We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bahia Principe Luxury Ambar

Save
Share
Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana 23000 Dominican Republic
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
43 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$182
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/26/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
BahiaPrincipe
$182
View deal
Trip.com
$184
$141
View deal
SAVE $43
Free cancellation until 10/25/21
Expedia.com$184
Hotels.com$182
Travelocity$182
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (15211)
Pool & Beach (3841)
Room & Suite (1772)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
Read more
Updated 06/25/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Bahia Principe Luxury Ambar
Updated 06/25/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#60 of 156 hotels in Punta Cana
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Facilities and services 2 pool Sun terrace with sun umbrellas and loungers Relaxation zone with Bali beds Outdoor Jacuzzi BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additionalcharge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (free) Entertainment amphitheatre Wedding gazebo 1 buffetrestaurant 3 speciality restaurants 4 bars 1 snack- bar Gazebo de bodas Smokers' lounge with bar service (cigar menu with additional charge) Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms 528 Deluxe Junior Suites Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Ceiling fan Air conditioning Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making machine Minibar Safe Butler service 24 hour room service Evening turndown service Pillow menu 2 disabled rooms for a maximum of 3 adults Prime location right on the sea front Exclusive lake-style pool Aroma menu WiFi (free) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Casino and Gambling
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Diving
Tennis court
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Adults only
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Laptop safe
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
12345Reviews3127Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 7,249
  • 2,984
  • 1,276
  • 495
  • 341
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Ani N wrote a review Jun 15
Charlottesville, Virginia1 contribution
The place is is decent for what you pay and the restaurants are great. However poor communication and management/lobby manager lack so much organization that something has gone wrong and our vacation time has been wasted daily by 30 mins to an hour daily. First off our airport transportation was suppose to be included to and from, but we never confirmed with us so the day before our trip was spent trying to make sure we had transportation from the airport. They told us they could not provide it as they needed 5 days notice. When we arrived and tried to arrange the taxi back, they told us it was not available despite originally saying included transportation only needed to be booked in advance, so we just had to schedule it through booking.com because dealing with the concierge became too stressful. They don’t leave wet paint signs when painting columns so we sat on it and spent over 30 mins trying to wash our clothes in the sink before the stain set. One of our limited a la cart dinners was wasted because it was wrongly listed on the map, after walking around for 30 mins we found it was a closed abandoned building (Il Capriccio) . The lobby is always full of people waiting for everything and clearly it is because the staff is disorganized. We scheduled our covid tests and they didn’t tell us that we needed to print our itinerary as well when we registered. We showed up 30 mins early for our 9am and was told to wait until our scheduled time, we came back at 9, they told us we needed to go back and get the itinerary printed when you could have told us that 30 mins ago or when we first registered so we had to wait in line again for another 30 minutes while they struggled get everyone’s itinerary printed last minute. It was a mess of frustrated guests and stressed staff. The worst part is how the Front Desk staff talk to you when you let them know, like they don’t understand or they don’t really care that this was not the kind of experience guests should be having. What makes up for it is the incredibly gracious and friendly staff. Desiree at the pool, Luis and NoÑo at Palmyra buffet, Gloria and Selena at the coffee shop especially but everyone gave friendly greeting and offered assistance. Please remember to tip them if you come. As for us, we will most like never return to this Bahia.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otro at Bahia Principe Luxury Ambar
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest, We apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced. Even though you feel a bad breath with this unfortunate situation, we are seriously committed to the achievement of our guests' satisfaction, because your opinion is one of our top priorities and we do not want you to have a mistaken perception from us. However, it is important to note that the Hotel does not handle these tests, since although they are carried out within our facilities for the convenience of our clients, they are handled by an external laboratory. Please do not doubt that these comments will be sent to the corresponding departments to escalate the situation and prevent similar situations in the future. For this reason, we really hope to consider coming back to this Caribbean paradise in the Dominican Republic and enjoy all our facilities and services. Kind regards, Yubi Sandoval Online Reputation Bahia Principe Luxury Ambar
Read more
Michele C wrote a review Jun 14
9 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
I just got back yesterday. Trip was June 6-12. Had a great time. Some pros and cons: PROS: Staff is very nice especially the pool servers like MARLENE and entertainment ISMAEL. Room was cleaned to perfection each day. Food was great in the restaurants. Cleanliness of the entire resort was amazing especially during Covid. Beauty of the grounds exceptional. Coffee in the coffee shop best I've ever had. Weather awesome. Swim up rooms amazing. CONS: The noise level in the hallways is insane. There is no insulation to the front door so you hear everything in the halls. Drunk people coming in at 2am and hearing entire conversations of anyone passing along. So I was up at any time anyone decided to talk in the halls. Landscaping machines starting at 7:30 am was annoying. No one told us we had to do a Covid test to return. Found that out from others at the pool. Staff never gave us our Covid test results in paper form, so when we got to the airport we were screwed. The staff never put it under our door. We thought the results were sent in electronically. We never knew we needed paper form. Many times no where to get food during 11am-1pm. Weird. The buffet closes at 10:30 and doesn't reopen until 7pm. Told us to go to the pool food buffet at 11am but that was closed. MUST make reservations for all the restaurants before you get there. They are all sold out or you have to wait until 9pm seatings. How are we supposed to know to book our dinners before we even arrive to the resort? I wouldn't even know who to call. I wanted to ride the shuttle to the airport with friends I met in the pool and the front desk said they only offer to get you a taxi for $40 USD. I said why can't I ride on the shuttle with everyone else. They said they don't do shuttles. So I get the taxi, where I had to go to get shuttled to the pick up and a taxi picks me up. He speaks no English and said he needs to make a stop to an ATM. WHAT? I am alone in PC and afraid at this moment. I turn on my cell location services and text my friends. He tells me we are not going to the airport. I start to cry. He calls someone and is yelling in Spanish. I tell him to PLEASE take me back to the hotel. I get out my Google Translator. He takes me back. Tells me I was the wrong taxi. They put me in another taxi. No one apologizes. I am scared and shaking. I make it to the airport scared. TIP your waiters, servers, groundskeepers, whoever. They make about $200 USD per month.. YES MONTH. Bring lots of $1 and $5 bills. The front desk never has change. Seems so bad as that is what their staff needs. Also, bring lots of sunscreen over 30. I only found 15 SPF and it was $30. I brought 45 and I tanned through it. The sun is no joke there. Not much swimming in the water the seaweed is a major issue. They have a tractor going NON STOP at the water's edge making huge piles of it. The noise of the tractor is not fun. Things are not open normal yet. They should have the Sports Bar open all the time. The resort sits in a group of other resorts. They are ALL CLOSED so it's kind of creepy. Hopefully they get back up and running to normal capacity soon. wish I would have known. Lastly such a disappointment the swim up bar was not open on the swim up side. Weird. The other side is open. Covid was the excuse. So why have the other side open? They could easily wear masks on the swim up side. That was a big CON for me. Calling the front desk it rings about 30 times before they pick up. Often don't pick up at all and have a recording that they are busy. Hard to get help on the phone. All in all it was a fun trip as I met a bunch of great new friends, but the resort needs to work on a lot.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Get a swim up room
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otro at Bahia Principe Luxury Ambar
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest, We cannot tell you how sorry we are for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your recent stay with us. Please rest assured that your observations have been taken in the highest consideration and shared with the General Management of our Resort in order to analyze the points you mentioned. It is our sincere hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future in any of our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, and demonstrate that our commitment is towards our beloved guests as our main goal is to achieve their complete satisfaction. Looking forward to hearing from you before your next visit so that we can take care of all the details prior your arrival… Kindest Regards, Yubi Sandoval Online Reputation Bahia Principe Luxury Ambar
Read more
Sara L wrote a review Jun 13
Lincolnton, North Carolina12 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Bahia Principe Luxury Ambar did not disappoint! This resort was beautiful and so well kept but our favorite detail by far was the interactions with the staff. We had excellent service from almost every employee that we encountered during our stay (May 24-May 30.) My best friend and I traveled together and stayed in a beautiful swim up room in one of the buildings closest to the pool and beach buffet restaurant. We are in our mid 20s for reference of what we loved/didn't love. Some interesting notes from our stay-- -Marlene and Desiree at the pool are the best waitresses you could ask for! Tip them well and you'll never have an empty cup. They'll remember your drink order and names day after day! -Bring your own YETI/similar insulated cup as the bartenders will fill these up, giving you bigger drinks per fill up than the small plastic cups that they hand out -Disappointed that the swim up bar in the pool was closed during our stay but understandable with COVID -DEFINITELY bring your own higher SPF sunscreen from home (and bring more than you think you'll need)- this is very expensive (around $35 per bottle) at the resort and the choices for high SPF options are very limited/sold out very quickly. For most of our stay, the highest SPF that we could find at the resort was SPF30. -If you are considering a spa treatment, I recommend booking early in your stay, before you get too burnt (can you tell I got burnt?) - they also do massages right on the beach! -As many of the other reviews noted, seaweed is a huge issue this time of year on the beach. We watched the sunrise one morning and laid on the beach another day but mainly spent our days at the pool for this reason. Not a deal breaker by any means but we definitely weren't expecting the amount of seaweed. Keep in mind that the resort does try to clean it daily but that doesn't make it disappear... -Nightlife - the nighttime entertainment was mostly next door at Aquamarine but if we wouldn't have made friends to give us that information, we never would have known. They performed nightly themed shows which were adorable! The place to go after the entertainment is the Sports Bar to play pool, dance, and drink with the younger scene. We wish we would have known this earlier in our trip! PS- I believe they have a disco that is usually open as well but closed due to COVID right now -COVID testing for return flight - easy and efficient. They have this down to a science. Be sure to book your COVID test at check in! -Tips - be sure to bring small bills with you for tips. I brought $1s, $5s, $10s, and $20s but ended up needing all small bills and the resort couldn't ever make change for us. -Seats at the pool - towards the end of our trip, seats at the pool were very limited and you had to get out there early to claim yours. We didn't love having to fight for chairs but it was only for a few days out of the week. -Food - our favorite restaurant was Tequila but the buffet always has something for everyone too. We heard great things about MEAT but that wasn't our favorite. Breakfast mimosas at both buffets are so good! -Samana Excursion - We did the Samana Excursion (booked through the resort's website) which included a few boat rides, horseback riding to a waterfall, visiting the island of Samana for a few hours, a 'safari ride' through the city, a Dominican lunch at the horse ranch, and several hours on a charter bus- and we highly recommend this trip! It lasted literally all day (I believe 12 or 13 hours) so we were exhausted after but it was worth it. - humidity - we brought curling irons and flat irons to fix our hair while there but didn't use them once. The humidity there is next level so just embrace what you've got-- we probably wouldn't bring these again since we know now that our hair will do whatever it wants to there! We are absolutely already planning a trip to come back and couldn't recommend this place enough!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otro at Bahia Principe Luxury Ambar
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest, Dear Brenda, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel.It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Please be assured that your observations have been taken in the highest consideration and shared with the General Manager of our Resort to analyze the points you mentioned. It’s our sincere hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the near future in any of our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, and demonstrate you our commitment to excellence. Regards from Dominican Republic! Yubi Sandoval Online Reputation Bahia Principe Luxury Ambar
Read more
Jason C wrote a review Jun 12
5 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
We visited the adults only Ambar resort. This is by far the best vacation I have ever experienced; a slice of heaven on earth! I couldn’t be more grateful! Even in the midst of the COVID-19 pandemic, this entire vacation was beautiful from start to finish. From the moment I stepped foot on the Bahia -Principe resort I was treated like royalty. Everyone is so sweet and accommodating. The staff and management truly went the extra mile to make sure everything was perfect for my husband and I during our stay. Our days were spent at the breathtaking beach and on the beautiful pool patio, which the staff works tirelessly to keep sanitized. Our evenings were spent eating delicious cuisine and drinking the finest wines in Ambar’s many restaurants, including MEATS, Limbo, Portofino, Las Brisas, Las Palmyras , Thali and The Greek. My husband and I enjoyed walking the sprawling grounds after dinner and taking in the beauty of the tropical landscape and smelling the aroma of the flowers. There are some notable staff members, I would like to recognize for their kindness and their diligence, in no particular order. Each of these employees went out of their way to make our stay even more memorable and special: Aguiles (manager) Gloria (beach server) Santiago (server/ manager) Vincent(server) Michelly (server) Ezekial (security) Eddy (server) Horam (Butler) Rodrigo (bar manager) Victor (server) Rosanna (COVID test liaison ) Yanet (maid) Negra (spa masseuse) Olga (spa masseuse) Enriques (manager) Nairobi (front desk clerk) Lissy (hostess at Las Brisas) Lucas (server at Las Brisas) Next summer, we plan to come back with our son. I’m excited to begin teaching him Spanish so I can introduce him to the most beautiful place in the world: The Dominican Republic!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otro at Bahia Principe Luxury Ambar
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest, Let us assure you that we are very proud to know that our Bahia Principe Luxury Ambar is the best hotel you have ever been to. It is an honor to know that Aguiles, Gloria, Santiago, Vicente, Albania among all the others mentioned, gave our guests the natural warmth and hospitality that characterizes the Dominican people. Thank you for sharing your nice comments with others on TripAdvisor. Looking forward to welcoming you once again in our Bahia Principe Luxury Ambar Hotel, one of the most beautiful in the world! Best regards, Yubi Sandoval Online Reputation Bahia Principe Luxury Ambar Hotel
Read more
Adrian D wrote a review Jun 11
Smolec, Poland15 contributions4 helpful votes
No deserve for a name "luxury". the hotel is average. Noisy . A lot of US guests who are loud. Food not so good as expected. It was the worst hotel of Bahia , i visited 5 before. One restaurant was great - Limbo, a la carte ( can be called luxury). the employes of restaurants, bars, and coffee shop were nice and polite. they should be treated better. The Internet was patetic, after 15 minutes disconnected, not useful.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otro at Bahia Principe Luxury Ambar
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest, All feedback from our guests is valued, to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us. We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced. It’s our sincere hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the near future in any of our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, and demonstrate you our commitment to excellence. Regards from Dominican Republic! Kind regards, Yubi Sandoval Online Reputation Bahia Principe Luxury Ambar
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$149 - $957 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gran bahia principe ambar hotel punta cana
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicLa Altagracia ProvincePunta Cana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
528
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bahia Principe Luxury Ambar
Which popular attractions are close to Bahia Principe Luxury Ambar?
Nearby attractions include Arena Gorda Beach (0.1 miles), RIU Room Escape Games Punta Cana Code to Escape (0.7 miles), and Pacha Discotheque (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Bahia Principe Luxury Ambar?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Bahia Principe Luxury Ambar?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Bahia Principe Luxury Ambar?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Bahia Principe Luxury Ambar?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bahia Principe Luxury Ambar?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kukua Beach Club & Restaurant, Restaurant Maiko, and Restaurant Garden Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bahia Principe Luxury Ambar?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Bahia Principe Luxury Ambar have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Bahia Principe Luxury Ambar offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Bahia Principe Luxury Ambar offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Bahia Principe Luxury Ambar?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Is Bahia Principe Luxury Ambar accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.