We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Iberostar Costa Dorada

Save
Share
Carretera Luperon Km 4, Puerto Plata 57000 Dominican Republic
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
19 people are viewing this hotel
Iberostar.com
$123
View deal
Booking.com
$158
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
$158
$113
View deal
Expedia.com$158
Hotels.com$158
Travelocity$158
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (8917)
Room & Suite (645)
Dining (643)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 09/15/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Iberostar Costa Dorada
Updated 09/15/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#10 of 56 hotels in Puerto Plata
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Our spectacular 5-star hotel, located on the beachfront of Costa Dorada in the north of the Dominican Republic, only 15 minutes from Puerto Plata Airport. It is the ideal place for families and couples, with 516 rooms: 302 double rooms, 114 double rooms with pool view, 40 family suites with 2 rooms, 42 double rooms with ocean view, 18 oceanfront junior suites. Its impressive pool has an aquabar, one of them special for children. The colonial-style hotel and common areas are surrounded by extensive tropical gardens. An attentive staff facilitates the perfect vacation experience. Our 5 restaurants will make you enjoy a unique gastronomic offer, from our international cuisine buffet with show cooking. Pasta, meat and fish dishes, vegetables and salads. Thematic nights. In addition, 3 specialty restaurants will take you to an unforgettable experience. Our Wave Of Change initiative is focused on three fundamental pillars: the elimination of single-use plastic in our rooms, the promotion of responsible fish consumption and the improvement of coastal health.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Archery
Babysitting
Parking
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Diving
Snorkeling
Tennis court
Aerobics
Billiards
Darts
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German
8800Reviews1243Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 5,213
  • 2,340
  • 832
  • 256
  • 161
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
MyLove1111 wrote a review Yesterday
New York City, New York
The Iberostar Costa Dorada is amazing. The staff goes above and beyond to ensure that your stay is perfect. The facility itself needs upgrading but this is easily overlooked due to the welcoming you receive from the employees. The food is amazing for those of us who enjoy home cooking, even for those who don't there is a variety for all. The beach is paradise, but once again, the staff is the secret to this amazing place!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Aruna wrote a review Jul 25
First time at a Iberostar hotel, well overall it was not bad, the check in is a wait only one staff when I check in July 21st 2021, the room was ok because it was a beach view, the bathroom has a fishy smell, the ac wasn’t working properly so is the outlet, as for the restaurant, the food was ehh ok I say, but I had to beg for a spot for a reservation, all restaurants were booked, and when go to the restaurant was empty so I don’t understand why they say was BOOKED, anyways me and my family had great time because I booked an excursion going to an island with speed boat which was so awesome and nice, I really recommended, and other wise everything else was ok, oh please don’t loose ur towel keys or the towels before check out or u will have to pay, I don’t know what’s the big deal here about towels, but my hubby had to walk all the way back to go find our beach towels to return…… the staff was really nice and friendly…
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Iberostar Hotels and Resorts, General Manager at Iberostar Costa Dorada
Responded 2 days ago
Dear guest, First and foremost we want to take this opportunity to express our appreciation for your friendly and helpful review. We are also grateful for your constructive feedback, as we are always happy to receive suggestions on how we can make improvements to our services to better satisfy our guest's needs and improve their experiences wherever possible now and in the future. Once again we want you to know that your description is really appreciated. It is nice to know that you had such a good time with us because of our efforts and we hope to have the honour to repeat this experience for you soon. Best Regards, Quality Manager Online Iberostar Costa Dorada
Read more
A G wrote a review Jul 23
Please read the reviews before you stay. We came to the hotel while in port for the day on a cruise. The hotel does offer day passes however we decided to get a room so we could have a place to cool off in ac. The rooms smell of mold BADLY! It was fine for us for the day but I would not have spent the night in that smell. There is no ocean or poolside bar waiter service If you want to drink expect to wait 15 minutes at least and have to walk to one of two bars one by the pool and one by the ocean each with only one bartender. The swim up bar is not open. The line got so long they stopped making blended drinks Piña colada on the rocks anyone because that’s what you got in the afternoon. The blended piña colada’s in the morning we’re actually very good until he stopped serving them because “they take too long to make” . Waiters on the beach will take your empty glasses but will NOT bring you a drink even for $20USD tip. We did have a wonderful beachside meal cooked over an open flame guests took turns stirring it with a huge paddle very fun experience. The pool is very nice as is the beach and palapas. Their are plenty of both chairs and Palapas. The check in is extremely slow. The checkout was the final straw for me! After waiting 30 minutes in line because they only have three people doing both check in and checkout outs while three others sit around and do nothing. We asked for a copy of the final bill/statement seemed reasonable to have proof we checked out and it’s nice to know what if any final charges are being charged to the credit card given to them upon checkin. They refused to give me an invoice or receipt. Finally after getting a manager involved I got a hand written one from the manager. This alone would not have been a big deal had what happened next not happened. I arranged a private taxi to take me from the cruise ship to the hotel And back. After checking out and entering the taxi a security guard stoped the taxi and a lady who worked for the hotel as a manager would not let us leave the property. She insisted I did not check out and needed to get back in the 30 minute line to get her proof of a checkout. Considering I had to get a manager to give me a hand written note because I wanted proof of checkout originally I knew she was asking for something she thought I could not provide. I showed her the note and the business card the previous manager (Elizabeth Ventura) had provided me. The lady’s face was priceless she didn’t see that coming. This however was not good enough. She wanted me to get out of the taxi and get back in the check out line knowing I did not have time to do this and get back to the cruise ship on time as I had explained to her several times. Upon realizing that all she was doing was shaking me down for a bribe I told the taxi driver to just drive and If the security guard was smart he would move to not get run over. Surprisingly this worked . However it made me wonder how many other people just paid the money to be able to leave and not be late for their cruise. I felt like I was in Mexico. This is not a four or five star hotel please think twice before coming. I have been to many Iberostar’s in both The Dominican republic in Mexico and I’ve always had a fabulous experience. This was a complete shock! Needless to say I will not be back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Iberostar Hotels and Resorts, General Manager at Iberostar Costa Dorada
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for sending us your feedback of your day pass in our destination. First of all allow us to explain, that it has always been of great importance for us as a group to guarantee that our guests first 10 minutes in reception on arrival and their last 10 minutes on check out are part of an enjoyable process. As we are aware that it contributes a great deal towards the reputation of our hotel. We are really sorry to read what you describe and we inform you that our manager's intention by asking you that question at the end, was just to make sure you had the check out ticket, as some times there are clients who does not go to reception to check out. We really apologize for the missunderstanding and the inconvenience this caused to you. However,we have taken note of all your comments and we have passed them on to the head of the department, to review and improve our services and facilities. Nevertheless, we would like to emphasize that at Iberostar service orientation and personalized attention to our customers are of the utmost importance. We hope to have the pleasure of your company in the future and fulfil all of your expectations in true Iberostar style. Best regards, Quality Manager Online Iberostar Costa Dorada
Read more
Rosarod15 wrote a review Jul 18
Corona, New York
Read do many good reviews from this place but what a disappointment. The rooms were so dirty, their buffet food was always cold and I always had to ask for a spoon. The pool area was nice and is probably the only good thing I have for this place.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Iberostar Hotels and Resorts, General Manager at Iberostar Costa Dorada
Responded 1 week ago
Dear guest, Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us Allow us to mention that cleanliness is one of the most important aspects of our hotel. We always strive to ensure that our guests have a comfortable stay in a spotless room and environment. We apologise that you did not receive this impression. Also, gastronomy is one of the pillars of our establishment, we do our utmost to ensure our guest's complete enjoyment of our cuisine, nevertheless, we will relay your comments to our team for their consideration and we do thank you for your constructive critique. We will be waiting for your return to make sure you receive a real Iberostar experience. Quality Manager Online Iberostar Costa Dorada
Read more
Elisa A wrote a review Jul 11
Great resort! The Spa is a Must, one hour massage, the ladies are professionals, 5 start rating definitely. Flor Gomez, you have the touch of an agel in your special hands! The other five ladies, Wendy. Faby. Daysnaira, Nieves, abdvid, Leonardaardina. todas super buenas. La supevsora Yohanny, muy attenta, muy professional, volvimos al jacuzzi Al dia siguiente por una hora. Como regalo para nuestra 15 anera. I have been to other Spas in resorts, this one is outstanding!!!! 6 starts. Elisa Alvarez
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Iberostar Hotels and Resorts, Dueño at Iberostar Costa Dorada
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear guest, We would like to thank you for choosing us for your holiday and we are very honoured to know that we have lived up to your expectations. We will be delighted to have the pleasure of your company again in the not too distant future. Regards, Online Quality Manager Iberostar Costa Dorada
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$117 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
iberostar costa dorado, iberostar puerto plata, iberostar costa dorada dominican republic, iberostar costa dorada puerto plata, iberostar hotel costa dorada, iberostar costa dorada hotel, costa dorado, puerto plata iberostar, iberostar hotel puerto plata
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicPuerto Plata ProvincePuerto Plata
NUMBER OF ROOMS
516
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Iberostar Costa Dorada
Which popular attractions are close to Iberostar Costa Dorada?
Nearby attractions include Joyeria Las Americas (2.8 miles), Rancho Lorilar (1.5 miles), and Vivonte Cigars (2.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Iberostar Costa Dorada?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Iberostar Costa Dorada?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Iberostar Costa Dorada?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Iberostar Costa Dorada?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Iberostar Costa Dorada?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ristorante Passatore, Big Lee's Beach Bar, and Los Tres Cocos.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Iberostar Costa Dorada?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Iberostar Costa Dorada?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Iberostar Costa Dorada offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Iberostar Costa Dorada?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Iberostar Costa Dorada?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Fortaleza San Felipe (2.7 miles), Casa Museo General Gregorio Luperón (2.7 miles), and Logia Masónica Restauracion No. 11 (2.7 miles).