We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana

Save
Share
Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 23000 Dominican Republic
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Hotel direct offer!Receive 500 free points
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Traveluro
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Snaptravel
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2107)
Pool & Beach (477)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 06/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Updated 06/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#50 of 162 hotels in Punta Cana
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The 24-hour All Inclusive Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana opens all year round and is located in holiday area Punta Cana on the Dominican Republic's eastern coast, it is part of RIU Resort with four sister hotels, is situated on the Playa Arena Gorda, which stretches for 26 km. RIU Palace is the most elegant category in the RIU hotel chain, with hotels that meet the highest standards in terms of luxury, excellence and sophistication, creating a unique experience. The location is ideal due to its proximity to Punta Cana Airport PUJ (25 km) and El Cortecito (10 km) and invites you to explore the area. The hotel has 612 cozily furnished rooms with free Wi-Fi and offers many amenities. Relax in our spa, or get in shape at the gym. 4 outdoor pools, 1 children's pool. Day and evening entertainment, as well as our Pacha discotheque. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer live cooking stations at our main restaurant, Japanese, Brazilian, Italian, Fusion restaurants, as well as 5 bars.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Water park
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Great View
Languages Spoken
Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Receive 500 free points
1748Reviews356Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,148
  • 321
  • 152
  • 66
  • 63
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Vermont101 wrote a review Oct 17
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Food was excellent, mainly did Buffett. Orlando and Vincente were our main waiters, so friendly. They remembered each morning what we drink. Nice people! Cafe had excellent coffee drinks and desserts each evening. Sports bar had wonderful cafe paradise at 5 am we got them went to watch sunrises. Lady with an A name I believe Alma may be spelled wrong, but she was so nice made incredible coffee drinks. Check in gentleman was so kind and helpful. Riu had covid test right there to get ready to fly home.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
ericsC4618IO wrote a review Oct 16
Milton3 contributions
Very disappointed. Beach was full of brown seaweed which the Riu did not seem to clean up. As a result, it smelled bad and had a lot of sand fleas. The rooms were showing their age. Entertainment was bismal and staff didn't seem very excited to be working there. Not going back
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Responded yesterday
Dear ericsC4618IO, Thank you for providing your honest feedback. It is unfortunate to hear you weren't completely satisfied with your recent experience, as our policy is to make every attempt to please our guests. You may rest assured that we will share all your impressions with our management team for a proper follow up as guest service is our absolute main priority and we sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again for a more satisfying experience. With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Walter C wrote a review Oct 6
Aventura, Florida3 contributions
We had a great stay! The staff and personal was super kind and always helpful. Felix, the manager was really kind and always in a good mood. Very clean even in the early mornings! We went with all of our family including a baby and it was a great safe place. There are great shows during the night time and good activities to take part in.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Helpful
Share
Eric S wrote a review Oct 6
2 contributions1 helpful vote
So here you are, reading this looking for true reviewed of this hotel. Well my fastidious friend, strap yourself in and hold on. September 27 - October 04, 2021. First - in and out of the country you will need to fill in your information to a website - ask your agent. or, Googe: access electronic ticket of entry and exit dominican republic You should see a link that says "eticket dot migracion dot GOB dot DO" sorry, i would add the link if trip advisor let me... You will need to complete this in AND out of the country. Make sure it works in your phone - my google chrome gave me oriblems. Download a second browser just in case. It will cause delays if you can't get it to work. if you are from Canada, you will need 20usd(exit tax) and 80usd (covid PCR test) per person. This ideally is cash. You can pay for your PCR test at the doctor's office that is about 15 min walk away (pay, bring receipt to tester at the hotel), but trust me it's a pain in the @$$. When we arrived at the hotel we were barely greeted by the receptionist. We were checked in and sent on our way only to notice an hour later we were not given our arm bands. Super. First impressions of the hotel were ok in the lobby - big but very quiet. I have never been to Russia but feel this is what the Kremlin is like during peace time - it's nice but you know it's probably not right. In terms of colors - blue not purple. Not sure why, but it was interesting. The room was ok. The shower doesn't have a door and when you shower you have water constantly escaping into the bathroom and pooling around the toilet. Annoying and dangerous. We had to use a spare body towel every day as a floor mop to keep things dry. The water from the fixtures had a funny sewage smell (slight but noticable); I strongly urge you to avoid drinking the running water in the rooms. We even avoided brushing our teeth with it in fear of travellers trots. The room had a double sink and little counter spade for your "stuff". Consider blocking one sink and using it for counter space. Final word on the room (and general comment on the hotel). It's really showing its age. Grout missing, damage to the walls and a really bad painting job everywhere. Seriously, the paint is kinda funny. The hotel was built in 06ish but it has signs of neglect. I found all the towels (especially the pool towels) had a smell - in the middle of clean and dirty. Rinsed? Please be advised - if it rains you need to be very careful on the tiles in the hallways. Slippery when wet - very much so. Seaweed - sargassum seaweed is very prevalent on the beaches. It's not being removed very often so you are getting the smell AND sand fleas in abundance. Bring bug spray for your lower legs. Also, the water was dark and murky - not like the clear waters you are expecting. This is in the Atlantic side of the island - take a trip to the Caribbean side if you want the nice waters. Nightlife - basically non existand and boring. When you come out of dinner around 8 you are treated to a sea of adults sitting in the open air, drinking and watching about a dozen children dance with a turtle. The adult entertainment starts at 930 but (I'm hoping due to covid) the trutle was more entertaining. No Michael Jackson impersonator? The lobby bar was quieter then a cemetery (see above), with the piano available on only a few evenings. Oh, and the coffee bar opens at a very reasonable 10 am. Perfect to nurse a mid-morning hang over. Sports bar - all the food was cold and you needed to pay extra for the pool tables. Nickle and dimes Riu - it's all inclusive. Have it for free or remove them. Riu card - What the hell is the point of a RIU card? I have been to 4 Riu hotels and presented this card with the expectation of some kind of gesture to praise my loyalty. Free upgrade? Free dinner on the beach? Free pen? Look the other way when I take the lobby pen? Nothing. If you check online it suggest you need to live at a Riu to get any kind of benefit. Final gripe - the hotel was notified that this was both our honeymoon and my wife's birthday. No response. Thanks Riu, love you too. On the positive side - a handful of the staff were extra friendly (probably compensating for the super unfriendly ones you will definitely notice). I would like to give a shout out to Architect at the steak house, and the lovely man at the door of Krystal. I found the pool bartenders to be great as well. I've seen reports of the Italian being disappointing. We found it to be perfectly fine. Pro tip - you are welcome to order 2 Entree if you really want 2 options. The portion sizes are fine but not huge. Just tip your server. Overall - it was a vacation. It was sunny when it was sunny, it was nice when it was cloudy too. There is enough booze and food to keep you satisfied and the amenities are fine. The hotel is not the best kept and it's kinda boring. If you won't entertain the adults before 930pm maybe you should keep the swimup bar open longer than 630. It's lit up and you can sacrifice a staff member to provide lifeguard duty. As a contrast - we stayed at the Riu Palace Mexico and found that place basically the same layout but felt totally different. It's kinda like the Mexico location cares more. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: rooms on the West side should be quieter as they are away from the chidren area.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Responded 4 days ago
Dear O7266BSerics, Thank you very much for choosing us and for sharing your review about your last stay. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority therefore we sincerely apologize for falling short of meeting your expectations. Please rest assured that we will share all your impressions with our management team for a proper follow up as guest service is our absolute main priority. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back for an enhanced experience. With our best hopes we remain, Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Agata L wrote a review Oct 5
Poland18 contributions35 helpful votes
We spent a wonderful holiday in this hotel for 14 days. Very nice and elegant object. Comfortable rooms. Very tasty food , everyone will find something for themselves ,a variety of menus. Very nice and helpful whole hotel staff , I will single out Mr. Fisne Celesten -reception staff , very competent and helpful. He was helpful in finding my lost suitcase. The downside is the beach full of algae. Rarely cleaned, no equipment. In Iberostar they have a special tractor for cleaning the beach and there it is clean. Despite Covid-19, crowds of tourists in the pool at the bar. Despite the large number of tourists from Polish there is no Polish program on TV! I recommend this hotel for your vacation. Best regards
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms further from the lobby, Rooms on the Bahia side are quieter.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$172 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
riu palace punta cana hotel punta cana, punta cana riu palace, riu palace hotel punta cana
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicLa Altagracia ProvincePunta Cana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
676
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana?
Nearby attractions include Bavaro Beach (2.3 miles), Escapology (4.7 miles), and Vivaldi Cigars (4.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana?
Conveniently located restaurants include Montserrat Manor Restaurant, Chic Cabaret & Restaurant Punta Cana, and Herman 311 Bar & Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.