We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bahia Principe Luxury Esmeralda

Save
Share
Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana 23000 Dominican Republic
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$179
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/06/21
eDreams
Traveluro
$120
View deal
Booking.com$179
Hotels.com$179
Priceline$179
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (9402)
360
Panoramas (14)
Pool & Beach (2447)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 06/25/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Bahia Principe Luxury Esmeralda
Updated 06/25/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#78 of 161 hotels in Punta Cana
Facilities and services 2 Pools Sun terrace 4 Jacuzzis Sun umbrellas and loungers Beach and pool towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, 1 padel tennis court (additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (free of charge) Entertainment amphitheatre 2 buffet restaurants 3 speciality restaurants 3 Bars 1 Snack- bar Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms, 570 Deluxe Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathrobe and slippers VIP amenities Radio-alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Ironing set Pillow menu Umbrella 24 hour room service Minibar WiFi (free of charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request
Read more

Location

Full view
43Car recommended
Grade: 43 out of 100
0Restaurantswithin 0 miles
0Attractionswithin 0 miles
Contact
Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana 23000 Dominican Republic
Getting there
Punta Cana Airport12 miSee all flights
La Romana Airport36 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
8450Reviews1625Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 5,301
  • 1,807
  • 784
  • 295
  • 263
Traveler safety
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Anika R wrote a review Sep 16
1 contribution
Overall, this is a nice resort. The rooms are a nice size, they have two huge pools, and the grounds are well maintained. The food is not extraordinary but not terrible, and the a la carte was amazing. Front desk staff are very helpful and friendly, they have golf carts that take you to the other Bahia Principe resorts nearby, and they’ve taken appropriate COVID measures without making you feel oppressed. The entertainment team was great. There weren’t poolside activities every day but almost. The shows in the evening were good too. They have a company who sells excursions to guests by the pool and on the beach. They’re not too pushy and leave you alone if you say you’re not interested. We bought an excursion to Catalina island from them and it was amazing. They negotiated price with us and delivered with a truly wonderful day trip. This was my husband and I’s first time in Punta Cana and my second time at a Bahia Principe resort. While the resort itself is great, we will never return for one main reason. We quickly realized that the service staff is quite racist if they think you’re Haitian. In the dining room, we were often ignored, not brought water or asked our drink orders even when we were sometimes seated right in front of the service station. On more than one occasion a supervisor working the floor had to get someone to serve us. Cleaning and maintenance staff would not respond when we would pass them and say hello (in Spanish or English). Many times at the pool bar my husband was ignored, treated rudely, and on one occasion the bartender served white people who arrived after him first. The woman in charge of cleaning our room was also not very nice. She cleaned well until the second day when my husband forgot something in the room and went back while she happened to be there and she saw who was staying in the room. It went downhill from there. Took our tips and never said thank you so we stopped tipping her. She didn’t come clean one day, never gave us soap, and would often leave garbage in the room despite having supposedly cleaned. This put a huge damper on our vacation because we’ve never experienced this anywhere we’ve travelled. No one wants to pay money to be treated poorly. The phone and the safe in our room were not working so we called to report it. It was fixed the same day and we were promised a bottle of champagne for the inconvenience by Wendy the customer experience rep. We never received it. We ran into him by the pool two days later and reminded him he said he would take care of it right away and nothing ever happened. The beach is unfortunately overrun with algae and jt smells quite awful. A couple of people we talked to said they got a rash after swimming in the ocean so we stuck to the pool. Overall the experience we had was very disappointing and could have ruined our trip had we not decided to make the best of it.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Make all your dinner reservations for a la carte restaurants on your first day.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otro at Bahia Principe Luxury Esmeralda
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest, We are really sorry for not being able to fulfill your expectations with our services during your second visit all-inclusive Bahia Principe. Concerning the lack of service you mentioned, please allow us to inform you that your point of view has quite surprised us, since it is not normal that we receive those kinds of remarks from our clients, but on the contrary, we usually receive excellent feedback about their friendliness and attentiveness that characterize the Dominican people. Because your opinion is one of our top priorities and we do not want you to have a mistaken perception from us, we really hope to consider coming back to this Caribbean paradise in the Dominican Republic and enjoy all our facilities and services. Kind regards, Yubi Sandoval Online Reputation Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Read more
Alex L wrote a review Sep 4
Bayonne, New Jersey1 contribution
Really bad service. We had to wait a long time just to get water and the buffet nothing special this resort supposed to be a 5 star but to me maybe a 2 star. And the wifi terrible could not get it on my tablet. So far a bad experience also the beach is terrible.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otro at Bahia Principe Luxury Esmeralda
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, We cannot tell you how sorry we are for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your recent stay with us. Please rest assured that your observations have been taken in the highest consideration and shared with the General Management of our Resort in order to analyze the points you mentioned. It is our sincere hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future in any of our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, and demonstrate that our commitment is towards our beloved guests as our main goal is to achieve their complete satisfaction. Looking forward to hearing from you before your next visit so that we can take care of all the details prior your arrival… Best regards, Yubi Sandoval Online Reputation Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Read more
Lorraine L wrote a review Sep 1
12 contributions1 helpful vote
I spent 7 days at this resort during August. I frequent Grand Bahia resorts and have a mixed reaction, 1. Upon my arrival. I stood in line to check in for about 25 minutes before a wonderful staff member offered me and my party a wonderful drink (Coco loco and something else). Why was I waiting you might ask? A large party of about 12 people were being checked in by 2 people. I guess my facial expression must of alerted someone behind the counter that I was NOT happy, but William came out from behind the counter and checked my family in personally. Thank you William. We were assigned to building 90 which was OK. Right by the pool ! So here are my positives and negatives: Positives *Shout outs to Mickey and Rossy. Mickey welcomed us and gave us information about the resort. My grandson was so impressed, he gave Mickey one of his Hotwheel cars (Mickey gave it back LOL) when we left. Rossy was always ready to serve up the drinks by the pool. She was outstanding! * The pools were great! They were clean and well maintained. *My grandchildren LOVED the night time entertainment! The housekeeping staff was superb. I forgot shower gel and we always had a generous supply for us each day, *I can't remember the chef's name, but the guy who made my omelet each morning was great, *I liked the fact that you could catch a tram to transverse this huge resort. Negative (where should I begin) *The beach was horrible . I visited Grand Bahia Akumel in Mexico 2 weeks before. They had a crew that cleaned and removed the huge amounts of Sargasso seaweed that washed up on the beach all day. I only saw huge piles of decaying seaweed on the resort's beach. There was no attempt to remove it. I'm a beach person and this just turned me off. I spent most of my time at the pools. *Food: The food was TERRIBLE. I've stayed at Bahia resorts; Jamaica and resorts on the Caribbean side of the island. We actually got up and left one of the themed restaurant (Dominican) and went to the buffet. The food was that bad. I was spoiled by the food in Mexica (same chain resort). *Many of the staff members did not speak basic English. Some of the workers were very short with us. One lady just pointed to a nonfunctioning Kiddie waterpark with a shrug, However, I discovered that English Language education costs $$$ for residents. I didn't know this. I just assumed that children were taught Spanish and English. I told my grandkids to learn as much Spanish as they could. Fortunately, many of the staff members were willing, A good thing! * This resort is huge! We got conflicting information about the parts of the resort we able to go to. My grands wanted to see the castle, but were told no. We went to a buffet for lunch at Punta Cana and were told no. Very confusing. In Mexica, we could visit anywhere. and the resort was large as well. *Lastly, the room; While the housekeeping staff did an outstanding job, I wish the resort would "wall up" that window between the room and the bathroom. We put pillows in to cover up the broken shade. I'm not sure if I would return to this resort. I have stayed at another Bahia resort in Samana and I loved it. Just do your research.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Do your research
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otro at Bahia Principe Luxury Esmeralda
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, We thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with others on TripAdvisor which we will take in the highest consideration. It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance. We regret not having been able to achieve our main objective with you, which is our guests´ entire satisfaction. It’s our sincere hope to cater you once again and change your perception about us. Kindest regards, Yubi Sandoval Online Reputation Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Read more
Adam C wrote a review Aug 2021
Middlesex, New Jersey8 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
Stayed here with the family from august 14-21. Overall we had a good time. I must say first of all the young kids had a very good time at the water play area and they were there are a lot. The grounds and pools were very nice and well maintained. I must also thank Rafael in building 93 for going above and beyond to help us out with changing rooms. During the middle of the trip a family with a baby was put in the room next to us and the baby was crying the entire night and Rafael helped us the next day switch rooms. Much appreciated. There were a few minor issues which is the reason I’m giving the resort 4 stars and not 5. First, the beds, in my opinion, are not too comfortable and the pillows are very small. Most people are used to standard queen sized pillows. These were smaller. Second, I must say the buffet food and the a la cart restaurants had very good food for the most part; however, I did get a stomach bug the day after we ate at the Japanese restaurant for dinner. I believe it was bacterial not viral because I had no fever or nausea just diarrhea that lasted a few days. I believe it either came from one of the sushi dishes at the Japanese restaurant or the raw smoked salmon I had at the buffet breakfast the next morning. Wherever I did get it from, it affected my time there. I would not recommend anyone to have anything rare or raw. If you get sick like I did it’ll ruin your time. All in all however, I would recommend staying here just avoid food that’s not fully cooked and be aware of the beds not being the most comfortable, especially if you sleep on your stomach like I do.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Don’t have anything rare or raw at the restaurants. As someone who sleeps on his stomach, I found...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otros at Bahia Principe Luxury Esmeralda
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Adam, We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Hotel. It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us. Please rest assured that your observations have been taken in the highest consideration and have been shared with the corresponding departments. Best regards, Adriana Peguero Online Reputation Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Read more
SashaMcGregor wrote a review Aug 2021
Hamilton, Canada2 contributions
I am not a Karen honesty but go somewhere else. I am used to 3rd world countries (lived for 7 years) and the inconvenience is obviously not what we have in Canada, so I know to be patient and not expect the same service. The hotel was clean, so no complaints about that. Service was bad. Restaurants changed around so maps are wrong and not many staff know where they are now located. One restaurant actually didnt open on time and let us stand out in the rain while they were fighting during a staff meeting in front of our kids. I also have norovirus that I got while being at the hotel. Pretty sure I either got it from the sushi or the uncooked burger from outside the buffet (water park area). Didnt realize it wasnt fully cooked until half way through. Its definitely not a luxury hotel but it is nice. But if you are spending good money for a beautiful place, try their Ambar location or a different resort.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otros at Bahia Principe Luxury Esmeralda
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Sasha, We sincerely regret your impressions of the overall image of our company regarding our services and facilities. Please allow us to inform you, we take our customer's observations very seriously and create reports based on the feedback to notify the management on what needs prioritizing and improvement. Kind regards, Adriana Peguero Info Department Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicLa Altagracia ProvincePunta Cana
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bahia Principe Luxury Esmeralda
Which popular attractions are close to Bahia Principe Luxury Esmeralda?
Nearby attractions include Bavaro Beach (2.4 miles), Escapology (4.9 miles), and Vivaldi Cigars (4.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Bahia Principe Luxury Esmeralda?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Bahia Principe Luxury Esmeralda?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Bahia Principe Luxury Esmeralda?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bahia Principe Luxury Esmeralda?
Conveniently located restaurants include Montserrat Manor Restaurant, Herman 311 Bar & Restaurant, and Chic Cabaret & Restaurant Punta Cana.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bahia Principe Luxury Esmeralda?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Bahia Principe Luxury Esmeralda have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Bahia Principe Luxury Esmeralda offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bahia Principe Luxury Esmeralda?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Bahia Principe Luxury Esmeralda offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Bahia Principe Luxury Esmeralda?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including Spanish and French.
Does Bahia Principe Luxury Esmeralda have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.