We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Varadero
Post
Inbox
Search
Travel Alert: U.S. Travel Licensing Restrictions Apply for Travel to Cuba. For details, click here

Paradisus Princesa Del Mar Resort & Spa

Save
Auropista Sur, Ctra. Las Morlas, KM 19 1/2, Varadero 42200 Cuba
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (8352)
360
Panoramas (24)
Pool & Beach (2031)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Paradisus Princesa Del Mar Resort & SPA is located in Varadero Beach, the Cuban sun and beach tourist destination for excellence. This stunning Ultra All-Inclusive 5-star hotel is designed for adults only over 18. The property houses 630 rooms equipped with modern comforts and provides a varied gastronomic offer, daily activities, swimming pool and meeting rooms which convey an ambiance of quietness and service. Discover the magical peace of this paradise, recommended for weddings, honeymoons, incentive trips and spa/wellness.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Paid internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Airport transportation
Parking
Internet
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Adults only
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Refrigerator
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Great View
7,812Reviews916Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 3,835
  • 2,171
  • 1,103
  • 409
  • 295
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Just got back on Monday - I've done many all-inclusives in the Carribean and I can day that this is not a 5 star. We arrived late at night due to flight delays so check-in was quick and we weren't given any information about the resort or it's activities. We found out on the day before we left that the was a dance club and scooter rental available. The resort itself is nicely kept and our room in New building 6 was very nice and comfortable/clean. The pool was nice - a little small therefore chairs are limited. The beach is nice however there are sand fleas - my legs were covered in bites; I wasn't the only one. The staff in general were not helpful or nice - I always felt that I was bothering them with questions. The only great service we had was from Jusmeli who works in the courtyard and Marisol in the buffet dining hall. They were so warm and friendly - it made us feel good to be there. The food...what can I say - I'm.not a fussy eater and I found it difficult to find something to eat at the buffet. Everything was soaking in the liquid it was cooked in. Food was not replenished quickly; had to wait in line up to get in; line up to get served. The A la carte restaurants were nothing to write home about - I had the same "steak" at the Bamboo restaurant that I did at the Marseille restaurant. The Japanese was probably the best but again the meat was overcooked - but at least eadible. You have to wait in line for about an hour to get your reservations while 2 other staff members stand around and look busy. They have a 24 hour snack bar but it only offers tuna and ham and cheese sandwiches or plain hamburger. The currency office always has a line up and the CAN $ is worth less than the Cuban Peso while they accept US currency at par! We had a late check out because our flight didnt leave until 10pm so we asked for a late check out- this usually costs 11 pesos per hour however, we had a lovely person at the front desk give us a free hour. All in all the resort itself was nice but the food and service was a huge disappointment.
Read more
Response from DirectorGParadisusPM, Director General at Paradisus Princesa Del Mar Resort & Spa
Responded 2 days ago
Hello Samtraveller70 Thank you very much for writing us your review and giving us your valuable opinion about your vacation in our hotel I am very glad that all in all your liked our hotel and you enjoyed your holidays. We take note about the swings and will give this valuable information to our head staff. Thank you very much for your opinion again. You are always welcomed in hotel Paradisus Princesa del Mar Sincerely General Manager.
Read more
This hotel is NOT what is being advertised. The beach is nice. The grounds are maintained but this is NOT a 5 star hotel. This is at best a 3 on a great day. We have just returned from PRINCESSA DEL MAR IN VARADERO CUBA. The food as expected was “edible”. However the service in this resort was terrible. The front desk were some of the rudest people i have ever encountered in any resort. We’ve been to 15 resorts in the last 10 years all over the Caribbean. Help with anything is non existent. If you need guidance, find it yourself do not ask anyone in customer service for anything, they will not help you. The front desk avoids customers by not looking at anyone or leaving while hey have dozens of people waiting to be checked in. They gave us the hotel keys rolled in papers and dismissed us. Zero direction, zero instruction, no conversation or greeting whatsoever. We wanted to pay for an upgraded room and were told “no we are booked, come back another day”. So we didn’t bother as we figured the service would be the same so why bother paying more while there. Nobody explains where anything is, it’s up to you to find it. You will always find 2-3 people in customer service ignoring you while you stand in line while they speak to eachother. The a la carte reservation line is always out the door and impossible to book as the itinerary is never available, next to that desk are the 3 CSR’s doing nothing and will not help the reservation line as “it’s not their job” (end quote) The Cuban peso which can only be used in Cuba is at par with the Canadian versus US conversion When exchanging to the “CUC”, you lose 30% For example one Canadian dollar equals 70 pesos Do not exchange too much money as you will have everyone at the airport begging for it while you leave. It’s awful ! The buffet is mind blowing. They have line ups of people Outside waiting to get in for breakfast, lunch and dinner while the other half of the area is empty. At one point we had 42 people outside at 7:30 pm for dinner. When asked if they would open the other side the answer was “the manger isn’t here until tomorrow” and then they shrug their shoulders. Nobody cares about what you want or need as a guest. The health code violations in the place is unreal ! Raw chicken being handled with the same utensils as everything else. Raw burgers being served all night long. And seafood night looked good until you bit into it. Nothing is cleaned or washed prior to being served. The food is noticeably recycled day after day after day Peas and carrots for breakfast Every single day No mint for mojitos daily, and they run out of food daily as well. Bottom line i wouldn’t EVER return to the resort for the price they charge. I thought paying more in Cuba would get me more but it didn’t I am certain the “management” team will follow this review up with an apology and an assurance that they are taking this into consideration. NOT TRUE Nothing was even listened to while we were there Do not waste your money on this resort it was one of the worst Cuban experiences ever. If you’re going to Cuba. So elsewhere. Oh yes and let’s not forget the abundance of visible cockroaches everywhere. So gross ! Never again.
Read more
Response from DirectorGParadisusPM, Director General at Paradisus Princesa Del Mar Resort & Spa
Responded 2 days ago
Dear DayTrip11775118265 Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Paradisus Princesa del Mar with the TripAdvisor audience. I am ever so sorry that what you experienced with us was so below your expectations you felt like rating us 2 star. I have, as I always do, taken your comments on board and will make sure they are addressed accordingly. The team and I work hard to make sure every guest has the most enjoyable and memorable holiday but in your particular case I guess we ‘dropped the ball’ and I can only once again sincerely apologize for that. I would like also add the food is not recycled as you afirm, we do have very estrict heatlh and hygine rules, so they dont allow us to do that kind of thingds you confirm. As it is clear from your post we shall not be seeing you again the team at Paradisus Princesa del Mar and I wish you an amazing year and all the best with your future travel endeavors. Best regards, Managing Director. Paradisus Princesa del Mar.
Read more
+1
We were at the Princesa Del Mar from November 8th to 15th 2019. To get an idea of overview, this was our first all-inclusive holiday so we have nothing to compare. Let’s start by saying that a few weeks before we decided to upgrade to Royal Service and were so happy we did. Room: We were very lucky with a large Royal suite with king bed, shower and tub in bedroom washroom along with eating area and living area with another washroom. The deck had 2 lounge chairs with matching side table as well as 2 sitting chairs and a table. Hot tub located on deck did not work - but who wants a hot tub there and it was never in the fine print anyway. We had no issues - fridge was stocked, everything worked. Water pressure sometimes weaker. Cleaning staff very helpful. Pool: Mostly at the Royal Pool, not many chairs compared to other pool but staff brought some up from the beach to accommodate the guests and took out umbrellas when people asked. Very clean and quite quiet which is what we wanted. Depending on the day & how busy things were, staff came around to ask about drinks several times and even delivered food from poolside venue. A few minor repairs were needed here and there but did see them tend to some. Activities: Husband used skuba diving lessons and went out next day to ocean from 2 dives (one included in resort and $ for the second) He loved it. Staff had a couple of drink lessons during the week that we attended. Seen some people in pool followed lessons. Evening they had things organized and we only attended a few since many night we were too tired to attend as we were up early. Food: We had been warned about food but had no issues. Miramar buffet was better than the other buffet for us because we liked the atmosphere better even if we had fewer choices. Food was stocked frequently as portions left out were smaller. Staff knew us better and expected us the next day so service was awesome, thanks Yirenia. I loved being welcomed by your wonderful smile. We were lucky to have a-la-carte reservations every night except when we went to Havana (Sakura twice, Marseille, Hilltop, Bamboo and Port Royal). The choices we picked were very tasty and they even prepared a special dessert for hubby’s bday (must have been thanks to Ernesto) Grounds: Staff were out a few days after our arrival almost everyday - tending the grass, buches, trees, fixing. Security always outside our building (probably because of location) Always friendly with an hola or more. Royal Beach/regular beach: Tons of chairs available when we went and no signs of sand fleas but there was a bit of wind. (even regular beach seemed fine) We walked in both directions and beach is very large compared to hotels more west, their chairs were almost right beside the water. Bar at the beach was a bonus. Royal Service: Thank you so much to Ernesto our butler at the Royal Service. He made our stay so much better. He made sure we always got what we needed, either more water bottles, more sprite, a change from vodka to blanco rum in room, pre-arranged room service before our excursion to à-la-carte reservations. He really took pride in his job in making our stay the best it could be. We enjoyed when he had the time for short conversations. I could go on, some people complain about the stupidest things. We really enjoyed our stay. Of course improvements are still needed - toilet seats missing, more fresh fruit and veggie to name a few. Keep in mind this is not limited to this resort, Cuba has issues getting certain things. We didn't used gym facilities or the spa so no comment. But the people, all the staff members were wonderful and friendly. Thanks for the memories!
Read more
Response from DirectorGParadisusPM, Director General at Paradisus Princesa Del Mar Resort & Spa
Responded 3 days ago
Hello Denise W Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day. We take note about your tips. We hope to see you again soon at Sol Príncipe. Kindest regards.
Read more
Let's start with the positives. This was our 4th trip to Cuba so we are well aware of potential limitations and to temper general expectations when compared to other Caribbean destinations. Room was outdated but generally clean and functional. AC was a bit weak but working, safe did not work but was fixed promptly, TV remote did not work but was fixed promptly. Two colas in the fridge when we arrived but nothing else. Bathroom sinks/toilet/water pressure were all good. Grounds were clean and the grounds crew were out there every day sprucing the place up. We did not notice any litter or obvious issues with the grounds. The pool was clean, in and out of the pool, but limited seating depending on the day. The breakfast/lunch buffet crew of Liuba, Dianelys and Tony are rock stars and were always attentive and caring. They took care of us everyday and they are the best servers in the whole place. Julio and Daniel at the tennis courts are good people. Tennis lessons are included and we got two lessons from Julio. He is knowledgeable and provided good tips. Daniel was friendly, always open for a chat, and got us extra water when playing because we didn't have enough water. Here are the reasons for the two-star rating. You can decide for yourself if we are being critical for Cuba, or if these are basic things one can expect at a five-star resort: - Check-in process is a disaster (and so easily fixed). In line at reception, we were asked to provide our passports. Then we were asked to move to the left of the reception desk. We figured it would be for a reason. There was no reason. About 10 minutes later, names started being called. When you heard your name, you went up to the desk. We were handed our keycards and some coupons. No "welcome to the resort". No map of the resort. No indication of where our room is. Just a basic feeling of "go away". We asked where to go. They told us to find the bell boy. There was one bell boy for two buses full of new arrivals. You can't blame the bell boy. He was given an assignment he couldn't fulfill properly. A lot of people, tired from travel, waited over 30 minutes before the bell boy could take the to their rooms. While waiting, we tried to get a drink at the lobby bar. Five people working behind the bar and not one person served us. We looked at the coupons and there is no value. Everything you are saving is overpriced (like spa services). - When arriving to our room, the heat was stifling. The AC was off. So was the fridge and the drinks inside. - The TV did not work because the remote did not work. - The gym was dirty and filled with broken equipment. The man working at the gym did nothing to clean equipment. He chastised us for cleaning equipment when it was exactly 7 pm and it was (his) time to go. - The spa was provided as the courtesy room. There were no towels. The shower was clogged and filled with water. No soap. No washcloths. - The beach is beautiful but full of fleas. We were bitten dozens of times, despite wearing repellent. We did see fumigators a couple times during the week to try and fix it. - The buffet is full of health code violations. We witnessed cooks at the grill putting raw chicken next to almost cooked chicken and giving the cooked food to people. Undercooked burgers. Some cooks used the same tongs to take raw meat as to flip and serve the cooked meat. It is enough to turn your stomach. Only 3 or 4 serving utensils per 6 dishes. If you have an allergy, good luck. There was no pasta station as described in some early reviews, just precooked pasta filled with last night's vegetables. Eight kinds of juice, but no glasses. Two kinds of cereal but no bowls. No cola for a few days. Waiting in line to get in on multiple occasions. The buffet desperately needs another grill to be run as it is the only thing most people were eating but you had to wait 15-20 minutes to get something from it. - We ordered eggs from the snack bar one day. We were given no cutlery or napkin. We wrongly assumed the waitress was going to the bar to get the cutlery. Nope. We had to ask. By the time we got our cutlery, the eggs were cold. - The drinks were very low quality. To get higher quality booze, you had to pay extra. We have never had that at a five-star resort before, Cuba or elsewhere. - It was difficult to find seats at the beach. The resort was not full so I don't know why this was a problem. Most people seemed to get to the beach early to put towels on seats to reserve them. - Tennis lessons are included and are listed as being available 9-5 pm. This was one of the deciding factors in choosing this resort because we play daily. This is false. The instructor was present 9-12 pm for only 3 out of our 7 days. - We had a late checkout, therefore could not leave our towels in the room as is the normal process. We were told to hand them off at the reception desk before we left. We waited in line 20 minutes, no eye contact, no apologies, before we unceremoniously dumped the towels on the counter with a piece of paper with our room number. The same person who warned us earlier the same day to return the towels or risk a fine did not even look up to help. Management: Reception staff seemed more interested in talking with themselves than helping people. They need training stat. The check-in and reception are the first things people see when arriving at the resort and this sets a tone. The tone set was that they did not give a crap about us or being polite. There are a lot of resorts to choose from in Cuba, and the Caribbean in general. With so much choice, alienating your guests is a terrible move. We will not be back.
Read more
Response from DirectorGParadisusPM, Director General at Paradisus Princesa Del Mar Resort & Spa
Responded 4 days ago
Good morning jillmac16, Thank you for talking the time to share your feedback with us. We are very sorry and disappointed to learn of your negative experience. It is our goal to serve every one of our guests to the best of our ability and we apologize that we were not able to achieve this for your visit. We take all your feedback in a positive manner. First of all and for the sake of all readers who are planning on visiting us, it is important to inform that we are a safe and disease free complex since we follow very strict programs of hygiene and quality which on frequent basis audit our hotel in all level of sanitation standards. The sanitation and cleanliness of both our food preparation and presentation is of the utmost importance to us. We follow very strict guidelines and have always implemented policies and procedures to maintain our excellent standards of practice. All your valuable information will be taken into account. I assure you that all of your feedback has been duly noted and that the Management Team will do their utmost to ensure that future guests do not share similar sentiments. We are undergoing constant change to improve the guest experience and I hope to welcome you back in the future to experience this for yourself. We regret more than anything else that you felt that the attention you received from our reception staff was not adequate. All of our staff are recognized for providing impeccable service and for always taking care of guests requests in order to provide them with a perfect stay, so we apologize if you considered that in your case it was not entirely like this. I am so sorry if you didn’t like the check in at the reception, we are working hard to speed up the process, and we already have installed new computers, although we always have to ask for data, for security reasons. I would also like to explain the resort credit promotion vouchers how work here to clarify your evident confusion Guests receive discount vouchers to use towards products or services, such as room upgrades, massages and treatments at the Yhi Spa, off-menu drinks, specialist dinners and various other options depending on the resort Guests staying 7 nights or more will receive $1000 USD Resort Credit per room per stay applicable as follows: • Yhi Spa: 4 vouchers of $50 USD each • Drinks (Off Menu): 10 vouchers of $20 USD each • Special Dinners: 4 vouchers of $50 USD each • Room Upgrade (min. 7 nights upgrade): 1 voucher of $400 USD each Guests staying 4 to 6 nights will receive $550 USD Resort Credit per room per stay applicable as follows: • Yhi Spa: 2 vouchers of $50 USD each • Drinks: 5 vouchers of $20 USD each • Special Dinners: 2 vouchers of $50 USD each • Room Upgrade (min. 4 nights upgrade): 1 voucher of $250 USD each Thank you for staying with us at Paradisus Princesa del Mar. Kind regards, Managing Director. Paradisus Princesa del Mar.
Read more
+1
I had the Royal Service with a Suite.The location is beautiful and the rooms spacious and a the beach beautiful with clean waters. That were the positive points of this Hotel. I start now with the negative points according with the high price you pay. In the room : my air con was not working proper, also the bed nightlights.Coffee Machine was not working. My refrigerator was also not working proper. Water and Softdrinks were missing and I had to call 3 times and go 2 times personally at the Reception to receive after 20 hours , 1 bottle of water and 5 cans of soft drinks. The Breakfast was very average like a 2-3 Star Hotel . For Butter you had to ask extra and to wait until they bring it from the Kitchen. Dinner was below average with meat and fish that weren’t tasteful and even the pasta and pizza were just awful. At the bar they didn’t have Mojitos because they didn’t have mint leaves. Sorry but I am in Cuba to drink a original Cuban Mojito!!!! So that was the Royal Service. They excuses were the delivery problem they have due the US Embargo but that’s not my problem when I pay Royal Service. If they have these kind of delivery problems then declare all Hotels to 2-3 Star Hotels and drop the prices. The Cuban Stuff was very good and friendly . One exception the very bad Gym Help Desk Man ( a baldhead)who is responsible for the towels there . Just a awful, disgusting person. The Gym is awful and the mattress old and dirty. So don’t have big expectations if you book this hotel or other hotels in Varadero. Enjoy the landscape and the Cuban friendly people on an excursion out of Varadero that’s really worth of the whole vacation.
Read more
Response from DirectorGParadisusPM, Director General at Paradisus Princesa Del Mar Resort & Spa
Responded 4 days ago
Dear GEORGEinternational Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Paradisus Princesa del Mar with the TripAdvisor audience. I am ever so sorry that what you experienced with us was so below your expectations you felt like rating us 2 star. I have, as I always do, taken your comments on board and will make sure they are addressed accordingly. The team and I work hard to make sure every guest has the most enjoyable and memorable holiday but in your particular case I guess we ‘dropped the ball’ and I can only once again sincerely apologize for that. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the landscape and the Cuban friendly people As it is clear from your post we shall not be seeing you again the team at Paradisus Princesa del Mar and I wish you an amazing year and all the best with your future travel endeavors. Best regards, Managing Director. Paradisus Princesa del Mar.
Read more
Previous
ALSO KNOWN AS
paradisus princesa del mar hotel varadero, paradisus princesa del mar resort and spa, paradisus princesa del mar resort & spa, paradisus princesa del mar varadero, paradisus princesa varadero, princesa del mar
LOCATION
CaribbeanCubaMatanzas ProvinceVaradero
NUMBER OF ROOMS
630
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Paradisus Princesa Del Mar Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Paradisus Princesa Del Mar Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Varadero Beach (3.0 miles), Cueva de Ambrosio (2.0 miles), and Plaza Las Morlas (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Paradisus Princesa Del Mar Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Paradisus Princesa Del Mar Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Paradisus Princesa Del Mar Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Paradisus Princesa Del Mar Resort & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Paradisus Princesa Del Mar Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Panchita, Kike-Kcho, and La Laguna.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Paradisus Princesa Del Mar Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Paradisus Princesa Del Mar Resort & Spa have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Paradisus Princesa Del Mar Resort & Spa offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Paradisus Princesa Del Mar Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Paradisus Princesa Del Mar Resort & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Paradisus Princesa Del Mar Resort & Spa?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Cueva de Ambrosio (2.0 miles).