Avila Beach Hotel
Traveler (2795)
Pool & Beach (526)
Avila Beach Hotel
Videos (3)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Fri, Jun 7
Only 5 left at
$219
Fully refundable before Fri, Jun 7
Get rewarded with One Key
Only 5 left at
$219
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 10 resorts in Willemstad
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.3
Value
4.2
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The Avila Beach Hotel is a centrally located Historic hotel in Curacao (Dutch Caribbean). The resort counts Two private beaches, a beautiful House Reef, an Infinity Pool, Spa, Luxury Gym and Five high quality Restaurants & Bars onsite. Family run boutique hotel comprises the islands original governor's mansion dating from 1780 and organizes an array of Cultural and Culinary events. The hotel is just a few minute walk away from downtown Willemstad and is located in the lively Pietermaai District with numurous trendy and great Restaurants and Bars on walking distance. The Three different Hotel Wing each have their own Character and Ambiance. The Ocean Front Blues wing has a Caribbean feel. The Octagon wing breathes a Modern ambiance while the La Belle Alliance wing feels more Classic. The Avila Beach Hotel does countless efforts to contibute to a Sustainable planet Earth and continues to be a reflection of the island of Curacao. Friendly. Intimate. Understated. Welcoming. Feel the Warmth.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Children's television networks
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Snorkeling
Water sport equipment rentals
Walking tours
Highchairs available
Free shuttle or taxi services
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Massage chair
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Executive lounge access
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Additional bathroom
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Dutch, German and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Rate:Direct Booking Benefits

Location

Penstraat 130, Willemstad Curaçao
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles2,560 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Avila Beach Hotel garners praise for its exceptional amenities, including stunning beaches and snorkeling, set in a prime location near dining and downtown attractions. While the rooms are celebrated for their space and views, a few guests note some dated features. The vibrant atmosphere, complete with live music, adds to the experience, although it can lead to louder evenings. Service is generally regarded as friendly, despite occasional lapses. Opinions on value vary, with some services perceived as costly. Cleanliness is a standout, with immaculate rooms and grounds.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Spacious
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Relaxing

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
2,560Reviews214Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,587
  • 642
  • 180
  • 96
  • 55
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
POz917 wrote a review Aug 2023
Clinton, New Jersey1,418 contribution258 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favorite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently returned from a wonderful stay at Avila! When we arrived, we were greeted with a delicious rum drink. The hotel staff was super friendly. We stayed in one of the Blue Swing rooms that had a lovely ocean views and it was wonderful to have a balcony over the water. The room was quite spacious, the bed was very comfortable, and the AC worked wonderfully (which is very important as Curaçao was quite hot the week we were there). The only complaint I have is that there were no 120 volt outlets to plug our phones in near the beds, only 220. There was only one 220 volt outlet in our room that was near the TV so we had to take turns charging our electronics. I loved the beautiful private beaches and it was never difficult to find a shaded chair. I liked the sunscreen dispensers by the pool and beach area as well. The restaurants on site were all great. The service was top notch and the food was delicious. The food prices were not crazy high once we realized in local currency and not dollars on the menu. I appreciated that the extras offered did not feel like resort prices. They have a really good breakfast for a charge. The resort location is excellent. There were so many great restaurants within walking distance. The hotel has 2 shuttles going to downtown Willemstad and back per day. But it's also not a bad walk..about a 1 mile walk each way. If you are looking for a great resort with affordable prices and a great beach area, Avila is a great choice!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Bring converts / adapters if you are from the U.S. as there are not enough 120 volt outlets in...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gimene Pieters, Marketing at Avila Beach Hotel
Responded Sep 1, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at Avila Beach Hotel. We are absolutely delighted to learn that your stay with us was fabulous and memorable. It's fantastic to know that you appreciated the warm welcome and found the room in the Blues Wing to be spacious, the bed comfortable, and the AC efficient, ensuring your comfort in the warm climate. We apologize for any inconvenience regarding the voltage outlets in your room and appreciate your feedback. We will certainly look into improving this aspect. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our private beaches, the availability of shaded chairs, and the convenience of sunscreen dispensers. Additionally, we're pleased that you relished our on-site restaurants, service, and food offerings. Avila's location indeed offers the best of both worlds, with easy access to excellent restaurants and a convenient shuttle service to downtown Willemstad. Thank you for your kind words and for recommending Avila Beach Hotel as a great choice for a beachfront getaway with affordable prices. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alena_Jersey wrote a review Feb 2020
Fieldsboro, New Jersey34 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This resort was beyond our expectations! We had an oceanfront room and the view was amazing. The balcony was overlooking one of the two beach coves. Every morning we would come out and enjoy coffee on the balcony. We visited Curaçao in September and this resort was so peaceful during this month. The beach coves are great for swimming and even snorkeling. We snorkeled at so many places in Curaçao but it turned out that one of the best was right outside the resort’s cove wall. There is a reef right there!
We like to try food from different places so we had a dinner at resort’s restaurant only once, but the menu had great choices. So many restaurants and the city center are within a walking distance from this resort.
One of the nights during the week there was a jazz night in one of the restaurants in the resort, unfortunately we missed it.
For Instagram lovers there are so many places to take great pictures at!
To continue, customer service was excellent, the requests were addressed quickly. The only complaint we had during the whole stay is that we could not get a king bed room with the same ocean view, so we had a room with two queen beds. However this was not a dealbreaker for us, since that ocean view compensated for this minor inconvenience.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gimene Pieters, Marketing at Avila Beach Hotel
Responded Feb 21, 2020
We are delighted to know that we have exceeded your expectations and have contributed in making your vacation a wonderful one. It's a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the spectacular ocean view from your balcony as well as swimming and discovering the beautiful reef we have in the waters of the hotel. It's a pity you missed the Jazz night as it is known as one of the best Jazz hotspots on the island. We are glad to know that the slight inconvenience you had did not have an influence on your vacation joy and contentment. We will be very pleased to welcome you back for a next stay at the Avila Beach Hotel whenever you are visiting the island again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
Mark wrote a review Jan 2020
Buffalo, New York20 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I spent our honey in Curacao (highly recommend) and spent the first half of our trip at the Avila Beach Hotel. What an amazing property! We went during October and the resort was perfect with a hum of activity going on through the days/evening; but without ever feeling cramped or overcrowded. We never had the slightest issue with beach space, securing chairs or a canopy, and never waited long for a restaurant or bar service.

The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. We stayed in one of the Blue Swing rooms and requested to be on the second floor at the end of the pier if possible which they made happen with ease. We had stunning views of the property, ocean, coastline, and sunsets. They even have us a complimentary bottle of champagne.

The room pricing as well as the food and drink was all very affordable. The overall property, rooms, and dining areas were meticulously clean. The beach coves were delightful to swim in and they even offered passageways past the break walls to access the open ocean.

Location wise, it's about a 20 minute drive from their airport (very easy with GPS) and centrally located on the southern coast of the island. It's all of a 5 minute car ride from downtown Willemstad and is walking distance from nearly a dozen great restaurants, beach clubs, and even a sports bar! We didn't do much walking around outside of the property past 10 or 11 at night but still felt safe in the immediate area. There are some patches of more desolate street between destinations right before you enter the outskirts of Willemstad; but nothing to be overly concerned with as long as you're using common sense.

We would (and will eventually) go back to Curacao and we'll stay at the Avila again in a heart beat. It was exactly what we needed right after the wedding. It was such a relaxing resort that still offered activities every night and a lively atmosphere.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Blue Swing rooms!! End of the pier if possible, and second floor rooms are a big plus!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AvilaBeachManagement, Manager at Avila Beach Hotel
Responded Feb 6, 2020
We are delighted to know that you had a lovely honeymoon and an amazing stay at the Avila Beach Hotel and thank you for writing this wonderful review and sharing your experience. We are very pleased that you were completely satisfied and contented with the Ocean Front Blues room which is a favorite for its panoramic view. Thank you for your compliments, it is our daily aim to provide our guest with a warm and friendly service. Good to see that you explored the lively Pietermaai District which is very close to town and has many restaurants and bars within walking distance from the hotel. It will be lovely to welcome you back at the Avila beach Hotel for an anniversary celebration or just a relaxing vacation.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ive348 wrote a review May 2022
Lanaken, Belgium106 contributions71 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 10 nights in a Deluxe room in the La Belle Alliance wing of the hotel. The staff at the hotel was welcoming and friendly from the moment we got there. The room was big with ample place to lay/hang your clothes. The bathroom was a nice size and very clean. The bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows. Our terras was smallish and since we were on a corner (room 254) we had a strong draft there, but some rooms have bigger terraces that are also more shielded from the wind. The room has a Nespresso machine and cups are provided free of charge daily. There is also a small fridge and some cutlery in case you want to eat in the room.
The resort has a 2 very nice beach areas separated from the open sea by a rock wall. The resulting lagune is great for snorkling and very safe for children to go into the calm water. One of the 2 beaches is more affected by the ever present wind than the other, so if this bothers you, choose wisely. Also, this area is further away from the Pool Bar, where you have to get your food and drinks during the day. The only minus point is that there are not always enough beach chairs, and a lot of the ones that are there have defects.
The hotel has 2 main restaurants: Blues, which is over the beach, and The Pen, where you also have the breakfast buffet in case you choose to make use of it. The buffet is actually very nice, although at $21.95 pp I found it maybe a little expensive. Dinner at either restaurant is great, but there are also plenty of other great restaurants within a 5 minute walk from the hotel.
One of the top places on the hotel grounds is the Schooner Bar, where guest are always excellently treated by Chino and the other staff. It's a great location to mingle with the other guest at the hotel and relax after a busy day on the beach.
Overal our stay here was super. So much so that we didn't feel much need to explore a lot of the island. We will certainly come back for more of the same
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gimene Pieters, Marketing at Avila Beach Hotel
Responded May 13, 2022
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we appreciate that you took the time to leave us a review. We are pleased to hear that you had an overall super stay and enjoyed the room with its nice amenities, the beaches and restaurants. Thank you also for your feedback, we inspect our beach chairs regularly and will make a note to schedule this as soon as possible again. It's a pleasure to know that you visited the restaurants in our lively neighborhood, the Pietermaai District, and also had a great time at our Schooner Bar. We will for sure pass your compliments along to Chino and other staff members. We look forward to welcoming you for your next stay at the Avila Beach Hotel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Albert wrote a review Jan 2022
Los Angeles, California976 contributions284 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
In general, I enjoyed my stay at the hotel and I don’t really have a lot negative things to say. The most tricky thing about the hotel is its location, which is kind of away from the city center, but the distance is still walkable and it is a direct shot. The positive thing about the hotel is that it has 2 little private beaches, where you could relax easily in a pretty surrounding. You can swim too, but I noticed that it is very rocky in the area and swimming is super limited. The hotel has 2 restaurants. I tried food from there a few times and I did not like it, so I would recommend not to eat at the hotel’s restaurants. Maybe you will be just fine with breakfast, because they were good sometimes. I personally always enjoyed the tasty croissants and fresh fruits. In general hotel’s site is very beautiful. Lobby looks great, it was always clean there and in general all over the hotel. All the hotel’s staff was always sweet and friendly, especially the hotel’s manager. She is a great woman! By the way, the hotel has its own COVID testing site, which opens every morning only (I believe from 6 a.m. to 10 a.m.).
I got room #256. By the way, if I wanted to get to my room using an elevator, I had to press “1”, not “2”. Levels on the elevator definitely were confusing. My room was big, remodeled and pretty nice looking. I really loved the big corner balcony where I loved to chill every single day, I had an ocean view, by the way. My room had a lot of day light even though it was on the 2nd floor. The only one minus of it was all the noise. It was loud because my balcony door was always open and I did not really use the air conditioner and preferred fresh ocean air. The bed in my room was comfortable, but I did not like the pillows, they were hard and definitely old and washed a lot (it felt like small compact pillow stuffing “balls” inside). Another little negative for me was the small refrigerator, which barely could fit drinks. But I liked the closet, which had a lot of space for clothes and a lot of hangers. Also there were wall hangers and a little corner for dirty shoes right next to the room entrance, which I liked a lot because all the sand from my shoes stayed in that corner. The bathroom was large enough and had a big shower stall. Unfortunately, I did not like the bathroom amenities at all, they were of cheap quality and smelled awful. Also I had trouble with a sink which did not drain water that well and the last day of my stay when I shaved completely it did not drain at all from the sink. Wi-Fi was working super slow as in my room and around the entire hotel site.
Another issue with the hotel is its value, which is overpriced as I believe. The room there should not cost $300 per night, it is too much for the hotel’s nice (but not amazing) quality and facilities.
Anyway, I totally recommend this hotel for stay in Curaçao. For sure it will help you to enjoy your vacation.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Request for rooms 255/256 for stay. They have big balconies and nice ocean views.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gimene Pieters, Marketing at Avila Beach Hotel
Responded Jan 24, 2022
We thank you for taking the time to leave us an extensive review of the experience of your stay at the Avila Beach Hotel. Thank you for sharing your feedback, we appreciate this and will take your observations along in our discussions to enhance our facilities and services where needed. Thank you also for sharing your positive comments and feedback regarding your overall experience at the hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the room with its spacious balcony and ocean view was completely to your liking. Thank you for recommending the Avila Beach Hotel as the perfect hotel to stay in Curaçao. We look forward to welcoming you again for another enjoyable stay at the Avila Beach Hotel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DrDonnieDBA wrote a review Feb 2020
Alexandria, Virginia552 contributions136 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed at the Avila Beach Hotel for the 5th time. This is our favorite beach vacation in the world.

In previous TA reviews, I documented what a great property that the Avila is. The relatively new owners, the Vogels family, continue to make improvements to the hotel since purchasing it in 2015. Here are some of the upgrades that were made in the past year.

The fitness center was completely redone, with all new equipment (cardio, weight machines, dumbbells, etc.). The beach chairs are all new this year. The beach towels are new, including a new towel station that was under construction during our stay in 2019. The hotel also provides sun screen at the towel station, in case you’ve forgotten yours or have run out. There are also now more ice machines conveniently located on the hotel property. The rooms in the hotel continue to be renovated, section by section of the hotel.

Best of all, the marine life in the hotel lagoons inside the breakwaters is thriving. There are more fish, a greater variety of fish (at least 50 different varieties), larger fish, and more aquatic plant life than ever. The hotel is doing regular maintenance to keep the sea bottom clean. For snorkelers, it’s like swimming in an aquarium.

Hotel service from the staff is also improving. During a power outage on the entire island, the Avila restaurant waitstaff hustled to accommodate all the hotel guests who had dinner reservations elsewhere. The Avila has a backup generator and was able to feed their guests looking for dinner. The waitstaff also regularly now comes around the beach during the day to see if you’d like to order a drink or a bite to eat. And, as I have noted in prior reviews, the hotel General Manager, Robbin Vogels, is genuinely interested in serving his hotel guests and knowing what the hotel staff can do better.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gimene Pieters, Marketing at Avila Beach Hotel
Responded Feb 25, 2020
It was a pleasure as usual to welcome you to the Avila Beach Hotel. We are delighted to know that you consider staying at the Avila Beach Hotel your favorite beach vacation in the world. It's such a pleasure to read that you had noticed all the improvements made and that Avila is constantly working on making our guests experiences even better by renovating all sections of the hotel and also by keeping up with regular maintenance of the beaches. The aim of Avila's management is indeed to exceed our guests expectations with not only renovating and updating the facilities but also by investing in our staff to have our guests feel at home away from their home with our friendly and personal service. We would like to thank you for taking the time to share this kind review of your stay and would love to welcome you back for your 6th beach vacation on your next trip to the island.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ClaudioB wrote a review Feb 2020
12 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very beautifull hotel. Very clean, householding does a fantastic job! There is a very large swimming pool. The beaches (2) have plenty of beds with free towels. There are 3 restaurants and multiple bars. The Pen restaurant offers high quality food served in a more chic environment (yet still in vacation mood, so no specific attire is required). The Schooner bar and restaurant offer a high variety of food and drinks in a very relaxed atmosphere. The Blues Restaurant was in our case the least attractive one but that is a question of personal preference. We were struck by the service of the hotel staff, simply outstanding! They "served" with a big smile, were very helpfull and always ready to help. I guess that all they ask in return is a smile and politeness (all doors will open!!!). Without wanting to minimize the effort of all the other staffmembers we encountered, we were amazed by the service and helpfulness of people like Susan, Elvis and Armenis. It was so much fun interacting with these people. We chose a room on the Ocean Front (seaview) but be aware that your stay in one of these rooms depends on the way your upstairs neighbour behaves! The room can be very noisy and with bad upstairs neighbours your vacation can turn into hell! We experienced it the first night and then luckily these people ended their stay and we got other, more educated upstairs neighbours. Avila Beach is worth your while and your money, just be informed about the Ocean Front rooms....
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AvilaBeachManagement, Manager at Avila Beach Hotel
Responded Feb 18, 2020
We are delighted to know that you were very pleased with the experience of your stay at the Avila Beach Hotel and thank you for sharing this nice and detailed review. We regret that you had an inadequate start but are glad that after the first night you experienced the usual peacefulness and tranquility the Ocean Front Blues rooms are loved for. We take pleasure in knowing that you enjoyed the premises of the hotel and were completely satisfied with the service given by our staff. We will make sure to mention your compliments to our colleagues and will be very pleased to welcome you back for another stay at the Avila Beach Hotel on your next trip to Curaçao.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pat-pete wrote a review May 2020
venice,fl2 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Here's what happened! After spending countless hours looking for the perfect island, the perfect hotel, I paid for a Ocean Front Blues room 10 months ahead to celebrate our 60th wedding anniversary.

During that time and also shortly before our arrival I explained to management how I wanted the privacy and romanticism of a room facing the open water. This was to be a special occasion. I had enough of rooms facing the gardens, pools, and bars.

What I got was far from it! We were show to the closed room facing the resort, the swimmers and the people walking past our room to get to their rooms. When I expressed my disappointment I was told all the other room were booked and would be occupied for the whole week that we were there. During that week, I saw several new visitors coming and going from those ocean facing rooms but none were available to us. Not for even one night. Sorry, I was told. Yes, i was very sorry too. So, think twice about your expectations at Avila Beach Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gimene Pieters, Marketing at Avila Beach Hotel
Responded Sep 18, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your stay with us. We are very sorry to learn that we did not meet your expectations despite of your request. As much as we try to accommodate all our guests requests it is sometimes very challenging to comply with all of them, especially during periods of high occupancy such as the period in which you visited us. This is also the reason why we can not guarantee room allocation up front. However we always do our utmost to accommodate our guests wishes and highly regret that we have not succeeded with your specific request. We will make sure to take this along in our internal discussions to avoid similar occurrences with future reservations. We thank once again for sharing your observations with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Catriona G wrote a review Jan 2020
Stirling, United Kingdom301 contributions149 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a room in the octagon deluxe with a superb view of the sunset . Room was large with big balcony , good bathroom even a bath which we didn’t use . Staff kept it clean and when the lightbulb went they replaced it in minutes .Beaches were immaculate and plenty of sun beds but few with shade. Not long beaches for walking along but that is consistent across the island. We only had lunch at the beach bar as fabulous restaurants are steps away from the hotel and the evening menu at the hotel seemed limited to us . Lunch was good but the staff were very hit and miss, one day attentive and quick another day so slow !, they didn’t all seem happy in their work ! Beach towels readily available and you change them for clean any time.Snorkelling is ok and the pelicans entertained us daily as they divebombed for fish occasionally nearly hitting guests! The location was good for walking into town and a supermarket the other way for essentials like wine to watch the sun go down.Everywhere took US dollars and mostly the change was in dollars occasionally in guilders. Most people speak English but you do hear more Dutch .
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AvilaBeachManagement, Manager at Avila Beach Hotel
Responded Feb 4, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share the review of your experience staying at the Avila Beach Hotel. We are very pleased to know that you were completely satisfied with the Octagon Deluxe room, the beaches and the view of the sunset. We regret that our service at lunch was not up to par and apologize therefore. We will certainly take this along in our team discussions to improve where needed as it is our daily aim to provide our valued guests with the best service possible. We are glad however that you had the chance to walk around and get to know the restaurants in the Pietermaai District and enjoyed the great location of the hotel which is in walking distance of the town. We hope to welcome you back for another stay at the Avila beach Hotel on your next trip to Curaçao.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Taylor wrote a review Jan 2020
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a great 5 nights at the Avila Beach Hotel! We were originally planning on staying 4 out of out 9 nights here, but changed it to 5 nights due to a snow storm impacting our travel plans. Avila added on a night to our reservation with no problems at all. Upon our arrival, there was even a chilled bottle of champagne and welcome bag to wish us a happy honeymoon!

After exploring the entire island, and staying elsewhere for 4 nights (Dreams All-Inclusive), I can't think of a better place to stay in regards to location. So many things in walking distance or a short drive! Cana and Kome were our favorite places during our stay and they are both only a few blocks away!

The hotel staff is very friendly and accommodating. The beach is small, but really a great size to just relax and hangout. We never had any issues finding beach chairs. We booked directly through the website since they were running a promotion for free breakfast, and it was a decent breakfast, but we probably wouldn't have paid for it otherwise considering it is a little spendy.

Really, my only complaint, is the mattresses were pretty hard. That's is. My husband is a pretty picky and critical guy and he didn't really have anything negative to stay. We had a fantastic stay at Avila and would recommend it for sure!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AvilaBeachManagement, Manager at Avila Beach Hotel
Responded Jan 22, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful review with the experience of your stay. We are delighted to know that you had a great time and lovely honeymoon at the Avila Beach Hotel. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially the location, friendly staff and beach. Thank you also for your feedback and for recommending the hotel, we really appreciate this. We would love to welcome you back for another relaxing stay at the Avila Beach Hotel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from TCIgal
Cumberland Foreside796 contributions41 helpful votes
Hi. We just used credit cards the whole time. We felt that was the best conversion rate. Hope that helps.
Answer from Richie S
2 contributions
My one bedroom did not have a W/D, buy my nieces two bedroom did have both. I did not go to a grocery store, but there are some nearby and from what I heard it is safe to walk. Cabs/taxis are always available. About $10 to go downtown 20 minute ride.
Answer from Dale M
Wisconsin114 contributions75 helpful votes
There were some people that would reserve spots very early, but you can find shady spots by the Blues Restaurant under the walkway. This location is right between the 2 lagoons.
Answer from AvilaB
1 contribution
Price: Nafl. 25 (approximately US $15) for adults Nafl. 15 (approximately US $9) for kids up to 12 years old. Including lunch: Full Day Beach Package Nafl. 79,- pp (Nafl. 59 for kids) Check their website under "offers" or google day pass Avila beach hotel Reservations are mandatory whatsapp +5999 788 1949 Email: info at avilabeachhotel period com
LauraMDorf asked a question Sep 2023
New York City, New York3 contributions2 helpful votes
Is there beach service for drinks brought to you on the beach?
Answer from Stephanie C
17 contributions4 helpful votes
It's a small enough beach area with 2 bars. Even if there's not beach service, the walk is short and the bartenders are super friendly.
Alexandru N wrote a tip May 24
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try all the restaurants in the island!"
Read full review
Diane0514 wrote a tip May 18
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania31 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Loved this hotel. 2 beautiful beaches & the staff were so accommodating! Great location within walking distance of wonderful restaurants!"
Read full review
luckycharm1957 wrote a tip May 14
Arlington, Texas26 contributions28 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make reservations for dinners everywhere"
Read full review
Imani S wrote a tip May 12
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring comfortable walking shoes to get around "
Read full review
Mirka wrote a tip May 5
Amsterdam, The Netherlands7 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be aware that the happy hour (5pm till 6pm - 50%off) applies only to wine, beer and soft drinks, not to cocktails."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Willemstad area.
PRICE RANGE
$226 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
avila beach resort, hotel avila beach
LOCATION
CaribbeanCuraçaoWillemstad
NUMBER OF ROOMS
157
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AVILA BEACH HOTEL - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Avila Beach Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Avila Beach Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Curacao Underwater Marine Park (0.5 miles), Queen of the Most Holy Rosary Cathedral (0.3 miles), and Historic Pietermaai District (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Avila Beach Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Avila Beach Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Avila Beach Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Avila Beach Hotel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Avila Beach Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Soi95, The Wine Cellar, and Sal The Kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Avila Beach Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Avila Beach Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Avila Beach Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Avila Beach Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, Portuguese, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Avila Beach Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Fort Nassau (1.1 miles), Fort Beekenburg (4.5 miles), and Fort Amsterdam (0.9 miles).
All Willemstad HotelsWillemstad Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Willemstad
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars