Hotel Riu Bambu

Hotel Riu Bambu

Traveler (5107)
Dining (354)
Hotel Riu Bambu
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#47 of 51 all-inclusives in Punta Cana
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.0
Value
4.0
The All Inclusive 24h Hotel Riu Bambu offer comfortable rooms and excellent facilities with great leisure and relaxation facilities, as well as international gastronomy. Enjoy a relaxing holiday - whether alone, with family, partner or friends! The location is ideal. Relax in the spa or get in shape at the gym. 5 outdoor pools, 2 of them with swim up bar, 2 children’s pools and the “Splash Water World” water park. For the youngest guests, RiuLand kids’ club (4-7 & 8-12 years old) and Riu4U activities (13-17 years old). For adults, daytime and evening entertainment, discotheque and Riu Pool Parties. Live cooking stations at our main buffet, as well as Italian, Asian, Mexican, Steakhouse, Gourmet and Spanish specialty restaurants.Do you like going to top parties on your holidays? Dance to the rhythm of top DJs and be carried away by the shows and performances offered at each party. Make the most of your all-inclusive service and enjoy the most fun possible with RIU!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Boating
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Canoeing
Game room
Tennis court
Water park
Water sport equipment rentals
Windsurfing
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Waterslide
Nightclub / DJ
Children's playground
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Spa
Head massage
Massage
Currency exchange
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Sofa
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bidet
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Private bathrooms
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:10% off Riu Class members

Location

Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 23302 Dominican Republic
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 54 out of 100
54
Punta Cana Airport
11.8 mi
See all flights
La Romana Airport
35.9 mi
See all flights
4,133Reviews1,200Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,452
  • 1,105
  • 624
  • 384
  • 570
Traveler safety
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
paris34 wrote a review Jan 2020
Atherton, United Kingdom
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
December 16th -26th December - 10 nights 5* All Inclusive.
On arrival check in was very well organised, I was given an envelope with door cards, towel cards, map of hotel grounds with details of restaurant times etc. The stickers (write room number on)and put sticker on your luggage, the staff will take your luggage to your room.

Rooms were very spacious two double beds, plenty of wardrobe space and walk in wet room with shower.

Food was plentiful, wide variety for everybody’s taste. The main restaurant is called Colonial, large inside restaurant and outside terrace. We was looked after very well morning, and evening meal by Mr Breilly Diaz. He worked in the outside terrace and looked after us extremely well during our ten day holiday, making sure that we was able to sit at a clean set table. Mr Diaz waited on us with drinks and cleared our table.

We visited the Chinese twice and was really impressed with the food and surroundings. We also dined at the Mexican which was very welcoming.

The same can’t be said for the Steakhouse, we booked our table at 5.30pm and was told by a very ignorant and rude restaurant Manager that the time will be 8.45pm. No conversation just said 8.45pm. We turned up at the time as arranged,starters was brought to the table before we knew it, there was no top up of drinks at all no offers of top up (restaurant was quiet) my steak and friends was ok, my daughters wasn’t happy with hers. I just felt as though it wasn’t a special night and that they hurried us out. We never visited this restaurant again.

The pools and surroundings are lovely, the beach is well maintained, we did find it a struggle to get sun beds at the beach from the 6th day stay onwards.

The entertainment in the evenings was very poor, one evening they had a magic show, I thought I had stepped back to the eighties it was terrible. The in house entertainment team was good and amusing they got some volunteers up from the audience which was very entertaining.

Booked two excursions with Sruba Caribe (office located on the beach, the guy we booked our trips with is called Wilson).
Excellent value, we enjoyed both trips and food, my daughter went scuba diving, it was very well organised, they had theory for about 30mins, then a lesson in the pool. On the day of the trip, she went out scuba diving twice with two other girls, there was one instructor to the three of them. We was able to relax on the boat and also the island whilst she was out scuba diving. On both trips we had all inclusive drinks and food.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Bambu
Responded Jan 13, 2020
Dear paris34, Many thanks for your time and for choosing our hotel for your Christmas break. We are glad that you liked the spacious rooms, the lovely beach and the wide variety of food. However, we regret to learn that some aspects of your stay did not match your expectations and we would like to assure you that the above-mentioned shortcomings are certainly not representative of our usual standards. We will pass your comments to our Management Team and we look forward to welcoming you back at any of our worldwide hotels. With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Bambu Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John H wrote a review Mar 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The setting for the hotel is gorgeous set on a long palm lined beach. The hotel is in a group of five Riu hotels in a line along the beach. It’s very large. If you have mobility issues request a central location. There were three pools two of which were large. One had a swim up bar. The downside was the music was vey loud if you just wanted to relax.
We had a Deluxe room which was good but the balcony looked directly into the hotel adjacent. The room had a kingsize bed and sofa The shower was a walkin but the two side by side wash basins were in the bedroom with no screening. There was a TV, Hairdryer, Fridge and a set of optic with bottle of spirits. The fridge was restocked every couple of days. The room was comfortable for us. The service to the rooms was great. We had a few requests & small problems and they were dealt with very quickly.
Dining- the was a wide selection of food and we never went hungry but that said I thought overall it let the hotel down. There were no “signature dishes” you expect when on holiday. The major fault was the lack of organisation. There was no maitre de and nobody seemed in charge. Dishes ran out and often took an age to replace. No one waiter looked after your table. T
Entertainment, If this is important to your holiday then look at another hotel. We found it very poor. Again it was really disorganized.
The setting is gorgeous, the staff great, food just ok, entertainment poor.
We wouldn't return
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Bambu
Responded Mar 18, 2020
Dear John H, Thank you so much for your review. Whilst we are glad that you liked the service provided by our helpful staff and the gorgeous setting of our hotel, it saddens us to hear that the wide range of sports activities, daytime and evening entertainment offered on a daily basis did not match your expectations on this occasion. Please be assured that we will forward your comments to our Management Team for a proper follow-up. We hope that you can give us an opportunity to change your perception into a positive one. With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Bambu Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kimmie wrote a review Aug 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Staff at the front desk were very nice and helpful. I wasn't impressed with the place though. The beach water was very nice. During this COV19 time, I was VERY surprised that they had the buffet opened to where all the guests touch the serving spoons while getting their food. That's not allowed at any of the restaurants I have been to back in the U.S. Matter of fact, buffets are closed or an employee should be serving the food. The employees in buffet restaurant sit the guests beside each other instead of spreading them apart or putting a table in between them. The buffet is very large, but they didn't want you to space apart from each other? I had several people come up and cut in line to get the food. It seemed like they are letting alot of the locals stay there or something? Lots of cars parked out front and I agree with other review. They were smoking weed near the pool bar and many brought their own hooka pipes and were puffing away in the water. It was loud at night in some of the hallways around 3am. You could tell they were drunk. Had to open my door and get on to one guy banging on someone's door to let him in. Rooms are very small and very old. I like a fun party place, but this was a little over the top. Never saw security walking around outside.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Ask for the Deluxe Room with the sofa.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Riu Hotels and Resorts, Dueño at Hotel Riu Bambu
Responded Aug 9, 2020
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are however sorry to see that your stay with us did not exceed your expectations. Please rest assured that we are taking precautions for Covid very seriously. Our protocols has been implemented in collaboration with preverisk. A prestige’s company specialized in health and safety in the tourism sector which guarantees the total reliable stay in our facilities. Our protocols are being continuously updated with the latest information available, always taking into account the recommendations of expert bodies. We have placed sanitizers at all our entrances for guests to use, and the utensils at the buffet are changed with frequency. We have also signs indicating the safety distance. We are sorry if you got the impression that there were not enough measures taken. We are very surprised by your comment about smoking as we do not tolerate illegal activities inside our premises and we immediately report them to the authorities whenever we detect them. To end on a positive note, we are glad that our front desk made your stay a more pleasant one! Hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you back for a more positive experience soon! With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Bambu Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Li-Nei F wrote a review Jan 2023
Ontario
+1
Hotel's Favorite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I travelled to this resort from Dec 18-25.

Rooms – nice, bright, and spacious. The rooms were a bit run down, but I didn’t mind. Our AC wasn’t working. I had downloaded the RIU app and requested maintenance for the AC. Later that evening while we were in our room, someone showed up to fix it. Apparently, there was nothing wrong with the AC, it does not work if the patio/sliding door is open. None of our outlets were working except the one in the bathroom. That’s were I ended up charging my phone. The USB port by the bedside were both broken. We didn’t use the liquor dispenser, but the bottles were full. In the fridge they had bottles of flat water (2), sparkling water (2), diet Pepsi (2), Pepsi (2), 7 up (2) and beer (2). They refill every other day. I ordered more by using the RIU app. I also requested more towels and blankets. The beds only had the top sheet. Our shower leaked a bit. I slipped on a small puddle in the bathroom and fell hard. After that I made sure I had an extra towel on the floor to soak up the water after my shower. The maids did a great job cleaning our rooms. I travelled with my 4 kids ranging from 16-22 years old. I had gotten 3 standard rooms. The boys had their own room, the girls had their own room and the last room for my husband and me. I had emailed the resort a week before our arrival to request the rooms be next to each other. They were. In the girl’s room there was only 3 out of the 4 liquor bottles there, I think 1 of the dispensers was broken. In the boy’s room, 1 bottle was siting near the dispenser because the dispenser was broken but then they took it away, so both rooms only had 3 bottles. Our rooms was in building 6 on the second floor. I think it was near the septic tank cause it smelt like sulfur in the hallways and outside. Thankfully not in the rooms.

Buffet/restaurants – The main buffet had a large selection of food. I really liked the fresh avocado that they had but unfortunately it wasn’t available at breakfast. Most of the food I found to be too salty, but my family liked it. To each their own. The worker did their best to keep the food area clean and replenish. Unfortunately, the guests are messy and don’t care about keeping things clean for other people. What I didn’t like about the buffet was that it was busy and took a while to get your food as there are line ups, by the time you get back to your table, your food is not hot anymore. That’s not the resort’s fault, it’s just something I notice which is why I prefer eating at the a-la-carte restaurants for dinner. I also notice a lot of unsupervised kids in the buffet area, helping themselves to the food by climbing on top of the ledge and being very unsanitary. Grabbing food with their hands and sneezing. Again, it’s not the resort’s fault but the parents.

Mama Juana restaurant by the pool was open for breakfast and lunch. It a smaller scale then the main buffet but less busy.

I notice that when you enter any of the buffets, you should wait for them to notice you and be seated. You will get your drinks served to you and plates removed faster. If you seat yourself, you will not get any service. I think it’s because if your seated by the waiter, they know to serve you. If you seat yourself, without any waiters noticing, the waiters will assume someone else is taking care of you.

We only went to 2 a-la-carte restaurants, the Steak house and the Gourmet. The Steak house is busy and very popular. It open at 6pm. If you show up at that time ready to dine, you will be allowed in. If you want to dine later, you will have to line up by 5pm. At 6pm, someone will come out with a pad asking how many people are in your group and if you would like a 7:30 or 8:30 sitting. The first time I got in the line up at 5:15. There was about 15 people ahead of me in line. Thankfully I got a ticket for 7:30. The next time we got there for 6pm, ready to dine and was let in. The 3rd time I tried to get in line @ 5:30, only to be told that they were filled for the night. Usually around 5:30, someone from the restaurant goes down the line asking how many people are in your group to get an idea of how many people are expected to dine. Once they hit their limit, they will turn people away to help them avoid standing in line for nothing. You can see their menu by downloading the RIU app and clicking on the restaurant.

The Gourmet restaurant opens at 6:30. There is usually a line up for that too. They will start to let people in when they open but only if everyone in your group is there. If there is someone missing, you would have to stand aside till they arrive. After the restaurant is full, they will issue pagers for you to come back when they have a table ready. Usually in an hour. I did not try the other restaurants. I got the impression from the reviews I’ve read that they were mini buffet style. On Christmas Eve, you had to book your dinner reservations ahead of time at any restaurant or the buffet from the maître’d standing outside the main buffet. I tried to book at the steakhouse, but it was full, so we went to the Gourmet again. They serve champagne, had an extra seafood appetizer for the occasion. They also had a special that night in addition to their menu which was a lobster tail.

The snack bar near the beach offers, pizza, hamburgers, hot dogs, fries, nacho chips, fruits, and salad options. You need to be wearing shoes and a cover up to go in. No bikini tops or shirtless.

