We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata 57000 Dominican Republic
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$436
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/08/22
Hotels.com
$436
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/08/22
FindHotel
$400
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/09/22
Booking.com$436
Official Hotel$436
Travelocity$436
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (642)
360
Panoramas (50)
Room & Suite (249)

About

#4 of 60 hotels in Puerto Plata
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.6
Value
4.3
Located on the exotic north coast of the Dominican Republic and directly on the crystal water, Casa Colonial Beach & Spa is the ultimate, world-class resort.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Evening entertainment
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Infinity pool
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Spa
Couples massage
Concierge
Butler service
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Bay View
650Reviews54Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 519
  • 75
  • 18
  • 20
  • 18
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jenny L wrote a review Jul 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
If you want a total mind and body relaxation this is the place for you. We have stayed at Casa Colonial a few times and each visit is better than the last. The staff treats you like family and are accommodating to every need. The hotel so clean and inviting. The food is amazing and the beach pool and spa are spectacular. I highly recommend for a great vacation.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Amin Z wrote a review Jun 2022
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic2 contributions
Want to go to a place to feel peace and quietness? You should come to Casa colonial!! Great food, great staff, great place! Thanks for everything! We will definitely come back! The pool area is awesome, the rooms, the beach, the food, it has a good golf course near too, Playa Dorada Golf Course! 👏🏽👏🏽
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lourdes N wrote a review Jun 2022
New York City, New York155 contributions55 helpful votes
+1
I visited with my friends, we work in the travel industry and wanted to see first hand this boutique hotel. Normally you will go to an all inclusive hotel in the Caribbean, this is not that type for a reason. Everything you get is top of the line, you don’t get the same food and ambiance quality that you get here in an all inclusive hotel. Casa Colonial is beautiful, from the moment the gates open, you feel as if you are walking into your own home… a luxurious home that is. The staff is friendly, courteous and very attentive to details. This is common in the island and the staff makes sure you are well taken care of. They offered breakfast included in your price (depending on your rate-hotel is not cheap) The hotel also has a beautiful pool on the 3rd floor with direct view to the ocean, private beach area with chairs, towels and waiter service. Dinner at Lucia-their restaurant, it’s a must do. Food is delicious with picture perfect presentation. Suggest to make reservations and ask for a corner table. The entire hotel decor offers the feeling of peace and luxury, with floor to ceiling windows and beautiful airy curtains. I did suggest to add non-dairy or lactose free milk/products to their menu as I had to drink my coffee black due to lack of milk alternative. At night, housekeeping will offer turndown service so your room is ready when you are ready to sleep. The hotel is also close to a shopping mall, the hotel offers club cart service to/from near locations just ask one of the guys in the front. The area is very safe and you can ask their staff for suggestions for activities. We did not get to use their Spa, but they do offer a variety of massages which are always good to unwind while on vacation. We also met Marisol, the GM of the hotel and she was very welcoming. Overall, great experience. We will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Book in advance.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Juliana B wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
This place is pure heaven and service is second to none. From the moment you drive in through their beautiful gates, and walk through the door, the aroma permeating the hotel is pure zen and relaxation. The aroma provides a sense of peace and relaxation. The hotel, the grounds and rooms are beautifully decorated. The beach is immaculate and the views unparalleled. This hotel only has 50 rooms so you do not have a hotel experience but rather a feeling of being in a beautiful home away from home. This hotel is not only a jewel in the Dominican Republic but in the Caribbean. I highly recommend this hotel and hope you can experience what my family and I experienced. I celebrated my 50th birthday and the staff went over and beyond creating a feeling of being around family vs being around hotel staff. I met the owner of the hotel and she was engaging and charming. You can tell that the owners are paying attention to every detail and every guest staying at this beautiful boutique hotel. It truly is a boutique hotel. I will continue returning in order to relax and detox. The moment you enter and leave the hotel, you walking away feeling happier.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Just visit this gem.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Elsa M wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
We stayed at Casa Colonial for our company's global offsite. We had the hotel to ourselves for five days and had the most incredible time. I cannot speak highly enough of all the hotel employees, they were so attentive and friendly. The food was delicious, the rooms were huge, and cleaned at least every day. Anything we asked for they provided to a very high standard. I hope to be back one day soon. Thank you Vilma and everyone at Casa Colonial for making our stay so special.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: All of the rooms are to a very high standard.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Social Media VHHR, Marketing at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Responded May 11, 2022
Hi @G8102QBelsam What a wonderful feeling it is for us to read comments like yours! Knowing that you had an amazing experience in our facilities filled us with joy and gratitude. We'd love for you to come back and visit us again, this time with your family or relatives. Sincerely, Casa Colonial´s Family
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rosanna C wrote a review Apr 2022
Cape May, New Jersey38 contributions9 helpful votes
The hotel is beautiful! I have always been blessed when I travel to different country on my birthday.always made my birthday so special!! Unfortunately I had a very bad experience in this hotel. After I payed a very expensive room they gave me hard time especially the same day on my birthday!! The administration and owner should have more awareness and be more humble. Learn how to treat guest... special on special Occasions. Thanks to Jose who has a excellent customer service and the lady who cleaned my room (Yeniz)made my night with so such beautiful service and detail 😍.Luz Maria as well. We are living in a very hard time and they should learn how to treat people doesn't matter where you from.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from V B, Otros at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Responded Apr 13, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel Casa Colonial Beach & Spa. We truly value the opinions of our guests and apologize for not meeting your expectations. We would like to clarify that you received the room category you booked in the first instance, and after having two days at the hotel you decided to upgrade. According to our policies, we were supposed to give you the room at 3:00 pm but we checked you in at 10:30 am so you could enjoy your special day. We really don't know why you were unable to enjoy your birthday. Thank you for highlighting the hard work of our associates. We are known for being a hotel that cares about providing attentive and personal assistance to all our guests.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nar1 wrote a review Mar 2022
brookliın maıne10 contributions11 helpful votes
I can't rave enough about our recent stay at Casa Colonial. One of only 4 Small Leading Hotels properties in the DR, my wife and another couple decided to travel to Playa Dorada for 2 nights from out winter residence in Las Terrenas, and not for a minute did we regret this decision. Casa Colonial is a small property nestled within larger establishments in the Playa Dorada complex. Upon entering the gates, we knew we were in for something special. The hotel is simply beautiful! We were greeted by very warm staff, and the check-in process was seamless. The interior of the main building suggests the environs of a grand country home -- beautifully appointed and spacious -- completely different and unique than other properties in the Playa Dorada complex. Our room -- an Oceanfront Lanai Deluxe Double -- was fabulous, with a very large bathroom, which has a look-through to the bedroom beyond, and then a further view to the beach and crystalline ocean. The bathroom amenities were very sumptuous, and the bedroom appointed with a 4-poster bed, replete with a down duvet. Our terrace was very comfortable and provided for a great spot to unwind with a drink, after a busy day of activities afforded by the area. We happened to be excited about the Playa Dorada Golf Course, which is literally a one-minute drive via golf cart, and played 18 holes with a very professional caddy (required), who was extremely helpful during our round. The restaurant were quite lovely, one of which also includes an outdoor terrace -- which is also where the bountiful breakfast was served. The cuisine was a mix of local Dominican fare, and also some more Continental choices, for those less adventuresome. Either way, it was delicious, beautifully prepared, and accompanied by a wide range of beverages, in particular a vast selection of wine from an amazing cellar on display. The Service -- our favorite part -- was impeccable. All staff members were totally at the top of their game, and almost anticipated our every request. The service model is top-notch, and it was very apparent that all staff had been highly trained and clearly all appeared to love their jobs, which in the service industry is not typical. Service was seamless and discrete. Not once was there a flaw during our short stay. Finally, we were fortunate to meet two of the ownership team -- Evelyn and Sam -- who clearly are dialed in to all the details. We saw them regularly on the property, and they made all of us feel like guests in their private home. So a big "thank you" goes out to them for making our stay a memorable one! Regretfully, our 2 day stay flew by very quickly and we were sad to leave. However, I can say that we will indeed return, and will certainly recommend Casa Colonnial to all of our friends. Thanks to everyone at Casa Colonial for making our visit a memorable one!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Our first floor Oceanfront Lanai was a superb choice for comfort, location & view.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Social Media VHHR, Marketing at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Responded May 11, 2022
Hi @Nar1 Definitely, what a wonderful way to describe in detail the experience you had in different areas of our property. We are extremely grateful that you took the time to complete this review. It's a pleasure for us to read about your hotel stay experience. We'll be waiting for you with open arms on your next trip, which we hope will be even better than the first. Sincerely, Casa Colonial´s Family
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
erdespam wrote a review Mar 2022
Zurich, Switzerland6 contributions3 helpful votes
Visited as a couple, stayed 9 nights. Very nice, clean and upheld property in colonial style including a small lush garden, lunch and dinner restaurants, rooftop swimming pool and beach. Quite small hotel area (comparing to all inclusive resorts) but sufficient because small amount of rooms. Perfect vibe for a relaxing stay. Good things - large and quiet rooms, well kept - quiet beach that was cleaned every morning - amazing rooftop swimming pool - breakfast a la carte, no buffet - dominican food options - safe area (gated and controlled) - attentive and friendly staff Negative points - gated area with limited alternative food options - doors of rooms not isolated, results in noise from hallway - gym small with defective machines (runners) - only few local food options - beach often very windy after lunch - staff gave no info about nearby food and mall options - often shout-outs by sellers on the beach (massage, etc), walking by every 10min If you visit with strictly relaxation as goal: 6 stars. Visit with other aim: 5 stars.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: - there is a nearby mall with shops and restaurants, 5min walk - alternative food options along...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jeff D wrote a review Feb 2022
Latrobe, Pennsylvania54 contributions73 helpful votes
A quick 4 night winter warm up. Wanted a nice place to just chill and relax. This place is nicely located on a well maintained beach that was very quiet through my stay. The rooms are very clean. I was surprised by an absence of bugs from the entire resort. The room itself was large, good bed, internet was great for the business meetings needing attended. Bathroom was large, everything functional, clean. The people upstairs were an annoyance a few times with their constant clomping about. That’s about the complaint list for the room itself. Very nice… Breakfast outside was very nice. The food was good, coffee good, view good. Did breakfast every day. The pool area was nice. Located near the pool bar to keep the drinks coming and food through the day. Very nice The beach area was nice. Yes, a few too many sales people selling overpriced junk. But they did go past with a wave. The beach is long… making a nice walk possible. Just a few other hotel properties along this beach meant it was never too busy. Dinner, not the best experience. Was cold in there, food was ok, not great. A bit of a disappointment related to the other aspects of this resort. Spa day was very nice, not overly priced. Know you’re in a large resort area, nice golf course, but I dint golf. A cute little shopping area with a few things in it. A few other restaurants in the area. Note, avoid the Chinese restaurant nearest the hotel. I had to check several times what kind of restaurant it was because the food didn’t seem like Chinese to me. It was poor overall. Next door… there’s a driver service. Just go over, ask for Jose. Nice save people to arrange an excursion where ever you want. Reasonably priced.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Judith R wrote a review Feb 2022
Atlanta, Georgia239 contributions23 helpful votes
This is one of the best resort hotels I have stayed at. Everything about it was beautiful, lobby, gardens, pool area were pristine., Breakfast were superb and dinner was great. I think the staff was the exceptional and I was very impressed with those I encountered, It was a perfect beach hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$270 - $556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
casa colonial beach hotel puerto plata, casa colonial beach and spa, hotel casa colonial beach
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicPuerto Plata ProvincePuerto Plata
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Casa Colonial Beach & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Rigo /Leonel and Marleny taxi tours and excursión (3.4 miles), Joyeria Las Americas (4.1 miles), and Rancho Lorilar (2.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Casa Colonial Beach & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Big Lee's Beach Bar, Ristorante Passatore, and Le Petit Francois.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Casa Colonial Beach & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Casa Colonial Beach & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Casa Colonial Beach & Spa?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Fortaleza San Felipe (3.9 miles), Casa Museo General Gregorio Luperón (3.9 miles), and Logia Masónica Restauracion No. 11 (3.9 miles).
Does Casa Colonial Beach & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.