We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Carretera Cabeza De Toro, Punta Cana 23000 Dominican Republic
E-mail hotel
23 people are viewing this hotel
Hotels.com
$207
View Deal
Free cancellation until 01/28/21
Booking.com
$161
View Deal
Free cancellation until 01/30/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
$207
$124
View Deal
SAVE $83
Free cancellation until 01/23/21
Expedia.com$207
eDreams$161
Travelocity$207
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (9643)
360
Panoramas (16)
Videos (12)

About

#62 of 153 hotels in Punta Cana
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
Enjoy the authentic Caribbean at an exclusive, adults-only resort. Its small details make big your stay and the personalized service you receive will make you feel as if you were in heaven. Exclusive suites, innovative restaurants, dreamlike swimming pools…relax in this tropical paradise and enjoy the best vacation you’ve ever had. Have an extraordinary experience, and leave the worrying to us; we’ll take care of you
Read more
Room & Suite (1,270)1,270
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Casino and Gambling
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Golf course
Mini golf
Tennis court
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Business Center with Internet Access
Banquet room
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Adults only
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Safe
VIP room facilities
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
8,284Reviews1,207Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 4,527
  • 2,258
  • 879
  • 335
  • 285
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sonia Barrera wrote a review Jan 13
Monmouth Junction, New Jersey9 contributions
+1
I highly recommend this resort. This was our second time visiting Catalonia. Me and my niece stayed in the privileged suite this time with the private pool. It was beautiful and clean. The staff is amazing very accommodating. Our room was cleaned daily and we felt safe leaving our things there. The resort it’s self is very secure with security measures in place. Front staff was helpful. We made all of our reservations for dinner at check in so that we could try all the restaurants. Enrique helped us at check in and was super nice. We love the pool bar. They held some events there but everything is limited due to covid. Oliver hosts the events and he’s Awesome! We loved seeing Genova she’s an amazing bartender there. But there are so many amazing people there! Griseldy made us some amazing drinks also. Make sure to visit the Piano bar where my favorite of all bartenders work Daniel! He’s super sweet and made me feel super special on my birthday! Last but not least was Wander he helped us several times was helpful and funny. We plan on traveling here again ASAP. I would suggest bringing cash and change. Make sure to visit the water activities as there are some that are included and others you can add on. We did a few and had an amazing time.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Social Media Catalonia Hotels and Resorts, Marketing at Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review. It has been an honor to have you as our distinguished guest and be part of your vacation. Our main goal is to provide the best guest experience and we are glad to know that we were able to exceed you expectations. We look forward for your future visit in order to create another wonderful holiday for you. Cordially, Social Media Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Read more
Koy T wrote a review Dec 2020
Richmond Hill, Canada62 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favorite
Visited Nov 28 - Dec 5, and had a great time! The flight down was packed from YYZ - the airline as well as airport personnel performed temperature checks to make sure we were were not Covid positive and we had to wear masks the whole time at both airports and in flight. Other than that it was a regular flight from YYZ to PUJ. At the Resort: Upon arrival noticed that masks had to be worn at all indoor spaces. The Buffet handed out gloves so we would not handle plates or serving spoons bare handed. I thought that this was great - added a comfort level. The food and drinks were great - I had nothing to complain about. I'm a vegetarian and found lots of options. The beach and pool loungers were cleaned and sanitized with placards stating that they had been sanitized. The pools and beaches very clean. Over all i felt very comfortable and safe - the resort was appx 30-35% occupancy. Would have been nicer to see more people. This was my 1st visit to the Royal side - I've visited the Bavaro Beach side twice before. From what I can say the resorts really been improved from my previous 2 visits. My only complaint (no the fault of the resort) were some insensitive guests partying it up at 2.30 in the morning oblivious that most are trying to sleep then.... any way the security took care of them. Would I visit again - most definitely!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Social Media Catalonia Hotels and Resorts, Marketing at Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review. It has been an honor to have you as our distinguished guest and be part of your vacation. Our main goal is to provide the best guest experience and we are glad to know that we were able to exceed you expectations. We appreciate your comments and that you have shared them on Tripadvisor. We look forward for your future visit in order to create another wonderful holiday for you. Cordially, Social Media Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Read more
Angie wrote a review Jan 13
1 contribution
Great place to stay. Very good entertainment considering the new guidelines in place for covid. Oliver def kept us on ours toes. Beach was a little rough on days but doable. This year guidelines are set in place for safety and you need reservations for the special restaurants. I love room service every night so I can’t complain.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Social Media Catalonia Hotels and Resorts, Marketing at Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for the amazing review regarding your recent stay at Catalonia Royal Bavaro. It is wonderful to hear that you liked our entertainment and room service. We strive to provide our guests with a resort experience like none other, and your comments reassure me that we are doing just that. Thank you again for your outstanding feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort the next time you visit us. Best regards, Social Media Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Read more
Diana O wrote a review Jan 13
Chicago, Illinois96 contributions57 helpful votes
Word to the wise: Find an alternative resort. You could not pay me to return here. THE FOOD: Pretty much ALL of the food is pre-fab, pre cooked, full of additives, preservatives, sodium, food coloring and God only knows what other non-food poisons. Then all heated/dehydrated to perfection with mico-waves prior to serving. There is not one chef on site in the entire resort (only low paid workers operating the microwaves in the back.) This confirmed by the food management on site. None of the "ala carte" restaurants on site had any fresh bread, real dairy butter, authentic fruit juice. All mashed potatoes were re-constituted, freeze dried variety. None of the meats that we encountered could be cut with a knife, however an electric turkey carver would have accomplished this task with ease-same thing with ALL of the fish entrees, completely dry to the point that you could literally pick it up and smack it against the wooden table for a resounding THUNK sound. Even the vegetables tasted artificial-like that of frozen TV dinner quality. The ice cream had large ice chunks and the pudding had EXTRA sugar crystal bits incorporated into the set concoction, for added sweetness. All bar beverages were made with artificial juices. There were not enough servers, so each night only one ala carte restaurant was open and the staff migrated to the various venues each night. The BEACH: Sand area nice but umbrella area entirely covered in shade. Subsequently, the guests play "drag the loungers" to the edge of the water line and on one uses the beautiful palapas under the palm trees. Guessing this is because of beach erosion? The ocean here was the worst of any I have ever experienced-brown & gray-green with sargassum sea weed, continually/all 10 days we were there. No ocean waves. It was much like your average lake. Other than the sand bank in the family section area, a real disappointing ocean experience at this particular location of Punta Cana. The grounds are very pretty and well maintained. The rooms are spacious and beautiful. The pools are lovely. The design and decor of the restaurants are elegant and functional. The servers are all very nice, trying their best, but obviously overwhelmed. We only saw a small fraction of guests actually tipping the hard workers-shame! After 7 days and having run out of the $300 in small bills, it was extremely difficult for the front desk to exchange larger bills so that we could continue to tip. Eventually after multiple requests, we did get some change-this after suggesting to some of the servers to get together and demand that management provide the resort guests with change in order to tip them. The names of the staff's tags was etched so small, it was hard to read them, but a big thank you should out to Arelis-doing a great job covering the beach beverages. Also, the dining manager did try his best to accommodate the guests, but sadly, his hands are tied. How can anyone improve on the cuisine when it is all shipped in pre-cooked then mico-waved prior to serving? The on site travel excursion company sells a trip to Catalina Island or Saona Island. It is a full day trip from 8-5:30 for $95 p/person. It mostly consists of opportunities for them to sell you things-stopping to shop, stopping @ a sand bar for photo ops, holding you hostage on the bus after everyone has boarded to sell you liquor. The minute you finally arrive on the island, people swarm you like locusts trying to sell you things. You only get 2 hours on the paradise island, due to the multiple sales interruptions. We always tip the excursion staff, but this time due to the amount of vacation time that they strategically stole from us in order to conduct sales pitches, we gave them no tip upon disembarkation. All of the guests and staff at the resort were just delightful, we met so many nice folks from all over the world, especially Canada, Paris, Russia. RECAP: Keep looking, there are much better places for the cost. Food was way sub-par, we were feeling rotten after all that horrible food. Honestly, the best meal was at the airport-a Pizza Hut pizza (sad, huh?) The whole reason for a beach resort is the beach and this one was pretty bad, I have been to nicer lakes in the mid-west.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Social Media Catalonia Hotels and Resorts, Marketing at Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Diana, Thank you very much for taking the time to describe every aspect of your stay, your opinion helps us a lot because we can detect all the areas of opportunity in which we must work to eliminate them and improve the experience of our guests. We are always ready to improve and will follow up on your feedback about the food with our Chefs. Taking advantage of the opportunity we would like to share with you that at Catalonia Royal Bavaro we follow the highest hygiene standards, that is, all the products we use to cook our food are fresh. Our resort complies with high quality food and beverage standards and is an active member of HS CONSULTING Company, which is an English company that watches over health and hygiene and constantly monitors all aspects related to health and hygiene standards within our hotel to assure our guests. In fact, the reports that HS Consulting sends us show that we operate with high quality and hygiene standards. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention in order to improve these deficiencies with the departments involved. Regarding the beach, I regret that during your stay the sargasso environmental phenomenon has not allowed you to enjoy our beaches, no doubt our staff makes a great effort to try to keep our beach clean, however there are days when the wind and tide do not allow us to maintain, it as we would like. We hope you can return soon and enjoy Bavaro with us one more time. Best regards, Social Media Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Read more
Joska2002 wrote a review Jan 3
7 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
So we stayed at the Catalonia Royal Bavaro four times, most recent a few months ago and told ourselves we would never come back. However here we are again, figuring give them another shot. What a mistake. The public areas, restaurants, bars, beach and pool are absolutely beautiful. Just like the photos. However that is where it stops. First off, any upgrade you pay for, the hotel simply does not deliver on including The upgraded amenities promised under their privileged program. Benefits offered to Catalonia rewards members are nothing but lofty promises. During all of our stays not one of them has ever been granted. The check-in and arrival process is nothing short of a nightmare. The lines are endless and employees just walk off and don’t come back with people in line. After a four hour wait our room was finally ready. Well ready… It was not all that ready. The shower head was laying on the shower floor in pieces. The room was not clean there was sticky stuff on the tables, the bed, and the armoire. Since we could not use the shower, I had to clean the bathtub, removed any hair from the tub, and we used some T-shirts since there was no towels in the room. We called down several times, it must’ve rang for five minutes or more each time, nobody ever answered. Do you believe that? I went for a walk and found a housekeeper and someone from maintenance who eventually came over. On a very positive note the housekeeper who eventually came, her name was Ingrid, she did a great job cleaning the room. The reservation system to get into on one of their a la carte restaurants is laughable. This is my fourth time staying at this property and we can never get into any of the restaurants we want. Also, good luck figuring out which restaurant is open on which day and during which hours. It is not published anywhere and good luck figuring that out on your own. Our first night was quite chilly. The next morning I asked the concierge Wander to please send up some blankets. This was in the morning. At 7 PM the blankets had yet to be delivered. Wander never greeted or even tried to crack a smile. As a matter of fact he had quite the attitude. Also not the first time this happened with Wander. He did however gladly except our $20 gratuity. He really has no business working in the hospitality industry. An embarrassment for a Catalonia. Another positive note, the restaurant staff in general is very friendly and hospitable. Dinner during our first evening was at the Asian restaurant CAT TAO. The service and the food, we’re actually pretty good. Overall experience was OK until a small roach ran across the table, one of the waiters jumped in and smashed it with his hand on the table. Unfortunately no one came to clean the table, nor did the waiter or wash his hands. Another observation it’s regarding new COVID 19 sanitation protocols. In the restaurants the general protocols are followed. However any tables and chairs in any of the bars or pool areas are absolutely filthy. If you are lucky enough to find a table that has been cleared, you might want to sanitize it yourself. We asked one of the staff members to clean our table and he took a rag and simply wiped the table not using any type of sanitizing solution. Yikes!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$141 - $630 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
catalonia royal bavaro hotel punta cana, catalonia royal bavaro punta cana, royal catalonia bavaro
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicLa Altagracia ProvincePunta Cana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
255
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Which popular attractions are close to Catalonia Royal Bavaro?
Nearby attractions include Escape Room Punta Cana (3.6 miles), Coco Bongo Punta Cana (3.2 miles), and Don Lucas Cigars (3.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Catalonia Royal Bavaro?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Catalonia Royal Bavaro?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Catalonia Royal Bavaro?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Catalonia Royal Bavaro?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Catalonia Royal Bavaro?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lorenzillo's Punta Cana, Noah Restaurant & Lounge, and Pearl Beach Club.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Catalonia Royal Bavaro?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Catalonia Royal Bavaro have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Catalonia Royal Bavaro offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Catalonia Royal Bavaro?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Catalonia Royal Bavaro offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Catalonia Royal Bavaro?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.