We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort

Save
Share
1 Paradise Drive Cofresi Beach, Puerto Plata 57000 Dominican Republic
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$154
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/12/21
Booking.com
$119
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/12/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
$178
$93
View deal
SAVE $85
Free cancellation until 09/11/21
Official Hotel$178
Priceline$119
Travelocity$154
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (3905)
Room & Suite (884)
Videos (4)

About

#15 of 55 hotels in Puerto Plata
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort – Dominican Republic is the newest jewel in the Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club. Nestled along the Cofresi beach shores, and overlooking the sparkling Caribbean sea, this resort caters to the luxurious enjoyment of both families and couples looking for that perfect getaway. With 468 well-appointed accommodations that range from Adult Only Spa Suites, to Standard family friendly rooms located in a quite setting between the ocean beach and spectacular pool, this is a paradise worthy of the Lifestyle name. The resort was created with space and comfort in mind, making Cofresi Palm a relaxing, enjoyable and satisfying experience for all guests and their families. All rooms have air conditioning, cable television, phones, and ceiling fans, while the decor has a distinctive design, featuring dark wood furnishings. Shaded patios and verandas provide a relaxing place to gather in some of the units. Providing both service and features that are standard for a Lifestyle property, the Cofresi Palm offers a unique luxury accommodations experience. Cofresi Palm provides the easy, relaxed ambiance of the Caribbean in an opulent and elegant setting. Experience the array of beauty and excitement that Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort has to offer.
Read more
Room & Suite (884)884
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Babysitting
Parking
Paid wifi
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Full body massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Concierge
Shops
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
VIP room facilities
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Family
Languages Spoken
Spanish

Location

Full view
60Somewhat walkable
Grade: 60 out of 100
13Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
3Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
4,962Reviews988Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,005
  • 1,329
  • 682
  • 426
  • 520
Traveler safety
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
kruzer00 wrote a review Mar 2021
Ft Lauderdale4 contributions5 helpful votes
The resort is pretty and has multiple pools and bars. Sure the rooms are a bit worn but at this price I'd expect that. The VIP beach is great with lots of sunbeds and great bar service. However any positives are overshadowed by the shady sales staff carrying clipboards that will hunt you down constantly and lie to you about reasons you need to go for a drive with them (so they can take you to the sales center for a 2-3 hour high pressure presentation). Some lies you can expect to hear to try to trap you are 'I want to drive you to breakfast' or 'I will drive you around to show you everything that is included' or 'there is a special VIP pool I will take you to' or 'We're going to switch wristband colors.' The online reviews are consistent about these lies so it must be something management encourages. No matter what they will not take no or not interested for an answer. They will find you during breakfast and lunch. They will come to your room. They will call your room. They will start with a friendly and nice demeanor, but tell them no too many times and they will get angry. Being insulted on vacation isn't what we paid for.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: There is no soundproofing between rooms. If you have an adjoining door you will hear everything...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from The Management Team, General Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing us as your holiday destination and taking part of your valuable time on posting this review of us in TripAdvisor. We very much appreciate your feedback, as it is through this medium that we are able to address guest issues and discrepancies. Please be assured that we have already informed your comments to all relevant departments of the Vacation Club in order to follow up and improve our services and operation. We would like to apologize for any inconveniences that you may have experienced; we sincerely regret that, on this occasion, we were not able to fully meet your expectations. With best regards, The Management
Read more
Conrad wrote a review Mar 2020
Cornwall, Canada24 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favorite
Traveled Feb 21 to 28th, what an amazing resort, we had a great check in experence at the lobby desk, no issue when we arrived early around 1 pm, room would be ready at 3 pm and as promised it was. At check-in they gave us our braclet so we could eat and drink until our room was ready. Porter desked looked after our lugguage and moved it into our room at 3. Stayed in the 40 series building 3rd floor overlooking the pool and Cofresi beach, room was very clean and well stocked everyday by our house keeper Santa, Overall great vacation and would go back again through Transat.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from The Management Team, General Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Responded Mar 21, 2020
