We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Scharlooweg 25, Willemstad 1234XL Curacao
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$86
Hotels.com$86
Priceline$86
Travelocity$86
Trip.com$91
Orbitz.com$86
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (259)
360
Panoramas (12)
Room & Suite (195)

About

#15 of 36 hotels in Willemstad
Location
4.1
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.3
Value
4.2
GreenLeaders Gold level
You have arrived at a very special place! What nicer place to be than a wonderful mix of history, great accommodation, affordable prices and... a personal touch. Have you ever stayed in a former Ice Cream Factory? Chocolate or Vanilla? Walk through our village and experience the special ambiance and our friendly staff. The Ritz Village is the best location for your stay while on Curacao. The Ritz Village Hotel is an adult only hotel (starting October 15th 2018
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch
549Reviews14Q+A41Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 197
  • 220
  • 83
  • 23
  • 26
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Albert wrote a review Jan 2022
Los Angeles, California420 contributions227 helpful votes
+1
«+» None for me. Only thing I can mention here is the hotel’s cute colorful building design and nice helpful staff who made my same hour express check-out super easy. «-» I checked-in, came into my room and was turned off right away. Room was outdated and looked super basic, plus it was very dark (and I need daylight to feel happy). That’s why I found another hotel and checked-out right away. I really appreciated that the hotel’s manager was kind to me and let me to check-out with a full refund without any problem.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hans Robben, Owner at The Ritz Village Hotel
Responded Jan 26, 2022
We are sorry to hear you did not appreciate the charm of the renovated ice factory and our urban beach. We wish you the very best
Read more
H K wrote a review Jun 2021
Toronto, Canada26 contributions20 helpful votes
Location to Punda was only 10 min walk. Facility was awesome, great rooms, great pool area, great staff. Food at the restaurant by the pool was tasty at a good price. Full Canadian breakfast with pancakes, eggs, bacon, juice and all the coffee you can drink for $10 usd. We'll definitely be back. We booked last minute and got a room at the end of a hallway with no front view or window to outside, but it was an exception. The majority of the rooms have a sitting area outside their door. Just make sure to ask for it. I've seen some comments about the sketchy neighborhood surrounding the hotel. While there are some houses in disrepair, they're the exception and at no time did we feel that we were in an unsafe area.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hans Robben, Owner at The Ritz Village Hotel
Responded Nov 30, 2021
Thanks for your review, we are happy to hear you had a wonderful vacation with us and hope you can return soon!
Read more
Ollie van der Eng wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
A good hotel, affordable prices, friendly and helpfull staff. Nice mix of people in the hotel and hostel at happy hour and evenings. Don't expect luxury, but clean rooms and walking distance from town centre.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ritz-Village, Owner at The Ritz Village Hotel
Responded Feb 18, 2020
Thanks for you review! I will let our staff know how much you appreciated their great service! We hope you can return soon!
Read more
ALFAFlorida wrote a review Jan 2020
Florida39 contributions21 helpful votes
I spent 4 nights in this hotel over New Year. It’s not the most elegant hotel but it has everything you need (A/C, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, enough storage space, large safe, TV with many international channels and free wifi). Very friendly staff, food was good. The bar closes at 10 pm which is too early for my taste, but guests who want to go to bed “early” probably appreciate it. I definitely would stay there again
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ritz-Village, Owner at The Ritz Village Hotel
Responded Feb 18, 2020
Thanks for you review! I will let our staff know how much you appreciated their great service! We do close the bar at 10 so those in nearby rooms and get a good nights rest! We hope you can return soon!
Read more
Vojtech S wrote a review Dec 2019
1 contribution
I have wonderful stay here, staff is super friendly and alsoways willingness to help the guests. It is also in walking distance from the inner city of Willemstad. Hotel is safe with good car rental services. I would recommended Ritz Village hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ritz-Village, Owner at The Ritz Village Hotel
Responded Feb 18, 2020
Thanks for you review! I will let our staff know how much you appreciated their great service! We hope you can return soon!
