We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

ClubHotel Riu Merengue

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Expert photos
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

5,200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 4,251: English reviews
Start your review of ClubHotel Riu Merengue
 Click to rate
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Booked in a travel agents before checking the reviews. When I read them at home I panicked, some weren't very good. All I can say is some people must be very picky picky! Our room was lovely, NO signs of damp or mould (as had been stated) and was cleaned daily with fresh towels etc. The food was good with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lyndamary2017
Sydney, Canada
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Travel dates from Moncton, NB were March 10-17, 2017 with sunwing - this was our second visit to the resort - we are 48 and 49 years old - we stayed at Riu Bachata (just next door) the previous visit - our flight to the DR was good, arrived early – transfer to the hotel was seemless in a very...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank MooseNS1967
Kidderminster, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is rated as a 4 star holiday, it is not. There is nothing wrong overall with the hotel apart from if you are expecting 4 star amenities and 4 star rooms. We had a couple of issues with the room and even though we had to move, the resort staff were really accommodating and sorted out issues as they...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 81debbie
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We went last year same date March 04 to 11 and it was great that's why went back. However this year was horrible! They gave us a room with AC not working at all,the room was very damp. So we had to beg them for another room,the manager on duty didn't care at all but Jose helped us a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank claudiiaveloso
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We booked this vacation with Sunwing and the pictures on the web with Sunwing was not accurate as to what the room really looked like. As we checked in with the hotel and walking into our rooms, there was a strong smell of mould and above the beds on the ceiling there was large black spots of mould. Also there...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank bond733
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We spent a week at the Riu Merengue, it was quite good with a few exceptions. We stayed in the newer part which was very nice. We had our rooms cleaned daily, which the workers did a very good job. The rooms were nice, each one has its own balcony. The food was very good, as well as the service...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kaitlyn J
Gatineau, Canada
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Amazing sun almost all week! We went there during the first week in January 2017. But besides the weather, it was a disappointing experience. The hotel looked like really old - I understood they actually placed us in the old wing. Needs major renovations. Front Desk employees in the old wing cannot speak English. Like 2-3 words only. I asked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mlml1977
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at ClubHotel Riu Merengue, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns. We are committed to provide excellent quality of our products and services to our guests. We regret to read that you have left our hotel with an opposite idea in your mind. We appreciate our guests’ comments since they help us improve...

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just came back from my holiday and we were there from March 9th to March 16th. We were 3 women in the room and the room was ample enough for us as there were single beds and we had the balcony overlooking the Mountain View. While the staff were very friendly, the reception area was not helpful and did not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GracieStone
Regina
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I was at the Riu Merengue from March 7-14. The resort is beautiful and well cared for. There were always people cleaning the grass for fallen leaves and debris, the washrooms have an on-site cleaner there at all times. My room was spacious and well maintained with a huge double closet. The bathroom had a full bathtub and shower and...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Sungirl61
Onaping, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I traveled with my wife to the Riu Merengue from March 7-14 2017. About a 40 minute ride from the airport. We booked less than a week before we left and get a good deal. (just over $1000 each out of Toronto) So for the price, I am very happy with our trip. However I would not want to pay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank justin705
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at ClubHotel Riu Merengue, responded to this review

Dear guest, We would like to thank you for choosing RIU Hotels and Resorts for your holidays and for taking the time to give us your valued feedback. For us every comment is helpful in improving the hotel’s services and for ongoing and future staff training. On the one hand, we would like to thank you for bringing up your...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6,193 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5663)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1427)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (799)
Viewed
Room/Suite (447)
Viewed
Dining (260)
Viewed
View from Room (213)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (46)
Viewed
2:29
Videos (8)
Viewed
Other (2410)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (504)
Viewed
Amenities (173)
Viewed
Beach (30)
Viewed
Children's Pool (7)
Viewed
Pool (26)
Viewed
Dining (82)
Viewed
Riu Merengue Village Children's Pool (4)
Viewed
Riu Merengue Village Pool (36)
Viewed
Standard Room (102)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Plata
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
#11 of 41 in Puerto Plata
5,020 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
8.0 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
8.1 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
6,683 reviews
9.3 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#3 of 41 in Puerto Plata
5,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
* Located on the beach in Maimon Bay * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Located in the Riu Resort, near ClubHotels Riu Bachata and Riu Mambo * Main building and 1-story bungalow complex * Surrounded by 15,000 m2 / 18,000 sq. yards of tropical gardens * 9 km / 5.5 miles from Puerto Plata * 150 m / 495 ft. from Caribbean Street * 25 km / 15.5 miles from Puerto Plata Intl. Airport * 300 m / 990 ft. from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Merengue

Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Price Range: $98 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Merengue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 998
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Merengue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Merengue Hotel
Club Hotel Riu Merengue
Clubhotel Riu Merengue Puerto Plata
Riu Merengue Dominican Republic
Riu Merengue Puerto Plata
Rui Merengue
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from ClubHotel Riu Merengue staff and other travelers.
382 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (382)

Questions? Get answers from ClubHotel Riu Merengue staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“If they put you in a room in Mumbo just ask to move to Merengue if possible - you will be closer to everything.”
 of 5 bubbles MooseNS1967, 2 days ago | Read review
“Choose a room closer to the beach”
 of 5 bubbles 81debbie, 2 days ago | Read review
“Stay at a different resort”
 of 5 bubbles bond733, 4 days ago | Read review
“rooms at the back on the Village are a long walk and a bad view (building 27 and area”
 of 5 bubbles justin705, 1 week ago | Read review
“we had room0904 it was an end room close to everything very private no rooms behind u”
 of 5 bubbles gracejoecleal, 1 week ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question