We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Arena Gorda – Macao, Punta Cana 23000 Dominican Republic
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$154
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/16/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$154
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/16/22
Agoda.com
Only 1 left at
$114
View deal
Priceline$154
Hotels.com$154
Travelocity$154
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (8885)
360
Panoramas (3)
Room & Suite (1079)

About

#124 of 200 hotels in Punta Cana
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.1
Value
4.1
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Jacuzzi Sun terraces Lounger, sun umbrella and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Meeting and convention room 1 buffet restaurant and 5 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 16 bars Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, disco and casino Rooms 756 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair dryer and a full range of amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda). Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Baby Station Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teen's club Other Services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) WiFi in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Casino and Gambling
Babysitting
Parking
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fitness classes
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Mini golf
Tennis court
Water park
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Nightclub / DJ
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
Spanish
9265Reviews1679Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 4,069
  • 2,502
  • 1,381
  • 619
  • 695
Traveler safety
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Laniece M wrote a review Dec 5
Tobyhanna, Pennsylvania, United States2 contributions
Currently staying at Bahia Grand Punta Cana. Trip 12/5/22-12/10/22. Arrive on the 5th and ready to leave. Checked in was slow, but no big deal. Walked in the room. One it was the wrong room. I paid for a king and got a double. The room is dated, bugs crawling on the dresser furniture had significant wear. Sat on the bed . You can feel the springs. Call the front desk and no one answered. We walked back to the office. They saw the error gave us another room. This one was darn near a mile from the front desk. The shuttle dropped us off without telling us which building was 10. We got to 10. Hallway was dark. Lights didn't work. Got to the room . Without using the key, the door opened. We couldn't call the front desk because the phone didn't work. I'm getting a robbery setup vibe. We tried to get a shuttle back. None would stop, so I was angry about walking a mile for repair request. Finally a hijacked trolley stopped for us. Thankful they hijacked a cart. They must of got tired of waiting. Front desk promised to have it fixed. We ate dinner at their subpar buffet. Suggestion, Skip the wine! It's the nastiest wine I've ever tasted. Both wine and red. Get back to the poorly lit room... the door still doesn't lock. If you are traveling as a couple, there's only one outlet to charge your phone. You have to sacrifice lighting for charging your phone. The bed is awful. I can feel the springs. If you have reservations, cancel! Find a better resort!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
David M wrote a review Dec 5
London, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
Having stayed at a Bahia residence in Mexico I expected good things but was very disappointed. We had problems with our room (the safe, the phone and the main door were all broken). When I tried to resolve the problems I had a series of unhelpful interactions which didn't resolve the issues and ended with speak to guest services (who were never available). Avoid, avoid, avoid.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Avoid - terrible customer service
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otro at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana
Responded yesterday
Dear David, We are sorry for all the inconveniences caused during your stay in our facilities and that these could have tarnished our image. We inform you that we have already sent your comment to the Hotel, for its due management. Always at your disposal, Online Reputation Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ryan B wrote a review Dec 5
1 helpful vote
This place was amazing! It had food good enough for Amar and Juliana! I recommend this place for teenagers and family's. The casino is great and is going to treat Zack and Ryan very well. Overall great experience. 10/10
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otro at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Client, We appreciate that you have chosen us as your vacation destination and that you consider our resort to be amazing. Thank you for recommending us! Best regards, Online Reputation Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jan c wrote a review Nov 2022
+1
I would like to say we had a great time whilst at grand Punta Cana. We have made some great memories and forever lasting friends that we can call family. They were extremely accommodating. The service was exceptional as well. I would like to give a very special thank you to BELANGER from the entertainment team at Punta Cana he made my stay extra special. He has made my vacation a forever lasting memory and I will be definitely returning. From the very first day I can say he was very welcoming and I am very happy to have met him. He made sure we had everything we need and just his presence was a joy. He’s the most sincere, happy and very genuine person his attitude to all the guest was excellent. I would also like to say thank you to Carlos, Elizabeth, Fabio, Rio and the rest of the entertainment team every single one of them made it so enjoyable in every kind of way. Each of them had made sure to get us involved in all the activities such volleyball, bean bag toss game, karaoke and the dancing every single night which was amazing. Also would like to thank all the singers whilst we stayed was beautiful. They are an exceptional team and the manager/boss should be very proud of them all.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: I would advise getting repellent😂😂
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otro at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Guest, It is a source of pride to know that we have far exceeded your expectations. Messages like yours delight us to continue working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our service. Looking forward to your next stay! Best regards, Online Reputation Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mike C wrote a review Nov 2022
Whitby, Canada420 contributions142 helpful votes
We booked last minute to meet some friends who were staying here as well. We had looked at some of the reviews after we booked and were a little hesitant but in the end we all had a great time, so I will detail the important, the good and the bad. First of all this resort is massive. our room 18102 was nearest the main hotel lobby where most of the shops, shows and bar areas were located. If you wanted to go to the beach it was about a kilometer from our room BUT they do run golf cart type shuttles all day to get you back and forth, we just chose to walk since we ate like kings and perhaps drank like em too and it was good excercise. It is predominantly spanish speaking but we always managed to be able to communicate with everyone. The staff everywhere we went always say hello and with a smile. al acarte restaurants all were good BUT i would have to give the italian one a bad score, it just seemed like we were not even there. Other people came in after us and were served before us, I have no idea why but it is what it is, the rest of the restaurants we had no problems with and the food was excellent. The bad, the resort has slippery tiles everywhere... around the pool, the lobby area so if it was wet, you really had to watch your step. I didnt see anyone slip, and I didnt but you just have to be careful. The bugs ....there is always a breeze blowing but one night it was not so breezy and we had quite a few bug bites. I chose to wear long pants at night and was not affected but others in our party did. Bring bug spray if you dont like bugs ...just in case. The good, the staff were all amazing, from the grounds keepers, bartenders, wait staff, housekeeping always smiled and helped out when we were trying to learn some extra spanish words. There is no reserving of beach lounges, there were tons and we basically got the same ones everyday going at different times. Our room was nice and clean with a small fridge that held a couple cold beers, water and some soda, we left a tip every day and it was stocked well thru our trip. We didnt feel we had to tip to get better service but it was our opportunity to help give back since basically this was our first trip coming out of covid restrictions and I know the locals suffered. The important, download the Bahia Principe app, we were able to book our a la carte restaurants with it and checkout as well. Two days before you travel you need to go online and get your QR code to exit the Dominican Replublic, make sure your travel agent or tour rep gives you the right one. There are scams out there are if they ask you to pay 10 bucks at the end ... its a scam, I almost got hit with it. All in all we paid just under 3k for this trip, for that value I give this resort 3.5 stars, if they had top shelf liquor it would have been 4 stars, you could have upgraded to get better quality beers and liquor but we chose not too, the beer was local and it was good same with the local rum.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otro at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Guest, All of us at our hotel are passionate about serving and exceeding our guests' expectations. We greatly appreciate your positive comments and rest assured that your feedback is important to us. We look forward to your next stay! Best regards, Online Reputation Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PaulMaryRC wrote a review Nov 2022
Eastbourne, United Kingdom191 contributions119 helpful votes
We stayed at the Luxury Amber, we have been several times before Covid and disappointingly the hotel has gone downhill. It is all inclusive but we have had no tonic water for the past 5 days and no indication when they can sort it out. There is less choice of fruit, bars are poorly staffed which mean longer queues. There are a wide range of restaurants some of them extremely good. Unfortunately unless you book on your day of arrival you will find them fully booked for the next 3-4 days, unless you want to eat at 9.30pm or 5.30pm. We will not be staying at this complex again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Go to the luxury amber, it is better than the others on the site. Put a towel on one of the beds...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otro at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, We are sorry for all the inconveniences caused during your stay in our facilities and that these could have tarnished our image. We inform you that we have already sent your comment to the Hotel, for its due management. Always at your disposal, Online Reputation Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kimberley J wrote a review Nov 2022
Newcastle and Gateshead, United Kingdom14 contributions14 helpful votes
Ok i will start this review with European 4/5 starbis not the same as a Caribbean 4/5 however this hotel is a soild 4. The grounds and rooms are kept extremely clean hats off to all the cleaning and maintenance staff for that. You cant fault the cleanliness of this hotel. Food- everynight the main buffet as a different theme. Plenty of choice for all everything from fresh pasta and meats being cooked for you to alot of other choices too. You literally cant go hungry and you cant say there isnt something for everyone. The themed restaurants our favourite was the Indian and the garden grill in our opinion best food and the beat portions and customer service. However we really didnt like the Italians worst service worat portions. Pools are kept clean bar staff are great. We got told by our travel agent to bring dom peso's however everything is priced in dollars so to make things easier id bring dollars. We done three trips during our stay, santo domingo day trip a very long day and personally not worth the money of it. The catalina trip which was fab shout out to 'mother hen' fab tour guide ehoch made it fab day worth the price we done snorkeling its such a good trip. We also done monkey world shout out to ruddy fab tour guide also and amazing trip the monkey climb on you and its great. However one negative is the mosquitos pack plenty of repellent and we learnt coconut oil applied at a nightime and wash off in the morning will help with this.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Bring dollars! Bring mosquito repellent
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otro at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Client, We appreciate you sharing your opinion with us and mentioning the excellent service, the clean rooms, the gardens, etc. Regarding insects, please allow us to inform you that due to the tropical climate and lush vegetation surrounding our facilities and, taking into account that we are located in a protected mangrove area, the presence of certain species coming from outside cannot be avoided at all times; however, we do not have insect infestations in the resort. Nevertheless, since the well-being of our guests is our priority, we are very strict with sanitary measures. Best regards, Online Reputation Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hya7 wrote a review Nov 2022
Birmingham, United Kingdom7 contributions7 helpful votes
We arrived on the 19 November for a 7 night stay and booked with TUI. The hotel facilities were good, the staff generally were great. Ivelise, Emmanuel, Yanney and Mercedes at main service area were the best. At the beach restaurant Juan was so entertaining, happy, lively and service was great. BUT the hotel room was the worst I have ever stayed in. Tied old fashioned room, Stained old bedding, dark dingy room, dirty stained bathroom flooring, mosquitoes infested. The rooms need an upgrade, the photos on the site are misleading. The white bed frames in the photos, are dirty and dusty. Many of the guests that arrived with us were complaining about the same issues. If you suffer with SADs this hotel is not for you and could kill your mood. So to balance my review staff great, just treat them with respect and you’ll get great service. The facilities good. Food good, thank you chief’s. But the rooms let this hotel down.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otro at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Client, We appreciate that you have chosen us as your vacation destination and that you mention the facilities, our collaborators, etc. Regarding your comments about the condition of the rooms, we would like to inform you that we are very strict with the maintenance measures we give to all our facilities. However, we are sorry to hear that our rooms did not meet your expectations, as we certainly always try to meet all the needs of our valued guests, as well as provide a satisfactory stay. Always at your disposal, Online Reputation Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisa F wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
Please do not be out off by the negative reviews we have Just returned from 2 week stay at Bahia grand punta cana and was one of the best holidays we have had The rooms are cleaned daily the pools also cleaned daily Yes food in the Buffett is very repetitive and sometimes cold but we always found something to eat no problem Book all your al a carte restaurants for your stay before you arrive using the app and you will get all the ones that you would like no problem We also pre checked in via the bahia app before we arrived this saved us a lot of time when we got there All the staff that we encountered digging our stay were helpful and friendly always laughing and dancing what beautiful people The staff work so very hard from reception staff bar staff waitress/waiters cooks housekeeping everyone And the entertainment team what a bunch they are they all work exceptionally hard to keep you entertained and try to get everyone involved always happy smiling singing dancing and messing around was never a full moment special shout out to our favs on the entertainment team Carlos , Elizabeth, and the naughty duo Blengar and Francy what a wonderful team at the main pool. There are also many quieter pools of that’s what you prefer but main for us was the one The beach is lovely but seaweed is a problem again the workers work tirelessly to keep it as clean as possible and not so they have much control over it but they certainly try their best As expected with this kinda country mozzies are rife be sure to take plenty of mozzie spray! All in all a fantastic experience thank you Bahia and all your wonderful staff
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Lots of mozzie spray Trip to Catolina island is a must!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otro at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Client, All of us at our hotel are passionate about serving and exceeding our guests' expectations. We greatly appreciate your positive comments. Please let us know of your next visit to Punta Cana at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in the Dominican Republic. Best regards, Online Reputation Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lawrence S wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
We visited last month, hotel check In didn’t take as long as people made out, room was clean, fridge stocked, slightly dated but you don’t go to the Caribbean to sit in the room. Most of the staff were pleasant enough and the food was nice, especially the Japanese restaurant. The pool areas were clean and tidy plenty of sunbeds available. The beach is beautiful, there is some seaweed sometimes, it’s natural , but staff did their best to keep on top of it. The free kayak hire is worth a go we enjoyed that. The mosquitoes are a bit of a pain but not the hotels fault, just take some spray. The saona island trip is a long day but glad we did it, place is gorgeous. If your looking for perfection spend more money to get a holiday experience more personal, but if your looking for a reasonably priced hotel in the dr this one isn’t bad, not the best I’ve experienced but definitely not the worst we enjoyed it here :)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otro at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Client, We appreciate that you share your opinion with us and that you consider our resort as pleasant. Looking forward to your next stay! Always at your disposal, Online Reputation Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$134 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gran bahia principe punta cana hotel punta cana, punta cana gran bahia principe
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicLa Altagracia ProvincePunta Cana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
756
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BAHIA PRINCIPE GRAND PUNTA CANA $105 ($̶1̶6̶5̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Resort (All-Inclusive) Reviews - Dominican Republic

Frequently Asked Questions about Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana
Which popular attractions are close to Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana?
Nearby attractions include Arena Gorda Beach (0.6 miles), Splash Water Park (0.7 miles), and Pacha Discotheque (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kukua Beach Club & Restaurant, Sa Roqueta By Casa Balear, and Restaurant Maiko.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana have airport transportation?
Yes, Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.