We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Catalonia Royal Bavaro

Save
Share
Carretera Cabeza De Toro, Punta Cana 23000 Dominican Republic
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
26 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$169
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/22/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Official website
$169
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/24/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
$139
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/10/21
Expedia.com$217
Hotels.com$217
Travelocity$217
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (9886)
360
Panoramas (16)
Pool & Beach (2596)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#73 of 162 hotels in Punta Cana
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
Enjoy the authentic Caribbean at an exclusive, adults-only resort. Its small details make big your stay and the personalized service you receive will make you feel as if you were in heaven. Exclusive suites, innovative restaurants, dreamlike swimming pools…relax in this tropical paradise and enjoy the best vacation you’ve ever had. Have an extraordinary experience, and leave the worrying to us; we’ll take care of you
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Casino and Gambling
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Golf course
Mini golf
Tennis court
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Business Center with Internet Access
Banquet room
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Adults only
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
8436Reviews1241Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 4,597
  • 2,287
  • 898
  • 349
  • 305
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
REALTOR Luis Pinto wrote a review Oct 6
Kearny, New Jersey120 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
This is a cute boutique style hotel in Punta Cana. Great place for lots of pix for your social media. It has a raw tropical vibe with some luxury flare. Staff if friendly but once you tip them you get extra awesome service and will take care of you. I like to tip high the first days as the rest of the week we are treated like Gods!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Get the Adults Only Club rooms
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Social Media Catalonia Hotels and Resorts, Marketing at Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Responded 4 days ago
Dear M2444OQluisp, We are very grateful that you have chosen us as a destination in the Caribbean to enjoy your vacation and your comments and rating on this website. It fills us with satisfaction to know that our facilities have served as the perfect setting for you to create valuable content for your social media. Currently, our hotel has become an attraction in this aspect. On the other hand, although we are thankful for the tips offered to our staff, at Catalonia Hotels our standards require us to meet the needs of all our guests equally. In addition, we are glad that you value positively the attention received from our staff. Catalonia Royal Bavaro will always be your home in the Caribbean. We look forward to welcoming you soon to create new memories. Best regards, Social Media Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Read more
Sony K wrote a review Oct 4
Delta, Canada31 contributions8 helpful votes
One of the best all inclusive location. They designed itbin perfect harmony with nature. The food is excellent...even the buffet. Restaurants are all world class. The liquor choice at bars are also not bad compared to other Carribean locations.. Rooms are huge and very colonial. Certainly a great value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: No need to pack your formal clothing as they allow you to go all places with your shorts on
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Social Media Catalonia Hotels and Resorts, Marketing at Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Sonyk2017, We are most grateful that you have taken some of your valuable time to describe your experience during your recent stay. For us it has been a pleasure to have you at Catalonia Royal Bávaro and we are pleased to know that you enjoyed our facilities and positively valued our services and gastronomic offer. Meeting the expectations of our guests is the highest goal and we are very happy that you feel satisfied for having chosen us as a destination to enjoy your days off in the Caribbean. We hope to see you back soon and we will welcome you with open arms. Best regards, Social Media Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Read more
Jessica H wrote a review Oct 3
19 contributions20 helpful votes
This hotel is the worst I’ve ever stayed at . My husband and I travel a lot and have been all over the world , this hotel by far is the worst in service and appearance . All of the restaurants have no air conditioners . So basically you are eating and sweating . It was so bad that we rented a car and ate out every nite . The beach is super dirty with a extreme amount of seaweed . The pool is as well very dirty with cracks on the bottom plastic cups and hair floating everywhere . The rooms have a bad smell and very outdated . Roaches all over the resort . As well as you have to take a golf cart everywhere you want to go . Sometimes it takes 30 minutes for a golf cart to pass . The staff are very rude and act like you are doing them a favor . At the buffet we asked for juice and waiter pointed to where we can find it . No service what so ever . Save your money and go to a better resort . This one is not worth it even if the stay is free .
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Social Media Catalonia Hotels and Resorts, Marketing at Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Jessica, Thank you for your review. Our main goal is to provide a wonderful vacation experience to all of our guests, and we deeply regret that we did not exceed your expectations with our service. We care that our guests receive a great service, friendly, respectful at all times, and without distinction. We constantly train our team on customer service skills, emphasizing on those aspects, and the most positive comment we have received since our opening is about the great attitude from our team. Please receive our apologies if we did not make you feel welcome or well catered to. We will review your comment about the service with our Team, and emphasize our standards on our training programs. It is important to clarify that our pools are cleaned daily and we make sure to comply with all Clean And Safe protocols. Again, we would like to extend our apologies if some guests was not in accordance with our pool protocols and that you have had to witness this situation. We inform you that your comment was heard by our team in the department involved, who are carrying out the corresponding protocols to clean the pool every day. Regarding the beach, we regret that during your stay the sargasso environmental phenomenon has not allowed you to enjoy our beaches, no doubt our staff makes a great effort to try to keep our beach clean, however there are days when the wind and tide do not allow us to maintain, it as we would like.  Hopefully, we can welcome you back to deliver the kind of experience you have come to expect from us. Best regards, Social Media Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Read more
julioabril wrote a review Oct 2
Miami, Florida49 contributions6 helpful votes
The room was very good, very comfortable bed, spacious area, and balcony. The beach was full of seaweed and was not too appealing, so I spent most of the time in the pools. The food was not impressive for a 5-star hotel but I enjoyed the Thai and Spanish Restaurant. The service was ok but it can be improved, sometimes slow and you have to be on top of things. I didn’t like the way I started the vacation when I was told I had included a free breakfast and massage as a welcome package, but something was a bit shady when I was prompted to show my credit card when it was supposed to be free. Well, it turned out that they tried to sell me a timeshare property, and attend a 90 min presentation when I was never interested in that. I wasted my time and obviously I didn’t get the free breakfast and massage. Most of the staff are attentive and professional, but I want to mention Lixhanquelyn Santos from Concierge Services, she helped me a lot with the setbacks I had with my excursions, and was always very patient and professional, kudos for her.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Social Media Catalonia Hotels and Resorts, Marketing at Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Julio, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion, we are sorry to read that you have returned with this impression home to our attention, please accept our apologies. In your comment you points out important areas of opportunity and in which we must work immediately, we share that your contribution have just been transmitted with the leaders of each team, so that the reported situations are corrected. Regarding the beach, we regret that during your stay the sargasso environmental phenomenon has not allowed you to enjoy our beaches, no doubt our staff makes a great effort to try to keep our beach clean, however there are days when the wind and tide do not allow us to maintain, it as we would like. We highly value honest feedback from you and will be delighted if you give us the opportunity to have you again and let us pamper you the way we like to treat our guests. Cordially, Social Media Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Read more
Tony wrote a review Sep 2021
2 contributions2 helpful votes
I like to break my review in categories so you can decide which is important to you : Hotel 5- the hotel is excellent it’s even above US standards it’s almost a 5 star Service 4- The workers strive to do their best and help you. But they have zero empowerment to make a small decision. I tried several times and I speak Spanish , to get small things but the cooks or front desk were just set in their ways and couldn’t make any decisions. I tried in three restaurants and at the no service front desk, to get a manager to help me with small issues or even asking fir change to pay tips for extra service. In each and every time the manager was not available. In fact in the six nights I tried on different days but no manager was available. This is sad for a company to not resolve small issues immediately and managers to duck and hide from customers only causes the customers to complain online and social media which costs the company money in sales due to bad reviews. Food 3; The Buffett is well stocked. Hard to not find what you want when they have all meats and some fish available. But if you go to the restaurants we’ll let’s just say you’ve got cooks not chefs. Most of the food need flavor and the portions in 4 out of 5 restaurants I ate were very small. My dessert terimasu was the size of a penny and the height of half a pinky. When I saw it on a big plate I laughed. You can ask for another but it will take a bit to come back. The restaurants were not much to talk about. I tried all of them but one and was not impressed. Also in some I could only order soda wine or a beer. No other drinks and in the Japanese restaurant I could only have it before or after my meal. I had a very hard time even after repeating what I wanted to get the orders right in 3 out of 6 restaurants. In summary the hotel room, landscaping , Pool and beach was excellent. Even the bars made good drinks. The restaurants need a lot of changes to be better. The service people try real hard to help you but don’t ask for anything beyond their lane. Management is no where to be seen. Check in was horrible they tried to charge me a 5% surcharge of $130 and said it was my credit cards exchange rate. Well this wasn’t my first trip using my card and it does not charge any foreign exchange fees!! They finally took it off after much back and forth and blame on my bank. When I asked for the manager Yulie stated she was not available. In fact I asked three more times but was not available the entire week! There’s something wrong here please look at your receipt I paid ahead so there was nothing to charge me but the expected resort fee. Again the servers and front line workers did an outstanding job it’s the management that is no where to be seen. Some things were so minor to correct. This would not affect my enjoyment of this absolutely excellent hotel and location. We had a great time and would come again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: I went in Sept and it was not packed. Don’t get fooled by the so called hotel guides. They are...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$141 - $630 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
catalonia royal bavaro hotel punta cana, catalonia royal bavaro punta cana, royal catalonia bavaro
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicLa Altagracia ProvincePunta Cana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
255
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Which popular attractions are close to Catalonia Royal Bavaro?
Nearby attractions include Escape Room Punta Cana (3.7 miles), Coco Bongo Punta Cana (3.4 miles), and Don Lucas Cigars (3.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Catalonia Royal Bavaro?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Catalonia Royal Bavaro?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Catalonia Royal Bavaro?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Catalonia Royal Bavaro?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Catalonia Royal Bavaro?
Conveniently located restaurants include Noah Restaurant & Lounge, Pearl Beach Club & Restaurante, and Jellyfish Beach Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Catalonia Royal Bavaro?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Catalonia Royal Bavaro have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Catalonia Royal Bavaro offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Catalonia Royal Bavaro?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Catalonia Royal Bavaro offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Catalonia Royal Bavaro?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.