We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

El Embajador, A Royal Hideaway Hotel

Avda. Sarasota, 65 Ensanche Bella Vista, Santo Domingo 10110 Dominican Republic
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotel direct offer!Additional 5% off
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (197)
Panoramas (6)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 06/24/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from El Embajador, A Royal Hideaway Hotel
Updated 06/24/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#5 of 92 hotels in Santo Domingo
2020 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best

Welcome to El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, your Santo Domingo “home away from home.” El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year.

Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as La Puerta del Conde (1.4 mi) and Avenida George Washington (1.5 mi), guests of Occidental El Embajador Hotel can easily experience some of Santo Domingo's most well known attractions.

You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer a flat screen TV, a minibar, and air conditioning, and you can stay connected during your stay as El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel offers guests free wifi.

The hotel features room service and a concierge. Plus, Occidental El Embajador Hotel offers a pool and breakfast, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

Travelers looking to enjoy some tapas can head to Cava Alta or La Placette. Otherwise, you may want to check out a French restaurant such as danielle, Julieta Brasserie, or Elysée Bistro Patisserie Française.

During your visit, be sure to check out popular attractions like Parque Mirador Sur (0.1 mi), National Pantheon (Pantheon Nacional) (0.8 mi), and Santo Domingo Skyline (1.2 mi), which are all within walking distance of the hotel.

El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel puts the best of Santo Domingo at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Room & Suite (116)116
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Casino and Gambling
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Valet parking
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Car hire
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Facial treatments
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
VIP room facilities
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
Hotel links
Special Offer:Additional 5% off
624Reviews31Q+A18Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 514
  • 70
  • 18
  • 11
  • 12
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
grullonmaria286 wrote a review Oct 25
Dominican Republic1 contribution
Beautiful, elegant, and clean hotel the staff always pleasant and welcome you. Is my second time this year and l will repeat it. I recommend a hundred present for your next visit to the Dominican Republic.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: October 2020
Sleep Quality
glennb1234 wrote a review Mar 2020
Toronto, Canada8 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Amazing service and a great experience. Food is amazing. It is always one of the highlights for my week to eat here. Beautiful oasis in the middle of the city. Love it. Special mention Mariel Baez is a most excellent server - always around when needed, but professionally absent when not. It's an art many could use learning!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Room Tip: All good - nothing to complain.
See more room tips
Response from JuliannySBibieca, Guest Experience Manager at El Embajador, A Royal Hideaway Hotel
Responded Mar 16, 2020
Dear glennb1234, We thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, and thank you very much for choosing us for your stay. We are honored to have received you and provided our services. We are also very pleased to know that you found our team helpful and genuinely friendly at all times. We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel. Thank you for your compliments of our excellent service, we work very hard every day to ensure that our customers feel well served. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Sincerely yours, Julianny S. Bibieca Guest Experience Manager
Read more
jammybaldera wrote a review Oct 5
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic1 contribution
We went for a weekend Gateway, and we loved it. Very lovely and quiet place. Close to everything in downtown. the staff attention, the room, the pool, the garden, the food, definitely we are coming back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: September 2020
Sleep Quality
CarlGarnes wrote a review Sep 2020
Sewell, New Jersey1 contribution
Hotel is in excellent condition and the rooms are awesome. I am coming back to visit this hotel in October. The reception service to bar service was excellent. Rooms were very clean and the food while a little high was very good.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: September 2020
Sleep Quality
Yesi wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Never in my entire life have I ever been so humiliated!! Let me start off by saying, I have been a customer of the Barcelo Hotel Group for over 7 years. Literally to the point where me and my family stay at their hotels about 8 times a year. We travel to Dominican Republic very often and ALWAYS stay there. I made my reservation at Barcelo this week to celebrate my son’s birthday (he was turning 5) and received an email from them stating that due to Covid-19, this hotel was closed but that they are sending our reservation to their sister hotel El Embajador a royal hideaway. I didn’t see anything wrong with that because I trusted that the Barcelo Group would provide great service. We arrived to the hotel and did check in like we regularly would and they give us our room key. When we head upstairs to the room, the room seemed nice but the floor was filthy so we called front desk to please send someone to sweep the floor. When the lady arrives I tell her thank you for cleaning the floor and ask her if its ok that we hang some balloons and decorations up around the room for our son’s birthday and she smiles and say “yes, that’s sweet, no problem.” in Spanish. So we gladly hang it up for our son. The next day we receive a call from front desk saying that someone informed them that we had balloons put up in the room and it wasn’t permitted so I apologized and explain that their cleaning lady told me it was ok and had I known it wasn’t I would have never done it and that I will take them down immediately. They said, ok and hung up. The day after that was supposed to be check out but our flight was resceduled so we had to make a reservation for another day and the reservation went through sucessfully. We go to reception and tell them we booked another day and the receptionist tells us that the reservation doesn’t show up yet but that everything is ok and that we can go about our day regularlly and we did. We see that 2 hours pass and they still haven’t told us anything about our reservation so I go back to the front desk and ask and she tells me, hold on let me ask in the back. I wait and she tells me the general manager/director Mrs.Katiuska Méndez is going to come out and talk to me so I said ok, so the manager/director comes out and tells me that she doesn’t know why the booking agency would allow me to book another day if they no longer have any room available. I was so upset I cried because they waited 2 hours to tell me this. So I call my booking agency to make sure I don’t get charged for this reservation and the agency tells me that only 20 minutes prior to my call, they received a message from Katiuska Méndez that they WILL NOT approve my reservation due to damages to the property. I couldn’t believe that the director/general manager was lying to my face and even worse, saying that to the agency when we hadn’t caused any damages. I go speak to her again and ask her why she so boldly lied to my face, her response was “I didn’t want to make you fell bad.” WHAT?!?!? "What do you mean? How is this ok? I ask her, what damages did I cause to the hotel that were so severe that you are telling me I can’t book here like if I trashed the room or broke something?" She said, “You put up balloons in the room without permission and there was a really dirty towel that room service had to clean.” I couldn’t believe what I was hearing! I said, “I have been a valued guest at your sister hotels for over 7 years, I have spent thousands of dollars booking in your hotels and you are telling me that because my child spilled soda and we used a towel to clean it and because we hung a few balloons you are kicking us out so viciously! When the room service cleaner told us it was ok in the first place and we took them down the minute we were informed it wasn’t accepted.” And said “we see you've stayed at the hotel group countless times but YES. THATS EXACTLY WHAT IM TELLING YOU AND I AM ALSO INFORMING YOU THAT I HAVE MADE IT SO THAT YOU ARE NOW BANNED FROM ALL OF OUR HOTELS EVERYWHERE!” I freaked out, I raised my voice and told her how can they do that to us over a balloon. I was so embarrassed I felt like I wanted the ground to swallow me whole because the entire staff saw what she was saying to me. Even the young lady in the front desk told me to try to reach out to the Director of the hotel because what Katiuska Méndez was doing to me and my family was so unacceptable. IF ANY OF YOU LOOKING TO STAY AT THIS HOTEL HAVE CHILDREN, PLEASE RUN AS FAR AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL AS POSSIBLE. This woman did not care that me and my children had no where else to go at that time and were embarrassing, mistreating, ridiculing and discriminating me all over a balloon being hung in our room for our son’s 5th birthday after their staff told us it was ok. She did not care about our well-being, she was rude and cold and didn’t care loosing a customer they hav had for years, so imagine how they are with new ones. THIS IS A HOTEL OF HORROR! They lost a very loyal customer.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1 Helpful vote
Response from Julianny Sanchez Bibieca, Dueño at El Embajador, A Royal Hideaway Hotel
Responded Aug 31, 2020
Dear Yesi, We thank you for taking the time to share experience with us, as your comments are essential for our constant improvement. We regret everything that happened. We are sorry to hear that your time at our hotel was not entirely to your liking due to the situation. We are working on investigating what really happened, so that we can guarantee you a better experience from the moment you arrive. We have taken good note of your remarks related, we extend our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you. We're sorry you were unhappy, we'll work hard to fix the issues you experienced. Thank you for letting us know. Sincerely, Larissa Castro Channel Manager
Read more
$88 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
occidental el embajador hotel santo domingo, occidental el embajador santo domingo
CaribbeanDominican RepublicSanto Domingo ProvinceSanto Domingo
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about El Embajador, A Royal Hideaway Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to El Embajador, A Royal Hideaway Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Parque Mirador Sur (0.1 miles), Museum of the Dominican Man (0.7 miles), and Bella Vista Mall (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at El Embajador, A Royal Hideaway Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at El Embajador, A Royal Hideaway Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at El Embajador, A Royal Hideaway Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at El Embajador, A Royal Hideaway Hotel?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to El Embajador, A Royal Hideaway Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Casa Vera, Elizondo Restaurante, and El Meson De La Cava.
Are there opportunities to exercise at El Embajador, A Royal Hideaway Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does El Embajador, A Royal Hideaway Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, El Embajador, A Royal Hideaway Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at El Embajador, A Royal Hideaway Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does El Embajador, A Royal Hideaway Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to El Embajador, A Royal Hideaway Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Alcazar de Colon (3.7 miles), Parque Colon (3.5 miles), and Panteon Nacional (3.6 miles).