We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Catalonia Punta Cana Golf & Casino Resort

Save
Share
Punta Cana 23000 Dominican Republic
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
eDreams
Booking.com
$112
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/18/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Destinia.com
$86
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/16/21
Priceline$112
Agoda.com$112
Orbitz.com$143
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (16201)
360
Panoramas (20)
Pool & Beach (3661)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#76 of 161 hotels in Punta Cana
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Platinum level
A magnificent hotel resort with exclusive, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guests to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. It is located in Playa Cabeza de Toro (Punta Cana), one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic. The complex is situated 20 km from the International Airport of Punta Cana and 47 km from Higuey.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Casino and Gambling
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Golf course
Tennis court
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Nightclub / DJ
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Safe
VIP room facilities
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
13663Reviews1936Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 6,083
  • 4,374
  • 1,812
  • 753
  • 642
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jelena D wrote a review Sep 21
8 contributions1 helpful vote
Oh my good where to start about this horrible experience.When we arrived we waited 2 hours for check in, on the reception are always working 3 guys and only one is really working. The room was horrible, sink was broken and the water was all around toilet, room was with old furniture, and not cleaned .They changed our room only because we told them we want our money back. All the staff are totally disrespectful,and they dont want to speak English. In lunch and dinner we waited for water about 20 minutes EVERY DAY. If you don't speak Spanish you can't get drinks. So poor. IF YOU ARE SMOKER , DONT EVEN LOOK THIS HOTEL. There isn't any sign that smoking is forbidden but there aren't any ashtrays. There is only 16 smoking seats in only smoking area where you can drink, have a seat and smoke. 16 SMOKING SEATS IN HOTEL WITH 700 ROOMS. It is ok if they announce that they are non smoking hotel, but they didn't. So smokers be prepared to stand , hold your drink in one hand and smoke like that on your vacation. Food every day the same , plus the taste of food was terrible. Only good was Italian restaurant but be prepared to wait even there when you reserve your seat. Now the pool and the beach. I've been there for 12 days and I've only saw them once cleaning the pool. It was dirty in the pool and around the pool. Beach is beautiful but if you like to swim its impossible. You will not find the deep water. You can walk kilometers and it is still shallow . The sea grass was everywhere on the beach and in the water. And it stinks so badly. So guys this is my honest review. I've been in Egyptian resorts and compared to them I would give this resort -10 out of 10. Please inform well if you want to go to Punta Cana.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Social Media Catalonia Hotels and Resorts, Sales at Catalonia Punta Cana Golf & Casino Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Jelena, ⁠ We would like to thank you very much for the time you took to share your feedback. Please receive our apologies for the mishaps you encountered. Our resort has always characterized for delivering excellent customer service and we can assure you it is not our standard. Allow us, please, to inform you that we provide english lessons to our team. Moreover, our team in direct contact with our guests speaks English. We will review in detail your remarks about our service with our team and work to prevent similar reports from our future guests. In your comment you points out important areas of opportunity and in which we must work immediately, we share that your contribution have just been transmitted with the leaders of each team, so that the reported situations are corrected. Once again, thank you for choosing our hotel, we hope to have another chance to have you here and make it up for you, with the flawless experience that you were hoping for. ⁠ Sincerely, Social Media Catalonia Punta Cana
Read more
Jessica L wrote a review Sep 11
1 contribution1 helpful vote
So we came from Toronto. This resort is mediocre at best. We usually pay about $1500 for a week of all inclusive. For this we paid $950 and that was a Privilege room. I would not pay a dime more. You get what you pay for. This resort is worth the $950-1000 mark. DO NOT PAY MORE or you will be extremely disappointed. I will also note- We tip for service everywhere. Drinks and food service. I was appalled that I didn’t see hardly any other guests tipping all week. If someone is providing service they deserve a tip. Note for management : it is VERY appreciated that masks are enforced in buffets and when getting bar service. Continue to encourage your staff to deny service to guests who aren’t masked. It’s a little thing and it really matters to keep us all safe. Food: meh. Slim pickings. Edible. But not great. The a la Cartes are great. Eat at them as much as possible !!!! Go to the restaurant by the beach and not the main buffet whenever possible for breakfast and lunch. Neida at the beach side restaurant is amazing. Ensuing we have drinks promptly. The odd time she wasn’t there we couldn’t even get a coffee. We finished our breakfast before we could get service and all waiters were standing around ignoring everyone. Pizza bar is amazing. And great service. Love that he wouldn’t serve guests without a mask. But Neida at beach restaurant was amazing. Bars: All bars had fast and great service. Raidon at the pool bar is spectacular !!!! Rooms- we upgraded to privilege and was not disappointed. Clean. Nice. No complaints. Grounds- well kept generally. Except the pool loungers and area was left disgusting daily. They have signs saying “cleaned and disinfected daily”. They aren’t. They were maybe cleaned twice this week. In fact. There was a dirty diaper by the pool chairs for over 48 hours. Gross. Beach is lovely. No complaints. Front desk- check in and check out as well as getting info is PAINFUL. it is a slow and terrible process. And it takes an hour to book your a la carte restaurants (an hour with like 3 people in front of you. It’s insane) This was the worst. I’ve been to dozens of hotels and resorts and literally never seen anything so slow and disorganized. Covid testing- pay attention if your Canadian. The resort does a PCR test for you 3 days before your flight. If your flight is Saturday. You get your test taken on Wednesday. It is $80. And you go to the disco. Bring a copy of your passport. It takes 5-10 min. Two days later go to the front desk and get your results. They give you the print out from the medical centre and your all set !!!! Tests taken at hotel Wednesday. Results by Friday at noon. Easy. Quick. Stress free. Great job with the covid test processes !!!! Generally a good week. Keeping in mind you get what you pay for. The only TRULY disappointing and upsetting thing happened on our last day, we went to the main buffet for lunch instead of beach restaurant (because we had to pick up COVID test results from the front desk.) We sat down and a nice lady brought us some beers. Great. Then as we ate a waiter named Pedro came over. Told us he was our server now and for service we would have to tip him $5. We laughed, thought he was joking. He never actually served us. We already had a drink and we got our own food. When we left. We gave him $2 (just to be nice) and said thanks. He counted it in front of us and said to my husband “what?! Only $2?!” We were appalled. If I was just starting my week I would not go back to the buffet because of him….we’ve been to maybe a dozen all inclusives and I have NEVER experienced that. Normally staff are so appreciative of the tips. I think it stung the most because we had been like the only people here tipping everyone all week. So how dare he say that. Anyways. Him doing that right there is why we won’t come back. So go to the Catalonia. But don’t pay more than $1000. It’s not worth more. Ps. The wifi is excellent !!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Shaf Shah wrote a review Sep 9
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Stanley from the pool bar by the pizza stop is an amazing person and treated us like family . He was so attentive to us. He made sure we had everything we needed always provided as drinks was very caring nice hospitable and he definitely made our stay at this resort over the top. Im glad Stanley is an employee of this spot. People like him always make trips much much better. we def had an amazing experience with him. In my opinion always get drinks by this bar next to the pizza because he will def take care of you. He seems like he loves his job. Thank you STANLEY, we appreciate you you - LA FAMILIA!!!!!!! Also hector was very nice as well.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Social Media Catalonia Hotels and Resorts, Sales at Catalonia Punta Cana Golf & Casino Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for choosing us. We feel much honored that you took some of your valuable time in sharing with us your very kind comments and especially we are very pleased that the experience on your most recent visit was simply amazing. We remain at your service and look forward to your next visit ! Best regards, Social Media Catalonia Punta Cana
Read more
TravelGuy wrote a review Sep 8
Italy18 contributions9 helpful votes
I'm pretty much ripping off the review I wrote on Booking. THE GOOD STUFF THE ROOM We had the privileged room, for two. The room is generally nice. It’s spacious, it has an unnecessarily big bed, reasonable space for luggages and provides decent quality amenities (sleepers and robe) but no pijamas. The bathroom was the real highlight and the thing I cared about the most. It’s very spacious like the pictures suggest. The amenities included shower cup, bath gel, shampoo and conditioner, as well as soap. The cleaning lady has been very generous with the refills. The bathroom felt clean. THE POOL The pool is very big and has two bars and a restaurant. Due to covid, they are currently not serving cocktails from the bar facing the inside of the pool. THE BEACH The beach is cleaned and set up every morning. It doesn’t attract many people so there’s always space, especially in the privileged zone. It has two bars (one exclusive to the priviledged zone), one serving crepes as well. The sea only has small sections of it actually enjoyables, you’ll need to walk a long distance to get away from algaes and get to the small natural pools it contains, but it’s definitely worth it. In the privileged area you can order drinks from the staff directly and they’ll bring it to you. THE STAFF The staff has been kind of a mixed bag. We’ve met some very friendly and helpful staff members such as the cleaning ladies, the woman that I’m assuming is at the head of the buffet service (Kenia), and Yohanan at the beach. THE BUFFET The buffet is reasonable. It could have been better but it’s not terrible either. Perfectly average. WIFI The wifi in the room works really well. The wifi in the rest of the resort is present but not really consistent. It’s ok for messaging but not ideal for constant use, so forget about working with internet on the beach or having important calls. Given the nature of the place, the wifi coverage is perfectly acceptable. THE BAD THE STAFF As stated above, not all the staff members were consistently nice. The most egregious incident happened after I sent back a GinTonic I didn’t like (more on that later) to which the waitress, raising an eyebrow, replied “maybe you never had a gintonic before” with a patronizing attitude, which not only is stupidly wrong, but also kinda rude to do. THE DRINKS The alcohol served in this resort is, simply put, terrible. The Gin in particular is undrinkable. It has no smell and tastes kinda like anice, the first time I ordered it I legit thought it wasn’t even Gin. This resulted in me drinking WAY less than I would’ve done in normal circumstances, which I could even consider a good thing if it wasn't for the fact that I paid for it. White wine was also incredibly weird, I tried it once and never again. The bottle of “champagne” provided at the beginning of the vacation had virtually no gas inside (making it kinda hard to open) and had a really unusual and weird 2.5% alcohol content that are also indication of something being very off. THE POOL Despite being big, the pool is basically unserviceable because of how many people are inside. They all eat and drink inside the pool and the pool itself don’t have enough filters (and the ones that are there do not have any meaningful or observable suction power to drag the nastiness inside), resulting in a very dirty pool in which I didn’t even dared submerging my head. A real pity. THE RESTAURANTS On top of the buffet, there are four restaurants in which guests can go. We tried the Japanese, Caribic and American Stakehouse restaurant, and we’ve been pretty much disappointed by all of them. The quality is kinda low, specifically in the sushi entry served at the japanese. I love sushi so I ate it anyway and enjoyed it, but it’s probably the shadiest and worst sushi I’ve ever had in my life. THE ROOM The head of the bed was dirty. REAL DIRTY. Probably never been cleaned. I'll put a picture. Once I noticed I couldn't bear the idea of having my head so close to it. THE WORST MISTAKE I would have still given this place a 4/5 factoring in the price, however, during the last day, they served dessert indicating them as gluten free, while they were not. The sign was just missplaced. We luckily caught up on the mistake early on, but we already took a big bite, which for a celiac person resulted in a horror night and morning, we basically wasted our entire last day because of this incident. I can only imagine what would have happened if we just didn't questioned the sign at all and ate everything. The most egregious part of it is that the staff member quickly pointed out that "we ate it so it was our fault". This was an unprofessional behavior that kinda negates everything good we experienced in the resort.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
luz h wrote a review Sep 8
Bronx, New York228 contributions18 helpful votes
Stayed at this hotel 8/28-9/2/21, I was part of a group but my review is going to be mostly about my personal experience as I had a separate reservation, hence a separate room. Check in: Check in was very slow, I was on line for 45 minutes with 3 parties ahead of me, once I got to the front desk check in took about 15-20 minutes. Front desk staff was very helpful and informative, he placed me in a room close to the rest of the group that came in 5 days earlier, he also set up my Covid test appointment at that time. I was then directed to the bellboy and he took me to my room in a cart, took my luggage up to the room and checked that my keys were working properly. Room: room was a decent size albeit outdated it was clean, double beds, small sitting area with a smalll love seat, chair and table, small dresser /desk with a chair, a coffee maker with the fixings for tea and coffee, small tv, small fridge (which was refilled daily with soda, 2 small presidente beer cans and water. Bathroom had a whirlpool tub and shower stall and a sink with plenty of counter space, toiletries ( shampoo, conditioner and bath gel) replaced daily if needed. It had a good sized closet, a safe within the closet and 2 umbrellas. Rooms had a balcony with a Hammock ( my Hammock was missing) and the water and AC were working perfectly, the only issue I had was that the AC couldn't be adjusted but there was a blanket provided. Pool: Big pool with plenty of lounge chairs but limited shade, there was a bar near the pool ( no swim up) and also a restaurant and a pizza place for snccking. cups were constantly being picked up by staff. Bar staff was friendly and efficient, My one complaint is that there are no lifeguards at the pool, this is a huge safety hazard and should be addressed asap. Entertainment: Entertainment team was GREAT!! they were friendly and engaging but never forced you to participate. whether it was by the pool, beach or theater they were always out there to make sure we had a good time, shout out to the whole team, you guys are awesome. Nightly shows at the outdoor theater, except on Weds, they have a Beach party that was so much fun. After the show there would be entertainment at the back of the theater for about another hour and the bar stayed open until 12:00. Beach: Spacious, plenty of palapas, a bar (crepes also serve here), volleyball net and non motorized water equipment. The one complaint I have is that there is only one life guard for the whole beach and when that lifeguard is off no one else watches the beach, it's concerning and that should be addressed. Food and Drinks: I liked most of the food, there were some in my party that didn't but I didn't have an issue finding variety, there was a mix of American and Dominican food at the Buffet and I was happy with the selection, their only downfall is the desserts. They had 4 a la carte, I tried 3 of them and enjoyed all 3 ( Steakhouse, Hibachi and Italian). They had several bars I usually got drinks from the lobby bar and the bar next to the Hibachi restaurant, AI are notoriously known for having poor options as far as cocktails but those two bars had solid drinks (check out their menu) and also made great cappuccinos. The pool and Beach Bar drinks were ok. Staff: Most staff was friendly, respectful and went out of their way to help you, I did have 2 instances at the buffet where no one came over to my table after I was seated to offer water or coffee, I flagged someone down and then they came over but that was after waiting about 15 minutes to see if anyone took the initiative. Housekeeping was great, cleaned up daily, replaced my towels and toiletries, no issues with missing items. Landscaping was beautiful and the resort was clean and I felt safe. Keep in mind locals come during the weekend and even thought most are nice, you do have a few that either forgot their home training or didn't get any and can be rude to fellow guests and staff, I am Dominican and was appalled by their behavior, had a couple of issues with 2 locals and nipped that real quick. staff does try to curve any misbehavior so I give them credit for that. One of my fellow travelers had an issue which was taken care of once she made a complaint and they were apologetic and made sure that we were well taken care of after the incident. Overall would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Social Media Catalonia Hotels and Resorts, Sales at Catalonia Punta Cana Golf & Casino Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Luz, We would like to extend our appreciation for the valuable time you invested in sharing your comments and thoughts with us. However, we are deeply sorry to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations. We strive to provide our guests with a memorable experience and high quality service and in this regard we are sorry if this was not the impression you received. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your trip and we want to assure you that we have already shared your comments with the departments involved, who will proceed to implement all necessary corrective measures. We reiterate our apologies and we really hope that you will visit us again, so that we can change your impression of our resort and provide you with the unforgettable vacation you deserve. A cordial greeting. Social Media Catalonia Punta Cana
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$133 - $502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
catalonia bavaro beach hotel, catalonia punta cana, catalonia bavaro beach golf & casino resort, catalonia bavaro punta cana, punta cana catalonia bavaro, catalonia bavaro beach resort, catalonia bavaro resort punta cana, catalonia hotel punta cana, catalonia resort punta cana, catalonia bavaro hotel, catalonia bavaro beach golf and casino resort all inclusive, catalonia beach resort
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicLa Altagracia ProvincePunta Cana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
711
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Catalonia Punta Cana Golf & Casino Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Catalonia Punta Cana Golf & Casino Resort?
Nearby attractions include Escape Room Punta Cana (3.5 miles), Coco Bongo Punta Cana (3.1 miles), and Don Lucas Cigars (3.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Catalonia Punta Cana Golf & Casino Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Catalonia Punta Cana Golf & Casino Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Catalonia Punta Cana Golf & Casino Resort?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Catalonia Punta Cana Golf & Casino Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Catalonia Punta Cana Golf & Casino Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Noah Restaurant & Lounge, Pearl Beach Club & Restaurante, and Jellyfish Beach Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Catalonia Punta Cana Golf & Casino Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Catalonia Punta Cana Golf & Casino Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Catalonia Punta Cana Golf & Casino Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Catalonia Punta Cana Golf & Casino Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Catalonia Punta Cana Golf & Casino Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Catalonia Punta Cana Golf & Casino Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.