We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BlueBay Villas Doradas

Save
Share
Calle Principal Complejo Playa Dorada Nr 538, Puerto Plata 57000 Dominican Republic
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com$107
Travelocity$107
Orbitz.com$107
CheapTickets$107
Destinia.com$114
ZenHotels.com$139
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (6310)
360
Panoramas (7)
Pool & Beach (1351)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 07/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from BlueBay Villas Doradas
Updated 07/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 55 hotels in Puerto Plata
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
BlueBay Villas Doradas is an Adults Only 24 hour All Inclusive resort in Puerto Plata, was completely refurbished in 2006 providing facilities and rooms of the highest quality. This hotel in Puerto Plata, which is only for the over 18s, is an ideal place for couples to relax or enjoy their honeymoon or wedding. Its location - literally next to the 18-hole Playa Dorada golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones – makes it a favourite among golfers.The hotel’s rooms and suites are equipped to the highest standard, in keeping with the quality of the resort and its recent refurbishment – all include cable TV, mini bars and ironing facilities.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Diving
Tennis court
Windsurfing
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Table tennis
Airport transportation
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Spa
Couples massage
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Adults only
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Safe
VIP room facilities
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
7382Reviews944Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 4,423
  • 1,655
  • 739
  • 315
  • 250
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stacey D wrote a review Jun 2020
New York City, New York126 contributions48 helpful votes
+1
My friends and I bought this all-inclusive deal about 2 years ago (April 2018- was not an option in drop down) and wow was it a great deal for the money! 4 nights for airfare, hotel and all food & drinks (even alcoholic) for under $700!! The swim up bar was our favorite part and though buffets can sometimes be disappointing we thought theirs was pretty delicious with diverse options. We also got talked into a super fun photo shoot by the onsite photographer and were really pleased with the picture quality. All in all a great value for the price!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
rcp148 wrote a review Apr 2020
Belleville, Canada208 contributions49 helpful votes
We returned to Villas Doradas on 9 March for a one week vacation. We were assigned a quiet 3rd floor room as requested, near the small pool. Everything in the room worked as expected but sometimes at peak times there was no hot water and low water pressure. The bathroom needed attention; the towel bars had been torn off the wall at some point and not been properly reattached. The base of the shower needed to be replaced. The lack of a fan in the bathroom meant excessive moisture in the room. There was a comfortable king bed, small fridge, complimentary safe and complimentary WIFI (both with Air Canada ) and fairly good TV channel selection. Cleaning staff did a good job in the room and for the entire resort. The closet was great but more shelf space in the room would be wonderful! As returning patrons we had stayed in better rooms and were disappointed with this one. We spent most of our time at the beautiful beach and enjoyed good weather. We always found beach chairs, but they were in short supply on the busiest days. The resort has added many new sun beds on the beach. You can enjoy long beach walks to the left. A storm the day before we arrived caused weeds to wash up but the crews worked hard to stay ahead of it. We bought something from the vendors but just say a polite "no thank you" if not interested. Food was good at buffet, perhaps not quite as good as in the past but still good. Bacon available every morning, steak and seafood cooked to your preference, good selection of fruits (sweet and delicious), vegetables and breads and the dishes are varied. Antonio, Nilson and Elvin frequently served us. They remembered us from past visits and were very friendly and efficient. They (as well as other servers) are a real asset and we always look forward to seeing them. At peak times there could have been more staff. We enjoyed the Asian Fusion restaurant; good food and excellent service. A few days we enjoyed fried chicken at the beach snack bar. There is good shopping at a small mall less than just a 10 minute walk down the street to the right. We like the Dominican coffee and vanilla. The resort needs to control the number of water fowl living in the pond area. The smell was terrible as you walked through the area! Some walkways need to be re-leveled to help older folks get around. We like the smaller size and friendly atmosphere and always enjoy our time here.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Rooms away from theater and main pool are quieter.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
ADC122 wrote a review Mar 2020
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Spent a week here and it was great! Food was wonderful wherever we ate. The service was top notch and even though the rooms were not pristine and super modern we spent very little there so it didn’t matter! Angelina (my sister) was a server who stood out immediately! Santos at the beach bar was top notch!!! And Thomas, thank you for putting up with us on a few late nights and providing us with great food when we needed it the most! Miguel, you’re adorable. Thank you for making us always feel welcome and special. Willy, you made the best first impression, providing us with information and reassurance within the first hours of us being there. The management at this resort should be commended. Your employee’s represent you very well! We were there during a time that could have had a negative effect but the staff always made us feel well looked after! Thank you! My only recommendation would be to bring in more Dominican style bands (like the band that performed by the pool on Dominican night), they were great
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GerenteresidenteBBVD, Gerente at BlueBay Villas Doradas
Responded Mar 24, 2020
Dear valuable Customer: On behalf of our staffs, I would like to thank you so much for your recent visit and for sharing your experience. We are honored to read our staffs went above and beyond to make your holidays a memorable experience, thank you for your commendation to them, especially:Thomas,Miguel,Willy, they are our main asset. We hope to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Inés Pichardo Rosario
Read more
Foodie1594 wrote a review Mar 2020
12 contributions3 helpful votes
Me and my boyfriend arrived feb 14 for 1 week. This is the best resort I’ve been to thus far- I usually go to 5 stars in Cuba. On arrival the front desk staff were awesome and very welcoming. We decided to upgrade our room to a superior room so we could be in a quieter area. The spa area is awesome and quiet so the upgrade was well worth it. Food: great! Bacon and eggs daily. They have peanut butter. Fresh fruit. Smoothie station. Really good cereal and granola. They have a panini press too so my boyfriend made breakfast sandwiches a few times. Dinner and lunch are good too. Alvin was usually our server and was always smiling and social! Hector who made our eggs everyday was very efficient and a friendly guy. Grounds: very well kept! I liked the set up of the pools- one is social, one for sports, one for relaxing. Flowers and the little creek area were very nice. Rooms: nice! The downside was that the maids didn’t get to our room to clean it until like 3 or 4pm. Two times we were napping when they came so we just ask for towels to be exchanged and they’d leave them on our door handle which was nice. Beach: didn’t spend much time here as the vendors were around all day, probably 1 every ten minutes. The beach was often very windy as well. Going on the morning was better as it was usually a bit calmer. Restaurants: they were ok. The food at the buffet was better. The fried chicken at the beach bar was soooo tasty! Entertainment: the animation team is seriously dedicated to everyone having a good time! There is a professional dance team that does some nights of entertainment and they are insane. They work really hard to master all their routines and it’s crazy to watch the non stop dancing! Bars: The beach bar was super fun at night. Pool bar was busy.... even when it wasn’t it took sometimes 15+ mins to get a drink. More staff needed here as we could only get drinks from here or the beach. There’s a paid bar in the lobby but they’ll give you beer for free. Bring bug spray for your legs at night! Lots of bugs at night on the little bridge to the beach. Overall this is a great resort. Lots of strangely terrible reviews on here... most of them are exaggerated. We were scared to go after reading them. Turns out this was one of the best experiences ive ever had at a resort. Would recommend :)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from GerenteresidenteBBVD, Gerente at BlueBay Villas Doradas
Responded Mar 24, 2020
Dear valuable Customer: Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Blue Bay Villas Doradas, and for taking part of your valuable time to share your feedback. Your comment is very much appreciated; thank you for letting us know you have enjoyed our overall services, including our staffs' hospitally. We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Inés Pichardo Rosario
Read more
sandybr464 wrote a review Mar 2020
Chatsworth, Canada87 contributions19 helpful votes
We aren't terribly fussy, but i must say, this resort was not impressive. Platinum room, no big deal. Buffet, no big deal, ala cartes, not worth it. Those beds at the pool, were a waste of space. And of course, typical greedy guests needed more than just the bed. No chairs available. Employees were a 5* , Pablo at the lobby bar, Veronica remembered names, and our maid was wonderful. Our welcome drink was a small glass of punch????? Sorry Blue Bay, not going to be a return customer. Love Dominican Republic.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GerenteresidenteBBVD, Gerente at BlueBay Villas Doradas
Responded Mar 21, 2020
Dear Sandy: Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at the hotel, your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve each day. Please accept our apology for the inconvenience you have experience. We hope to welcome you back and change your perception. Kind regards, Inés Pichardo Rosario
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$108 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bluebay villas doradas hotel puerto plata, bluebay hotel puerto plata, bluebay hotel doradas, blue bay getaway villas doradas, blue bay getaway dominican republic
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicPuerto Plata ProvincePuerto Plata
NUMBER OF ROOMS
244
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about BlueBay Villas Doradas
Which popular attractions are close to BlueBay Villas Doradas?
Nearby attractions include Joyeria Las Americas (4.0 miles), Rancho Lorilar (2.7 miles), and Vivonte Cigars (4.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at BlueBay Villas Doradas?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at BlueBay Villas Doradas?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at BlueBay Villas Doradas?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at BlueBay Villas Doradas?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to BlueBay Villas Doradas?
Conveniently located restaurants include Big Lee's Beach Bar, Ristorante Passatore, and Mares Restaurant & Lounge.
Are there opportunities to exercise at BlueBay Villas Doradas?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does BlueBay Villas Doradas have an airport shuttle?
Yes, BlueBay Villas Doradas offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at BlueBay Villas Doradas?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at BlueBay Villas Doradas?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at BlueBay Villas Doradas?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.