We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel

Hotels.com$135*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,013 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 492: English reviews
Start your review of El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
 Click to rate
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Despite renovations that are ongoing that make the outside look questionable. The newly refreshed rooms are very nice and the other amenities are top notch as well. As long as renovations continue I imagine this will be a great value.

Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank CCR2
Management response:

Dear CCR2, Thank you for deciding in favor of El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel. Wow such lovely words about your stay. It is a pleasure to see all the positive aspects you noticed during you stay. Thank you also for finding words of praise about our ongoing renovations. I am delighted to read your compliments about our rooms and...

Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Hotel is located in the center of the city, with very good services and beautiful rooms. Is a classic hotel with modern details. Have fitness center, pools, and awesome backyard. All rooms have modern decoration.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ssanchezfermin
Management response:

Dear Ssanchezfermin, Thank you! Feedback like yours is so inspiring and motivating to all of us here at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to share your wonderful impression here on TripAdvisor. Your wonderful experience is all credit to our wonderful team. All very dedicated, no matter if working at the front desk. Spoiling...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed at this hotel about 7 times in the last 3-4, first stay since the renovations. I absolutely LOVE the renovations they have done to the rooms. They did a very good job making use of all the space in the room, the bathroom is way more spacious and well appointed. The pool and breakfast are some of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nadia C
Management response:

Dear Nadia C, Thank you so much sharing with us such a detailed review. Your comments, concerns and feedback are essential and extremely important to us. I would also like to thank you for being such a repetitive guest, your loyalty means so much to us and is, undoubtedly, very valuable. I am glad you had the chance to return...

Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

It is my second time staying at this hotel. It has a great staff who can speak English. I love their breakfast. It is close to business district far from central traffic area. The room is high tech with great design.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Burak C
Management response:

Dear Burak C, Thank you so much for your lovely comments and 5 points review! It is our true pleasure to receive your comments and read about your amazing experience. Thank you as well for returning to your home in Santo Domingo. It is very gratifying to read about our valued returning guests and how we were able to surpass...

Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed April 12, 2017

My overall first impression was that it was an older hotel that was pleasantly surprising. It had a vintage look in the lobby and hallways but the rooms were very well updated. The support staff was extremely accommodating and courteous. The check in process was a bit longer than normal but it could be that I arrived earlier than the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EyerishAngel
Management response:

Dear EyerishAngel, Thank you so much for this delightful review! It was very encouraging to read all your lovely compliments about your stay. Knowing that you had a pleasant experience and that we surpassed your expectations is so gratifying to us. Our hotel indeed is one of a kind. Our historic lobby and gorgeous newly renovated rooms are unlike any...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed April 9, 2017

I had a wonderful 4 day stay.The staff were great,breakfast was ok and the cleaning ladies were very friendly.The tours I went on were great and can thank the hotel staff for introducing me to the tour company.Book with this hotel and you won't be sorry.I will be back....I am a real person and this review was my own personal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank prosperousmark
Montserrat G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review

Dear prosperousmark, Thank you so much for giving El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel such an amazing rep! We greatly appreciate all your kind compliments and lovely review. These positive reviews definitely brightens our days. Your comments about our staff are very encouraging. Our team works very hard every day to anticipate to all of our guest's needs and provide...

Reviewed April 4, 2017

Overall our stay was good and we had a wonderful time! The hotel is beautiful, newly renovated areas. The rooms are incredible spacious and confortable, tastefully done! The pool area feels like a private mansion pool, surrounded by lush tropical gardens. I Like that it is not too big or too small, just perfect!! We had some little hiccups on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ana G
Montserrat G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ana G, Wow, what a great review, following your recent stay at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel. Thank you! Feedback like yours is so encouraging to everyone on our team, especially now, while renovating our hotel, it is amazing to know you we surpassed your expectations. We are delighted to read, that you had such a lovely stay...

Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Reviewed March 23, 2017

Our of our 7 night stay, 3 nights were without a TV service, with constant power outages and we overheard many guest complaints similar to ours. There is no construction advisory on the hotel website or on booking.com. The restaurant and room service meals were below adequate with many items on the menu not available or substituted, meals served cold...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mariannapp2017
Montserrat G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mariannapp2017, Thank you for your honest feedback. We appreciate that you have chosen El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel I am delighted to read you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms and all of their amazing amenities such as free WIFI. It is very gratifying to know our guests our enjoying our efforts and the amazing renovations. The hotel is...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed March 22, 2017

The weekend for a very special wedding at the El Embajador was just an amazing experience. The room was delightful and the service befitting. The amenities were plentiful. The only thing I found deficient was the gift shop which was extremely limited on merchandise and offerings.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank angelaK8953AT
Montserrat G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review

Dear angelaK8953AT, What an incredible review! Thank you! It is a great pleasure to read and receive your comments and an even greater one to know that we have provided an amazing experience. There is nothing more gratifying that knowing we have done our job surpassing your expectations and creating unforgettable memories for you during your visit to Santo Domingo....

Guelph, Canada
Reviewed March 20, 2017

I was there for business and the room I had was excellent. Quiet and spacious. I wished I could have stayed longer. My only complaint is the concierge staff mysteriously "found" a gift that was left for me at the concierge desk after the person who left it was notified that it couldn't be found. When the staff were approached...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank badams392
Montserrat G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review

Dear badams392, Thank you for your honest feedback. We appreciate that you have chosen El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel for your week in Santo Domingo and it is very rewarding to see that you had a great week in this beautiful city. I am glad to read how you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms. These rooms definitely have no...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

693 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (310)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Other (149)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (313)
Viewed
Amenities (62)
Viewed
Pool (25)
Viewed
Dining (110)
Viewed
Superior Room (55)
Viewed
The Hotel (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (70)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (15)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#8 of 79 in Santo Domingo
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo
#14 of 79 in Santo Domingo
576 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
#13 of 79 in Santo Domingo
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Casino and Gambling
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel

Address: Avda. Sarasota, 65 | Ensanche Bella Vista, Santo Domingo 10110, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Price Range: $153 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Barcelo, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental El Embajador Hotel Santo Domingo
Occidental El Embajador Santo Domingo
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Spa Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#6 Casino Hotel in Santo Domingo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel staff and other travelers.
22 questions
Ask a question
Miami Lakes, Florida
New York
over a year ago

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Corner suites are larger, but don't have the best view. Ask for Ocean view on the ambassador Jr suite.”
anagZ3377OJ, Apr 4, 2017 | Read review
“Best rooms ever”
Freddysosa, Mar 16, 2017 | Read review
“ocean view is supposed to be great but in 2 stays I had the parking lot”
ttinmiami, Mar 15, 2017 | Read review
“ask for the just remodel rooms and lower floors are best now with the remodeling isue”
Y8078EGluism, Mar 1, 2017 | Read review
“Request one of the Remodeled Rooms...”
fragipps, Feb 23, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Hotels.com
$135* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor$135
travelup.com$237
Expedia.com$135
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates