Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana

Traveler (3661)
Pool & Beach (683)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#39 of 56 all-inclusives in Punta Cana
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.5
Value
4.3
Travelers' Choice
El Hotel Todo Incluido 24 horas Riu Palace Punta Cana abre todo el año y está situado en la zona vacacional de Punta Cana, en la costa este de la República Dominicana, forma parte de RIU Resort con cuatro hoteles hermanos, está situado en la Playa Arena Gorda, que se extiende a lo largo de 26 km. RIU Palace es la categoría más elegante de la cadena hotelera RIU, con hoteles que cumplen con los más altos estándares en términos de lujo, excelencia y sofisticación, creando una experiencia única. Su ubicación es ideal por su proximidad al aeropuerto de Punta Cana PUJ (25 km) y El Cortecito (10 km) e invita a explorar la zona. El hotel dispone de 612 habitaciones acogedoramente amuebladas con Wi-Fi gratuito y ofrece muchas comodidades. Relájese en nuestro spa o póngase en forma en el gimnasio. 4 piscinas al aire libre, 1 piscina infantil. Animación diurna y nocturna, así como nuestra discoteca Pacha. Para los amantes de la gastronomía, ofrecemos estaciones de cocina en vivo en nuestro restaurante principal, restaurantes japonés, brasileño, italiano y de fusión, así como 5 bares. #RiuParty en el Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana ¿Te gusta disfrutar de las mejores fiestas durante tus vacaciones? ¡RiuParty está hecho para ti! Baila al ritmo de la música de los mejores Dj's y transfórmate con los espectáculos y performance que te ofrece cada fiesta. ¡Aprovecha tu Todo Incluido y disfruta de la mejor diversión con RIU!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Water park
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:10% off Riu Class members
4.0
2,826 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
The Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana has garnered appreciation for its friendly service and prime location near picturesque beaches. However, opinions on the hotel's offerings are mixed. While the atmosphere buzzes with lively entertainment, some guests desire quieter areas. Room cleanliness and maintenance, along with outdated amenities, have been points of contention, as have the availability of pool chairs and occasional overcrowding. Concerns over value for money, coupled with inconsistent service quality, have also been voiced by numerous travelers.
Location
Beachfront
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Dated
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
2826Reviews507Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,706
  • 533
  • 269
  • 150
  • 169
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Sofya B wrote a review Jun 2023
Feasterville, Pennsylvania436 contributions88 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favorite
This was our second visit to this resort. We booked three rooms, six people, three generations. I am emailed the resort asking for rooms near each other, but received no reply. I also submitted a request to the resort by internal channel as I am a travel advisor askingfor early check-inand rooms together.
Arrivals - Noone greeted us, no cold towels and no welcome drink. We went to the check in with our bags and began the check in process. Luckily we were the only ones at the reception, so the check in took maybe 5-10 minutes as 3 people were helping us (one for each room). We arrived around noon and two of our rooms were ready which was very appreciated. The third room was ready in about an hour. Two rooms were next to each other and one room was down the hallway.
Rooms - clean, everything was in working order except for the safe in one of the rooms, but it was fixed the same night. We always had enough towels. The ac was cold, but loud.
Minibar was replenished daily. Enough water, soda, bear, etc.
Meals - we mostly ate at the main buffet at breakfast and dinner and had lunch at the buffet by the beach. The selection was great, everything we tried was good. There was a lot of fruit choices. Lots of fish, meats, veggies. We also ate at the Italian and lamb chops were good. The service was great. However we missed our favorite waitress Anna as she is working at Naiboa now.
Pools - our two young girls stayed at adults swim up pool and made some friends there.
Beach - we always were able to find chairs at around 9-9:30 in the morning with some shades. The beach is beautiful and we walked in both directions daily. There is a drink service at the beach and it was good.
Entertainment - we didn't participate in any day activities. Our girls went to Riu parties and said it was fun, more fun than they expected. Make sure to bring your ID or to have a copy on your phone. It's only for 18+.
We found the people at the reception were more friendly this time. The coffee shop at the lobby was always a hit.
Small note: we were never recognized as returning guests. We stayed at many other all inclusive and they always leave a welcome back note for returning guests.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Responded Jun 2, 2023
Dear sofyab829, Thank you for your great review. We are really glad to learn that you enjoyed your experience during your stay at our Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana! We would be delighted to welcome you back in a near occasion. Have a lovely day, Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Travelingdiva2022 wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The hotel is glamorous, clean and well ran. Food is awesome and service is top notch. The location right on the beach is perfect as you can lounge by the pool or dip in the ocean. It really feels like you're in a palace!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
Leanna-mtl wrote a review Jul 2023
Montreal, Canada1 contribution
The service was unlike any other resort I had been to. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. The pools were kept clean. The beach area had a lot of seaweed that made swimming not as enjoyable (this was mid July). I would have liked to have given the option of more shade on the beach - there were no umbrellas. The waterslides were very fun and approximately 10 minute walk from the resort entrance in a safe community. I travelled with family including young kids (aged 3-7) and the buffet was great for all. The restaurants did not accept reservations so it was unlikely to have space for our entire family of 14 any given night. Overall a great experience.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Responded Aug 4, 2023
Dear Leanna-mtl, Thank you so much for your review! It was a pleasure to have you with us. We are happy to know that overall you enjoyed your stay. It is our hope to be able to welcome you back for many stays to come! Best wishes, Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julia M wrote a review Jan 2024
Ottawa, Canada7 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel was very clean, the room was spacious and accommodating, king(two beds) was hard, we asked for two more pillows to get comfortable, they were sent up right away, the bathroom needed a bit of work, the toilet always ran and the shower leaked, food was very good, lots of salt in the food, drinks flowed and always a smiling someone to take a drink order and deliver to the beach, beach needed some tlc, lots of broken chairs all over the place (even some pools had broken chairs) with no order and a huge lack of tables both on the beach and around the pools. All of the broken chairs need to be removed and thrown out, someone is going to get seriously injured. The beach needs to be sprayed for mosquitos every night, racked, and cleaned up for the next day. It seems to be a forgotten place that the hotel ignores, yet vacationers find it very important. I got many bug bites on my legs, arms, and back. The resort was busy, but the staff was always pleasant and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: bring bug spray
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Online Reputation Manager, Owner at Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Responded Jan 18, 2024
Dear juliamJ6414LY, Thank you for your comments and thank you for choosing to spend some time in our company. It is of great importance to us that our guests give us their point of view so that we can continue to improve every day. We would be very happy if you would visit us again in the near future. Yours faithfully, Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michele8567 wrote a review Mar 2021
Severn, Maryland79 contributions59 helpful votes
+1
Riu Palace was a great place to stay. Staff is very friendly. Very clean and large rooms. Beach has large palms to give shade from sun for those who need to be out of sun. Plenty of beach chairs. Nice sandy bottom when in the water.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Preston J wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Family stayed at this resort and the stay was totally unacceptable.. Witnessed multiple complaints from others during this stay. Getting a decent room is a crap shoot. Maybe you win, good chance of loosing
We could not stay in one of the rooms as we were without Air Conditioning while temperatures reached 90 plus degrees. We complained to the managers and staff daily only to hear
“We will get someone to look at it.” Went unfixed.
The 2nd night water began pouring out of the ceiling into luggage which ruined clothes.
This was a safety and fire hazard. We were then told that we would be compensated for the room which did not happen. I should not have to pay for a room that we could not stay in safely or comfortably. Took plenty of video but can’t upload video here.
If you complain enough they hand you the piece of paper below and only resolution is to send an email.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Responded Aug 25, 2022
Dear 94prestonj, We always thoroughly read every feedback from our guests in order to give the most accurate response. However, we regret to read the not family friendly language used in the review. It is very important to us that all our guests feel welcome at our resort and treated with respect, which is what we also expect from our guests. Also, we always kindly recommended to share your full name. In doing so, it adds veracity to the review and the hotel can do the proper follow up of the feedback, give an accurate response and assist when applicable. If you wish to place a formal complaint our After Customer Care will be more than willing to assist you at: complaints@riu.com Our priority is to give our guests a pleasant stay and we will continue to work to improve our resort and services. Sincerely, Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tan24uk wrote a review Nov 2022
London, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
We had a wonderful two weeks here, staff were friendly and helpful, loved the kids and always made a fuss of them. Food was ok, lots of choice but always the same on offer every night so after two weeks it did become a little boring, but food on offer was always hot and tasty. Pools were clean and warm, kids spent the whole two weeks in them!! Rooms were clean, beds were comfy but we didnt spend much time in there to care. Dont bother with the shops onsite, an absolute rip off, £50 for cheapest lilo and £30 for a bucket and spade!! They must think we are stupid!! Book a private transfer to/from the airport if you can so you dont have to sit on a coach outside the hotel waiting for idiots who can’t remember ( or are too pissed!) what time they are being picked up!!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Responded Nov 10, 2022
Dear Tan24uk, We thoroughly appreciate your positive feedback regarding your stay with us! We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and very much appreciate your acknowledgment of the service and hospitality provided by our friendly staff. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back! Sincerely, Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
helen wrote a review Apr 2022
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel manager refused to give a refund for my spoilt spa experience after two of his staff where arguing so loudly I thought the commotion was in the corridor. Spa manager had to go to the hotel kitchen to tell the staff to be quiet.Spa experience was ruined. Went with Spa Manager to see the hotel director who said he had never had a complaint before and I should go back to my hotel (Riu Bambu) to fill in a complaint form. Told him the complaint was with his hotel but he maintained I had I still complain to my hotel - despite it being his staff who ruined my experience. Customer service appalling.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Hope you don’t need to make a complaint because because you are unlikely to get any resolution
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Responded Apr 26, 2022
Dear Roving05454070260, It is saddening to read that you left our resort with a bad feeling. If you wish to place a formal complaint you can do it at: complaints@riu.com Our After Customer Care will kindly assist you. We apologize for not having provided the best service. Sincerely, Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MadiandBJWorldTour wrote a review Nov 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
My lady and I were excited to have our first international trip of 2020 after a long and challenging quarantine. RIU Palace didn't disappoint. Outside of there being an overwhelming amount of people here, considering that we're in a pandemic, the hotel staff did an amazing job at putting Covid-19 safe measures in place and enforcing them. The food was consistently decent, drinks were incredible (although we never really got drunk or tipsy which is pretty normal at an all-inclusive), the rooms were adequately clean, entertainment was local and well done. Where RIU Palace shined was in it's staff. Many of the employees went above and beyond to deliver a safe, comfortable, and memorable experience. Our favorite, by far was Sandy who not only delivered excellent service, but who also engaged us in a refreshing and welcomed interaction during our stay. We would recommend a stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
corad43 wrote a review May 2022
10 contributions21 helpful votes
+1
We arrived on a Sunday afternoon for an 11 night stay. We we’re wowed about the whole place. From the entrance to the rooms to the pool everything was what we were looking for and expected. The a la carte restaurants left a lot to be desired but the main restaurants were great with a lot of variety.
For the first 5 days everything was great and then Friday pm arrived. There was an influx of young Americans who had obviously come for a party. How a hotel can change in 24 hours I can’t explain but it turned from a lovely hotel into an 18-30 hotel. The adult only pool is directly next to the main pool where all the children/families are. By 2pm on the Saturday there was 4 different lots of music blasting out to the point you couldn’t hear yourself think or speak. The animation team had got “young American” guests twerking, grinding and pinching their nipples at the side of the adult pool. At the same time this was happening the kids club were walking through the adult pool on a treasure hunt where the music changed to pirate music for the kids to match to but too late as our 8 year old had seen exactly what had been happening. When the manager was questioned the next morning we were told to speak to the animation team manager as it was his problem and this is why there was an adults only pool. To put it into context the adults only pool is approx 10 m from the main pool!
By the Sunday evening the hotel had returned to how it was the previous week. This hotel has not found its identity, it’s either a Riu palace for couples and families or an adults only where anything goes.
On the whole it is a lovely hotel with great staff especially Santana and Zorilla are amazing who can’t do enough for you, just be prepared for the Friday night and Saturday carnage,
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Responded Jun 3, 2022
Dear Corad, Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us, also for your kind remarks about our staff and resort. It is saddening to read that you felt disappointed with your stay during the weekend. Although, we do everything in our hands to ensure everyone at our hotel has a great holiday. This hotel in particular is popular amongst a younger crowd, in certain times of the year, because of its location. Our security staff is always present, not just at the lobby but also in all common areas, ensuring the safety and peace of mind of our guests and making sure that parties are not held inside the rooms. However, we have no control over each and every guest’s behaviour. We are very sorry and we will pass on your concerns for future arrangements. Kindest wishes! Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeff L wrote a tip Feb 21
1 contribution
"The Pool was great, Cold but Great!!"
Read full review
Sam M wrote a tip Feb 16
8 contributions
"Please take care of the staff. Some of them truly go above and beyond to take care of the guest."
Read full review
Mhorag2011 wrote a tip Feb 14
London, United Kingdom24 contributions24 helpful votes
"If the hotel had a general bar it would be vastly improved. The City trip is not worth doing as most things are closed for refurbishment. "
Read full review
Vasco Dias | PT-Oporto wrote a tip Feb 13
Porto, Portugal35 contributions36 helpful votes
"Do not attend this hotel. It is a serious danger to your health."
Read full review
Shauna D wrote a tip Feb 7
Chetwynd, Canada1 contribution3 helpful votes
"Save a spot by the pool in the mornings for sure if you want the bar pool"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Punta Cana area.
PRICE RANGE
$228 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
riu palace punta cana hotel punta cana, punta cana riu palace, riu palace hotel punta cana
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicLa Altagracia ProvincePunta Cana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
676
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL RIU PALACE PUNTA CANA - Updated 2024 Prices & Resort (All-Inclusive) Reviews (Dominican Republic)

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana?
Nearby attractions include Bavaro Beach (2.3 miles), Vivaldi Cigars (4.7 miles), and Escapology (4.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana?
Conveniently located restaurants include Montserrat Manor Restaurant, Onno's Bavaro, and YOUYU Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.