We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana

06/11/2017 06/12/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Panoramas (19)
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,886 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 3,328: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
 Click to rate
New York City, New York
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I booked this hotel in a whim, as my original choice was sold out on some of the days we wanted. I read a lot of negative reviews afterwards and was extremely nervous. Even tried to change it but the cost to change it was way to high. All I have to say is that we had a great time!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shn8
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

The room we got was freshly painted, like hours before and the fumes were unbearable! The shower door was rusted. They changed our fridge 3 times. The humidity in the rooms was terrible and the marble floor in the hallways were all slippery due to the humidity as well. The night club is not free! You have to pay for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank El-Angel D
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Ceiling leaking brown smelly water in room. Trouble checking in. Sure hope they give us some sort of compensation but by the reviews I'm not counting on it. Would never suggest a honeymoon here due to just these issues alone and I see many similarities on other reviews.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jeff D
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

This is a fantastic resort. Great restaurants and great evening entertainment. They have anything you may need for an event or just to vacation and relax. Their concierge services are legit. Fishing tours, golf, ATV adventures, hiking, zip lines...it's all available here. You'll love the pools and swim up bar. You'll feel safe and comfortable here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DanielCollier
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

If you have looked at a picture on the Internet, you will see a lovely hotel and grounds, that picture is 11 years old and is not what it looks like when you arrive. The whole hotel needs updating from ground roots to the top. The beach they own is absolutely disgusting, fag ends and rubbish, the hotel next-door has...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank yj1952
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our room was on the 1st floor; the only issue was the construction noise going on outside our balcony. However, we were not in our room very often. We ate at each of the restaurants. For choices, go to the buffet, especially if you have a family with you. For adults, the Japanese restaurant was our favorite, along with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank franksm2014
Tulalip, Washington
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Alaska air put us here for one night due to a canceled flight. Beautiful resort, got in around 9pm no food available, except in a sports bar and that was limited to a hot dog. Bar and drinks plentiful and no room service. The breakfast buffet next morning was great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BV249853
michigan
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Don't ever book the RIU Palace Punta Cana. I am very easy going and booking my sons Honeymoon at the RIU Palace has become a complete nightmare this evening. I paid for the RIU months ago on my credit card paid in full. I then called the front desk at the RIU Punta Cana and let them know they would...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Mexiganders
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We have stayed in several hotels in the Dominican Republic and this is the worst by far. The lobby is very spacious and clean but you don't have to sleep there. The rooms are very 80's and need updating as a priority. The so called speciality restaurants only have one menu so if you want to eat the same food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank richard2210
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your loyalty to RIU Hotels & Resorts and for taking the time to give us your constructive and valued feedback. We are committed to provide excellent quality of our products and services to our guests. We regret to read that you have left our hotel with an opposite idea in your mind. We appreciate our...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I've stayed at several Riu resorts in other countries and have always had an amazing experience. When it came time to plan Keebler's bachelor party, I knew that the Riu would provide us with everything we were looking for. The resort is on a massive Riu Complex and from the outside it really does look like a palace. Upon arrival...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank mike f
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5,596 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5193)
Viewed
Room/Suite (455)
Viewed
Bathroom (77)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1127)
Viewed
View from Room (175)
Viewed
Dining (303)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1213)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (54)
Viewed
1:56
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (1769)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (379)
Viewed
Aerial Photography (28)
Viewed
Amenities (41)
Viewed
Beach (30)
Viewed
Junior Suite (22)
Viewed
Pool (42)
Viewed
Dining (77)
Viewed
Standard Room (38)
Viewed
Suite (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
16.1 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 111 in Punta Cana
1,710 reviews
18.2 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#46 of 111 in Punta Cana
935 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
#52 of 111 in Punta Cana
3,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
#81 of 111 in Punta Cana
327 reviews
0.7 mi away
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
3.7 mi away
Sunscape Dominican Beach Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
* Located on Arena Gorda Beach in Punta Cana * Inside the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Macao, Riu Palace Bavaro, Riu Naiboa hotels and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu * The Splash Water World will be opened from 1st November 2016 * 4-story building * Surrounded by 63,000 m2 / 75,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 40 km / 31 miles from Higuey * 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Intl. Airport Accepted Credit Cards: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana

Address: Playa de Arena Gorda | Punta Cana - Dominican Republic, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Price Range: $183 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 612
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Riu Palace
Riu Palace Hotel Punta Cana
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#56 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#59 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#60 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#62 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana staff and other travelers.
333 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (333)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Our room was very pleasant. For $400 more, we could have had a senior suite; they were phenomenal.”
franksm2014, 3 days ago | Read review
“Don't do it!”
Mexiganders, 4 days ago | Read review
“See if you can get a garden room on the west side that might be preferable to the east side.”
  • Mini bar that gets restocked every other day.
DanaH618, 6 days ago | Read review
“Rooms on the south side are quieter”
, 1 week ago | Read review
“Ask for a 3rd floor room with a view of the pool. If you don't, you may get "garden" and that is actually the backside of the hotel.”
wendys189, 2 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
No availability for your dates from these sites
Riu.com
* /night
View Deal
Priceline
Hotels.com
Elvoline
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates