We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hodelpa Nicolas De Ovando

Calle Las Damas, Santo Domingo 10210 Dominican Republic
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Official Hotel
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (811)
Panoramas (85)
Room & Suite (319)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 10/13/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hodelpa Nicolas De Ovando
Updated 10/13/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#17 of 99 hotels in Santo Domingo
Travelers' Choice
In the heart of the colonial quarter of Santo Domingo, set among remarkable buildings, stands the Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando hotel, the former home of the Governor of the same name, a contemporary of Christopher Colombus. Built on the first paved street of the New World, where beautiful Spanish ladies strolled to display their rich costumes, the hotel's guests will enjoy an outstanding stay in a unique place where the stones, patios and fountains will take you back in time.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Poolside bar
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Outdoor pool
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Harbor View
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
1,115Reviews20Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 688
  • 286
  • 77
  • 38
  • 28
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
leonidas r wrote a review Yesterday
Galle, Sri Lanka1 contribution
I stayed at that hotel for second time. First time I stayed for 3 days and the second time for 15 days. The place inside the hotel it's very nice, exotic I can say. Very nice garden and very nice pool to drink something or for swimming. The workers here it's very friendly, very helpful, very polite and all the time with smile. The manager is everywhere present to coordinate the work but very discreet and polite. The foods it's very nice and every day fresh. I never ate anything wrong or frozen. I hope to visit again that hotel in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
Dennis wrote a review Jan 15
7 contributions
Who knew the Dominican Republic had something more to offer than its beaches? Santo Domingo surprised me while I spent the night once on the way to the beach when I landed in SDQ and I stayed in Nicolas De Ovando and have been back twice a year ever since! Luxurious, cool, welcoming and steals a piece of my heart every time I come back. You will not regret staying at this hotel, getting to know the staff, and admiring its 500 years of historic preservation.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2021
Sleep Quality
Leonardos A wrote a review Jan 13
1 contribution
Restaurant service was good from all waiters like Linda, Yuberkes and other's.Also reception was friendly and kind.I would give 5/5 but the room's need some small improvement like in bathroom, a/c, and doors
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
JWendy2000 wrote a review Jan 2
Queens, New York1 contribution
Restaurant service and reception personnel were exceptional , waiter Linda, Antonio, Virgilio Maria very amicable and always attentive giving full service. Reception area and personnel were also very attentive and friendly.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Response from Dora Polanco, Guest Services / Front Office at Hodelpa Nicolas De Ovando
Responded 2 weeks ago
DearMrs.Wendy: First and foremost we would like to thank you for the praising review you shared following your recent visit to our Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your expectations. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Best Regards
Read more
NomadicBeautyIntl wrote a review Dec 2020
New York City, New York8 contributions
This will be a long review so I’ll start with a TL/DR: Disgustingly dirty even by pre Covid standards, mouse droppings near bed post, dead roaches, dirt in cocktails, completely run down facility, atrocious customer service (checking in and front desk woman literally picks up her personal cell phone TWICE) Club floor non existent, LOUD, and overall not pleasant. We cut out 3 night stay to 1 and couldn’t wait to run out of there to shower at our next hotel (Intercontinental Real). Save your sanity and time. Ok! So let’s start with the positives: the location is great! This hotel is comprised of 3 mansions with quite a bit of history located right off the main square in Zona Colonial. Sadly, that’s about where the positives ended for us. We arrived around 3pm on Sunday December 27th. It was a decently busy day out but the hotel lobby was empty minus maybe one other person. Check-in: I am not a native Spanish speaker but my partner is. He took care of all of the booking and check in. Upon arrival the single front desk woman was on her phone. She speaks with my partner and then gets another phone call and answers all while we are standing there, mid check in, looking at her. Never in my life in the thousands of hotels split between both my partner and I for both business and please have we ever experienced that! And trust, I’ve stayed at a few HoJo’s back in my day lol Club floor: We’ve gotten a room on the Club Imperial floor. This includes free water and soft drinks, a cocktail hour, and canapés! It even includes a 30 min massage! Amazing!...except non of that was available. I can understand the massage, but in lieu of a cocktail hour and snacks (which could easily have been served the same way they did breakfast) we were given 6 pieces of paper giving us a free mojito. Ok I guess it’s something! And I love mojitos so, ok. But there were no waters or soft drinks. We had to let them know and then they replenished. Fine. The Pool: Deciding to check out the pool for a little of the sun that was left we went to the room, dropped bags, and changed into swimsuits. We got our complimentary mojitos and planned to just relax near the pool until dinner. I was about half way through my drink when I picked it up and saw, amidst the expected sugar that hadn’t fully dissolved yet, were enough dirt particles and decaying mint that I could have started my own compost pile. Needless to say, we didn’t finish. We head up to the room quickly, change and then head to dinner. Upon arrival back at the room is when the real horror started. The Room: We were in room 409 (I think?) overlooking the pool. It’s small and dark. Which makes sense when your idea is cleaning is actually not cleaning at all. Examples: *There was glitter every where. Not vacuumed or brushed up. Just spread out over the table, the bed, and the floor. *Mystery carcas wedge between floor board in corner that smelled like poop. (Photo attached) *Mice Droppings by head of bed frame (photo attached) *Not a single thing had been sanitized. How do I know? I wiped things down myself and my wipe was grimy, brown, and full of aforementioned glitter. *AC unit hadn’t been cleaned since it was installed *Bathroom had mysterious dark read droplets right by the toilet (photo attached) *Shower had mold in it. Not a lot. I’ll give them that. *Shower and floor also has a bunch of literal dirt in it. *Roach carcass near the mouse droppings. I’ve stayed in Red Roof Inns, Howard Johnson’s, Waldorf’s, Mandarin Orientals, and whatever other off brand 1-5 star hotels globally and this hotel was top 2 in most unclean dwellings. This space has the ability to be a truly AMAZING destination hotel. Sadly, hearing that the ownership had changed to a lower quality standard and I will never stay at the Hodelpa brand again. All in all, avoid at all cost.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Response from Dora Polanco, Guest Services / Front Office at Hodelpa Nicolas De Ovando
Responded 1 week ago
Dear guest: Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your impression on TripAdvisor, We are deeply sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at our hotel to the fullest, as we strive every day to make each stay unforgettable. We have reviewed your comments in detail, with our teams and heads of each department, and we would like to assure you that all your comments will be taken care of. We sincerely regret to read that your stay was not as pleasant as it should have been and we would be very happy to welcome you back in the future, assuring in advance our utmost commitment to make your next Hodelpa holiday experience unforgettable at all times.
Read more
$129 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
hostal nicolas de ovando-mgallery hotel santo domingo
CaribbeanDominican RepublicSanto Domingo ProvinceSanto DomingoZona Colonial
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hodelpa Nicolas De Ovando
Which popular attractions are close to Hodelpa Nicolas De Ovando?
Nearby attractions include The Colonial Gate 4D Cinema (0.2 miles), Kahkow Experience (0.09 miles), and Zona Colonial (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hodelpa Nicolas De Ovando?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hodelpa Nicolas De Ovando?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hodelpa Nicolas De Ovando?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hodelpa Nicolas De Ovando?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hodelpa Nicolas De Ovando?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nacan Restaurant, Pat'e Palo European Brasserie, and Pura Tasca.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hodelpa Nicolas De Ovando?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Hodelpa Nicolas De Ovando have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hodelpa Nicolas De Ovando offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hodelpa Nicolas De Ovando?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hodelpa Nicolas De Ovando offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hodelpa Nicolas De Ovando?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.