We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

ClubHotel Riu Bachata

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Expert photos
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,769 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 4,250: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We were very disappointed with our stay here. The weather was terrible (rained, no poured, all day every day). Now that can't be controlled but the resort did absolutely nothing to keep people entertained and having a good time. Especially for kids. There weren't any crafts or games or toys for them. Expect the bare minimum from this resort. Also,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lizr5382
Hyde, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hotel is alright if you smoke, if you don't there is no place to hide from the smoke ,it chokes you going through the lounge to the theatre all you smell is smoke, for that reason would not go back there .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pauline E
Hamilton
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Agree with some of the reviews.. To much smoking by the stage area. Few flies around that where annoying. Beach wasn't spotless because of the weather. But over all for the price this is a great resort that we would go back to again. The entertainment at night needed work. Specially the annoying announcers. The animation team is wonderful especially...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank saraflikks
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We got this 5* All Inclusive at a bargain basement price so perhaps shouldn't have expected too much... 'Volunteer porters' at the airport are a pain - just say NO! Hotel... Booking in was easy, bags taken for us, given a free lock for the safe and it was clean Room - spacious and clean, aircon worked, bed hard(!) but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PaulBYorkshire
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I would first like to say, please ignore all negative reviews of the Riu Bachata, this place is wonderful, great food for all tastes at the buffet, wonderful entertainment, clean and welcoming!!! The staff are the hardest working group I've ever met, we were served with smiles and efficiency ALL the time!!!! The weather wasn't the greatest however, we chose...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nicpeskett
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Let me start by saying that the weather was bad, we only had two full days of sun in all the 2weeks, which is no fault of the hotel. As for the hotel, the staff are lovely and friendly on the whole, but let's get to the nitty gritty. We arrived on Sunday afternoon, first impressions were good, wifi was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Glenda B
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at ClubHotel Riu Bachata, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing RIU Hotels and Resorts once again for your vacation. We are very disappointed to find that this time your experience did not live up to what you usually expect from us. As a global brand, we strive to maintain consistent levels of quality in our hotels throughout the world. It is important to us...

Farnham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Unfortunately the weather was dire which was not the hotels fault but of course put a different spin on the holiday. 45 minutes from the airport Hotel All public areas lovely and clean and the grounds beautifully kept. Rooms Kept lovely and clean However our room had a funny smell to it and I could smell it every time we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank heathend
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at ClubHotel Riu Bachata, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns. We always welcome feedback from our customers, since it gives us the opportunity to make appropriate improvements and changes where necessary. We would like to apologise that you had to encounter some inconveniences in your room. Humidity is something very typical of...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have just returned from a weeks holiday here and we did have a lovely time although I didn't feel as if I could spend 2 weeks here. Felt very uneasy as soon as we came out of the airport as the porters are so desperate and needy.. fully take advantage of the fact you've just got off a long...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Vickylouisex
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

was there Nov 22-29. weather was not the best but we managed to get a 3 sunny days. Hotel is very clean, air con works well, drink and food are good. You have to remember it is a third world country, I have been to Cuba and Mexico. For the price we paid, we think this one is the best....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cindy w
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Flew with Thomson to Riu Bachata. Nice stay rooms where okay. Smelt quite damp, but apart from that everything worked. Good was repetitive especially for two weeks. Could only use Buffet for lunch. Nothing else opened unless you went to the other hotel and lunch was the same for two weeks. Hotel grounds were kept very clean all of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ross B
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at ClubHotel Riu Bachata, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We will take into consideration your suggestions regarding the dining options at the hotel. We always welcome our guests’ feedback since it helps us to improve our services and maintain the highest levels of customer satisfaction. We look forward to the...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

4,902 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (4333)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (974)
Viewed
Room/Suite (289)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (729)
Viewed
Dining (191)
Viewed
View from Room (173)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (31)
Viewed
9:48
Videos (9)
Viewed
Other (1890)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (554)
Viewed
Amenities (200)
Viewed
American Standard Room (75)
Viewed
Beach (16)
Viewed
Children's Pool (3)
Viewed
Pool (24)
Viewed
Pool 2 (25)
Viewed
Dining (63)
Viewed
Standard Junior Suite (91)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
9.2 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#6 of 44 in Puerto Plata
555 reviews
0.1 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#12 of 44 in Puerto Plata
4,920 reviews
9.5 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 44 in Puerto Plata
6,305 reviews
9.5 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#3 of 44 in Puerto Plata
4,979 reviews
8.2 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#11 of 44 in Puerto Plata
2,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
* Located on the beach in Maimon Bay * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Inside the Riu Resort, along with ClubHotels Riu Merengue and Riu Mambo * Main building plus 1 and 2-story bungalows * Surrounded by 50,000 m2 of tropical gardens * 9 km / 5.5 miles from Puerto Plata * 25 m / 81 ft. from Caribbean Street * 25 km / 15.5 miles from Puerto Plata Intl. Airport * 500 m / 1650 ft. from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Bachata

Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Price Range: $117 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Bachata 3.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Bachata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Hotel
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Riu Bachata Dominican Republic
Riu Puerto Plata
Bachata Riu
Club Hotel Riu Bachata
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from ClubHotel Riu Bachata staff and other travelers.
713 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (713)

Questions? Get answers from ClubHotel Riu Bachata staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Get a room near to the pool, other rooms are a long walk to pool, restaurant and entertainment area.”
 of 5 bubbles MarknBecky, 1 week ago | Read review
“The 100-block building is far from the lobby, but right at the ocean & worth the walk!”
 of 5 bubbles Noisynewyorker, 1 week ago | Read review
“Room 119 offers limited sea view at no extra cost.”
 of 5 bubbles Scalliwags, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“see or harbour views”
 of 5 bubbles karonp69, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“High floor as when it rains some of the ground floor entrances have a tendency to flood”
 of 5 bubbles lisaj762, 3 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay