We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 23302 Dominican Republic
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Receive 500 free points
Hotels.com
Riu.com
$140
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/25/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Destinia.com
Traveluro
Expedia.com
Travelocity
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (3179)
Dining (222)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 06/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Riu Bambu
Updated 06/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#98 of 161 hotels in Punta Cana
The All Inclusive 24h Hotel Riu Bambu opens all year round and is located on the beautiful Playa Arena Gorda beach, in the holiday area of Punta Cana, on the Dominican Republic's eastern coast. The RIU Classic Hotels offer comfortable rooms and excellent facilities with great leisure and relaxation facilities, as well as international gastronomy. Enjoy a relaxing holiday - whether alone, with family, partner or friends! The location is ideal because of its proximity to El Cortecito (10 km), Higüey (40 km) and Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ) (25 km) and invites you to explore the area. The hotel has 1000 comfortably furnished rooms with free WiFi and offers many amenities. Relax in the spa or get in shape at the gym. 5 outdoor pools, 2 of them with swim up bar, 2 children’s pools and the “Splash Water World” water park. For the youngest guests, RiuLand kids’ club (4-7 & 8-12 years old) and Riu4U activities (13-17 years old). For adults, daytime and evening entertainment, discotheque and Riu Pool Parties. For lovers of gastronomy, live cooking stations at our main buffet, as well as Italian, Asian, Mexican, Steakhouse, Gourmet and Spanish specialty restaurants; 6 bars.
Read more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Receive 500 free points

Location

Full view
44Car recommended
Grade: 44 out of 100
0Restaurantswithin 0 miles
0Attractionswithin 0 miles
Contact
Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 23302 Dominican Republic
Getting there
Punta Cana Airport12 miSee all flights
La Romana Airport36 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
2375Reviews1016Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 797
  • 682
  • 387
  • 197
  • 312
Traveler safety
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Deyanira L wrote a review Sep 8
1 contribution
This hotel is far below the quality standards that a resort should have. I stayed with my children at the Bávaro: Club Hotel Riu Bambú and I was very disappointed: The bathrooms in bad condition and the bathtub drains did not work. They don't put anything in the bathrooms for cleaning (shampoo, cream, etc.). The beds had no bedspreads and the pillows were few and in poor condition. The general cleanliness of the facilities was very poor. The water park, the reason why I chose this hotel, is in very bad condition, lack of maintenance, it looks very neglected. Something good to highlight is the good service of all the staff. Always friendly and helpful. I would not recommend it to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Bathrooms and rooms are in poor condition
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Bambu
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Deyanira, Thank you for choosing Hotel Riu Bambu and the time you took to share your observations. We are committed to providing our guests with a fulfilling stay. For this reason, we are saddened to read your words and regret knowing that we fell short of the inspired experience you should always expect from our brand. Please accept our apologies and be assured, we hold a higher standard than what you experienced. Your concerns have been shared with the heads of the appropriate areas so that we can make adjustments where necessary. Thank you for your patience, it is our hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to provide you with the service both you and we expect. Respectfully, Hotel Riu Bambu Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Alejandro wrote a review Sep 2
Dominican Republic1 contribution1 helpful vote
This is the worst resort I’ve ever been to. Slow check-in, smelly towels, power outlets that don’t work, food so bad you’ll wish you packed granola bars, restaurants that close at 9pm, zero waiting staff around pool or beach areas, unstaffed swim up bars, “adults-only” pools full of kids, terribly thin sheets, no elevators. I genuinely can’t think of a single positive aspect. Save your money - you’ll have a better time staying at home.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Quick tip: don’t book here.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Bambu
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Hotel Riu Bambu and your evaluation. We are disappointed to read that your experience was not to your expectations and certainly well below the general feedback we receive. Please accept our apologies for all the challenges that you had to face during your stay with us, but be assured this is not reflective of our standard. We always strive to provide wonderful experiences to our beloved guests. Your valuable comments have been taken down and surely will be delivered to all the departmental heads for a proper follow up. It is our hope that you will again give us a chance to change your opinion about our hotel. We appreciate your time for posting a valuable feedback about our hotel. With Regards Hotel Riu Bambu Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Medicenfausto wrote a review Aug 2021
Clinton Township, Michigan1 contribution
I love the property all the way just a few things to get better on but, I really understand sometimes they are over worked and all that can happen. From the moment I Arrived at the reception with Michael and all the guys at the bar they were all kind and good people. Love the waiters at the restaurant buffet they should have a raise. I love all the staff. Thanks you for everything. You just need to improve some things on the service you give to the people, sometimes the worker seems to be unhappy and rude. But anyways they are great people and I had an amazing time.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
lovie h wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
This was the worst experience of my life. The room had bugs, toilet was backed up and sliding door didn’t look. Would request service for the room (towels, maintenance) they would say they came and had never showed up. They on several occasions put people in front of my children and I for dinner, the bar and even with catching the shuttle bus. The night I finally had enough my son and I put our name on the list for the restaurant and a couple came after us to add their names to the list. We waited for over an hour and the next thing I see is the couple that came after us inside eating. I went in and asked to speak with someone and they told me there was no one to speak to. I told them I was going to the front desk and they laughed at me. When I made it to the front I then knew why they laughed. They lied about who the manager was and had me speaking to someone that was not even a supervisor. I waited at the front after I was told the manager had been called and I was waiting on him. After waiting for four hours they tell me to speak with him in the morning when he comes in at 8am. I didn’t want to stay there because of all the issues and all they told me was they could do nothing for me. My kids didn’t have dinner that night. This was a trip for my daughter’s sweet 16 birthday and I cried the first four days because of the rudeness and nastiness of the resort. However, the next morning after sleeping none I get dressed to go speak with the manager. I get to the front desk and no one wants to get me the manager. Just so happen I look over and there’s a guy in a different color shirt. I go to him and he’s a guy that was there the night before when I was requesting to speak to a manager. I went to him and I started to tell him what was going on and he stops me and tells me that since I am unhappy I need to leave. And that my children and I were no longer welcome there and that I had to go. They even called security to make sure I got out. I had to find another place to stay because we still had two more nights before we left. I had to pay more money out of pocket and the only thing they could tell me with certainty was that I needed to contact travel company for a refund. Before leaving I asked for names and and a number to contact someone about this and they would give me nothing. I can’t believe this hotel has as many stars as they do because that was literally the vacation (if you can even call it that) from hell!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Bambu
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We strive to provide the utmost in service and quality to all of our guests, and it is very disappointing for us to read you did not enjoy your stay at our property. At the same time we are very surprised to hear of the interaction you experienced with our staff, as this is quite unlike the normal experience that our guests get. Please give us time to investigate the matter of your concern so we can do appropriate actions. Unfortunately, from your Tripadvisor username we do not have specifics of your staym, and we would welcome the opportunity to gather more feedback directly from you. Please feel free to reach out to your travel agency with any concerns, or only in case of direct booking to our After Travel Complaints Department via complaints@riu.com. As already mentioned, it is not at all typical at our hotel, and we apologize that you left us thinking we were unable to consistently deliver every aspect of the RIU guest experience we pride ourselves on. We wish you had a better experience, and will continue to ensure quality. It is our hope you will consider giving us another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future. Warmest Regards, Hotel Riu Bambu Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Jose V wrote a review Aug 2021
San Salvador, El Salvador9 contributions10 helpful votes
The staff couldn’t care less if you are having a good time or not. The food is awful. The beach is behind large mounds of sea weed that the hotel doesn’t clean. The check in process is a pain. You can get so much better hotels in the area with what they charge here. Awful experience overall. Don’t come here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Book a different hotel chain. Don’t even consider staying here.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Bambu
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear josefvega, Thank you for exposing your opinion on TripAvisor. We are truly sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy our resort as we always want our guests to have a lovely time and as we are always maintaining a strong commitment to dedicated service, it is surprising to hear that our staff left you disappointed. Also, we regret to hear that the food and drink options did not meet your expectations, as we always try to satisfy the taste of our clients with our gastronomic variety. Despite the described inconveniences, we really hope that you can give us another opportunity to host you again and regain your trust. With our best hopes we remain, Hotel Riu Bambu Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicLa Altagracia ProvincePunta Cana
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Riu Bambu
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Riu Bambu?
Nearby attractions include Bavaro Beach (2.2 miles), Escapology (4.6 miles), and Vivaldi Cigars (4.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Riu Bambu?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Riu Bambu?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a bidet, and a sofa.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Riu Bambu?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Riu Bambu?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Riu Bambu?
Conveniently located restaurants include Montserrat Manor Restaurant, Herman 311 Bar & Restaurant, and Chic Cabaret & Restaurant Punta Cana.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Riu Bambu?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Riu Bambu?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Italian.
Is Hotel Riu Bambu accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.