The beach was full of seaweed our first night there. There were piles of them. The next day, a clean up crew went down the beach picking up the piles. The waves were big at times full of seaweed and garbage. I was surprised at how much garbage was in the ocean. A lot of plastic bags. There was this one guy who was in the ocean grabbing every plastic bag he came across. It didn’t take long for him to accumulate a huge pile. My husband started to follow too every time he went into the ocean, grabbing at the garbage and throwing it in the garbage cans on the beach. Even though it’s Dec, it’s not seaweed season, there was quite a bit. The beach is long with lots of palm trees for shade. They had a volleyball court and soccer on the beach. My kids spent everyday playing volleyball and made friends. There are a lot of vendors on the beach. If you’re not interested, you just say, ‘no thank you’ and they move on. The beach towels were thin and stained. I kept returning the dirty stain ones until I got one without stains. I would send my kids otherwise the towel attendant would get suspicious. There is a older guy that works there that's not very friendly. I only got towels in the morning so I am not sure if they were available later in the day. I would keep my towels at the end of the day to exchange them for fresh ones in the morning.

The pools looked nice. We didn’t spend any time there since my kids preferred the beach. They are opened 24 hours. Our travel rep told us that they do put chemicals in the pools to clean them @ 9pm. You can still swim in them but it’s at your own risk. It should be fine by 5am.

I went to the RIU ‘Jungle’ party in the afternoon with my son. We went in, no problem. We were there ½ an hour after they opened. It wasn’t very busy. I guess we were early. My son had a drink, then we left. I went back to the ‘White’ party at night with 3 of my kids. They were stopped at the door and asked to show ID. They didn’t have any with them, so we had to go back to the room to get them. At least the RIU party is close to the Bambu. We didn’t have to walk far like at the other resorts. It was busier at night. They had face painting and VIP areas, plus pools with foam. There was a younger crowd but also plenty of older adults.

We did not try the water slides. My kids were not interested.

We usually book at the Gran Bahia resorts, but my travel agent recommended the RIU. We had a great time and would return to the resorts again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Bambu
Responded Jan 19, 2023
Dear Li-Nei F, It is wonderful to learn that you found it of your liking and you enjoyed your stay. Our lovely staff will be very pleased to learn that all their efforts paid off. Thank you very much! We will be thrilled to host you again! Loving Regards! Hotel RIU Bambú Online Reputation Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Intavia wrote a review Feb 2022
Horley, United Kingdom
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
With five restaurants, including a steak house, Asian, Mexican, Italian and Spanish as well as two buffet restaurants with grills, meat and fish dishes, pizzas, pastas, salads, lots of fresh fruit, soup and breads, cheeses and amazing desserts - there is something for everyone here.
Five swimming pools, some bustling with music playing and full activity programmes, or quieter ones with adjacent pool bars; lots of sun loungers and an amazing beach front with soft sand for miles in both directions. It is windy on the beach which is pleasantly cooling in the hot sun. Lots of water sports on offer too.
The hotel is primarily Spanish speaking, both waiters and bar staff friendly and always willing to help (except in the steak house), a good selection of drinks, spirits, wine and amazing cocktails too. There is a 24 hour sports bar with pool tables and TVs (though pretty chilly in there) where you can get drinks and a decent cup of coffee at any time.
Whitewashed apartment blocks one storey high housing 8 apartments in each and well spaced across well manicured gardens, the grounds are idyllic and spotlessly clean and well lit at night. The rooms are a good size, with two sinks, good hot shower, aircon and fans, with fridges and drinks in the room, free bottled water, wifi, good hanging space and free room safes, flat screen cable TV with over 100 channels (mostly Spanish) and balconies with fly screens as well as sliding doors. Although decor may be a little dated, the rooms are clean and functional. The beds are a good size and although they just had sheets on the beds, this was all that was needed in the heat.
This is one of 5 Riu hotels in a small complex which offer a disco, casino, two rows of interesting shops, spa, party venue and water park between them. You can certainly stretch your legs by taking a wander around the complex whilst feeling very safe and secure.
If I had any negatives, the evening entertainment was almost all Spanish themed music, but there was always something to see or listen to and the bar staff were always entertaining, particularly at the Azucar Bar.
Additionally unless you are into water sports, there is little else to see or do as you can't walk anywhere from here, although we visited the Eco Park by minibus some 20 mins away which was amazing and well worth the visit (see separate review).
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: You can ask for quieter rooms and or higher floors, I would recommend both.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Edwin Capois wrote a review Sep 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I traveled from the United States with my partner on vacation to this hotel for 5 nights and the experience was terrible I was in room 1712 at the time of check in there was no type of organization, people rioted and without social distancing there was no a specific row for check in and check out. Nobody accompanied me to the room, much less gave me the information if it was ready or not and a terrible noise in the early hours of the morning cutting the bushes and the grass. The plugs were not working I had to call reception twice to have it repaired including the safe that was never reset. In the restaurants, a lot of people together and without masks (the buffet) had no cutlery, the tables were dirty, etc. the main pool overflowing with people and nobody doing anything was like a pitched war. The drinks are not of good quality and the beer is hot and only from a machine including even the water. at check-in time my brother arranged to pick me up and guess what? I had to get upset so they let it pass I even did the review at check in and they never wrote it and to top it off when I request this they are so cheeky that they tell me I am not on the check out list. no service in the pool or on the beach (not a camera available). My girlfriend my partner was totally disappointed and we will never book again, much less stay at RIu bamboo. I do not recommend it at all and do not waste your time, your money having a worse time than in your own homes. terrible !!!!!!!! awful !!!!!! I don't recommended this hotel !! not at all.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: improve good service.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Bambu
Responded Sep 25, 2020
Dear Edwin, Thank you for staying with us and for also sharing your experience. We are truly sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy our resort as we always want our guests to have a lovely time. However, your words about our covid precautions comes as a surprise as we are applying strict anti covid-19 protocols in collaboration with preverisk. A prestige’s company specialized in health and safety in the tourism sector which guarantees the total reliable stay in our facilities. Rest assured that your comment will be shared with our management team for further consideration. Once again, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I sincerely hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future and restoring your faith in us. With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Bambu Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Veronica H wrote a review Mar 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was a wonderful holiday to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The hotel was spotless, food excellent, and entertainment during the day was brilliant. You could join in or just watch. Hand sanitisers were all at the entrances of every restaurant and in the toilets, so we used them all the time.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Our room was away from the theatre, so when we were sleeopng we did not hear the noise.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Bambu
Responded Apr 22, 2020
Dear vonihasty18, Thank you for choosing our hotel to celebrate your wedding anniversary and for highlighting our spotless facilities, the excellent food and the hand sanitizer dispensers situated at the entrance of all our restaurants. We look forward to seeing you back again soon, stay safe meanwhile! With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Bambu Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nele S wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We traveled ( 7 of us with 3 adults and 4 kids ) 12/27/19-01/03/20. Our first time to visit Dominican Republic. Most of you know this is a peek travel time for DR. After Christmas and for 2020 New Year's Eve this resort was packed. Had an amazing time. Our room was clean every day ( traveled with toddler ), got clean pool/beach towels every day ( very nice towels btw ) Many choices for food, many pools to choose from, kids loved the water park, lot of different excursions to choose from, beach was packed with vacationers yet exceptionally clean and well kept. Staff is friendly and helpful. We ran into some grumpy ones but can not review our stay at that resort based on few upset workes. We mostly ate at the buffet because it was easier with all the kids. There are hand sanitizers available in multiple locations and when we noticed someones hands in the food ( saw a lot of that and that is non of the resorts fault just many different cultures, kids picking food by hand and putting it back and so on ) we skipped that. We travel different parts of Europe every summer and have to tell you our digestive system is not used to the foods what use lot less chemicals what we are used to in US. Dont think food is bad everywhere we go. None of us got sick from anything while in Riu Bambu resort. We were very happy with our stay. Made friends at the resort and some awsome memories. Definitely will be going back. Loved it!!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Bambu
Responded Jan 16, 2020
Dear nelku8, Thank you for your time and for letting us know your experience. Your positive feedback is gratefully received! We are thrilled to hear that you had such a memorable time with us!! We can assure you that your compliments are very appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Wish you all the best in meanwhile. Sincerely, Hotel Riu Bambu Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Megan W wrote a review Jul 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for 10 days on my first holiday with my partner. We were very excited to stay in our first 5 star hotel together. On arrival we were greeted by pleasent staff whom showed us to our room the rooms were lovely and clean and the bed was huge. The location is beautiful we thought this was about to be the best holiday. There is no entertainment here we were sat twiddling our thumbs wondering what to do every single evening. The alcoholic drinks were undrinkable they were all premade slushed which tasted diabolical and gave us bad stomachs so we stayed on water. The staff mimicked our voices because we are English,and laughed at us in their language. There is no chance of being served at a bar unless you tip a lot of money. The waiters in the restaurant are very rude. After 20 mins of waiting for drinks every time I discovered I could go get my own to which I was told off by waiters and told to sit down. We were constantly denied entry to the nice restaurants even though their were empty tables. Get to theses restaurants at opening time at 6pm if you want any chance of not eating every meal
In the buffet The food is nice and there is a lot to choose from. We have started taking our own room glasses to get drinks due to the glasses provided not being clean. The bed sheets have not been changed in 4 days and still have neon paint on them. I will be walking down to reception to request new ones so I can make my own bed. The pool party’s are the highlight of this resort if your a young couple and like to party DEFINATLY NOT A 5 STAR HOTEL!!! Very disappointing for the money we spent coming here!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Bambu
Responded Jul 17, 2022
Dear meganwP3464RJ, We are very sorry to read about the negative side of your recent experience. This does not reflect the standard of service. Your review will be forwarded. We wish to clarify that RIU Hotels & Resorts greatly cares about the wellbeing of our guests. We are very sorry to read you left our resort thinking otherwise. Kindest regards, Hotel RIU Bambú Online Reputation Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Patricia M wrote a review Nov 2021
Ottawa, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel Nice spot in punta canna, hotel employee not respected when u ask something they look your face like a zombie and no word and they won’t do it we had really hard time with the employee's. All public washrooms are messy and smelly, food is not worth it at all, pools have never been clean, rooms are not clean and do small you can only enjoy the beach and sun. I have been to Cancun Riu hotels they are amazing to compare to the punta canna Bambu don't do a mistake ria punta canna Bambu is not worth it at all. By the way change room smell pee COMMON!!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Bambu
Responded Nov 5, 2021
Dear Patricia, Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to leave us feedback. We strive to provide a superior guest experience, and we are sorry yours did not meet expectations. Certainly, this is not the hospitality we deliver or the experience we and our colleagues want our guests to have. For this reason, please be assured that these issues will be addressed and your comments will be passed on to the appropriate departments to consider for improvements needed. We appreciate your sharing your concerns and hope you will give us an opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Hotel Riu Bambu Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GemMorg asked a question May 2024
Nuneaton, United Kingdom5 contributions9 helpful votes
Hi, can you tell me if there is a sunset over the beach please?
Answer from Treina
Gloucester, United Kingdom204 contributions47 helpful votes
We went last year, we took American Dollars, brought cigs & tobacco at duty-free when we landed. However, there is a tobacco shop on carribean Street. We paid $10 for a packet of cigs.
laurabailey831 asked a question Apr 2024
Staffordshire, United Kingdom1 contribution2 helpful votes
Could someone provide me with an email address for riu bambu please?
Amie W wrote a tip Jun 20
7 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring Imodium !!!!"
Read full review
Kevin C wrote a tip Jun 19
14 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go somewhere else!"
Read full review
Samantha D wrote a tip Jun 12
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just don’t book! It’s as simple as that "
Read full review
HippychicCheshire wrote a tip Jun 12
Macclesfield, United Kingdom7 contributions18 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Find somewhere else, even if it’s a little more expensive."
Read full review
Nicola W wrote a tip Jun 12
Liverpool, United Kingdom12 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take medicine supplies and beach towels"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Punta Cana area.
PRICE RANGE
$159 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
riu bambu punta cana, riu bambu dominican republic
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicLa Altagracia ProvincePunta Cana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1,000
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hotel Riu Bambu - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Riu Bambu
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Riu Bambu?
Nearby attractions include Arena Gorda Beach (0.4 miles), Splash Water Park (0.3 miles), and Escape Room Dominican Republic (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Riu Bambu?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Riu Bambu?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a bidet, and a sofa.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Riu Bambu?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Riu Bambu?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Riu Bambu?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kukua Beach Club & Restaurant, Restaurant Maiko, and Restaurant Garden Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Riu Bambu?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Riu Bambu?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Is Hotel Riu Bambu accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Punta Cana HotelsPunta Cana Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Punta Cana
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars