We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ritz Village Hotel

Traveler (227)
360
Panoramas (12)
Room & Suite (213)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#14 of 30 hotels in Curaçao
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders Gold level
You have arrived at a very special place! What nicer place to be than a wonderful mix of history, great accommodation, affordable prices and... a personal touch. Have you ever stayed in a former Ice Cream Factory? Chocolate or Vanilla? Walk through our village and experience the special ambiance and our friendly staff. The Ritz Village is the best location for your stay while on Curacao. The Ritz Village Hotel is an adult only hotel (starting October 15th 2018
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Meeting rooms
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Free internet
Wifi
Public wifi
Internet
Restaurant
Poolside bar
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Air conditioning
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Refrigerator
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
518Reviews
11Q+A
41Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 187
  • 208
  • 80
  • 20
  • 23
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We stayed there for 8 days ..has been a wonderful experience. Especially the staff is super friendly and alsoways willingness to help the guests. It is not a 5 star hotel. You shouldn't expect that given the rate pay for a night stay. But it is worthed every penny. It is also in walking distance from the inner city of Willemstad, Pounds etc.. you save lots of money on the expensive taxi's on the island.. beter to rent a car or use public transportation. But I would recommended Ritz Village hotel. For a wonderful stay. And don't look for details that you will find 8n 5 or 6 star hotels. it's not fair to judge them on this details.
Read more
So we got the loft one the biggest size, with ocean view and balcony. we got nada.they said sorry buy picture is old. worst part about it they didnt even offer US the room we booked even at a higher rate. also a/c sucks. no place to put soap in shower, not a singular ammenity item either. from soap to ear buds..etc
Read more
I visited the Ritz hotel this month, and it's the worst hotel ever. A can of coke cost $2.25, and there's no water in the vending machine.To make matters worst, there was no soap in the bathroom to bathe. When it rained the room was flooding, there's no mats on the floor, and there's no phones in the room. The service is horrible I will not recommend it to anyone.
Read more
Due to the enthusiasm and helpfulness of all of the staff with whom we came in to contact, I want to rate the Ritz Village higher, but my negatives have to drop my overall rating. However, Stefan and the crew were awesome and everyone we came into contact with smiled and engaged us. The ice cream on check in was a nice touch too. Thank you for being so welcoming and kind. The room was a good size, with a kitchenette, and was supplied with pans, crockery etc. needed to prep a basic meal. We were moving off a boat so we cooked an evening meal some nights of our stay, using supplies we’d brought with us. There was a small fridge and a microwave low down under the sink. There was a two ring electric hob and a kettle. Washing up liquid was provided. Weirdly there was no electrical outlet to plug in the kettle unless you unplugged a floor lamp and put the kettle on the floor. I’m not sure why the hotel has not put an electrical outlet where you can stand the kettle near the kitchenette unit. We had a table and chair area outside our door but had smokers beside us didn’t sit outside as much as we’d have liked to. The bed is another rating dropper- it was uncomfortable, hard and unyielding and the pillows were cheap and only one was provided. On the last day I found one extra inside a drawer in the wardrobe unit. The bed is made with a sheet as the only bed covering. I like the weight of at least an additional blanket and ended up trying to put a towel over me to get off to sleep. Yes, it’s a hot climate and there’s AC, but the provided bedding was disappointing and resulted in tossing and turning. You get issued one card to the room and use it to get AC and lights working in room. We found the AC perfectly adequate and were comfortable with the room temp at night. The hot water situation also drops my rating of the property. We understand this is solar heated (great) but it often was tepid at best for showering and washing dishes. The water is safe to drink and they provide you with a jug of cold water in the fridge on arrival ( excellent). But, I had difficulty chilling water down quickly after this jug, as the water in the kitchen only ran tepid, not cold, so we were chilling tepid jugs of water. The pool area seemed to be very quiet. Twice, when we used it after an exhausting day of boat cleaning and maintenance, we were the only ones there. There’s a bar with a happy hour but it seems the restaurant is only open for breakfast. Other guests we met said the property had changed hands and used to have more to bring guests together for social time. It’s a pretty big property and my assumption is that most guests are out exploring all day or, if back, are enjoying the AC in their rooms! We enjoyed sitting in the pool enjoying a cold drink and the lack of running, jumping children! Other reviewers have mentioned the towel situation. If you want another towel you rent one. However, we found staff happy to let us have another bath towel to use at the pool, so that we weren’t using a pool wet towel to dry ourselves after showering. We had a late flight so used the pool and the shower by the library to get ready and head out. Strangely, the water at this shower was way hotter than our room! This isn’t a luxury property but it is welcoming and functional. It suited our purposes and we made good use of its facilities.
Read more
Response from Ritz-Village, Owner at The Ritz Village Hotel
Responded Jun 5, 2019
Thanks for your review and thanks for staying with us. I will let our great staff know how much you appreciated their service. We are happy you enjoyed our welcome ice cream. Most of the kitchen units have an electrical plug withn the counter, we will investigate the room you were in to rectify this. We are sorry you found the matress to hard for your liking. Please let reception know on your next visit and they may be able to provide you with a room option and certainly extra pillows and blankets. Because of the solar system the water in your room is one temperature, we hope that a cold water jug in the fridge would help. Every building has its own solar panels and water tank and so this is why you would feel a difference in another location. We are sorry to hear this was not sufficient. The property has had the same owners for more than 15 years when the renovation from the old ice factory first started. They are very devoted to providing great customer service and respecting the historical identity of the property while providing rooms at a reasonable price in an expensive market. Depending on the season you visit curacao you will notice busy and not busy periods. Room towels left on the floor will be replaced by housekeeping. If you wish to have a beach towel, you must pay a refundable deposit of $20, . We must do this as so many guests loose towels on beaches and we cannot absorb such huge amounts. As a three star hotel we endeavor to provide the best service and facilities within our reach while keeping affordable prices. We appreciate your review and will take your comments under advisement. We are sorry you had inconveniences, We hope you choose to return soon,
Read more
Very clean, convenient kitchen in the room, supplied with dishes, kettle, sugar, coffee, tea and condensed milk, microwave, stove top fridge and sink, mostly friendly and helpful staff, good location Hard beds, pool towels for rent, needed to ask for more than a sheet for the bed, expensive and limited restaurant menu, only bar drinks allowed pool side, rental car business no longer on site
Read more
Response from Ritz-studios, Owner at The Ritz Village Hotel
Responded Feb 11, 2019
Thanks for your review. We are sorry we could not meet your expectations. We are sorry you did not like the bed. We take a deposit on the beach towels to ensure they are returned. We do ask our clients to support our bar and not bring their ou=wn beverages to our restaurant. A new car rental has opened on site. We wish you the very best.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$68 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Ritz Studios
LOCATION
CaribbeanCuraçaoWillemstad
NUMBER OF ROOMS
76
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing