We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Playa Arena Gorda Punta Macao, Punta Cana 23000 Dominican Republic
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Booking.com
$434
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/16/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Only 4 left at
$434
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/16/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Destinia.com
$325
View deal
Autograph$434
Hotels.com$434
Algotels$446
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2894)
360
Panoramas (8)
Pool & Beach (744)

About

#38 of 200 hotels in Punta Cana
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.4
Value
4.1
Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana is the perfect place to discover an elegant adults only vacation experience. Savor gourmet cuisine, artfully prepared cocktails and enjoy the impossibly blue ocean, doing as much or as little as you’d like. Delight in the freedom of spontaneity with the perfect mix of daily water sports, fitness programs, yoga on the beach, or mixology classes beside the pool and unforgettable evenings of sunset champagne toasts, world-class dining and incomparable entertainment.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Casino and Gambling
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Water park
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Kids club
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Adults only
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!

Location

Full view
51Somewhat walkable
Grade: 51 out of 100
12Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
3Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
2421Reviews261Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,679
  • 413
  • 183
  • 66
  • 84
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Kevin A wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
Everything about the hotel was good, the service was perfect, and the staff was good with JeanPaul he made my holiday more fun with good music and games we played and Cristian was the serving drinks which was 10/10 who was teamed up with kelvin moreno, Leonela, ozuna and mendez top notch
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Polar69_12 wrote a review Dec 2021
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom49 contributions31 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
My wife and I spent two glorious weeks in the Hideaway at this hotel. First of all the special thank you's to Wilqui and Jean Paul, Juan and Gracie. Wilqui and JP are the best Vibe team in any Royalton hotel, they kept us entertained and informed, we learnt Spanish, threw darts, laughed and sang everyday. Along with Jaun and Gracie (the best barstaff at any Royalton hotel) they made each day one of wonder and enjoyment, Jaun and Gracie make an excellent team and are always happy to see you! The hotel itself is clean and spacious, as I said we stayed in Hideaway, this was mainly due to a wish to avoid as many travellers as possible during the covid pandemic, because of this we made great use of the private pool and bar, private beach area and restaurant. When we first arrived at the main reception we were met by a bell boy who told us we would be taken to our private Hideawat reception, we were told our luggage would follow us and we were given a lift in one of the golf buggies. At reception we were given Champagne and Budweiser and an assortment of nibbles. In a short while the paperwork was completed and we were shown to our room. We didn't book a swim up room and ours, 1117, was on the ground floor at the rear of the block, this room faced a service road on the other side of a fence which could be busy at times but it never really bothered us. Our luggage was already in our room but it took some time for our hand luggage to arrive, this was a bit stressful as it had medication in it. Our room was exactly as described on the TUI website, the bed was huge and the plumbing sometimes a trial. Food, we ate in the Steakhouse, Tempanaki, Italian and Dorada and Buffet. The Steakhouse was fine, the Ribs were nice, Tempanaki wasn't amazing but at least it was better than the Italian. We went to the Italian on our first night and were unimpressed. We were seated in a corner in the dark and had to use the torch on a phone to read the menu. The Jade restaurant closed on our 3rd night and stayed closed until we left, this was a shame really but nothing we could change. The buffet was good for all meals, there is a Hideaway section which is nice - even though normal guests tried to sit there from time to time. The buffet has a wide selection of food as you would expect, tacos, pizza steak etc. We had most breakfasts in there, they make good smoothies. The Dorada is the Hideaway restaurant, its on the beach next to its own bar and we found it to be a bit hit and miss. For example on night we had salad for the starter and we were told to help ourselves from the salad bar, but the next time the waiter bought our salad starter, some people got bread rolls before ordering and some didnt, things like that. The food was good though, the lamb chops were great as was the Grouper fillet. All in all I think most people would enjoy this hotel, Hideaway pool is great with waiter drinks service and snacks at mealtimes, there is entertainment on all day ( number one Vibe team Wilqi and JP) and an aquafit session for 10 minutes or so. The girls in Hideaway reception were lovely as well but I've lost the card with thier names on :( UK travellers and COVID When we went the govt bought in the departures COVID test, this can be done at the hotel and you get results the same day, its about £30 each. The COVID test for up to 2 days after arrival in the UK can be done the day you land, we did ours at Manchester airports drivethrough testing facility and got same day results. Bottom line, this is a great hotel, the staff (big up JP and Wilqi numer one Vibe team in DR) are amazing and will go out of their way to do anything for you, we loved it so much this is on our list of hotels we would go back to.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
9 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Regional C M PUJ, Owner at Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana
Responded Dec 23, 2021
Dear Polar69_12, We strive to deliver a deluxe vacation to all of our guests and we appreciate very much your lovely feedback about our facilities, services and entertainment options. Comments like yours are our best reward. We work hard to treat our guest’s will! We’ll make sure that our staff gets the recognition they deserve. We are sincerely looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana and assure you that you will enjoy superior services and facilities on your next visit. Cordially, Hideaway at Royalton Team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jodie F wrote a review Yesterday
The hideaway was simply amazing, Jean Paul made our holiday he definitely brought the vibe! Would definitely come back to this hotel for Jean Paul alone! All staff have been fantastic to be honest, Cristian was an amazing butler and Kelvin moleno, Leonela, And Ozuna done an amazing job on the bar. we have had such a good time in this beautiful place! We will be back
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
JamTomUsh wrote a review Yesterday
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
Had the most amazing vacation to the hideaway Punta Cana. The vibe team definitely made the vacation, they work so hard and make amazing entertainment everyday!! All staff have been absolutely fantastic. The best butler has to be Cristian thank you for your hard work. Other shoutouts leonela, mendes & ozuna & kelvin moreno do a great job on the bar. AND KING JEAN PAUL IS THE BEST!!!!! He loves his sexy job hahaha Thank you for everything guys we loved our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
jacknicolle19 wrote a review Yesterday
London, United Kingdom6 contributions
We stayed for a week in November and the hotel was excellent. All the staff were very welcoming, the hotel was very clean, and the amenities provided were excellent. The private hideaway beach is excellent, nice and quiet with its own personal bar. Antonio, Yeison and Leonela are wonderful members of staff and a real asset to the hotel. They are attentive without being overbearing and always go the extra mile! Really made our trip!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Josue Espinal, Marketing at Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana
Responded yesterday
Dear jacknicolle19, Our principal objective is to make an unforgettable experience the vacation of our visitors and we are so glad to know that you really enjoyed your stay at Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana. We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you in the near future so that we can once again offer you an excellent service and continue creating the best experience for you. Sincerely, Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Iggelip wrote a review Nov 2022
Vaughan, Canada16 contributions19 helpful votes
+1
This was my wife's and I 3rd vacation at Hideaway @ Royalton Punta Cana. And what a great trip. We decided to do a 10 day vacation leaving from Toronto Canada. Great decision in our opinion. The extra days over the standard 7 days gave us a full 8 days of rest and relaxation. Check in at the hotel was amazing. The Hideaway reception staff were very attentive and quick to check us in. We love the whole experience at the Hideaway. Off to our fantastic room accompanied by our long time butler Naza, who we continue to request as he is truly amazing at his job. Thanks Naza for all you do. The rooms are bright and spacious. Clean and very tidy. Thanks to our maid Kenya. She does an amazing job and remembered us from our previous stays at the hotel. The Royalton fit team are amazing. Special thanks to David, Mirtha and Victor for the amazing morning yoga sessions, we can't wait to see you all again soon. We had the pleasure of meeting Yhosvanni (Gio) who is the manager at Hideaway and was always accessible to everyone to chat and listen to clients requests and our praise. A true leader and it reflects on all the staff at the resort. If you are looking for a clean resort. With amazing food. Great pools and beach. Give this amazing hotel a try. They will not disappoint.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Josue Espinal, Marketing at Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana
Responded yesterday
Dear guest, We would like to thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor this review so kind about your stay. We are happy that we have been able to exceed your expectations and that our facilities and our staff have contributed to a wonderful vacation at our hotel. It is a great pleasure to read how much you have enjoyed our resort. We are always very grateful for our guest’s feedback and are particularly pleased that you were able to experience just what we aim to so deeply: to deliver great and impressive service to all of our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful property and assure you that you will enjoy even superior services and facilities on your next visit. Sincerely, Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ceedee131 wrote a review Nov 2022
Bracknell, United Kingdom44 contributions16 helpful votes
Antonio the very best barman.the beach bar is the place to be to meet Antonio. Just ask him for any thing. Also the outlook from here is spectacular. The restaurant adjacent to here is very good as part of the all inclusive. Overall a nice hotel
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Josue Espinal, Marketing at Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana
Responded yesterday
Dear ceedee131, We are very grateful that you have visited us and for your wonderful comments. It is the best motivation to continue offering that quality service that characterizes us! We will be glad to welcoming you again in our hotel and assure you that you will enjoy superior services and facilities on your next visit. Sincerely, Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Happiness783831 wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
Travelled as a couple for 2 weeks ...we were allocated room 1217 building 3 of the hideaway section .. no problems at all.. lovely comfy bed great shower , spotless room.. it's a lovely place thru out , beach nice although narrow .. pools good...it was extremely busy with loads of kids in the main pools but never bothered us...the hideaway pool area is sold as a romantic retreat ... Forgot that it's a party pool...the restaurants are sold as unlimited reservation free dining... Here lies the problem.. the diamond club upgrade allows reservations .. you'll go to be told come back in one hour as all the tables are reserved,, the biggest gripe I have is the coffee situation at breakfast .. ur either shown to a table with no cups and you have to wait till clean ones become available or your lucky enough to have a cup but nobody to give you coffee.. if you get some you struggle to get a refill.. I believe there is a staffing issue throughout this resort which is a big shame coz other than the few things I've moaned about we loved it... If your going you won't be disappointed.. it's not perfect , but it's close.. enjoy ...
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Josue Espinal, Marketing at Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Happiness783831, We sincerely appreciate that you have taken the time to write such a nice review at our Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana resort. We are happy to read that you had such an amazing vacation. We will be glad to welcoming you again in our hotel and assure you that you will enjoy superior services and facilities on your next visit. Cordially, Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tom C wrote a review Nov 2022
Derby, United Kingdom4 contributions6 helpful votes
Inconsistency is the word which springs to mind when reflecting on our stay at this hotel. No 2 days were the same in terms of our experience, and it didn’t leave us feeling this was a 5* resort at the end of it. To start with the good, the food & drink options throughout the resort we found of both a good variety and good quality. The restaurants (in particular the steakhouse and Italian) were memorable for the tastiness of the meals. The gym is very good and modern and the water park next door at the splash resort is also excellent. However there were varying degrees of service quality throughout our stay. Some days we’d be waiting 15 minutes for our food to show up, other days over an hour. On another occasion the cleaner showed up at the end of the day, we waited 30 minutes for them to finish up and due to how late the cleaner showed up, our minibar was not refilled, leaving us without drinking water for the evening and following day. We didn’t have any problems getting into the restaurants (diamond club can reserve, other guests just show up and see if a table is free). However to add to the inconsistencies we had, on our 1st night when trying to get into the steakhouse we were told to return in 45 minutes, we returned, reminded the staff member and she asked us to wait another 10 minutes, we returned in 10 minutes and she still did not recognise us and I had to explain we’ve been told to wait twice. However on another night at the Italian We were asked to wait 30 minutes, and when returning we were greeted with a big smile and the member of staff remembered who we were (the kind of service you would hope for throughout your stay). What spoiled our holiday the most for us was the constant sales pitches. I get that it is part and parcel of a vacation like this, but the levels of sales pressure here were on another level to anywhere else I have experienced. You could barely go 5 minutes at the beach without someone trying to sell you the excursions/water sports/spa treatment’s/pictures with animals by the beach or cigars. I came on holiday to relax and read/listen to music by the beach and not be interrupted every 5 minutes (I am not exaggerating here, it was INCESSANT). Overall we did have a good time and it was nice to get away, I just feel this resort did not meet our expectations in terms of quality and relaxation.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Take US Dollars (Not Pesos). Everything at the resort is priced is USD.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Josue Espinal, Marketing at Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana
Responded 1 week ago
Dear tomcP6837SR, First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing your impressions with us about your stay at Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana. We’re saddened to read your recent review and the fact that we have failed to meet your expectations during your recent vacation with us. On another hand, we extend our sincere apologies for the impression you had of some of our restaurant staff. We will implement necessary improvements to continue giving the best possible service to our guests. As per the vendors you mentioned in your review, please receive our apologies if they did not perform properly or were very persistent. We would like to mention that the security of our guests is our major priority at all times, and all service providers should deliver a respectful service at all times. We would really appreciate the opportunity to welcome you here again and please rest assured that we would do everything in our power to ensure that you have an unforgettable experience with us during your next visit. Warm regards, Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GRH123 wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
Firstly the Hideaway part of the Royalton resort was great however overall it was quite limited. Just one extra restaurant compared to the normal Royalton guests. The room was ok, the fridge was not filled enough for my liking and sometimes was missed on a daily basis. The room was on the back and faces a road which sometimes got quite noisy with the vehicles heading towards the restaurants. The maids did a great job however they seem to come quite late, sometimes around 5pm when we were wanting to get changed ready for dinner. 6/10 We enjoyed the pool bar which offered the best drinks/cocktails made by Juan, Ozuna and Greisy who made the experience amazing! They were so friendly and we returned everyday for their great drinks . 10/10 Alongside the drinks, the Vibe team (Bernard and Jean Paul) were really friendly, helpful and always engaging with us so a big thanks to them. 10/10 The only downside for the entertainment was that the equipment they were given but that’s a reflection on the hotel rather than the staff. We visited El Dorado most days whether it was for breakfast, lunch or dinner and every time we got the service you would expect. 10/10 In terms of the other parts of the resort, things were not so good. We visited all the restaurants and we found Jade (Asian) was our least favourite as it was not very authentic and generally did not taste very nice. 2/10 Hunter Steakhouse was very inconsistent, one night it was sublime, the food and service were spot on. 10/10 We returned the following day for my 30th birthday at 6.50 for my 7pm reservation to have to wait outside for 60 minutes while other guests went it. The management just seemed very disorganised and just sat people as and when they liked rather than sticking to the reservations. To add to this, the service was poor, the waiter spilt water on the table and then kept delivering food to our table which we did not order. The steak wasn’t cooked to my desired request and everything just seemed rushed which summed up a disappointing birthday. 0/10 The buffet offers a big range of food from all different cuisines and the majority was ok. However on occasion the servers would take our drinks order but then never return until we had to ask again part way through our meal. One time we went the whole meal without being asked if I wanted to drink. 7/10 Zen offers an entertaining experience however I was expecting more than just chopped up veg and meat with rice. The server were helpful. 6/10 Grazie was a buffet at lunch and an Italian at dinner. It offered similar to the main buffet and the pizza was not very good at all. The dough just seemed to taste like cardboard. Again the service was fine and helpful. 6/10 The sports bar were not able to show on screen a big soccer match therefore all the fans had to watch it on the small screens to the side of the bar with no sound. The match kept buffering due to the poor connection and overall was a disappointing experience. 4/10 Another disappointing point was the nightlife which was pretty much non existent where most bars shut at 10pm. There were a few parties (white party and Dominican party which were ok mostly due to the Vibe team but other than this everything just went quiet at 10pm. 4/10 Overall I did not feel the hotel was a 5* and won’t be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Josue Espinal, Marketing at Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana
Responded 1 week ago
Dear A4568JRgaryh, First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing your impressions with us about your stay at Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana. We’re saddened to read your recent review and the fact that we have failed to meet your expectations during your recent vacation with us. We assure you the level of service you received is certainly not the service Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana is known for. We truly regret that you have chosen not to return to Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana, but should you change your mind, I would like to personally assure you that I will make sure that you will have an amazing holiday experience. Kindest regards, Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$274 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicLa Altagracia ProvincePunta Cana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
168
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HIDEAWAY AT ROYALTON PUNTA CANA - Updated 2022 Prices & Resort (All-Inclusive) Reviews (Dominican Republic)

Frequently Asked Questions about Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana
Which popular attractions are close to Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana?
Nearby attractions include Arena Gorda Beach (0.7 miles), Sky Casino Punta Cana (0.3 miles), and Punta Blanca Mall (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana?
Conveniently located restaurants include Toro, Dinner in the Sky Punta cana, and Restaurant Garden Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana have airport transportation?
Yes, Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.