We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Casa Colonial Beach & Spa

Save
Share
Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata 57000 Dominican Republic
Lowest prices for your stay
$437
$338
View Deal
SAVE $99
Hotels.com
Official Hotel
$437
$338
View Deal
SAVE $99
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com$437
Orbitz.com$437
Travelocity$437
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (609)
360
Panoramas (50)
Room & Suite (236)

About

#1 of 53 hotels in Puerto Plata
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Located on the exotic north coast of the Dominican Republic and directly on the crystal water, Casa Colonial Beach & Spa is the ultimate, world-class resort.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Evening entertainment
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Infinity pool
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Spa
Couples massage
Concierge
Butler service
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Quaint
625Reviews53Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 499
  • 75
  • 17
  • 17
  • 17
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Vacation278999 wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions5 helpful votes
Super fun hotel with beautiful rooms, wonderful food and a great staff. It was like hanging out at a billionaire's house when he was gone on vacation. There are other hotels nearby, but we felt wonderfully isolated, and there are so many nice touches that make this place shine that it would take pages to describe them all. My wife and I were looking for a special place for a big anniversary trip, and this hotel definitely matched up to the occasion.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SocialMediaVH, Social Media Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Responded Mar 6, 2020
It was great to hear from you and thank you so much for sharing your beautiful feedback with us. There is nothing more rewarding than to learn how our guests enjoyed their times at our hotel so much. All of us remain encouraged by your kind words. Thank you once again for your review and we wish to welcome you back soon.
Read more
celticdoc wrote a review Feb 2020
Coon Rapids, Minnesota143 contributions25 helpful votes
It is hard to express how pleased we were with our stay. We planned a couple night stay before our whale watching trip and we wished we could have stayed longer. The room was phenomenal and the staff were excellent. We loved the meals in the restaurant. We would highly recommend it here.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from SocialMediaVH, Social Media Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Responded Mar 4, 2020
Thank you very much for such a positive review, especially for your kind comments about the great service provided by our staff, it's a true pleasure to know that your overall experience with us was enjoyable and met your expectations. We look forward to having the honor of being your hosts in the future.
Read more
Raymond F wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
Horrible experience. I’ve never been to a hotel that literally try to hold me hostage at the resort. Let me explain I had reservation from January 21-24, when I checked out I had a friend picking me up from the resort to take me back to Santiago and they wouldn’t let him in onto to the property. I try having the front desk calling the gate to let my friend in and they wouldn’t call. I literally had to leave the hotel and walk 2 miles to get my friend from the front security gate. When I did get my friend what happened next is totally unacceptable from a hotel that’s charging high rates. So I’m loading my bags into my friends car. All of a sudden 2 local taxi drivers ARE allowed through the security gate. They pull up and start asking my friend if he’s an Uber driver and they tell my friend that he can’t drive me out of here, that I’m their client. that’s when it turned into a verbal altercation. I can keep going but that’s the short version. Very bad security and horrible service on the part of this hotel. I personally will never spend 1 Dominican peso here, let alone an American dollar. The woman at the front desk that wouldn’t allow her guest to be picked up by their own friend on property should be embarrassed of herself and her establishment and the way she treated a paying client. I wasn’t staying at your establishment at no charge and the local taxi drivers that want my business aren’t your guest. I am. Horrible vacation!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from SocialMediaVH, Social Media Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Responded Feb 10, 2020
Thank you so much for your recent visit to Casa Colonial Beach & Spa. We want you to know that as property within the Playa Dorada complex we must abide by its rules. As a hotel we put at your disposal a free transportation to take you to the entrance of the complex where you could board your friend's car. We are very sorry that this situation has harmed the whole experience at our hotel.
Read more
S&K wrote a review Jan 2020
New York City, New York2 contributions
Casa Colonial is a truly special place - a restorative refuge where every detail is thoughtfully curated to ensure an exceptional experience. The physical space is magical, with an open, graceful minimalism - warmed by carefully chosen materials and charming details - throughout. The grounds are lush and beautifully landscaped and the pool deck is extraordinary - intimately scaled and elevated at the third floor level, providing sweeping views of the beautiful beach below. The on-site spa is lovely and the dining experience at Lucia was consistently exceptional. All of this is elevated by the professionalism, graciousness, kindness, and genuine warmth of the staff. Everyone we encountered was delightful, and we cannot wait to return to see these “friends” again, and to renew and restore in this warm and serene “home away from home.”
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from SocialMediaVH, Social Media Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Responded Jan 24, 2020
We are so pleased to hear that you had such a pleasant vacation and enjoyed the resort and the restaurant. The resort team works hard to provide excellent service. We will certainly pass on your compliments to the entire team. We certainly hope we are able to welcome you back to Your Home Away From Home very soon.
Read more
michaelc0459 wrote a review Jan 2020
New York City, New York82 contributions34 helpful votes
+1
I’d say of all the places I have stayed around the world, only 2-3 of them deserve a true 5-star rating. This is one of them. Our stay here at Casa Colonial Beach and Spa was truly exceptional in every regard. From check in, to lounging at the beach, to dining, they made are stay one I will remember forever. At check in, we were walked into a breath-taking colonial-style lobby, seated at a beautiful wooden desk and offered champagne and snacks. We were then taken to our room, which was upgraded to one with a view of the ocean. It had a spacious balcony on the second floor with a marvelous view. The property small enough to avoid the feel of a large resort-style properties that are all over the Dominican Republic, but it is large enough to feel like you have your own beachside mansion. Their pool offers an unbeatable view of the ocean and beach. Food and drinks offered poolside are affordable and all of high quality. We loved our bartenders!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from SocialMediaVH, Social Media Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Responded Jan 7, 2020
Thank you for your recent review of Casa Colonial Beach & Spa. We are very happy to hear that you consider the resort as "A true 5-star property". The team works very hard in providing handcrafted experiences for all of our distinguished guests and I am glad to hear that you had a memorable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$260 - $566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
casa colonial beach hotel puerto plata, casa colonial beach and spa, hotel casa colonial beach
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicPuerto Plata ProvincePuerto Plata
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Casa Colonial Beach & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Joyeria Las Americas (4.1 miles), Rancho Lorilar (2.7 miles), and Vivonte Cigars (4.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Casa Colonial Beach & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ristorante Passatore, Big Lee's Beach Bar, and Mares Restaurant & Lounge.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Casa Colonial Beach & Spa have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Casa Colonial Beach & Spa offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Casa Colonial Beach & Spa?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Fortaleza San Felipe (3.9 miles), Casa Museo General Gregorio Luperón (3.9 miles), and Logia Masónica Restauracion No. 11 (3.9 miles).
Does Casa Colonial Beach & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.