We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Los Corales, El Cortecito, Punta Cana 23301 Dominican Republic
10 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$77
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/19/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Official website
$69
View deal
Priceline
$68
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/19/22
Expedia.com$77
Hotels.com$77
travelup.com$89
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (998)
Pool & Beach (351)
Room & Suite (149)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Read more
Updated 06/30/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from whala!bavaro
Updated 06/30/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#95 of 194 hotels in Punta Cana
Location
4.1
Cleanliness
3.9
Service
4.0
Value
4.2
Located in front of the beach, whala!bavaro is the ideal place to enjoy the summer heat. Bavaro Beach is part of the Dominican Republic most exclusive coast resorts, thanks to its fine white sand bathed by the beautiful Caribbean Sea with crystal clear and emerald tone waters. Located in front of the beach, whala!bavaro is the ideal place to enjoy the summer heat. The hotel is located in an excellent location that offers a wide variety of sport and leisure activities.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Entertainment staff
Airport transportation
Full body massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Evening entertainment
Taxi service
Massage
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish
756Reviews87Q+A53Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 289
  • 177
  • 107
  • 79
  • 105
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Zalina C wrote a review Yesterday
5 contributions
Rooms were comfortable. Food was awful, I had boiled eggs for breakfast every day. Location was scary and dirty. Beach was nice, considering it was sea grass season. Largest complaint- staff. We had rude interactions in every area. 1 in 10 workers smiled or spoke to us. Request for drinks were met with blank faces, as if annoyed by our presence. Pools close at 7:00, so no drinks at the pool while the sun goes down. Security was everywhere, but usually on their phones. We still felt pretty safe though. As a whole, we were made to feel unwanted. We managed to have a wonderful time, but the hotel did not make it easy.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Alison R wrote a review Aug 3
2 contributions
Stayed ten days at Whala Bavaro, so pleased with having the glorious beach right on our doorstep. The sea from our balcony that first morning we opened the curtains was a big Wow, blue sea and sky as far as the eye could see. We are both big on water sports and diving, this is somewhere we’ve wanted to come for a while. Our room was lovely, bright modern colours, clean with good room service, cleaned everyday. Staff are friendly, laidback and chatty and the meals were good, they go to a lot of trouble to make the evening buffets look special. If you want a quick dip the pool is great, there’s also a dip pool on the top terrace but we avoided it midday as it got a bit busy, but later on was a perfect spot for a cool breeze and nightcap. Liked the differences between a holiday in Punta Cana and one in Europe, we would rather come here every couple of years, than yearly somewhere closer and enjoy all it has to offer.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest service, Atención al huésped/Recepción at whala!bavaro
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest We greatly appreciate for sharing your experience. We are satisfied to attend that you had a fantastic stay and enjoyed the friendly and courteous service from our accommodating staff. At WHALA, our employees are our main asset and the heart of our company. Their commitment and passion are the keys to the success of our customer service, which seeks above all excellence, proximity, and innovation. We are thrilled to confirm that you enjoy superior service with our concept whala,your experience to an extraordinary level with access to private areas of the hotel, pool, snacks, bars. It is always a pleasure knowing that we have achieved our goal of creating a memorable vacation experience. Happy that your recent experience at our property left you with the best impression, we look forward to welcoming you back again at our hotel. Kind Regards, Guest Service Julissa Gonzalez
Read more
Julia D wrote a review Jul 2022
Jersey City, New Jersey7 contributions1 helpful vote
Simple hotel in a perfect location and exactly what we wanted for our 8 days in paradise! It's pretty big but spread out and you get to use all the different pools and bars across the hotel complex. Nice staff who always seemed to be smiling and the hotel is kept spotless. Our room was left perfect by the cleaning staff and we found it very quiet and easy to relax and sleep here. The beach is on the doorstep and the area felt safe to explore. Good for couples.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest service, Atención al huésped/Recepción at whala!bavaro
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest You don't know how happy we are that we can confirm you had a wonderful time while on holidays with us, all the effort of our team is gratefully rewarded knowing that you took very good memories of your stay in whala bavaro Your compliments will be gladly transmitted to those you have mentioned. We look forward to your next visit. Regards from whala. Julissa Gonzalez
Read more
Maria Victoria C wrote a review Jul 2022
Hialeah, Florida6 contributions1 helpful vote
We went with our small daughter and we all had a great time here. Compared to most hotels in the area the price is very affordable. The room we got was nice. Very clean but not the biggest, but we got the most economical. That was ok as we were outside most of the time. Yes, it's natural water in the bathroom with some salt but that wasn't an issue for us. We just used bottled water to clean our teeth. The swimming pools are nice and kept clean. The rooftop one got busy but there are others if you want more space and a quieter spot to relax. It felt a safe area for a family with a young child to visit and the staff were very helpful and tried to get us checked in quickly so we could settle our daughter. Great week.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest service, Atención al huésped/Recepción at whala!bavaro
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Maria We are happy to learn that you had a nice experience at our wondrous whala bavaro hotel. Reading your comment is so gratifying and is definitely a great reward for all our members who make a great effort day after day to please our guests in all possible manners. We look forward to welcoming you very soon for another perfect gateway with us! Kindest regards! Julissa Gonzalez
Read more
lbarnard wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The Whala Bavaro Hotel: Bad food bad service not hygienic not good hospitality ugly rooms We don't recommend this place, our experience was awful. We have to go out to find nice food to eat. The facilities for the toilet very poor. And hospitality very bad. They need to improve all their services. But their attitude is like they don't care.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest service, Atención al huésped/Recepción at whala!bavaro
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Lore Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your recent experience with us. We regret to know that we have not fulfilled your expectations during your visit. First of all, please let us express our deepest apologies for the inconveniences you may have experienced; We strive for the highest levels of efficiency and we are very concerned that you did not fully enjoy your vacations due to these issues. Please be certain that we have taken your feedback seriously and we will work in our opportunity areas in order to deliver better service to our guests. With this said, we look forward to having the opportunity of hosting you back on a renewed opportunity to redeem your confidence in our resort and service. Best regards Julissa González
Read more
Edgardo W wrote a review Jul 2022
Panama City, Panama5 contributions2 helpful votes
I stayed at this hotel at the end of June, beginning of July. I selected this hotel because it Had some of the features so was looking for. For starters they don’t have transportation from and to the airport. The food is not bad but is limited and far from good. They lack variety and presentation in their menus. The water is not potable, however they offer plenty bottles of water. The room was clean and they clean it every day, however they dont change the towels unless requested. The pillows in my room were super hard, though the bed was comfortable. They do have a very good security presence. At least one of their pools is heated. The beach is very near not has a lot of algae that comes to shore at that time of the year.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest service, Atención al huésped/Recepción at whala!bavaro
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest Thank you very much for choosing our hotel whala bavaro as the ideal and perfect getaway to enjoy your vacations in this Caribbean environment. According to your rating, our hotel has not lived up to your expectations, please accept our apologies, of course, this action saddens us a lot since it is not our intention that these things happen. Your feedback is very important for us, rest assured that we will put the focus on each of the improvable aspects identified by you, we will continue to make incredible efforts in order to achieve your full satisfaction, which is our main goal. Thank you for helping us identify those points that can be improved that make us grow as a company. We look forward to offering you our services again in the near future but this time bequeathing in you a truly unique and unforgettable whala experience as you deserve it. Kindest regards! Julissa Gonzalez
Read more
Les C wrote a review Jul 2022
Augusta, Maine8 contributions
Booked for 10 nights and it flew by. Very nice hotel on beachfront which is exactly what we'd wanted. Staff were all nice and the hotel is well looked after by them. Everything was clean and they were there to help with questions we had. The room was good. Shower worked well and bed good. Found the food really good but not great. Great all round value for money but not the Ritz.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest service, Atención al huésped/Recepción at whala!bavaro
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear guest, We are very happy to read that our hotel has lived up to your expectations, and for sharing the experience with us. It is very exciting to receive feedback from guests like you where we really see that all our effort is worth it. Each of us puts our grain of sand so that all our guests really feel the love and passion that we put into our work. Every gesture, smile and even the "welcome home"come from our heart. Thank you for all staff you mentioned and who really made your stay much more special. We all will be very pleased to have you here again. Warm regards, Julissa Gonzalez
Read more
Whitney M wrote a review Jul 2022
Kingston, Canada15 contributions7 helpful votes
The buffet is awful. They constantly shut off water in the rooms, a/c doesn't work well and staff are rude if you are caucasian/ speak English as a first language. Furthermore it is in a sketchy area, doesn't feel safe. Spend the extra money to stay somewhere pleasant.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Do not go to this hotel if you are white.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest service, Atención al huésped/Recepción at whala!bavaro
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear guest, It saddens us that we haven't pleased you during your experience on the property, we would like to thank you for sending us your feedback. On the other hand, we would like to apologize concerning the service received. We will pass on your comments to the department manager to enable us to guarantee a splendid service from each and every staff member. We lay high value on the client orientation of our employees because we do understand that this is a prime factor in achieving maximum client satisfaction. We know that we can only maintain our excellent standards by constant dialogue with our valued guests. We are very sorry for the inconvenience caused. Please rest assured that we have taken your concerns seriously and we hope that you will allow us another opportunity at one of our hotels in the future. Best Regards, Johanna Villaman
Read more
Carly B wrote a review Jul 2022
New York City, New York7 contributions
Dont even know where to begin I had such a good time I didnt want to leave, im now obsessed with Punta Cana and my time there. My vacation would not have been what it was if its not for the FANTASTIC staff who were so helpful and kind. Its a well kept resort, the food and drinks are on point, and i loved the nearby restaurants i visited too. Best time ever!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest service, Atención al huésped/Recepción at whala!bavaro
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear guest, We are very happy to read that our hotel has lived up to your expectations, and for sharing the experience with us. Your enthusiastic comments are great to receive. Once again, we thank you for this complimentary review of your time in our hospitality, We look forward to serving you again to repeat or even surpass this experience. Best Regards, Johanna Villaman
Read more
Annie L wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
This place is absolutely horrible. The staff is completely rude from the front desk guy to the bartenders and servers. The only friendly service, I received was from the security guards. Being there with a 1yr old - Not recommended for small families. No small pool, the play area (slides) is in the sun - Couldn't bring my son until the sun set so he doesn't burn himself. I asked the front desk to book the A la Carte and asked if it was the same food - He said yes - WHICH IT IS NOT. The WORST PART - DON'T EXPECT TO GO IN THE OCEAN, which I have never experienced going on a holiday and not being able to go to the ocean. It is full of seaweed. Totally unswimable. Horrible experience. I wanted to leave after 2 days there but was stuck. At the buffet, I asked for a high chair, they said they don't have one - 3 days later someone magically brought me one. Food is ok. Resort is weirdly situated. The ocean hotel you need to walk down a water filled street that stinks. Shower and tap in room - Salt water. Need to use bottled water to brush your teeth. All in all, DO NOT WASTE you MONEY LIKE ME! The hotel is only populated with Dominican's other than that there were 3 couples from Poland.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Don't GO - You will waste your money and time
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest service, Atención al huésped/Recepción at whala!bavaro
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Although we sincerely regret reading that your holiday at our hotel was not to your liking, we are grateful that you have taken the time to send us your review. Cleanliness is one of the most important aspects of our hotel. We always strive to ensure that our guests have a comfortable stay in a spotless room. We apologise that you did not receive this impression. In the unusual circumstances of finding a discrepancy in our services, we would urge a guest to advise our team who will correct it immediately. Also, we are very sorry that the service and attention in general has not been to your liking, considering that our staff is usually highlighted by their predisposition and professionalism. We shall use your constructive critique and ideas to help us reach our goal of providing our guests with a memorable experience. Once again, we offer you a sincere apology for the inconvenience you experienced, we hope you had a safe trip back home. Best regards, Johanna Villaman
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$82 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
alisios bavaro beach hotel, hotel alisios bavaro beach
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Alisios Bavaro Beach Hotel
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicLa Altagracia ProvincePunta Cana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
263
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about whala!bavaro
Which popular attractions are close to whala!bavaro?
Nearby attractions include OCEAN ADVENTURES Caribbean Pirates (0.09 miles), Yopo TIki Bar (0.1 miles), and Nino's Liquors (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at whala!bavaro?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at whala!bavaro?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at whala!bavaro?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to whala!bavaro?
Conveniently located restaurants include Living Room Vip, Toc Beach Bar & Restaurant, and La Bruja Chupadora.
Are there opportunities to exercise at whala!bavaro?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does whala!bavaro have airport transportation?
Yes, whala!bavaro offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at whala!bavaro?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Russian.