We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Playa De Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 23000 Dominican Republic
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Hotel direct offer!Extra 15% OFF
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Traveluro
Expedia.com
WIOL.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (7167)
Pool & Beach (1502)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 06/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Updated 06/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#86 of 161 hotels in Punta Cana
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The All Inclusive 24h Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro opens all year round and is located on the beautiful Playa Arena Gorda beach, in the holiday area of Punta Cana, on the Dominican Republic's eastern coast. Riu Palace is the most elegant category in the RIU hotel chain, with hotels that meet the highest standards in terms of luxury, excellence and sophistication, creating a unique experience. The location is ideal due to its proximity to El Cortecito (10 km), Higüey (40 km) and Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ) (25 km) and invites you to explore the area. The hotel has 610 comfortably furnished rooms with free WiFi and offers many amenities. Relax in the spa or get in shape at the gym. 4 outdoor pools, 2 of them with swim up bar and integrated whirlpool bath, 1 children’s pool and the ‘Splash Water World’ water park. For the youngest guests, children’s entertainment (4-12 years old). For adults, daytime and evening entertainment, discotheque and Riu Pool Parties. For lovers of gastronomy, live cooking stations and themed buffets at our main restaurant, as well as Japanese, Italian, Fusion, Steakhouse and Gourmet specialty restaurants; 8 bars located in different areas of the hotel.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Game room
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Kids club
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Family
Languages Spoken
Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Extra 15% OFF
4956Reviews825Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,355
  • 1,454
  • 611
  • 257
  • 279
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Breebree wrote a review Sep 16
Orangeburg, New York3 contributions2 helpful votes
Please do yourself the favor and please don't book this resort. I'm a huge RIU fan but this has been the worst experience by far. You won't be able to get any sleep due to the loud people around your room and even above from you depending on what floor you're on, there is no beach service, there is people walking around the resort going to breakfast, lunch etc with a boom box, felt like I was back in the Bronx.... I wish I could give this resort a zero but it doesn't let me. The hotel itself is outdated and run down. Bugs everywhere anf toilets by the pool aren't clean. While I was there, there was even blood in one of them. Food isn't all that great and drinks aren't either. Night entertainment sucked big time..people here are very rude. Please I can continue for days, but those were my main complaints again in a huge RIU fan but this place is horrible. I wouldn't stay at any riu on this property.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for being loyal to our company and your review regarding your experience during your recent visit at our Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro. After reading through your description of your experience, we are so sorry to learn that this time you did not enjoy your stay and we were not able to offer you an enjoyable and relaxing holiday due to inappropriate behavior that is shown by some other guests. It is truly disappointing when people are not considerate of others. On behalf of the entire team, we wish to extend our sincerest apologies to you for the variety of inconveniences and shortcomings that you have encountered. Our principle is to do everything possible to ensure all our guests a pleasant stay. Your feedback was shared appropriately with our management team. We, as a team would love to help restore your confidence in our hotel. We appreciate your time and do hope you give us another chance so we can make it better next time. Kind regards Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro Online Reputation Manager
Read more
nytaster wrote a review Sep 6
Clearwater, Florida58 contributions51 helpful votes
Such a dissapointment, food was edible, the Montecristo buffet is the safest place to eat, all the remaining "special" restaurants are not good at all. Hotel is in poor condition, beach full of algae, the towels they provided for the beach were disgusting and looked so old, discolored, just terrible. Room service was some crappy sandwiches, nachos and thats it, drinks were watered down and quality of alcohol was again very very poor. The service by the pool was adequate, the servers were eager to please and they were not in control of what they have available to serve. Night entertainment was a joke, Will never return to any RIU hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Stay Away all RIU likr hotels in Punta Cana, same bad quality of food and drinks throughout.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very sorry to hear of the disappointment you experienced during this stay and for the frustration it caused you. We hold a higher standard than what you experienced and we missed that mark on a number of occasions. For this reason, we genuinely apologize your experience did not meet your expectations. We recognize your discomfort and appreciate your honest feedback. Certainly, your concerns will be addressed with the appropriate people and departments for a proper follow up. Again, thank you for sharing with us, and we hope we will have the chance to better your experience on a future stay. With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Eduardo L wrote a review Aug 2021
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma18 contributions5 helpful votes
We booked our travel with Apple Vacations. When we arrived at the property, check-in went smooth. However, when the receptionist was telling us about the property, he gave us a map drew the directions to our room, told us where to eat and that we need to download the RIU app to get the rest of the information. That would be fine I guess, but they only have 2G and with the ENTIRE place using their wifi, you cannot get on any site or good service. and sent us on our way. However it wasn't until the second day that I realized that I did not receive my "bonus perks" $2,100.00 of resort credit. How do you get it...Through the app that doesn't work. We stayed on the adult only side. The first morning there I met the maid, I gave her a 20.00 tip and asked her to clean the room, put the rose petals, and towel animals, to make the room romantic it was our anniversary, She said she understood and it would be beautiful. Cool... needless to say it wasn't.... the room was cleaned, but we had no towels, no face cloths, no towel animals, no rose petals. The mini fridge was not restocked with water or the soda we drank. That was a reoccurring theme. The sink drain was clogged, the other sink sprayed all the water on you. The rain shower head was clogged with hard water build-up, the hot tub/jacuzzi on the balcony was in pieces, and the iron was busted and leaked/poured water on our clothes. After 3 nights, not days nights, we finally got every thing fixed. The beach was filled with seaweed!! The pics that they show for advertisement are not accurate. Up and down the shore it was bad. We were told that it was because of the storm and the time of year. However, I know that there are machines that can scoop up some of it on the beach, it was never done the 9 days we were there. That was the bad... the good... The place is beautiful. The grounds are clean and immaculate. The service at the buffet is great too. Masks are mandatory, no big problem with that. The service is excellent, at the buffet, shout out to Eduardo, Oscar, and Santa. They were OUTSTANDING!! very friendly and were fun to talk to. As I said our rooms were on the adult side. The 2 adult pools are fantastic. The bartender comes out and takes your drink order and gives great service. At the main pool, there is lots of music, games and people. Good time. There was no service on the beach. At the restaurants, the steakhouse was the best. The Italian restaurant and the Japanese Restaurant was not very impressive. You must get there early to be seated. There was a waitlist. I would definitely go back there, maybe a different time of year to see if the beach would be better. Overall the place was FANTASTIC and we had an AMAZING, memorable anniversary.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Adult Only side was the best!!!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
anthonyConnecticut wrote a review Aug 2021
Newark, New Jersey123 contributions27 helpful votes
+1
We have spend a week in a family vacation, we had a great time, the staff is great, always smiling and greeting you, they are always attentive and respond to your request to their best of their abilities, The lobby decor is very out dated and old but The front office staff is very efficient and quick, Richard at the front office accommodated us, easy check in and check out, ground are very well kept, pools are clean, dinning options are abundant from the main dinning buffet to the specialty restaurants, Staff are enforcing the Covid Cleaning protocols but the the Hotel capacity is high, overall great value
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
jasmine j wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
First I would like to talk about the room furniture and decor, the decor was very out dated and old the art work on the wall had scratches and holes. The bedding was very uncomfortable and my husband had to keep fixing it throughout the night because the mattress kept coming of off the two box springs. My sons “bed” was just a mattress cover with sheets on top. Next on the list was the food it was not even average I would give it a 1 out of 5 not one dish wowed us. Sports bar was 24 hours but you need to pay to play any games. Pool area was okay had a very nice waiter but very disappointed that you can not have food near the pool. I would not recommend this RIU resort or any other . I am not one to complain. I feel like I waisted my vacation time . There was not enough kid friendly foods either.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Jasmine, Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro. We are saddened and sorry to hear of your disappointment, reading with regret that during your stay you had the impression of a lack of maintenance within our facilities. Please know, that at RIU Hotels & Resorts unlike many other well-known hotel chains, we design and build most of our hotels ourselves. For this reason, we have a special appreciation for our hotels throughout the world and are constantly working on their maintenance. Furthermore, since 2010 we have been involved in a major project of step-by-step modernization and reorientation of all our houses. We always strive to exceed our guest's expectations and of course we will share your impressions with the relevant department in order to make any necessary adjustments or take them into account in future renovations. Once more, thank you for sharing, your constructive feedback is very appreciated. It is our hope you will allow us an opportunity in the future to regain your trust. Sincerely, Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$171 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicLa Altagracia ProvincePunta Cana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
610
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro?
Nearby attractions include Bavaro Beach (1.8 miles), Escapology (4.2 miles), and Vivaldi Cigars (4.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro?
Conveniently located restaurants include Montserrat Manor Restaurant, Herman 311 Bar & Restaurant, and Chic Cabaret & Restaurant Punta Cana.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.