We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 23000 Dominican Republic
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotel direct offer!Receive 500 free points
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Riu.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (4597)
Pool & Beach (1237)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 06/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Riu Naiboa
Updated 06/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#96 of 160 hotels in Punta Cana
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The All Inclusive 24h Hotel Riu Naiboa opens all year round and is located in the holiday area of Punta Cana on the Dominican Republic's eastern coast. Only the Riu Palace Bavaro stands between this hotel and the beautiful Playa Arena Gorda beach which stretches for 26 km. The RIU Classic Hotels offer comfortable rooms and excellent facilities with great leisure and relaxation facilities, as well as international gastronomy. Enjoy a relaxing holiday - whether alone, with family, partner or friends! The location is ideal because of its proximity to El Cortecito (10 km), Higüey (40 km) and Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ) (25 km) and invites you to explore the area. The hotel has 362 comfortably furnished rooms with free WiFi and offers many amenities. Relax in the spa or get in shape at the gym. 1 outdoor pool with children’s section. For the youngest guests, children's entertainment (4-12 yrs). For adults, daytime and evening entertainment, discotheque and the famous Riu Pool Party. For lovers of gastronomy, live cooking stations at our main buffet and a themed restaurant; 2 bars and a beach club.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Boating
Canoeing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Diving
Snorkeling
Water park
Water sport equipment rentals
Windsurfing
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Waterslide
Nightclub / DJ
Kids club
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Car hire
Taxi service
Massage
Salon
Currency exchange
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Receive 500 free points
4065Reviews527Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,013
  • 1,317
  • 833
  • 431
  • 471
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Maggie wrote a review Jul 28
Europe2 contributions
We spent 10 days in this hotel and unfortunately we have to agree with negative opinions - the hotel deviates from European standards. First of all, in the room and in the bathroom it smells terribly of damp. The towels sometimes are dirty despite being replaced daily. I have no objection to the cleaning service, it is probably not their fault. The towels at the pool are the worst. We get a dirty towel with holes every time. Maybe it is worth investing in new ones? I wish I had taken more towels from home. The next thing that disappointed us the most was the food that was very, very monotonous. The fish served are tasteless and often half raw. Forget about seefood. Very poor quality of meat. The pastas were served with a sauce that resembles cream without any additives. Few times the fruit juice was unfresh. The „pizza” was definitely frozen before serving, the taste resembled the cheapest pizza from the supermarket. Each meal ended with an indigestion problem. Perhaps it is because of our European microflora… but it is not our first time abroad. The only advantage is good fruit (great papayas!). The surroundings of the hotel is beautiful - a lot o palms and trails to walk. Nice pool, cleaned daily. Unfortunately, on the weekend the hotel occupancy is definitely too big and as a result it is impossible to move freely in the swimming pool and in restaurant (where are the COVID restrictions !!?). If you want to eat something you have to be really fast because the food disappears in the blink of an eye. The waiters in the restaurant are rude. They don't bring coffee and wine unless you're American or Russian. If you are looking for peace and complete rest, we suggest choosing a different place, because the events last until morning. The pool party goes on until 4am (despite the fact that the pool is open until 6pm). Some hotel guests do not respect any regulations and it is impossible to sleep at night. This is a big problem for families spending their holidays with young children. Another issue (probably the most important) that I want to mention is security. Forget the walk outside the RIU hotels grounds, especially if you are a woman. Even inside the Naiboa hotel, I was accosted by a man next to the women's toilet ... This is unacceptable. I’m sure that this man wasn’t hotel guest. Unfortunately, I didn't feel very safe during this vacation and after this incident I wanted go home. At the end, I want to point out that I do not intend to offend anyone. I hope my feedback will help hotel managers improve hotel services. Dominican Republic is a great place with a lot of potential. The beaches in Punta Cana are beautiful and worth coming here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Eryk wrote a review Jul 26
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We were in Riu Naimboa ni July 2021 for 10 days with TUI. Hotel was cleaned everyday but we have heard everything from the hall in the room, so sleeping was a challange. The food was almost everyday the same and they do not have anything for diabetic in menu, which is not acceptable in such hotel. The pool in front of hotel was not really clean, there was a dast and human hair everywhere which was disgusting. But they also have nice beach chairs and place where you can sit. Beach was very nice but algae were everywhere and it was not cleaned very often as TUI was saying. We had a walk by the shore and other hotels had beautiful and clean water, but RIU did not. The best option you can do in here is to book as many trips as you can, because they are amazing. But please do not do it with TUI, as contact with them is terrible. you can book the trips in the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Alejandro S wrote a review Jul 1
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Hotel feels old, bathrooms do not look /feel clean…beds for 2 really small.. service at front desk very poor. room phone does not work to request any service, noise all night long in the hallways you can’ sleep.m and no one to ask for help, Fire alarm in the room went off and the answer on the front desk is i had to wait until maintenance shift starts. After being here 4 days with my kids i would not recommend anyone to stay here. The all inclusive is very poor.. drinks are bad quality, same burgers and hotdogs everyday for snacks. Look for another Hotel
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Naiboa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Alejandro, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. Your safety and that of our other guests is of great importance to us. Therefore, smoke detectors are installed throughout the hotel as well as in the guestrooms. We deeply apologize for the fact that you were disturbed by the sound of the fire alarm. We take every fire activation incredibly seriously. We aim to provide a truly unique experience, and it is apparent in this case, we fell short. Please accept our apologies that we were not able to exceed your expectations. Be assured, your experience is not reflective of the quality service and accommodations we wish to provide. Please know that your feedback is very important to us and we will take your comments under consideration in case our standards have not been fulfilled at some Although it is apparent that your recent stay with us is not on of your favorites, please consider giving us a chance in the future so we can provide you with the experience you should always expect from us. We truly appreciate your patience. Sincerely, Hotel Riu Naiboa Online Reputation Manager
Read more
msjosiclement wrote a review Jun 2021
Albany, New York103 contributions8 helpful votes
Highly recommend this resort - keep in mind the price compared to the other RIU's - wonderful stay at an affordable price. One drawback was lack of alcohol in the rooms - due to Covid, a few things were not open but probably will be fully up & running soon.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Naiboa
Responded Jun 3, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing us and for such a rave review! It is wonderful to hear that you had a great experience at our Hotel Riu Naiboa and we will be sure our staff knows of your kind words for them which are encouraging and rewarding for all of us. We hope you will return to make more memories in the near future. With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Naiboa Online Reputation Manager
Read more
chagebak wrote a review May 2021
Avarua, Cook Islands144 contributions60 helpful votes
+1
I've visited a few all-inclusives, and was pleasantly surprised by Riu Naiboa. It's the least expensive resort in the Riu resort complex at Punta Cana, so I wasn't really expecting the service, dining and comfort I received. Upon arrival, the front desk explained the open times for the bars and restaurants, and CV-testing for my return flight. I immediately forgot all the information about open times, of course, but found a placard in the lobby that had the info I needed. Room perfectly reasonable, with a comfy bed, nice view from the balcony and good water pressure and temperature in the shower. Nice selection and quality of food in the main dining area - don't expect steak and lobster at the price you're paying, but the variety and quality of the offerings was quite good. I was very happy to see Japanese on a couple of visits to the dining area. Breakfast particularly good - eggs prepared in a variety of ways, breakfast meats, waffles and pancakes, fresh doughnuts and fruit, etc. Service in the dining area was amazing - my coffee was always quickly refilled, and the staff were very pleasant and friendly. Maid service prompt, efficient and thorough. Beautiful grounds, too. It's not big, but you'll find more than a dozen varieties of palms and lovely walkways beyond the pool area. Entertainment quite good for an all-inclusive. I particularly enjoyed the kids' program - those who have visited Punta Cana before will recognize some of the tunes. Good service and atmosphere at Buda's Bar overlooking the pool - one of the staff can be a little surly, but she may have been having a bad day. I try not to let little things bother me. Nice walk to the beach beyond the pool, past adorable shops. The shop owners can be a bit aggressive and decidedly "haggly". Beach quite lovely, with less detritus early than many beaches along that coast. Thatch-covered lounge chairs around the pool are a nice touch for those of us with sensitive skin. A bit of advice: you've probably saved a lot by choosing this resort, so tip. It does make a difference. The staff notices - they knew who I was and treated me particularly well. I'll be honest - I couldn't have gone to the nearest beach in my home country at this price, particularly with food expenses. This was an extraordinarily relaxing stay at an amazing price.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$108 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
riu naiboa punta cana
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicLa Altagracia ProvincePunta Cana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
362
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Riu Naiboa
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Riu Naiboa?
Nearby attractions include Arena Gorda Beach (0.7 miles), Splash Water Park (0.1 miles), and Riu Palace Macao Casino (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Riu Naiboa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Riu Naiboa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Riu Naiboa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Riu Naiboa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Riu Naiboa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kukua Beach Club & Restaurant, Restaurant Maiko, and Restaurant Garden Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Riu Naiboa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and fitness classes during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Riu Naiboa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Italian.