Read more
Esther_vdL_2905 wrote a review Oct 2019
Breda, The Netherlands43 contributions39 helpful votes
Shower with cold water, almost no light in the bathroom, outside space (semi-open) shared with mostly smoking people, no private balcony or terras. Kitchen things broken and/or not working. Very dark room, like in a basement. Location not very nice, especially for woman when you want to have dinner elsewhere. Pool between walls. Positive: spacious room, and good cleaning.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ritz-Village, Owner at The Ritz Village Hotel
Responded Nov 14, 2019
Hi thanks for your review, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We do have solar water heating, we are sorry to hear this was not sufficient. The outside terraces are where people who smoke must go as our rooms are non smoking, I will check your room to ensure the kitchen things are in order. As an urban hotel, we have a map for the best route to walk downtown, we are sorry you did not like the pool that is in the sender of the buildings, We wish you the very best.
Read more
Aniel Ghisaidoobe wrote a review Jul 2019
Paramaribo, Suriname2 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed there for 8 days ..has been a wonderful experience. Especially the staff is super friendly and alsoways willingness to help the guests. It is not a 5 star hotel. You shouldn't expect that given the rate pay for a night stay. But it is worthed every penny. It is also in walking distance from the inner city of Willemstad, Pounds etc.. you save lots of money on the expensive taxi's on the island.. beter to rent a car or use public transportation. But I would recommended Ritz Village hotel. For a wonderful stay. And don't look for details that you will find 8n 5 or 6 star hotels. it's not fair to judge them on this details.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ritz-Village, Owner at The Ritz Village Hotel
Responded Jul 18, 2019
Thanks for your review! We do are best to have 5star service on your 3star budget! Glad you appreciate this! We hope you can return soon!
Read more
Vin wrote a review Jun 2019
Chicago, Illinois110 contributions53 helpful votes
So we got the loft one the biggest size, with ocean view and balcony. we got nada.they said sorry buy picture is old. worst part about it they didnt even offer US the room we booked even at a higher rate. also a/c sucks. no place to put soap in shower, not a singular ammenity item either. from soap to ear buds..etc
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ritz-Village, Owner at The Ritz Village Hotel
Responded Jul 18, 2019
Sorry to hear that your experience was unsatisfactory. The lofts and cottages are our most expensive rooms, I’m sorry you did not realize. We will ensure the information on you booking site is up to date, as an urban hotel, not really ocean views. Sorry about that confusion. We are in the process of installing new safes and soap/shampoo dispensers in all rooms. Sorry you did not experience that. We wish you the very best.
Read more
Angela smith wrote a review Jun 2019
1 contribution
I visited the Ritz hotel this month, and it's the worst hotel ever. A can of coke cost $2.25, and there's no water in the vending machine.To make matters worst, there was no soap in the bathroom to bathe. When it rained the room was flooding, there's no mats on the floor, and there's no phones in the room. The service is horrible I will not recommend it to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ritz-Village, Owner at The Ritz Village Hotel
Responded Jul 18, 2019
We are sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. Like many hotels, we are following the trend of no phones and investing in our free WiFi. In curacao we have a modern de salination plant that gives us drinking water from the tap. Sorry water was sold out of the vending machine. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay and had an issue with rainfall. We wish you the very best.
Read more
fifraser wrote a review Jun 2019
Newport Beach, California182 contributions185 helpful votes
Due to the enthusiasm and helpfulness of all of the staff with whom we came in to contact, I want to rate the Ritz Village higher, but my negatives have to drop my overall rating. However, Stefan and the crew were awesome and everyone we came into contact with smiled and engaged us. The ice cream on check in was a nice touch too. Thank you for being so welcoming and kind. The room was a good size, with a kitchenette, and was supplied with pans, crockery etc. needed to prep a basic meal. We were moving off a boat so we cooked an evening meal some nights of our stay, using supplies we’d brought with us. There was a small fridge and a microwave low down under the sink. There was a two ring electric hob and a kettle. Washing up liquid was provided. Weirdly there was no electrical outlet to plug in the kettle unless you unplugged a floor lamp and put the kettle on the floor. I’m not sure why the hotel has not put an electrical outlet where you can stand the kettle near the kitchenette unit. We had a table and chair area outside our door but had smokers beside us didn’t sit outside as much as we’d have liked to. The bed is another rating dropper- it was uncomfortable, hard and unyielding and the pillows were cheap and only one was provided. On the last day I found one extra inside a drawer in the wardrobe unit. The bed is made with a sheet as the only bed covering. I like the weight of at least an additional blanket and ended up trying to put a towel over me to get off to sleep. Yes, it’s a hot climate and there’s AC, but the provided bedding was disappointing and resulted in tossing and turning. You get issued one card to the room and use it to get AC and lights working in room. We found the AC perfectly adequate and were comfortable with the room temp at night. The hot water situation also drops my rating of the property. We understand this is solar heated (great) but it often was tepid at best for showering and washing dishes. The water is safe to drink and they provide you with a jug of cold water in the fridge on arrival ( excellent). But, I had difficulty chilling water down quickly after this jug, as the water in the kitchen only ran tepid, not cold, so we were chilling tepid jugs of water. The pool area seemed to be very quiet. Twice, when we used it after an exhausting day of boat cleaning and maintenance, we were the only ones there. There’s a bar with a happy hour but it seems the restaurant is only open for breakfast. Other guests we met said the property had changed hands and used to have more to bring guests together for social time. It’s a pretty big property and my assumption is that most guests are out exploring all day or, if back, are enjoying the AC in their rooms! We enjoyed sitting in the pool enjoying a cold drink and the lack of running, jumping children! Other reviewers have mentioned the towel situation. If you want another towel you rent one. However, we found staff happy to let us have another bath towel to use at the pool, so that we weren’t using a pool wet towel to dry ourselves after showering. We had a late flight so used the pool and the shower by the library to get ready and head out. Strangely, the water at this shower was way hotter than our room! This isn’t a luxury property but it is welcoming and functional. It suited our purposes and we made good use of its facilities.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ritz-Village, Owner at The Ritz Village Hotel
Responded Jun 5, 2019
Thanks for your review and thanks for staying with us. I will let our great staff know how much you appreciated their service. We are happy you enjoyed our welcome ice cream. Most of the kitchen units have an electrical plug withn the counter, we will investigate the room you were in to rectify this. We are sorry you found the matress to hard for your liking. Please let reception know on your next visit and they may be able to provide you with a room option and certainly extra pillows and blankets. Because of the solar system the water in your room is one temperature, we hope that a cold water jug in the fridge would help. Every building has its own solar panels and water tank and so this is why you would feel a difference in another location. We are sorry to hear this was not sufficient. The property has had the same owners for more than 15 years when the renovation from the old ice factory first started. They are very devoted to providing great customer service and respecting the historical identity of the property while providing rooms at a reasonable price in an expensive market. Depending on the season you visit curacao you will notice busy and not busy periods. Room towels left on the floor will be replaced by housekeeping. If you wish to have a beach towel, you must pay a refundable deposit of $20, . We must do this as so many guests loose towels on beaches and we cannot absorb such huge amounts. As a three star hotel we endeavor to provide the best service and facilities within our reach while keeping affordable prices. We appreciate your review and will take your comments under advisement. We are sorry you had inconveniences, We hope you choose to return soon,
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$93 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Ritz Studios
LOCATION
CaribbeanCuraçaoWillemstad
NUMBER OF ROOMS
76
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Ritz Village Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Ritz Village Hotel?
Nearby attractions include 27 Bar & Terrace (0.2 miles), Scharloo (0.3 miles), and Historic Pietermaai District (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Ritz Village Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Ritz Village Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Ritz Village Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Ritz Village Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Ritz Village Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Wine Cellar, Kome, and Roast Cannibal Rumbar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Ritz Village Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Ritz Village Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Ritz Village Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to The Ritz Village Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Fort Nassau (0.6 miles) and Fort Amsterdam (0.5 miles).