We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 23000 Dominican Republic
Hotel direct offer!Receive 500 free points
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Trip.com
Traveluro
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (3531)
Dining (334)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Updated 06/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Riu Bambu
Updated 06/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#92 of 197 in Punta Cana
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.0
Value
4.1
The All Inclusive 24h Hotel Riu Bambu opens all year round and is located on the beautiful Playa Arena Gorda beach, in the holiday area of Punta Cana, on the Dominican Republic's eastern coast. The RIU Classic Hotels offer comfortable rooms and excellent facilities with great leisure and relaxation facilities, as well as international gastronomy. Enjoy a relaxing holiday - whether alone, with family, partner or friends! The location is ideal because of its proximity to El Cortecito (10 km), Higüey (40 km) and Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ) (25 km) and invites you to explore the area. The hotel has 1000 comfortably furnished rooms with free WiFi and offers many amenities. Relax in the spa or get in shape at the gym. 5 outdoor pools, 2 of them with swim up bar, 2 children’s pools and the “Splash Water World” water park. For the youngest guests, RiuLand kids’ club (4-7 & 8-12 years old) and Riu4U activities (13-17 years old). For adults, daytime and evening entertainment, discotheque and Riu Pool Parties. For lovers of gastronomy, live cooking stations at our main buffet, as well as Italian, Asian, Mexican, Steakhouse, Gourmet and Spanish specialty restaurants; 6 bars.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Boating
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Canoeing
Game room
Tennis court
Water park
Water sport equipment rentals
Windsurfing
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Waterslide
Nightclub / DJ
Children's playground
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Car hire
Taxi service
Spa
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Currency exchange
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Sofa
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bidet
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Private bathrooms
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German
Hotel links
Special Offer:Receive 500 free points
2769Reviews1097Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 960
  • 771
  • 438
  • 236
  • 365
Traveler safety
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Amy clarke wrote a review Yesterday
16 contributions10 helpful votes
so upon arrival we were allocated our room, we went into the room and an old lady was in the bed in her underwear. Went to reception and the guy lugui said noo that's not right, advised him to check he said he look into it. He smirked and found it funny... i did not.. i asked for a manager he said no one was available but he had found another room. This room had no working phone, broken shower head , no hot water, broken phone and 2 sockets we couldnt use as they shocked me. Issues were reported and handy man came but he only fixed shower head. Food is medioca depending on your tastebuds.. no entertainment or what was on was rubbish. Resort itself is clean, pools nice and beach is lush. Wouldn't return but some staff in the main resturant near reception called Augusto, Frances and roburto were really friendly. The rest of the staff blanked us and didnt offer us drinks.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Helpful
Share
Jim M wrote a review Mar 2021
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey28 contributions32 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
This is a very good hotel room was clean staff was great property was keep clean. The beach area was beautiful. The pool bar was closed due to Covid and the hotel let the kids run ramped!! I think because not many people want to travel at this time there were many locals there. It's great to mix with the locals but kids should not be jumping off the tables in the pool meant for the pool bar. I use the gym ever day and it was also very clean. Yoel was the trainer and worked me out could not be more thankful for him showing me around the gym and helping with great workouts. Andy69 was there in the mornings and was a great guy also. I will be back next month loved the pace and travel right now is very cheap.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Had a court yard room and it was great!!
See more room tips
6 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Bambu
Responded Mar 9, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for leaving us a kind and review! It is great to know that you had a great stay with us! Reflections like yours confirm us that we are doing a good job. We will make sure that our team is recognized. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back as our guest again soon. Warm regards Hotel Riu Bambu Online Reputation Manager
Read more
valerie906 wrote a review May 20
1 contribution
Everything was beautiful it was the best vacation I had in a long time. The only thing that could of been better was being able to eat without a reservation at the steak house and other restaurants. But overall everything was exemplary.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Kirsty.ABY wrote a review May 18
Bolton, United Kingdom19 contributions3 helpful votes
The rooms aren't quite as shown on pictures, they aren't as updated as seems but nevertheless they are clean and tidy and more than comfortable! They also have the added bonus of Free Mini Bar - Alcohol and Pop which is topped up every 2 days. However if you have the RIU app you can order replacements whenever. The hotel is beautiful from walking into reception to across the complex. There are several pools to relax around or have abit more liveliness if you want that. The beach is pretty much on the front of the hotel which is equally as beautiful. There are several restaurants to choose from and you there is plenty of choices in all of them - the only downside is it gets abit monotonous after several days and not all food is labelled which isn't great if you have any allergies or intolerances. The steakhouse is a must!!! 12oz Steak is absolutely lovely. However , you do have to queue around 6pm to get a reservation! The staff are great and very accommodating. The trips are quite expensive - try avoid booking off people on the beach and stick to your tour provider or the guys on the complex. Personally, didn't enjoy the trips felt they weren't worth the money as you can do the same trips in other countries for 1/2 the price -but it does break up the holiday slightly. The entertainment is more Spanish Orientated. However, great for kids. There are RIU pool parties on nearly every day from 3pm - 11pm which are okay if you are into clubbing, but again alot of spanish songs with a few English in-between. Would definitely recommend this hotel to people, but once you have been - you have been in my opinion... don't think I'd ever return but glad I came and experienced the Dominican Republic!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Carole D wrote a review May 16
2 contributions3 helpful votes
Still here been here 8 days of our 14 day holiday. Can't fault the food especially kulinarium restaurant superb. Everything else unfortunately is below par certainly not 5 star. We have stayed at riu palace next door so much better. Also at riu touareg in Cape Verde. Both more superior the service at Bambu is terrible with the exception of a few staff. Can't be bothered attitude, hot water in restaurant luke warm not hot enough for tea. Entertainment is rubbish only had one good night last night with the Michael Jackson tribute. The animation staff work extremely hard and it is a shame some of the other staff are not of the same attitude. The swim up bar pool is filthy, smoking should not be allowed in the pool using empty beakers as Ash trays and cigarette ends lying on bar tops in the middle of pool. Bits floating around and tiles off the bottom. Also people smoking marajuana round the pool where children are. Sadly we will not be returning this is our 4th visit to punta cana and can't fault the area. We will try somewhere else next year.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Bambu
Responded 6 days ago
Dear J3665LYcaroled, We regret to read other guests smoking made your stay less enjoyable. In accordance with the local law, smoking is not permitted inside the hotel, guests may only smoke outdoors, RIU always complies with local laws regarding this matter. We have contacted our team and made them aware of your concerns. Moreover, we would love to be able to give our staff your full name in order to compensate for your discomfort, however, the information provided does not allows us to locate you in the resort. Best regards, Hotel Riu Bambú Online Reputation Manager
Read more
CarribFave wrote a review May 16
New York City, New York17 contributions9 helpful votes
This is our 7th time in Riu Bambu Punta Cana. As always, all was great. We go to this resort for the beach. Little things dont change our opinion regarding this place. I can only say good things. Beautiful stuff, very kind, hardworking personnel. Looking forward to come back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Bambu
Responded yesterday
Dear CarribFave, Thank you for choosing the Hotel Riu Bambu for the 7th time during your recent trip to Dominican Republic and for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay. We are glad to know you had again an excellent experience at our property and it was a pleasure to see that our hotel and staff provided great accommodations for your travels. Thank you for your loyalty and for being a RIU Class member. We look forward to having you back with us soon! Until then, all the best! With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Bambu Online Reputation Manager
Read more
KJP wrote a review May 16
5 contributions
+1
I don't understand what all the bad reviews are about ! Had a great 11 days, was upgraded rooms for free and a gift on arrival for our anniversary. Food - excellent choice and plenty of it my favourite was the cottage pie, there was many choices from paella, fish, lasagne, bollognese chips burgers, meat, southern fried chicken, pizza, stews gammon, steak salads, English breakfasts , pancakes, cereal, and deserts where a wide variety loved the chocolate coated strawberry skewers. Rui parties were great food and great music Staff friendly and no English barrier as suggested in reviews ! Entertainment was ok but more directed towards the Latino visitors Pools plenty to choose from only complaint was the pool near the Spanish restaurant wasn't cleaned properly (lots of dead insects,) and the staff at the pool bar there I found rude that I gave up tipping him. Tips Bring higher than factor 30 Bring plenty of mosquito cream Bring a mix of peso and dollar, excursions worked out cheaper in peso.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Bambu
Responded yesterday
Dear Z6118ZMkarenp, It is so pleasant to read you appreciate our staff’s efforts! Thank you very much. Please not that the excursions agents are not part of Riu staff, therefore, we do not have control over the prices. Moreover, let us remark that tipping is completely optional and the quality of our service should not depend on it. We will send all your observations to management in case these standards have not been fulfilled at some point. Once again, we would like to thank you, we will continue to improve our services, it is wonderful to work for guests like you. Loveliest regards! Hotel RIU Bambú Online Reputation Management
Read more
mattandandy wrote a review May 15
Manchester, United Kingdom39 contributions45 helpful votes
+1
Be realistic and you will bot be disappointed! Lovely place, great staff and spotless. Pools clean and plenty of beds even at 9am. Went end of april to start of May. BH weekend was very very busy but otherwise just right. Beach is just stunning. Food at breakfast was ace! Lunch too. Only criticism really is that some dishes were not very high quality in the cut of meat. One night was practically a chicken bone stew as there was nothing edible on the pieces. Genreally though, lovely! Steak.house.pipular and had to queue for a prime.timing. but if you didnt mind being seated before 7.15pm, you could walk straight up. Lovely! Staff were great! Some struggled with language but i would too if i had to know so many. Entertainment was good but as a Brit, it didnt really interest me much...lots of dancing acts and Spanish speaking singers. Bar service was good. Would make you anything if they had the ingredients. Beer was draught and actually pleasant. IS it the same 5* as you would find in Cancun? No. Is it Cancun? NO! Did it cost the same? Unlikely!. A Great value, lively place. Would definately come again!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Ask for a block near to the reception....saves a long walk! I was block 2. 2 mins from...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Samantha P wrote a review May 12
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We came to riu bambu for our honeymoon, we went onto the beach and booked 6 excursions with a man called Kevin (they are in grey t-shirts) Afterwards we went to see the tui rep and then I ended up spending the first day in tears after being told they were pirates and not to trust them and that we had just lost £600 of our money We went to see Kevin afterwards who completed reassured us and even took us to a few holiday makers on the beach so they could also reassure us Kevin was amazing and really made our honeymoon special When it came to the excursions we had an amazing time and it was exactly the same as what tui was offering but at a cheaper price Tui told us that the excursions if you do actually get picked up were not the same! Its lies It's exactly the same We had a minor issue on one day where the bus was late but we phoned Kevin and he sorted out another bus within 10 mins We were so happy that we went with Kevin and it was clear tui just said that to scare you into paying them instead We even went down to say goodbye, give him a hug and a thanks and tipped him $50 for being so kind and helpful to us Highly recommended, just don't fall for tui's tricks This man saved our Honeymoon after being completely let down by tui on several occasions We would give 10 stars if we could Thank you Kevin
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Bambu
Responded yesterday
Dear J6165DHsamanthap, We would like to thank you. We have forwarded your appreciation of Kevin. Please come back soon! It has been our pleasure. Thank you very much for your amazing feedback! Warmest wishes, Hotel RIU Bambú Online Reputation Management
Read more
issy w wrote a review May 12
Coventry, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
My husband and I booked a last minute holiday to Riu Bambu as TUI had a good deal on the hotel and we had never been to The Dominican Republic before. The hotel is in a fabulous location with direct access to a beautiful white sandy beach and turquoise sea. The hotel is huge, made up of lots of 2 storey blocks set in large grounds. Initially we were given a room near the road, a long way from the main building and restaurants so we requested a move and next day got a lovely room near to the beach and closer to the restaurants. The place is immaculately clean. We loved the beach, however the pools were very busy and full of kids. We would have appreciated an adults only pool. We enjoyed the food and drinks, service at the bar was excellent and the selection of restaurants was also good. My husband loved the steak house but we were a bit disappointed with the Italian and Asian as they were buffet style not a la carte. The entertainment was very orientated towards Latino, lots of dancing etc. There were a couple of good shows but not a lot for English speaking guests. We enjoyed the week there despite 2 days of torrential rain but having visited several other Caribbean islands, don’t think we will be going back.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Bambu
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Issy w, Thank you very much for appreciating our efforts! We have the best guests. Please be back, Issy! Best wishes! Hotel Riu Bambú Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$129 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
riu bambu punta cana, riu bambu dominican republic
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicLa Altagracia ProvincePunta Cana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1000
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Riu Bambu
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Riu Bambu?
Nearby attractions include Arena Gorda Beach (0.4 miles), Splash Water Park (0.3 miles), and Riu Palace Macao Casino (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Riu Bambu?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Riu Bambu?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a bidet, and a sofa.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Riu Bambu?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Riu Bambu?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Riu Bambu?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kukua Beach Club & Restaurant, Restaurant Maiko, and Restaurant Garden Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Riu Bambu?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Riu Bambu?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and German.
Is Hotel Riu Bambu accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.