We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Mgr. Niewindtstraat, 20 Otrobanda, Willemstad Curacao
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
travelup.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (52)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (9)

About

#12 of 150 in Willemstad
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.6
Value
4.7
Built in 1904, Poppy Hostel has been renovated and restored to accommodate up to 7 guests. It boasts: high ceilings, wooden shuttered windows and doors. There are 4 single and 1 double room, a communal kitchen/dining-area and lounge, 2 large modern bathrooms and a covered porch in the back yard. The neighborhood is nearly 200 years old, with many houses on the street still classically styled. The street is on the traditional Carnival route. Poppy Hostel Curacao Hostel Prices, No Dorms
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bicycles available
Diving
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Wifi
Paid wifi
Game room
Hiking
Car hire
Currency exchange
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Desk
Safe
Iron
Laptop safe
Kitchenette
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch, German
162Reviews13Q+A17Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 107
  • 46
  • 7
  • 2
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Traveltheworldxx1 wrote a review Jun 2018
Arnhem, Australia1 contribution
The accomodation is quite basic. But the location is great and it is a typical Curacao home. You are central to everything. These streets are okay by day, we as girls can walk there, you will get lots of men making comments but it is safe enough. By night it is not a safe area to walk, a local male friend even don't want to walk there by night. The hotel has WiFi for a couple of dollars, but the connection is terrible and slow. Also there are 2 locked doors, great for safety for keeping people outside, but dangerous because there is no emergancy exit and there are no fire alarms. Felt unsafe in the old house without these essentials. Because the house has no airco and is quite humid, there are a lot of mosquitos. Take a very good spray with you. The contact by whatsapp was very good, but at the location a little less. It is not that professional to touch your guests the whole conversation. Allthough we took a more distance, it still happened. Would be more like hostel hosts to keep it pro and don't touch your guests all the time. The room was okay but not clean. There was still trash from other guests in the room. You also get only one towel for 6 days. +'s; Good location, good price -'s; House isn't safe and comfortable
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Poppy K, Guest Relations Manager at Poppy Hostel Curacao
Responded Jun 29, 2018
Thanks for staying at and reviewing the lowest priced double occupancy room in central Willemstad! Sounds like you experienced some typical Curaçao bravado when exploring the old town. As when visiting any new place, walking at night always means keeping your wits about you. When sticking to the Breedestraat, Otrobanda is no different from Pietermaai. All guests who do not book directly are asked to pay if they would like to connact to the internet. This helps offset the 15%-20% commission we pay to booking, expedia, etc. Guests who book directly at PoppyHostelCuracao com get free wifi! The hostel is a "no-frills", shared and self-sevice accommodation. We ask that guests treat it like they would treat a friend's home and, as paying guests, let us know in a timely manner when something needs attention. We have addressed the fire alarm issue, checked the fire extinguishers and provided a key for an alternate exit. If brought to our attention via WhatsApp, they could have been addressed while you were still a guest. As we only have 5 rooms, a staff memeber is not on site permanently. All rooms are cleaned before guests arrive, we're sorry if you found some rubbish in the bin in your room. Hot water is rarely used on Curaçao becase an afternoon shower is already 30C+. Poppy provides some passive mosquito countermeasures (nets, screens, coils) personal spray is recommend. Free bedding and a towel is part of every guest's reservation. These can be washed free of charge on site or a new set can be requested with your host for a charge. WhatsApp and email is used by the entire hostel team, to stay in touch with guests and coordinate all aspects of their stay. My impression is that you enjoyed this before you arrived but not once you had checked in? Maybe it's the translation of "touch"? We certainly hope nobody touched you! We enjoy staying in touch with guests, sometimes even years after their stay. No news is good news is the adage; we hope this means your stay on Curacao was an enjoyable and affordable one.
Read more
Jake D wrote a review Jun 2018
1 contribution
Poppy Hostel was an excellent place to stay at. My girlfriend and I had our own room, so that was a plus. It was nice to cook most of our own meals as well. The Hostel is close to downtown and other attractions. The owners went above and beyond for everyone staying at the hostel. I am very thankful to have visited this island and Poppu Hostel played a big role in that!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Poppy K, Owner at Poppy Hostel Curacao
Responded Jun 13, 2018
Thanks for your review Jake! We are glad you enjoyed all we have to offer.
Read more
Anya E wrote a review Mar 2018
2 contributions
Loved it! Perfect place / price , specially for those who like to observe the island and not over pay for the place thats hardy in use.Since Poppy coveres all the basic needs.Own room, kitchen and 2 ( Large) bathrooms. An easy going place with easy going and adventurous visitors. Stayed there over a week, and the place was cleaned and maintained regularly by the friendy and helpful Staff !! Located close to the Center yet a quiet residence , which is perfect after a long day out and get a good night sleep. And of course cannot forget the Owner. Extremely helpful and nice guy! Not to mention (almost) availible 24/7 (keep in mind he is a person who also needs his rest)
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Poppy K, Owner at Poppy Hostel Curacao
Responded Mar 27, 2018
Awwww thanks Anya, for your visit and for your kind review. We aim to please guests on a budget. The human touch is free and easy to show to respectful, easy going guests like yourself. Welcome back any time!
Read more
Jean-Luc G wrote a review Mar 2018
Amsterdam, The Netherlands1 contribution
First of all i want to say that the owner and the people working for Poppy Hostel are very friendly and helpfull. This made the choice of coming back a second time a no-brainer. I would even have been there a third time but the hostel was (sadly for me) fully booked in that period. The fact of having your own room (unlike other hostels) is a big plus. The place is always clean and well maintained. plus if anything is wrong or in need of fixing it will be taken care of in no-time. The location is in walking distance of beautiful Punda where you can also find a busstation wich is for me (no drivers licence) a very big plus. Met some nice people there and most importantly gained some awesome memories! So for me Poppy is a place i will gladly visit over and over again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Poppy K, Owner at Poppy Hostel Curacao
Responded Mar 27, 2018
Hey Jean-Luc, Great to have you back, again! Sorry i wasn't there in person but you know your way around the island by now ;) I'm proud you decided to visit Poppy Hostel again and booking direct again. From the first time you visited you got in touch directly via the official PoppyHostelCuracao website. This allows us to give you the best prices and free Wi-Fi because there is no commission due to booking sites. You also get to join our loyalty program that includes mambo happy hour outings. All the best with your VJing and really hope I get to see you again the next time on Dushi Curacao! Cheers, Art
Read more
Larissa R wrote a review Feb 2018
Ovacik, Turkey27 contributions9 helpful votes
We had a nice stay here, perfect for sleeping and making a meal, but that’s all. Some notes: -it’s in a “bad” part of town. Restaurants are run down and only open on Saturdays, a general sense of unease especially at night (very few tourists here because it’s industrial and not so “vacationish”, no nearby markets (except an Asian one with few fresh foods), only street parking that is usually full during the day. On the positive side, it’s only a 20 minute walk to beautiful Punda -DO NOT RENT A KIA PICANTO and stay in this part of town! (These are the cars that Avis and Payless rent). We rented this car and were warned by countless people (hostel owner, dive shop, restaurant owners) that these cars are targeted and stolen on a daily basis. 2 were stolen from Poppy hostel guests the week before we arrived. We decided to be cautious and park at the nearby hotel when the security guards allowed it. It wasn’t fun constantly worrying our car would be gone and we’d waste our vacation time dealing with that situation. -very hot with only fans at Poppy hostel (at least this time of year). We were ok but pretty sweaty haha. So for budget travellers we would recommend Poppy Hostel, but just heed those warnings.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from Poppy K, Owner at Poppy Hostel Curacao
Responded Mar 13, 2018
Thanks for your candid review Larissa! You've pretty much summed up our vision for Poppy Hostel; a budget place to sleep, eat your own food and enjoy picturesque Willemstad at your door. Sorry to hear about your rental car woes. Unfortunately car part theft on Curacao is an issue and we do not have the room to park your car on the property. Parking at the Renaissance is a bit of a hasstle but can help prevent your rental being messed with. Otrobanda is literally called "the other side" however, in the last 5 years there have been no issues with guests feeling unsafe. Its no resort and locals may sometimes cat-call ladies. Chalk this up to harmless latino bravado. The area on the other side of Punda is the only original suburb of Willemstad that has locals living in it! The area and its business look somewhat run down because they are local businesses and housed in colonial buildings, many made of salty coral. Recent developments in Venezuela means fresh fruit and veg has become expensive and more scarse. This should get back to normal as soon as Maduro gets ousted. Sounds like you still made the most of your Curacao trip and thanks for chosing our humbe accommodation.
Read more
Frank Dhondt wrote a review Feb 2018
Athina3 contributions
Poorly designed hostel on a prime location in Otrabanda, the charming but noisy ‘other side’ of Punda. The primary host was out of the country and the secondary host lived 20km away -we only met to exhange the keys. The room was very small, dark and hot, with no airco but a noisy fan. The interior design of the room looks like an okd catholic boradroom. The common spaces are extremely uncosy so they are bare used. Even there no airco. Maybe i was unlucky but there was zero interaction between the residents. The outdoor space is poorly aranged as well, not inviting at all. Prices are on the lower end but also the quality unfortunately.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2018Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Poppy K, Owner at Poppy Hostel Curacao
Responded Mar 12, 2018
Hi Frank, We are sorry your stay at Poppy Hostel did not meet up to your expectations. We have done little to the hostel's design because the house you stayed in is a 110 year old colonial house. It is also a listed UNESO monument. Although turing the lounge into a 4 person dormitory may have been a bit more hostel cosy, we decided on a more traditional guesthouse type feel. Guests usually appreciate the fact that they need only share 2 bathrooms with a maximum of 5 others (there were 5 guests during your stay). I'm sorry the Host Frans was not there often, as a self service accommodation we try not to manage the entertainment and interaction of our guests. We didnt hear from you and assumed you were enjoying the island or the downtown area just around the corner. During your stay a returning guest (3rd time at Poppy) could have taken you round. Just like in any downtown home, the outdoor area is small. On a desert island it's also difficult to keep plants that dont have thorns. We hope you enjoyed the short walk to the beach. We have considered putting in air conditioning. However, this would add up to US$5 per night to the cost of a room. 20% extra in most cases (power is very expensive on Curacao). In the 5 years we have been operating, there have been more guests that value no AC than with AC. After all, Poppy Hostel Curacao offers the most inexpensive private room in Willemstad with a local UNESCO feel! We know the rooms are small, but they're big enough for sleeping. We hope you got out a bit too and enjoyed all that Curacao has to offer as well and thanks for your direct booking via our official website. You know a bargain!
Read more
Samya V wrote a review Dec 2017
Ghent, Belgium1 contribution
Frans, the host, was extremely welcoming, showed me around and was always ready to help with anything! The room was clean, just like the living room, kitchen and bathrooms. Because there are only 4 rooms you easily get to know the other guests and it has a cozy vibe, which I really appreciated. Overall I had a great stay and certainly recommend poppy hostel :)!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2017Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Poppy K, Owner at Poppy Hostel Curacao
Responded Mar 12, 2018
Glad you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciate Poppy"s colonial charm.
Read more
hbroek11 wrote a review Sep 2017
New York City, New York3 contributions1 helpful vote
I had a great stay at Poppy Hostel. This is a Unesco building, a beautiful historic landmark. It used to be a family home, has an authentic tile floor and high ceilings. Very clean rooms and bathrooms. It is located on walking distance from the center of Otrabanda. Many authentic restaurants around. Close to the main road. Easy parking. Frans, the person who takes care of Poppy Hostel, took us on a tour around the island, an excellent way to get to know the mayor landmarks and beautiful beaches of Curacao. The place is priced astonishingly low, everything works perfectly. All thumbs up for Poppy Hostel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Destination714156 wrote a review Jun 2017
1 contribution
I had a great 4 night stay at poppy hostel . I was looking for a budget friendly place to stay while on the island and poppy hostel was the perfect fit . The rooms were clean and simple a bed, a desk , closet , safebox and 2 fans . There was also two bathrooms .The location was perfect only a 10 minute walk to the floating bridge and punda. The host Lilian made my stay extra special . She was very warm and friendly when I arrived . She gave me a brief history about the hostel and owner Art as well as the island . She gave great suggestions of places to visit and sights to see whilst on the island .We would chat with other guest in the evenings about life the island and etc . I also love that they did airport transport for all guest . Overall I had a very fun time staying at poppy hostel and I would recommend this hostel to other guest looking for a budget friendly place to stay with great people .
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017
Helpful
Share
theiss_728554 wrote a review Apr 2017
Willemstad, Curacao1 contribution
Poppy Hostel is a very nice place to stay on Curacao. City Center in walking distance and supermarket around the corner. Really, really nice people to meet there! Especially Lilian made my stay there an enjoyable one.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2017Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Poppy Kamers Curacao
LOCATION
CaribbeanCuraçaoWillemstad
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Poppy Hostel Curacao
Which popular attractions are close to Poppy Hostel Curacao?
Nearby attractions include Copperstone (0.7 miles), Island Treasures Gifts and Souvenirs Curacao (0.6 miles), and Queen Emma Pontoon Bridge (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Poppy Hostel Curacao?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Poppy Hostel Curacao?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a desk, and a mosquito net.
What food & drink options are available at Poppy Hostel Curacao?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Poppy Hostel Curacao?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Poppy Hostel Curacao?
Conveniently located restaurants include gelato dagaz, Gouverneur de Rouville, and Ceviche 91 Curaçao.
Does Poppy Hostel Curacao have airport transportation?
Yes, Poppy Hostel Curacao offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Poppy Hostel Curacao?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Poppy Hostel Curacao?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Poppy Hostel Curacao?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Fort Nassau (0.9 miles), Landhuis Bloemhof (2.7 miles), and Fort Amsterdam (0.6 miles).
Is Poppy Hostel Curacao accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.