We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Langestraat 8 Curacao, Willemstad 33328 Curacao
Update from hotel: This property is temporarily closed until 06/29/2022.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (394)
360
Panoramas (8)
Room & Suite (268)

About

#21 of 35 in Willemstad
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.0
Service
4.2
Value
4.0
The Kura Hulanda Village & Spa offers a village experience of the 17 & 18 centuries in the center of Willemstad, the island's capital city at the Otrobanda side. Only 20 minutes drive from the airport and walking distance to prime shopping, diverse cuisine, nightlife, and more. Spread over an eight-block area, this property is under renovation. The Kura Hulanda Museum is adjacent to the property open from Tuesdays to Saturdays from 9 am to 4 pm.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Evening entertainment
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Dutch
291Reviews22Q+A47Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 94
  • 115
  • 52
  • 22
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
John S wrote a review Dec 2020
Willemstad, Curaçao25 contributions9 helpful votes
I was on Curacao for workation… Working remotely with my company in California. I chose this place because it seemed like a good deal and I wanted to check out the city a little bit having spent so much time on beaches. Overall, The staff was friendly and helpful… But I got to be honest this hotel is kind of falling apart. Tried to open a window and part of the window fell off. Never got hot water to come out of the shower. The rooms are really dated and old and very dark… Basically caves. I could only do a few days here before moving on. On the other hand… It’s really close to the Queen Emma bridge and really close to a lot of things to see in the city… And admittedly it was pretty cheap.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
H B wrote a review Aug 2020
Curaçao4 contributions
The people at this hotel make you feel at home. The hotel itself needs some maintenance but the room was comfy, and I felt as if I was at a retreat although the hotel is in the middle of downtown. Would choose this hotel again for sure. Loved the authentic kriyoyo food.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: room around the pool is the best.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Bryan Heerenveen wrote a review Jun 2020
5 contributions
The cook was amazing. The evening food of the cook (dark woman very kind ) and the service was amazing. suriname girl of the front desk was amazing. and the lady from HR too. The mister who was the waiter and helped the gust that stayed there very good was a dark guy around 1.80m. i think ihis name was sharlon. he was an amazing guy. the rest of the people are also amazing and kind. Andneomi was ind and hard worker too. I havo no remarks about this place. I would go and stay again. was amazing guys Bryan Heerenveen
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: It is a nice and quiet hotel
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Zelmia S wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
At first sight it was really pretty from the outside. We booked two rooms and received one on the one side of the hotel, the other on the other side, which did not make sense because it seemed very empty. We arrived early and the lady at the reception was very nice to already let us check in to our rooms, the first room we saw had a very bad leak in the aircon and we asked for a different room, which the lady again helped us with, the second room was much better. We took a little afternoon nap as we had been awake since 4am to fly to Curacao. While trying to sleep we could hear the people in the rooms above us (sounded like they were moving furniture) when we finally fell asleep, a staff member from the hotel came in unannounced and without reason, when she saw us on the bed she said oh sorry and closed the door and left again. This made us feel like it was not safe to leave our personal things in the rooms, next morning we had the buffet breakfast which was mediocre. We only stayed one night, did not use the pools because it was full of leaves and dirty. It seems like it was once a very nice hotel, but not anymore, it's a beautiful location but was definitely not worth the price we paid to stay only one night.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
t0rchbearer wrote a review Feb 2020
Vancouver, Canada66 contributions33 helpful votes
Securing a collection of two dozen historic buildings in various stages of restoration into a functional compound and running it as a hotel must be one of the greatest challenges a hotel operator could ever face. But, in our opinion, the staff at Kura Hulanda rise to the occasion. It is interesting, functional, comfortable and reasonably priced. Each room is unique. Ours was lovely. Special mention goes to Danielle at reception who went above and beyond in adjusting our reservation as our needs changed.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Book early through Booking.com to get the best price.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
TravelingKornfelds wrote a review Jan 2020
30 contributions8 helpful votes
We were very optimistic about this property as we love historic settings and the combo of proximity to Willemstad and parking (so that we could explore the island) was appealing. However, the place is quite literally falling apart with chunks of furniture and bathroom tile tumbling down. The pools and grounds are poorly maintained, the wifi is non functioning, and the hot water in one of our rooms was never fixed. One of our tubs had the intimate hairs of a prior guest somehow permanently affixed to the ceramic and eight days of housekeeping did nothing to dislodge it. There were stickers in the rooms telling us not to drink the water (despite Curacao having a modern desalination plant). One can only assume that this was because the published stories of the hotel not being able to pay its water bill were true and caused it to use some alternate unsanitary source. The breakfast was mediocre and sparse, some of the staff quite unfriendly, and the AC in the rooms could not be adjusted. In summary, a beautiful setting with great potential but better avoided until new management rebuilds and refreshes it.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Nirmala P, Guest Relations Manager at Kura Hulanda Village & Spa
Responded Jan 15, 2020
Dear Guest, We thank you for your comment and are glad to hear that you love the historic setting of the hotel. Your comments regarding the grounds and Food and beverage and the employees will be addressed for proper follow-up up. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced, regards Npanday
Read more
ralphocamargo wrote a review Oct 2019
Sao Paulo, SP18 contributions3 helpful votes
Far from the best beaches you need to rent a car for access. Access to the commercial center in punda and otrobanda is easy, just a few minutes walk with good bars and restaurants. The hotel is divided into areas, I stayed in the Bolivar Pool, I do not recommend the room 237 (?), Upper level. The stair railing is broken in several places where there is a risk of falling. The place has a careless aspect to the details that make a difference to your stay, as well as an evening show in a hotel behind the room with electronic music that makes it impossible to sleep on Fridays and Saturdays. Do not stay in this area unless you like a lot of noise. On the plus side, the hotel provides a transfer to Kura Hulanda beach club in sabana westpunt a wonderful beach, don't miss it.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Nirmala P, Public Relations Manager at Kura Hulanda Village & Spa
Responded Oct 18, 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay, and that you enjoyed the good bars and restaurants within walking distance from the hotel. The Hotel is located in the center ow town and therefore it might be a little bit noisy due to the active nightlife in the area. The Kura Hulanda Lodge westpunt is a quiet hotel located at the far end of the island, and we offer a daily shuttle to and from town so guest can enjoy the peace as well. We will pass your comments for proper follow-up. regards
Read more
Carlo wrote a review Sep 2019
1 contribution
Was very impresed by the quick assistants and support before and during our stay. Please ask for the daytime Manager by the name of Danielle she is very good along with all the others . They actually clean the room every day and make sure all is well.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We stayed on the west side and liked it.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Nirmala P, Public Relations Manager at Kura Hulanda Village & Spa
Responded Oct 3, 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing you comments with us. We are glad to hear that Danielle assisted well and that your room was cleaned, and we will surely pass your comments to our staff. Hoping to have informed you accordingly and looking forward in welcoming you back in the naer future, warm regards
Read more
DrGJH wrote a review Jun 2019
London, United Kingdom7 contributions2 helpful votes
I cannot understand the positive comments - apart from a recent negative posting - about the Kura Hurlanda in Willemstad, Curacao. It is one of the worst hotels I have ever encountered and I have stayed in many hotels around the world. I stayed there last week because I was at a conference in Willemstad. Here are some of the problems: my room (and others I saw) was dark and let in hardly any natural light; the shower produced a trickle of water (and when I complained, the person who came to repair it agreed that it was a terrible shower and did nothing to improve it); the shower leaked and made the bathroom floor slippery and dangerous; the front door was extremely difficult to close properly; the two swimming pools were filthy and full of leaves. Breakfast was at best mediocre. This was apparently once a great hotel and is still very attractive on the surface. A local guide said that the hotel is now bankrupt - I suggest you avoid it.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from CurJB, Manager at Kura Hulanda Village & Spa
Responded Jun 11, 2019
Dear guest, First of all our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay at our hotel. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and in order to take corrective actions with the room you have stayed we kindly request you to sent us a message with the room number. Thank you in advance and once again our sincere apologies. Yours truly Jeanette M. Bonet
Read more
Ernesto Z wrote a review Jun 2019
Bogota, Colombia72 contributions13 helpful votes
Good location. Pretty decent rooms. BUT air conditioning does not work well. Even thought at maximum fan speed + lowest temperature set-up, the AC just not cooling the room. I feel it's a little bit pricey.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from yoycegoilomendez, Director of Sales at Kura Hulanda Village & Spa
Responded Jun 13, 2019
Thanks for sharing your feedback regarding your stay. Let us know your room number to make sure that the issue It’s fixed. We are looking forward to see you again. Regards
Read more
Previous
123456
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Kura Hulanda Hotel & Spa
LOCATION
CaribbeanCuraçaoWillemstad
NUMBER OF ROOMS
82
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kura Hulanda Village & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Kura Hulanda Village & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Copperstone (0.3 miles), Island Treasures Gifts and Souvenirs Curacao (0.2 miles), and Queen Emma Pontoon Bridge (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Kura Hulanda Village & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Kura Hulanda Village & Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Kura Hulanda Village & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Kura Hulanda Village & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kura Hulanda Village & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ceviche 91 Curaçao, Gouverneur de Rouville, and The Captain Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kura Hulanda Village & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Kura Hulanda Village & Spa have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Kura Hulanda Village & Spa offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Kura Hulanda Village & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Kura Hulanda Village & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Kura Hulanda Village & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Dutch.