We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Playa De Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 23000 Dominican Republic
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Receive 500 free points
Expedia.com
$210
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/27/22
Riu.com
$210
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/29/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Prestigia.com
$147
View deal
Hotels.com$210
Travelocity$210
Lol.travel$216
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (7508)
Pool & Beach (1758)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 06/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Updated 06/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#78 of 194 hotels in Punta Cana
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.3
Value
4.1
The All Inclusive 24h Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro opens all year round and is located on the beautiful Playa Arena Gorda beach, in the holiday area of Punta Cana, on the Dominican Republic's eastern coast. Riu Palace is the most elegant category in the RIU hotel chain, with hotels that meet the highest standards in terms of luxury, excellence and sophistication, creating a unique experience. The location is ideal due to its proximity to El Cortecito (10 km), Higüey (40 km) and Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ) (25 km) and invites you to explore the area. The hotel has 610 comfortably furnished rooms with free WiFi and offers many amenities. Relax in the spa or get in shape at the gym. 4 outdoor pools, 2 of them with swim up bar and integrated whirlpool bath, 1 children’s pool and the ‘Splash Water World’ water park. For the youngest guests, children’s entertainment (4-12 years old). For adults, daytime and evening entertainment, discotheque and Riu Pool Parties. For lovers of gastronomy, live cooking stations and themed buffets at our main restaurant, as well as Japanese, Italian, Fusion, Steakhouse and Gourmet specialty restaurants; 8 bars located in different areas of the hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Game room
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Receive 500 free points
5200Reviews883Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,483
  • 1,507
  • 635
  • 280
  • 296
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Nomad794653 wrote a review Yesterday
2 contributions
Stay: July 31- Aug 7 2022 Type: Adults only Villas area TL,DR: It’s a decent place, but there are probably better options (eg. next door Iberostar Selection, or perhaps another area less affected by the sargassum influx). Check in/Reception: 1★ -They downgraded us without permission/explanation after we asked to be moved out of a strongly moldy smelling room. Once we realized this and questioned it, no compensation or suitable alternative was offered. -They hardly answer their phone (understaffed). -They were not helpful as problems arose. Our keys stopped working every afternoon for 6/7 days, forcing us to walk to reception from our area at the edge of the resort each time. We were given the same old tired advice to keep the keys away from cards and phones, despite explaining we did just that and the problem still persisted. Villa Area Rooms: 4★ -Beware ground floor rooms in the villas area. The two we tried were very wet and horribly moldy smelling. -Upper level room we stared in was fine in regards to mold. A bit of wear and tear is visible (eg. broken patio door handle, holes in the paintings on the wall, peeling mirror, broken coffee machine, outlets that didn't work), but the room was nice overall. -Note: to access upper level rooms in the villas you must be able to climb stairs. Beach: 3 ★ -Nice, white sand. -Lots of shade from palm trees, plenty of loungers available. There isn’t anything better quality to this beach and it’s facilities than the other Rius in the area despite being a Riu Palace location. Use the beige loungers if you can; they are better quality. -Cigarette butts and other human debris on the top half of the beach don’t seem to be cleaned up often. -At this time of year, the amount of sargassum was horrible. It will have an impact on your ability to enjoy the beach and ocean. This is a problem throughout much of the Caribbean at the moment, not just this hotel. It might be prudent to book in an area less affected. Pools: 4.5★ -Adults-only area pools were not too busy, bar service was good, drinks good, plenty of nice loungers and shade, ambient music, nice temperature water. Towels not always stocked. -Note: regular area pools are super busy and crowded. Food and Food Service: 3.5★ -Buffet is hit and miss, but you can usually find something to your liking. Food is usually lukewarm at best. Service staff at the buffet we encountered were not particularly friendly, sometimes outright irritable, with a few exceptions. -A la carte food is yummy and service friendly. Go early when they open if you want to avoid long waits since it is first come, first served. -Nice Cafe as well. Entertainment: 4.5★ -Fun activities at the beach and pool by friendly and energetic animation staff if you wish to participate. Timing/offerings not always as advertised, but not a huge deal. -Nightly entertainment available. -Shared facilities available such as water park, pool party venue .etc
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ground floor in villa areas = moldy.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ken S wrote a review Jun 2021
Pearland, Texas2 contributions10 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
We loved the resort and staff was awesome! Great food and servers! However, upon our departure to airport we had a really bad experience with your taxi service! I had contacted the service that brought us to the resort because we were told the resort didn’t have specific service to use! So the taxi service I called showed up at the time I requested! When we went out to get in the taxi which had a placard with my name and room number on it we we were confronted by another taxi service (Taxi Bavaro Punta Cana Siutratural #323) that said we had to use them! I told them no because I had called this service! They got very mad and began to start a Hispanic conversation with our service and grabbed my suitcase and put in his taxi! I said no because I had made this reservation for a group of 5 and I took my suitcase out of his taxi and he called the manager of the resort! I told the manager that I had ordered this other taxi! He said ok! When we tried to leave the other taxi service blocked our taxi with his taxi’s! Our taxi finally was able to pull away but the other taxi sped up ahead of our taxi and got in front and stopped and another one of his taxis came up behind us so we couldn’t leave! That taxi driver got out of his car and started beating on our taxi and yelling! I stepped out of the taxi and told him that I was calling the police if he didn’t get out of our way so we could head to airport! After a few minutes he finally got back in his taxi and headed back towards the resort! We were really upset and scared for our lives! So we will never come back to your resort again and will tells others our experience! I have couple of pictures I took which shows the Taxi company stopping us and our reservation placard if you would like to see them please let me know! We loved your resort and all the staff but this is something we will never forget! Thx
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
7 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Responded Jun 10, 2021
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and rating us so high! Even though we are delighted to read your words about our resort and your highlight towards our staff, we are truly sorry to read the incident on your last day and the impact it has on your stay. We are very concerned to read about the attitude from some of our staff members and especially from the taxi driver. Please accept our apology for any inconvenience caused. We have unfortunately not been able to detect this incident with the information provided and kindly recommend you to contact complaints@riu.com if you would like to place a formal complaint. We truly hope that you will come and stay with us again so that we can provide you with a better time! With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Palace Bávaro Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Alyaaahmed wrote a review Aug 4
2 contributions5 helpful votes
Bad experience our stuff was stolen we was mistreated with very disrespectful from the stuff we fill claim to riu company my son walk with no clothes after they steal his stuff and Mannger was no help at all No one speak English to communicate with and it’s terrible experience people should stay away from this resort Food never labels and a lot of pork products which we don’t eat Beach full of sea weeds and they never clean I wast my money and ruin my vacation coming here
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Alyaaahmed, Thank you for staying at our hotel and for sharing your concerns Our goal is to provide comfort to all our guests, so we are very sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay at our property. We aim to provide sincere hospitality and therefore we regret that you had the impression that we let you down. We assure you that the encountered issues are not the lasting impression of our standard of hospitality that our guests normally leave with. Your opinion is very important for us, but your review is anonymous so we are not able to track your case. For this reason, we kindly invite you to raise a formal and detailed complaint through your travel agency, or in case of direct booking through our After Travel Complaints Department via complaints@riu.com. It is our hope that you will consider staying with us again as we would like to have an opportunity to improve your experience on your next stay. Very Respectfully, Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro Online Reputation Manager
Read more
enriqueg786 wrote a review Jul 2022
Miami, Florida2 contributions
This our second time at this resort. We love it, the staff is awesome, they absolutely know how to take care of people. Special th aka to one the managers Enrique Rosario, he has gone above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Brandon R wrote a review Jul 2022
South Orange, New Jersey2 contributions
10/10 stay here. If you are an adult stay in the villas !. when you go eat at the buffet ask for estephanie, she is the best! I stayed here for a full week and the experience was great, the food was really good and there was a bunch of things to do. I also recommend staying out late an ls going to the disco pacha, it was really fun! the dates i stayed were june 21-28, 2022
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: bring sunscreen and bug spray ! also drink blue kamakazies !
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Responded 3 days ago
Dear brandonrob1nson, We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are glad to know that we lived up to your expectations. We hope that soon you will choose to spend a few days with us and live a new unforgettable experience. Best wishes, Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Arik wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Most of the staff is attentive and helpful and probably the best part of the experience. The food is just okay... not great, when the hotel is at capacity, prepare to be incredibly uncomfortable because it feels like the hotel can't handle operating at full capacity. The front desk is staff is not very helpful, even with simple things like a late check out because of a late departing flight. They make you wait until same day of check out to ask, only to tell you they can't help. Curiously the excuse given is the capacity but the late outbound flight is the same inbound flight that is bringing guests to this hotel. So how could it be at capacity? The beach is always covered in seaweed so there go your picturesque views. Save yourself the trouble of feeling like cattle and go somewhere else. 100% not worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear arikjames, We are very sorry to read about the negative impression you had on your recent stay. This does not reflect the standard of service. For full accurate response please leave full name, in order to be able to contrast what you state. Best regards, Hotel Riu Palace Bávaro Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Laura D wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
The Rui resort as a whole is like a 18/30s holiday! The beach was a massive disappointment, seaweed was so thick to wade through in the sea, the hotel did not clear it off the beach often enough. Restaurants we were told not too book but when you turned up they were already booked up, complained to the hotel management about this issue and it continued to happen, bath did not fill up, this was not resolved, where people get married is disgusting. DO NOT GET MARRIED HERE! I will upload a video and pictures. Pool was full all the time, sun bed reserved by staff member around the pool. Buffet too busy at all times had to wait to be seated, always booked RUI hotels, after this experience we will never book one again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear lauradO3004SC, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. As it is one of our priorities to ensure that we give an outstanding service and provide an enjoyable experience to all of our guests, we are truly sorry we did not live up to the standards you expected. We will share your comments for the consideration of the appropriate department as we really hope that perhaps you will give us another chance to host you soon again. We wish you all the best, Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Evan O wrote a review Jul 2022
3 contributions
If you want to make the most of your trip, find the following staff members to make the most of your experience: Rafiel Baez (pool) Gelman (pool) Mr. Black In The House (Riu Fun/Fitness) Aibi (Riu Fun/Riu Fitness/Riuland) Alexis (Riu Fun/ Riu Fitness) Michael (Riu Fun/Riu Fitness) These people go above and beyond to make sure you have a good time. There are countless other staff members that I don’t know names of but they are so accommodating and amazing people.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Responded 1 week ago
Dear DaddyChefEMO, We are so pleased to read that your overall experience was positive. We really thank you for your lovely remarks about our beautiful staff, it is very much appreciated, since our team works very hard to make every guest’s stay memorable. See you soon! Warmest greetings! Hotel Riu Palace Bávaro Online Reputation Manager
Read more
MVPWeber wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Our visit consisted of a family of 12. It was 9 days of great times! My only complaint would be the over abundance of seaweed, which you must walk through and wade with in the water. The staff at the hotel, ice cream bar (which my granddaughter thoroughly enjoyed), pool and most of all the buffet restaurant were tremendous. We celebrated my husband’s 65th birthday, a baby gender reveal, Father’s Day, my daughter’s wedding, my son’s 36th birthday and a 40th wedding anniversary. The evening dance for children was very, very nice! The staff at the restaurant made each celebration extra special. JULIO IS THE ABSOLUTE BEST! He had my coffee with warm milk ready for me each morning and made my granddaughter feel extra special as she received a rose (made from a paper napkin) at many meals. In her own words when we departed, “I’m going to miss this place and all that it has to offer.” Hola, Julio!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Responded 1 week ago
Dear MVPWeber, It is wonderful to learn that your family and you enjoyed your stay! We wish to thank you for your kind words about our beautiful staff. It is always a privilege to be able to be part of such special occasions. We would love to thank you for that. We are already waiting to have back soon. Loving wishes! Hotel Riu Palace Bávaro Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Jazlyn29 wrote a review Jul 2022
Kissimmee, Florida1 contribution
Overall had a great time, food was great, staff was amazing and attentive always and very friendly. Resort was beautiful, and the atmosphere was fun. The Pool party was great, definitely recommend. Loved the vacation!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Jazlyn, We are very grateful to you for choosing our resort. Thank you so much for your great review! It is very much appreciated. We are so happy to learn you enjoyed your holiday. Wishing to host you again very soon. Loving greetings! Hotel RIU Palace Bávaro Online Reputation Management
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$179 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicLa Altagracia ProvincePunta Cana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
610
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro?
Nearby attractions include Bavaro Beach (1.8 miles), Escapology (4.2 miles), and Vivaldi Cigars (4.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro?
Conveniently located restaurants include Montserrat Manor Restaurant, Chic Cabaret & Restaurant Punta Cana, and Herman 311 Bar & Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.