We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Playabachata Resort

Save
Share
Carretera Navarrete, Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata 57000 Dominican Republic
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
$164
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/29/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$164
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/30/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
Travelocity$163
Orbitz.com$163
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (934)
Pool & Beach (323)
Dining (142)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 10/26/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Playabachata Resort
Updated 10/26/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#13 of 55 hotels in Puerto Plata
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Playabachata Resort is the ideal place to enjoy a relaxing and disconnected holiday. Its 998 rooms offer all the comforts to guarantee a perfect stay: air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, minibar, liquor dispenser and balcony or terrace, from where you can contemplate the wonderful landscape that surrounds the hotel. In its facilities you will find beautiful swimming pools with children's area, solarium terrace equipped with umbrellas and sunbeds, sports facilities and extensive garden areas. The hotel also has six restaurants, two buffet, two specialties for dinner service and 2 snack restaurants, as well as five bars. Thanks to the All Inclusive system, you can enjoy meals, snacks and national drinks with and without alcohol in all of them. In addition, Playabachata Resort offers a laundry service (for a fee), a babysitting service (for a fee), free Wi-Fi internet in the hotel lobby and the possibility of practicing numerous water sports with external companies (for a fee).
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Canoeing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Public wifi
Paid internet
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Windsurfing
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Kids club
Airport transportation
Couples massage
Concierge
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Telephone
Bottled water
Minibar
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German
915Reviews137Q+A61Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 493
  • 159
  • 94
  • 74
  • 95
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Ali V wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
Amazing place to stay but the employee name Diogelis Vilanela was the worst employee every given me and my family. Horrible services and at the time I needed to switch my rooms and was having a whole argument and told me she will not change anything because she doesn’t feel like it.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Francisco Rodriguez, General Manager at Playabachata Resort
Responded May 1, 2021
Dear guest, Thank you for your comment. First off and on behalf of the resort, I present my sincere apologies for any inconvenience. I am very sorry that your stay was not as pleasant as it could have been. When we read your comment, we review all the aspects you mention to review them and we thank you for expressing your constructive criticism of the hotel's service. In addition, on the subject of staff service, we focused a lot of effort, resources, and time to train the work team: in this sense, I am very disappointed that you did not receive the appropriate friendly and professional treatment that characterizes the team, so we will take the necessary steps and measures in order to prevent that these inconveniences do not repeat to other guests. Thank you again for your comment, Francisco Rodriguez General Director
Read more
World-Traveler-NYC wrote a review Mar 2021
Bronx, New York1 contribution1 helpful vote
I am a world traveler who has worked and stayed at hostels to luxury hotels. I have a lot of experience with hotels and resorts. I always leave a detailed and honest reviews so you are informed. I am a paid influencer who is asked to travel, stay at hotels and partipate in activities. I then have to leave a review afterwards. Let me say that I was really looking forward to coming here to Playabatchata. Additionally, I own two companies and this was suppose to be a time to rest and relax as well. I'm sorry to say, this is by far the worst experience. Words can't express how bad this place is. STAY AWAY PLEASE. I know reviews are based on perspective. I research reviews so I know what to expect and also see if the manager as made changes once I arrive. I have to say, all of the bad reviews are true. The good reviews, I would have to question who wrote them. Cons- Upon arrival, we were early by about two hours before our check in. The security didn't want to let us in at the front gate, even though we had reservations. Eventually, we were let in. Upon checking in, I had to pay extra because their system said I didn't pay for a child older then 2. I showed them proof that I had already paid. They didn't care. The pool was dirty, but ok if your not picky. The pools shuts down at 6pm. The music was ok, not great. Wifi is only offered in the lobby. No wifi in rooms, eating areas, pools etc. No towels in rooms, no blankets, hard and uncomfortable pillows, a subpar HVAC system. No shower amenities, iron, minibar service. No light over the shower, kinda dark, a subpar light over the sink. The paint on the tub peeled off while showering. The room is very old and outdated. Looks like 1990's decor. They charge for a king size bed, but its really just two full size beds pushed together. The beds were wobbly and not stable. The food taste bad. No flavor and they make it seem like a lot of variety by spreading the food station around the dinning room. There isn't a lot of options. The food choices don't really change out. For dinner, you can only eat if you reserved a spot. Dinner was the same as lunch as far as options. Some staff were nice, but some looks like they hate their job. Nothing really to do. It's very boring here. The store on property was very expensive. Pros- I liked the apartment style accommodations. Not your traditional like hotel. Gave me memories from boys scouts and military. Nice outside patio if you had a ground level room. Great location for taking beautiful pictures. If you are ok with just laying on the beach with no wifi or use of cell phones or use of electronics, then this is fine. If you have lower standards for food, then this is great. Great for sitting around on the beach. They didn't keep up with Covid-19 standards and required mask on. Social distancing wasn't enforced, but we should all know know better. There is a store on the property to buy things if you need something quick. I have a few more days here and I am looking to leave. I usually give a place at least two days to give my honest opinion. I don't needs those extra days to get what this place is like.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Francisco Rodriguez, General Manager at Playabachata Resort
Responded May 4, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that your stay at the resort did not meet your expectations. To clarify, hotel check-in starts at 3:00 pm however you can choose an early check-in for an additional fee. We try our best to accommodate our guest’s requests however, we always honor our guest reservation, regarding the number of guests, guest ages as well room type, as reserved by our guests. We are sad to learn that your recent stay was not what it could have been. Regarding your comment about Wi-Fi, it is available at the lobby, Playabachata Resort does not provide room internet; This information is available in all online services as well in the information received upon check-in. In addition, resort entertainment activities can be found on the boards placed at the hotel, entertainment area, and, directly at the front desk. At the moment, and in compliance with Safety and Health protocols, hotel entertainment activities have been modified to reduce the number of participants; also, other entertainment venues, such as discos, beach parties and, pool parties have been eliminated. We would have loved to listen to you during your stay and find a solution, as I am sure your experience and opinion would have been different as we take good notes in order to improve. We sincerely hope to receive a new opportunity to welcome you once again at this resort in the future, Again, thank you for your review Francisco Rodríguez General Director
Read more
Pawel N wrote a review Mar 2021
Warsaw, Poland7 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
The hotel shares it's place and huge garden with another resort called Senator, both from the same group. Very decent all in vacations. The beach is very long and wide, you will find sunny, shadow or 50/50 place for yourself for sure. There are also two large pools if you prefer this type of leasure. If it comes to food and drinks there are two very large restaurants that serve breakfast, lunch and dinner and some smaller places for drinks and lunch. Some of them were closed, however it is understandable during covid pandemia. At the end of our visit we were also provided with a possibility to do covid tests in order not to go under quarantine aftere we get back home. 35usd per person. There is one disadvantage you will notice just after check in. Not, it is not good or drinks (those are up to your tastes, everyone has different). It is internet and wi fi, actually lack of it. Wi do is available only in lobby and is very pure. I.e. I was not able to login to my bank in EU (tried dozen times). So if you plan to stay in Playa Bachata buy yourself a sim card. It will help youalso if you wish to travel via Uber (watch out for taxi drivers in front of main gate, some of them don't play fair), which is much cheaper then other solutions. If you have any problems with anything I really recommend asking for help at reception desk, we did it several times also with silly questions, the stuff is very helpful and so, so friendly! Moreover if you go to the desk and Scarlet and/or Diogelis are on their shift you can treat your query/issue as done. They helped us a lot. To sum up if you look for decent all in vacations and competitive prices this is a place you should take into consideration. Of course during covid check what is currently available in the package, as for sure it will vary over the time.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Francisco Rodriguez, General Manager at Playabachata Resort
Responded Apr 3, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We appreciate that you take a moment to share about your stay at Playabachata Resort and give other potential guests the possibility to learn about the resort. In addition, we share your positive feedback with the staff, in this occasionDiogelis and Scarlet, and thank you on their behalf. We take into consideration your suggestions and trust to welcome you once again in the near future, Receive a cordial greeting, Francisco Rodríguez General Director
Read more
JERSEYVINNY wrote a review Mar 2021
Harrison, New Jersey156 contributions30 helpful votes
I just recently returned from this resort 2 goods things 1 the employees and 2 I was upgraded to a ocean front suite but after that everything was horrible the food was disgusting I would have to go off resort to eat and when I when I did eat it was only salad also the liquor was very bad only was able to drink presidente beer when they had it no night time entertainment only 2 people singing the same 15 songs it was like a ghost town pools were taken over by the locals hey they are there to have a nice vacation but they have no respect for the other guest no iron in the room had to go to the front desk to get one and return after every use 3 times I had to go to the front desk to get towels for the room and the two managers Francisco and Alejandro didn't help at all in closing I have been to this complex 25 times since 2007 and this was by far the worst trip I ever had and will never ever return to a senator owned property
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Francisco Rodriguez, General Manager at Playabachata Resort
Responded Mar 25, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that your stay at the resort did not meet your expectations. We appreciate that you liked the complimentary upgrade as a preferred repetitive guest, as we appreciate that you select this hotel and destination as a second home. To inform you that our rooms do not include ironing or ironing boards, however upon request and availability we can provide complimentarily. We take good notes from your suggestions in order to improve where possible and appreciate that you share with us your opinion. Again, thank you for sharing your feedback, as we are truly disappointed that your stay was not as positive as we intended to be, Receive a cordial greeting, Francisco Rodríguez General Director
Read more
Carmelo P wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution
The attention was spectacular from all the staff. Specially from customer services desk. They were quick to solve any situation and assist us when needed. Specially Diogelis who always call us by our name and always wanted to be sure we were taken care of. There is a lot they can improve with food quality and variety.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Francisco Rodriguez, General Manager at Playabachata Resort
Responded Mar 7, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to know that you loved the service: we will share your positive comment towards the staff. In addition, we take into consideration your suggestions and improve where possible. Again, we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your feedback and trust to welcome you to the resort in the near future, Francisco Rodríguez General Director
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$105 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicPuerto Plata ProvincePuerto Plata
NUMBER OF ROOMS
998
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Playabachata Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Playabachata Resort?
Nearby attractions include Diamonds International Amber Cove (0.5 miles), Amber Cove (0.5 miles), and Bravissimo Fiesta Premium (2.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Playabachata Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Playabachata Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at Playabachata Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Playabachata Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Playabachata Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Papillon, Los Tres Cocos, and Charros CaribeMex.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Playabachata Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Playabachata Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Playabachata Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Playabachata Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Playabachata Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Fortaleza San Felipe (5.5 miles), Casa Museo General Gregorio Luperón (5.5 miles), and Logia Masónica Restauracion No. 11 (5.5 miles).
Does Playabachata Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.