We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Garraway Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Garraway Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Garraway Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 38: English reviews
Reykjavik, Iceland
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Working in Dominica for quite some time has resulted in many nights spent at the Garraway hotel on the waterfront facing the cruise ship dock. The house was built in 1996 and has been in a dire need for complete overhaul for many years. The food at the hotel restaurant is of average quality and more authentic local restaurants can... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lifrarpylsa
Miami
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

I travel extensively throughout the Caribbean, and this hotel has to be one of the worst I have stayed at in 20 years. No hot water, when I complained they said "that's as hot as it gets". The fish i ordered for dinner Dolphin, was anything but, completely un eatable. The carpet seemed dirty and had a smell to it.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Al S

Travelers are raving about these Roseau hotels

Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for several weeks in 2012. The hotel provides good basic accommodations. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The bar in the hotel has some awesome karaoke nights (amazingly talented local people!). Our room faced one of the main streets and things would get quite noisy on Friday and Saturday nights though. Had access to the roof... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrea O
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your complimentary and appreciative remarks about the Garraway Hotel. We always try to live up to the expectations of our guests and provide the hospitality for which not only the hotel is known but for which our island Dominica and its people are proud of. We will continue to do all we can to make sure you are... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

I walked a lot around Dominica and then sat down in the lobby of this hotel having asked for brochures from the receptionist as I was taken with Dominica and was looking for a potential the future holiday place. At the same time I was given the wifi password and was looking at my emails when all of a sudden... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank chip273
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

My husband and I and daughter along with other family members stayed at the Garraway for the Christmas week. It was a decent stay. One of the best aspect of the hotel is the location - right on the Bay front and I believe all the rooms face the front of the hotel so there is a water view and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jazzlover23
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review

It is very unfortunate that this gentleman refused to comply with hotel policy which he insisted on flouting by refusing to patronise the bar in return for the free use of hotel wifi. It is surprisingly strange that after walking around he chose to sit in the hotel lobby and only then found it to be 'seedy.' His account of... More 

Christiansted, St. Croix
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

One night was all I needed. This hotel is located directly across from Fort Young which is far superior for just a little more money. The bed sheets in the room were worn and looked dirty. The water pressure was low and the “In Room Wi-Fi” didn’t work. When I complained that the Wi-Fi wasn’t working (the wireless router was... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Erik H
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your complimentary and appreciative remarks about the Garraway Hotel. We always try to live up to the expectations of our guests and provide the hospitality for which not only the hotel is known but for which our island Dominica and its people are proud of. We will continue to do all we can to make sure you are... More 

San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

There were not many hotels to choose... Dominica is a small country with only 72,000 people, they have 9 volcanos (3 of them active) and everything is surrounded by mountains. For nature lovers is the right place. In my opinion, the Fort Young Hotel is the number one there, but it was fully booked so I got Garraway, which was... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank MariaSalaverria
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

On our trip to Dominica we had yo stay in a hotel for one night. The Garraway had vacancy, it was a great choice. The staff was very receptive, warm and friendly. We were checked in quickly, escorted to our room, which was very spacious. The hotel is located right on the water front, which is not a reflection of... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony J
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted that your stay with us met your expectations. We hope that we can again provide you with the excellent service of which we are very proud when you next come to the island. I will certainly convey your compliments and comments to our Staff who continually work hard to meet the standards of excellence we set ourselves.... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed at Garraway for two weeks. The only good thing was the breakfast which was overpriced and could be included in the stay package. A few of the front desk folks were out right rude. The executive suite was not really a suite ...none of the usual amenities ...have to carry a large key around And the front door closes... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank dangleben1969
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review

We regret that your stay at the Garraway Hotel did not meet your expectations. We have noted your comments and concerns and where positive will consider how these can be used to improve on our service to clients. Where negative we will do everything to turn these around. We take steps at all times to ensure that the safety and... More 

Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stay for three nights and couldn't get another hotel since there was a big cricket tournament when I went and all of the other hotels were filled to capacity. The food was very good and local dishes were offered in the morning. Didn't eat lunch or dinner there. Was out during lunch and went around the corner at a... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank JiClipper
pestaina, Manager at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us. It was a busy time as Dominica was hosting a Cricket Test Match at the time. However we do try to ensure that all our clients are happy and given excellent service. We would have liked you to savour more of our local cuisine as we do have a varied selection of meals for lunch... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
0.1 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 stars 673 reviews
18.2 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 stars 415 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Flamboyant Hotel
La Flamboyant Hotel
#7 of 7 in Roseau
3.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#5 of 7 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
1.2 mi away
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
1.2 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Garraway Hotel is perfectly suited for the business and leisure visitor who wish to have easy access to the city of Roseau and its environs. It is strategically located on the historic Bay Front named after the Caribbean's first female Prime Minister,the late Dame Mary Eugenia Charles. Comprising 31 rooms with 20 single/double standard rooms and 11 suites (all air conditioned plus having standing fans), it provides comfortable accommodation for singles, doubles and families who wish interconnecting rooms. We have added wifi services to our free internet service. Our local cuisine caters for a variety of food choices for breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks. We offer karaoke entertainment every Friday evening and can arrange tours to the many natural sites and attractions which have made Dominica well known as the Nature Island of the Caribbean. Please come stay with us! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Garraway Hotel

Address: Place Heritage | One, Dame Eugenia Charles Blvd., Roseau, Dominica
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Price Range: $94 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garraway Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Garraway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garraway Hotel Roseau
Garraway Hotel Dominica/Roseau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay