We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Pietermaai 51, Willemstad Curaçao
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Official Hotel
Hotels.com$134
Expedia.com$134
Priceline
Travelocity$134
Trip.com$149
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (461)
Room & Suite (146)
Pool & Beach (51)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 08/19/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
Updated 08/19/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#13 of 37 hotels in Willemstad
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.1
Service
4.2
Value
4.0
Pietermaai District, once the area of the Curacao well-to-do, has untaken a huge make-over after a long period of neglect and abatement. However, the last 2 years Pietermaai District is working hard to be the new 'Quartier Latin' of Curacao.The colorful Pietermaai Apartments are located in the historical neighborhood of Pietermaai District in Willemstad. The apartments are divided from the sea by a narrow road. The center of Willemstad is only 500 meters away. Just like the neighborhoods Punda, Otrabanda, several clubs, shops, restaurants and cinema's. The well-known Cabana Beach is 4 km. Away.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Breakfast available
Car hire
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Clothes rack
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Residential Neighborhood
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Dutch
436Reviews17Q+A45Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 218
  • 120
  • 48
  • 23
  • 27
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Anselaine B wrote a review Sep 5
Diadema, SP108 contributions93 helpful votes
I didn’t like the stay. Noisy rooms, uncomfortable bed, and coffe capsules are not answers, if you want it you have to get it from reception. Breakfast is basic, you only have one dish option, and if you want natural juice you have to pay. I don’t recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team PBH, Gastenservice/Front Office at Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear AnselaineB, Thank you for your review. First of all, we regret to read that you did not like your stay with us. We would have loved to hear about your dissatisfaction and complaints at times during your stay with us, so we could have provided you with a solution right away. The breakfast that is served, is an A La Carte breakfast, and therefore you can choose a dish from the menu, that comes with a complementary coffee or tea, and orange juice. Despite this, we do hope you had a good time in Curacao. Kind regards, Team Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gina G wrote a review Aug 2022
Oranjestad, Aruba7 contributions
+1
Great hotel , very friendly staff , love it the room they decorated for our aniversario , Miche was great with us. Breakfast was included at the ginger restaurant the best breakfast love it 😍, The pool was espectacular 100% recomendado, walking distance to nice turístic places.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Rent a car to go to old piscador beach very nice !!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team PBH, Gastenservice/Front Office at Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear GinaG15772, Thank you very much for your review! Great to hear that your first time in Curacao has been unforgettable! We will pass on your kind compliments to our team and the team of restaurant Ginger. We would love to welcome you again in the near future! Kind regards, Team Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sébastien B wrote a review Aug 2022
21 contributions
+1
We had a great stay at this lovely boutque hotel. Great staff, always willing to help and they handle very quickly when we needed some extra's. They offer also car trips etc. We stayed in a little penthouse , what as great for a couple. Bedroom upstairs and livingroom/kitchen/bathroom downstairs. We were just annoyed by the bar "Mundo Bizarro". Almost every evening there was loud music and live bands. till 1am in the norning so that was the only thing that wasn't nice. For the rest a great place to stay and great location.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team PBH, Gastenservice/Front Office at Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear SebaCharlotteBelgian, Thank you very much for your review! Amazing to hear that you have had a great stay with us! Please feel free to inform us about your preference for a quiet room for your next stay, we will do our utmost best to meet your wishes. Kind regards, Team Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MandyMG wrote a review Jun 2022
Kent107 contributions68 helpful votes
+1
We stayed here for two weeks and loved our accommodation. We opted for a large room with the bed on a mezzanine floor and a sitting room and kitchenette beneath. Stylish and comfortable, fab bathroom, large and comfy bed. The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly and the room is serviced every day to a very high standard. Ideally located to explore beautiful Pietermiaa on foot. We ate in a different restaurant most nights as well as preparing simple meals in our room. There is a beach at a large hotel (Avila) within walking distance - you pay a fee to use the beach and the sun loungers etc. we hired a car to explore the island and went to lots of different beaches - the island isn’t difficult to navigate. I’d thoroughly recommend staying at this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: There are a variety of room types so it’s a good idea to make sure you get one that suits your...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team PBH, Gastenservice/Front Office at Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
Responded Jun 30, 2022
Dear MandyMG, Thank you for your lovely review! We are happy to hear that you have had a wonderful experience with us. We loved having you stay with us and hope that we will see you the next time again! Kind regards, Team Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janet F wrote a review Jun 2022
23 contributions10 helpful votes
Pros: - helpful, friendly staff who are multilingual - hotel has what’s app to communicate with guests after check-in - great location in Punda and to Otrobanda - very walkable - 2 pool gardens to relax in - property is clean and taken care of - rooms have AC Booked the standard room and paid for breakfast too. Breakfast at Ginger is good. Their staff is friendly and service is consistent. Cons: - I wish my room had a hook or two for hanging towels in bathroom area.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team PBH, Gastenservice/Front Office at Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
Responded Jun 30, 2022
Dear janetf2018, Thank you very much for your review! We are delighted to read that you experienced a lot of pros while staying with us, such as our staff and service, the location, and our gardens. We would also like to thank you for your feedback on the hanging space in the bathroom! This is always very much appreciated. Kind regards, Team Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dromeluk wrote a review May 2022
Paris, France100 contributions72 helpful votes
Thé hotel is ideally located, surrounded by nice restaurants (ginger, roast cannibal rum bar) and very close to the city centre Private parking is also available The exterior of the building is nice, however the room was disappointed, very dark, lightening should be improved, basement flat (view on a wall) lots of noise (air conditioning machine but also music form The neighborhood ) , the bed was really bad (mattress should be replaced) , The pool is a little pound more for decorating the patio than inviting guests to refresh Expensive for the quality of the room!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Team PBH, Gastenservice/Front Office at Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
Responded Jun 9, 2022
Dear Dromeluk, Thank you for writing your review. First of all, we are happy to hear that you have found our hotel in an ideal location in the center of Pietermaai. We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your room. We would have liked to hear about this at times of your stay with us, as we would have been happy to offer you another room that would have been completely to your satisfaction! We hope you had a great time in Curacao. Kind regards, Team Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sara Goldstein wrote a review Jan 2022
Hartford, Connecticut320 contributions81 helpful votes
This is a very cute boutique hotel but I have one qualm and it was a pretty big issue. The bathroom is a part of the room, it’s not separated by walls or anything! This means there’s barely any privacy for using the restroom which I found uncomfortable and awkward. Other than that it was nice, the workers were awesome! Super helpful and friendly. But seriously how much could it cost to add some drywall around the toilet and shower so you can have an actual bathroom?
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Team PBH, Gastenservice/Front Office at Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
Responded Feb 9, 2022
Dear raicookies, Thank you for your review. First of all, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would like to thank you for your feedback on the open bathroom in your room had, we appreciate this. As we are a boutique hotel, all our rooms are slightly different. We therefore indeed have rooms with an open bathroom, however, we also have rooms with a closed bathroom. You can at all times inform us about your preference for the closed bathroom. We would love to have you stay with us next time again. Kind regards, Team Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sneakyright wrote a review Jan 2022
Babylon, New York1229 contributions317 helpful votes
+1
I gave an extra star due to how happy we were with the penthouse suite but I still struggled to award it. To start we had one of the standard rooms first that overlooked Ginger, the restaurant. We found the room to be depressing with a design that should not allowed to be boutique hotel room, not even for a hostel. Even the staircase to the upstairs was so small that it was difficult to navigate. In their defense, I think we just got their absolute worst room due to how late we checked in as I cannot see an accurate picture of it online anywhere. The toilet and shower in this room are without doors and are directly behind your head where you sleep. This may be acceptable for a hostel or a frat-house but not for a boutique hotel. The shower was not well lit and when we saw it under a bright light, it was disgusting and clearly not thoroughly cleaned in some time. I couldn't help but feel that the pictures did not really give you a sense of what we were signing up for and the disparity of the best room from the worst was not what you would expect. After 1 night we immediately decided to upgrade to the penthouse suite for the rest of our stay. For a very reasonable amount of additional money per day, it is amazing what a difference we received from the 1st room. I wish we had booked this room from the start but from the pics online, you get a sense that you were safe regardless of what you chose. The penthouse suite overlooked the ocean, had 2 bedrooms each with bathrooms and a large kitchen and living room area. Unfortunately they could not give us this room for our entire intended stay so we were forced to leave Curacao a day early. They refunded us half of our prior room rate, which to me was not appropriate given the circumstances that we upgraded and we were unhappy with the prior room without making big deal over it, but I guess we just have to agree to disagree. Their defense is that we agreed to a no-refund policy but I also didn't know I was signing up for a sad, poorly kept room that was not accurately represented on the website. Even the penthouse suite was in need of some attention. It just lacked the finer details and TLC that could have put the experience over the top. This property greatly benefit from the eyes of an outside consultant. In fairness, the penthouse suite price was a great value when all considered. Ginger restaurant was average. The breakfast was decent but we did not find lunch or dinner to be anything special. Mostly bland and lacked with struggling but friendly service.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Team PBH, Gastenservice/Front Office at Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
Responded Feb 9, 2022
Dear sneakyright, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we appreciate your feedback and take this very seriously. First of all, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in our Penthouse Suite and found the suite and its ocean view amazing. Unfortunately, indeed we did not have the availability to offer you this suite until your last day. We regret that the room you booked with us initially did not meet your expectations. We discussed your feedback internally and have taken action on it as well. We hope that despite the night in the room you did not like, you had a wonderful stay with us in the Penthouse Suite and on our beautiful island in general. Kind regards, Team Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
EvelynKD wrote a review Dec 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Pietermaai Boutique Hotel is a very pretty spot - two small beautiful pools in a very private and lush oasis setting. Room was very comfortable with everything you need. Many great restaurants and bars in the neighbourhood. On-site restaurant Ginger is fantastic! Compared to other boutique hotels in the area, it is on the expensive side - so depends what you’re after. We stayed for 4 nights and moved to two other locations on the island to have some variety, which I highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Team PBH, Gastenservice/Front Office at Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
Responded Dec 23, 2021
Dear EvelynKD, Thank you very much for your kind review! We are delighted to read that you experienced our hotel as a very pretty oasis in a super location! We will also pass on your compliments to the team of restaurant Ginger. We hope that we may welcome you with us in the future again. Kind regards, Team Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dana H wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution
We had a great stay at pietermaai boutique hotel. the location is good the buildings are very beautiful! very authentic! unfortunately the country went into lockdown during our stay, but the staff did everything they could to make it perfect! all credits for the staff! definitely a must go if you like an authentic, one of a kind hotel. Breakfast was ok, nice staff at restaurant Ginger only it would be nice if there is more variety. But still it was ok!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team PBH, Gastenservice/Front Office at Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
Responded Mar 27, 2021
Dear T2701Kldanah, Thank you for your amazing review! We are really happy to read that despite the fact that the government announced the lockdown during your stay, you had a great stay with us. We will pass on your kind compliments to our team and we are delighted to read that you found the authentic buildings where we are situated in beautiful. We would love to welcome you back in the near future! Warm regards, Team Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$138 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pietermaai smal apartments hotel willemstad
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Pietermaai Apartments
LOCATION
CaribbeanCuraçaoWillemstad
NUMBER OF ROOMS
36
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Pietermaai Boutique Hotel?
Nearby attractions include 27 Bar & Terrace (0.10 miles), Queen of the Most Holy Rosary Cathedral (0.3 miles), and Memories Curacao (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Pietermaai Boutique Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Pietermaai Boutique Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Pietermaai Boutique Hotel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Pietermaai Boutique Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pietermaai Boutique Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe de Tijd Curacao, La Boheme Curaçao, and Kome.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Pietermaai Boutique Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Pietermaai Boutique Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Pietermaai Boutique Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Fort Nassau (0.9 miles) and Fort Amsterdam (0.4 miles).