Dear guest, Thank you for your positive review! The nice notes like the one you kindly posted on the TripAdvisor are very appreciated by us. We are grateful for you taking some time to express your impressions during your stay at Cofresi Palm. Your comments encourage us to continue improving our services. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to be able to welcome you back. Warmest Regards The Management
Read more
Malissa P wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution3 helpful votes
Starting from check in, it was a zoo....people everywhere not knowing where to be or what to do. They sent us into a guest service office. This is where they screen you for what your plans are for the week. As soon as we left this office a high pressure salesman tried to setup a "breakfast" with us the next morning. We politely declined, he proceeded to not accept no. He showed up at our door the next morning and we declined again, we told him we were not doing a timeshare presentation. He proceeded to lie and say he was only going to bring us on a tour. For the whole week multiple salesman tried to trick us to go to their timeshare presentation. It was truly a joke, we thought we were being punked. We had to dodge these guys going to eat, on the beach, and in the hallways of our building. It was awful...I do not go on vacation to work...and this was work. Next we were not allowed on the connecting beaches, which was in the description of the resort. Ok fine we have all inclusive and one beach we can go to, well they are not allowed to take your order on the beach so you have to get up everytime you want a drink, no room service here either. While sleeping/relaxing on the beach we were constantly interrupted by their spa staff to signup for a treatment. We signed up for treatments the first day, even after our treatments were over, they continued to pressure us to signup again. There was no where to relax here....ever!!! No one is your friend, do not trust anyone, they are all in on it together. I am sure their guards and waiters were calling the salesman when they would see us out. Every corner we turned someone wanted us to buy something. When asking for help from staff we were approached berated with a "I have been looking for you, do you want to signup for"?? We are avid travelers and can make the best of bad situations but we could not do that here. So say we were disappointed is a clear understatement and that is why I am warning anyone who is considering visiting here...RUN-DO-NOT-DO-IT!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Location
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from The Management Team, General Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Responded Mar 16, 2021
Dear 703malissap Thank you for choosing us as your holiday destination and taking part of your valuable time on posting this review of us in TripAdvisor. We very much appreciate your feedback, as it is through this medium that we are able to address guest issues and discrepancies. Please be assured that we have already informed your comments to all relevant departments of the Club in order to follow up and improve our services and operation. We would like to apologize for any inconveniences that you may have experienced. We sincerely regret that, on this occasion, we were not able to fully meet your expectations. With best regards, The Management
Read more
sds239 wrote a review Feb 2021
Ohio109 contributions25 helpful votes
+1
The resort & room were booked for my husband & I by a friend so I didn't know what to expect besides what I read in the reviews (which overall are mixed making me a bit leery)! However, in the end we both had a wonderful time! *** Long review but I tried to be as comprehensive as possible! *** Check in/out: Didn't have to wait too long to be checked in. They upgraded us to a junior suite which was ready when we arrived (about 3:30pm). We took the shuttle to our room and someone was available to help with our luggage. It is written in the paperwork you sign that if you lose the wristband they give you they will charge you $200 for each lost band (if it becomes loose you can go to the desk and get a new one - ours were fine for the 5 days we were there). Also if you don't have the same number of towels (regular and beach) in the room when you leave as there was when you arrived you will be charged for the missing ones (you can get exchange your beach towel for a fresh one near the pool). There are only certain places you can get into based on what color your band is (you need to be a member - part of the "vacation club/VIP membership" - to have more access). If you want to use the safe in the room you need to get a lock for it at the front desk... it's $4/day... and return it when you check out (safe was big enough for my DSLR camera, passports, etc with room left over). We called the bell man to come pick us up and help with our luggage when we were ready to check out... he was there within minutes. There was no wait when we checked out. Room: The junior suite was spacious! It had double sinks in the bathroom and a hair dryer. There was a large jacuzzi tub (which we didn't use). The shower had a nice sprayer and the water pressure was good. You do need to put a towel under the base of the shower as some water seeps out the bottom onto the floor (because of the design of the shower door). It took awhile to find out which switches controlled the lights/fan (not all were obvious!). It would've been nice to have a few more USB/outlets for charging devices but we were fine. Best part about our room was the patio and 2 chairs outside which faced one of the smaller pools. We'd walk over to the pool area and spend at least an hour each night outside in a lounger (it was nice and quiet!). A big bottle and 2 smaller bottles of water were in the room and we had no trouble getting more water as we drank those. I believe there was a bottle of Sprite & Coke in the fridge and a coffee/tea machine as well. Be aware the walls are thin! I was woken up a couple times one night because the people in the room next to us had a baby that kept crying. Resort grounds: Absolutely beautiful! Your typical tropical resort look with plenty of palm trees and flowers. We saw workers cleaning the grounds each morning as we walked to The Pearl for breakfast. The resort is on a hill. Our room was in building 43 (closer to the beach) so it was an uphill 5-8 minute walk (with a couple flights of stairs) to access the lobby, buffet restaurant, and main pool area. If you have a hard time walking/climbing stairs this may be difficult for you. There is a shuttle that constantly drives around all the Lifestyle Holidays resorts in the area - we used this to go to The Tropical and to the Tex-Mex restaurant but not for getting around the Cofresi resort itself. There was an unpleasant sewer smell in one area of the resort... around the 300 buildings... I don't think I'd be pleased staying in a room in that area! Beaches: Based on the color of our wristband we only had access to the Cofresi Beach and the VIP Beach (at The Tropical). The Cofresi Beach had about 8 cabanas - which we loved - set farther apart! As long as we were there by about 9:30am we didn't have a problem getting one (they can't be reserved ahead of time). There were also plenty of beach loungers. Access to the ocean was down a small flight of stairs. The water was fabulous... nice and warm! We spent most days at the Cofresi Beach but did go to the VIP Beach once. That beach had more cabanas but they were closer together. Some of them had sheets on the sides you could use to block out the sun. There were also a few small hot tubs in this area and we did have someone come up to ask if we wanted drinks (this didn't happen at the Cofresi Beach). Easiest way to get from one beach to the other is to walk along the beach - walking through the properties is longer and will take more time. They did play music that made it's way over to the beach - so it wasn't all that quiet but it wasn't at too loud of a volume either (personally I'd have liked to just listen to the ocean). Pools: We only went in the pool 1 day - and it was the smaller pool near our room. The water was a bit chilly and took awhile to get used to it (I liked the ocean better). Water was clear in all the pools we saw. They had a pool specifically for younger kids that was near their Kids Club (the Kids Club was closed due to covid). There were also 2 adult only pools (as per the posted signs) but there were kids in both of them so obviously that is not enforced by staff. I did see a lifeguard at a couple of the pools. The main pool had a nice swim up bar area. Pools were open from 9am-7pm and I did observe staff cleaning the pools in the morning and at night. Buffet Food: Upon entry to the buffets your temperature was checked by the hostess and they squirted hand sanitizer in your hands. We ate mainly at The Pearl buffet at Cofresi. We did venture to Casablanca buffet at The Tropical one night for dinner - it was PACKED with people! You had to stand in line at many of the stations while the food on your plate cooled down. The Pearl was definitely not as busy at any time of the day. We ate once for breakfast & lunch at Casablanca as well - way less busy than dinner was! Overall I felt the quality of the food was the same at both locations. The food, overall, was good but wasn't anything to write home about. There was a pasta station, omelet station, smoothie station and such where you could customize your food. Fresh fish cooked in front of you (a bit too buttery for my taste). Salads & fruit plates had saran wrap over them and bread was individually wrapped in saran wrap. Servers were quick to take your drink orders and clear empty plates from your table. All the staff we encountered at both buffets were very pleasant! There are certain times the buffets are open with Casablanca being the only one that is open from 11pm-4am if you are looking for a late night snack (we didn't eat during this time). Specialty Restaurants: These restaurants required a reservation. To reserve you had to go to the lobby between 9-11am and stand in line to make them. Unfortunately, they were not all open (due to covid) and the selection was very limited. We only went up to reserve on 1 day and only the Trapiche ParadiseTex-Mex restaurant was available/open. We went there that night and I will admit that this was probably the best food I ate at the resort! There were 3 courses and the food was fabulous! We did eat at the Bellini for lunch a couple times as it was closest to the Cofresi Beach. Selection was limited (hot dog, hamburger and fries)... it was not open for dinner at all during our stay. Bars: There were several outdoor bars available for guests. The drinks were good - some a bit stronger than I liked until some of the ice melted! Resort staff: Everyone we encountered were very pleasant and helpful. The maids did a wonderful job cleaning our rooms each day. I was pleased with the service the staff at the resort provided! Tipping: We came prepared with a bunch of $1 bills so we could tip the staff. We tried to tip a couple dollars to everyone we interacted with. While tipping isn't a necessity the staff was pleased to receive it. We were able to get some smaller bills (dollars) at the front desk when we ran low. Entertainment/shows: I don't know what they had and we didn't attend any. Spa: Be aware that you will have staff come up to you on the beach to try to sell the spa services to you. If you don't want them to keep bothering you tell them you had one already. My husband & I did get a massage on one of the days. Know that you can negotiate the price! We opted to have it performed at the NV Beach so we could listen to the ocean instead of the spa building. We were escorted in to the spa area and promptly escorted out immediately after the massage as this is a beach area for members only. Getting a massage does get you access to the small pool & larger hot tub at the spa building and to drink the smoothies there for the rest of your stay. The ladies that performed our massages did a good job... it was very relaxing! Vacation club/member/VIP membership sales pitch: Yes they will try to get you to The Tropical to pitch you their version of a timeshare. Even though I was aware and on the lookout for this I was surprised and caught off guard by how this was done. When my husband & I went to make the restaurant reservations in the lobby a staff member in a tan shirt came up to tell us he tried to call our room cause he was supposed to take us over to Casablanca for breakfast as a way to spread out the guests from too many eating at The Pearl. This was not true... we could've ate at The Pearl as we did so every other morning! He drove us over in The Tropical in a golf cart. We were told that after we ate that they had a special gift for us. A different staff member was waiting for us after breakfast to escort us to the Chairman's Circle building and gave us our free gift (a bottle of rum and a bottle of mamajuana). We were then drawn into small talk with another staff member and then presented with their VIP resort membership pitch - which we declined (had to then tell another staff member that we weren't interested). We declined the tour of the property as well. We did get a wonderfully made mixed drink out of it with what I assume was top shelf liquor as that was what was on display. Other comments: Masks were worn by all staff. Guests were required to wear masks when around other people, on the shuttle, and going into restaurants. When social distancing was possible, while in the pool, in the ocean, and on the beach in your cabana you could take them off. While we did enjoy our stay by being able to just go the certain places we were allowed to go (due to not being a VIP member) I kind of didn't like the fact that we could not go to certain areas/beaches/restaurants/bars/etc that were on the property. My last all-inclusive was to Sandals and it was nice not needing to wear a wristband and to have access to every place on the property. That being said, the price point of the Cofresi was much lower than Sandals so I guess that needs to be taken into account (even when it comes to the quality of food and such). Overall, my husband & I were happy with our stay and would return. It was a good resort for the value of the money that we paid to stay there.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Loved our room (junior suite) on the lower level of building 43! Make sure it's one with a...
See more room tips
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from The Management Team, General Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Responded Feb 22, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Cofresi Palm. It is of great importance to know our guests experience in order to improve our services. We are really happy to read such a nice opinion about our resort, food, services and facilities and appreciate that you have shared it in TripAdvisor with other future guests. It would be a pleasure to host you again in the future. Warmest Regards The Management
Read more
pkaljic wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
Although we met a few great people working at the resort, the overall service and management was pretty terrible. On our first night, we found pieces of glass in our bed and switched to a new room. Over the 10 day trip, we switched rooms 5 times due to poor conditions. One room was a significant downgrade from what we paid for, another had a huge leak that ended up flooding the bathroom. It wasn’t until our last night that we ended up with a decent room and could relax. Almost every guest we met had similar issues to some degree. We also had inclusions in our booking package for certain beaches that we later found out were only included at an additional price. Needless to say, we will not be going back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from The Management Team, General Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Responded Feb 2, 2021
Dear guest, Thank you so much for taking some time to express your impressions during your stay at Cofresi Palm. Your review and comments are very appreciated by us in order to improve our operation. Thank you so much for your opinion. Best Regards The Management
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$57 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sun village puerto plata, sun village hotel cofresi, dominican republic sun village, sun village dominican republic, sun village spa, sun village resort dominican republic, sun village resort puerto plata, sun village beach resort, sun village resort spa puerto plata
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Be Live Grand Carey
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicPuerto Plata ProvincePuerto Plata
NUMBER OF ROOMS
468
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort?
Nearby attractions include Bravissimo Fiesta Premium (0.5 miles), Cofresi Beach (0.4 miles), and Ocean World Terrace (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Papillon, Charros CaribeMex, and El Pilon.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Fortaleza San Felipe (2.9 miles), Casa Museo General Gregorio Luperón (2.9 miles), and Logia Masónica Restauracion No. 11 (2.9 miles).