightclub (0.6 miles), and Little Switzerland (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Occidental Caribe?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Occidental Caribe?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Occidental Caribe?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Occidental Caribe?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Occidental Caribe?
Conveniently located restaurants include Montserrat Manor Restaurant, Toro, and Los Gallos.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Occidental Caribe?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Occidental Caribe have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Occidental Caribe offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Occidental Caribe?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Occidental Caribe offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Occidental Caribe?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including Spanish, French, German, and Russian.