We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Starfish Varadero

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Travel Alert: Licensing Restrictions Apply More details
Management photos
Starfish Varadero
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

707 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 423: English reviews
Start your review of Starfish Varadero
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We made a last minute decision to take a cheap vacation. Just wanted a decent room and a great beach. We got neither.  (the so called Garden View) We knew by the reviews that Starfish was nothing special and just a mediocre Cuban resort. So our expectations we not set high. In fact I deliberately set them low so there would be...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TravelSpiced
General M, Director General at Starfish Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are really sorry that we did not meet your expectations, anyhow we appreciate that you took your time to write this review. Your comments are taken very seriously, we will use it to improve our product and we apologize for not being able to fulfill your expectations. Best Regards

Thunder Bay, Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The beach is beautiful but it stops there, I am not a picky person, you can read my other reviews to see that I am pretty easy going in regards to accommodations. However, I was very happy to be home today. I traveled with a 15 year old and another mom/son duo from March 14 – 21. The good: The...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank cabo84
General M, Director General at Starfish Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are really sorry that we did not meet your expectations, anyhow we appreciate that you took your time to write this review. Your comments are taken very seriously, we will use it to improve our product and we apologize for not being able to fulfill your expectations. Best Regards, General Manager

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed in the Bungalow section. The review focuses on the Bungalow Pool section and Amelia buffet restaurant towards the beach side of the resort. We did not stay in the Hotel area which is at the front of the resort (there is another larger pool there). If you are traveling with children, I recommend booking a bungalow through your vacation...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank allkindzacute
General M, Director General at Starfish Varadero, responded to this review

Dear guest, We would like to thank you for choosing Starfish Varadero for your holidays and for taking time to post a review about your experience among us. We would like to express you our satisfaction to acknowledge that our hotel premises, facilities, gastronomy and the excellent service provided by our friendly staff ensured you a memorable holiday. We will...

Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I stayed in the Garden View rooms with my husband and 2 teenage girls. My sister stayed in a room beside us. Our room was freshly painted and spacious with 3 beds, clean sheets and bedspreads with an extra heavy blanket in the closet. The double beds were comfortable as well as the pillows. Our room had a mini fridge...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank KennyGordon
General M, Director General at Starfish Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is of great honor to us to receive a review like this one that you have kindly shared with us. Your compliment towards our staff really shows the readers the true results of our efforts to provide an unforgettable experience and also help us to always improve our service. We are glad to see that we have...

Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I spent a week at the Starfish, I have been to Cuba twice in the past (once in Cayo Coco and once in Holguin) The Starfish certainly needs some TLC and from what we could tell it is happening but on a Southern Carribean pace. Staff for the most part are helpful but what they need is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tony R
General M, Director General at Starfish Varadero, responded to this review

Dear guest, We want to thank you for taking time to post a review about your experience among us and for choosing Starfish Varadero for your holidays. We hope to welcome you back. Best regards, General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Food was very poor variety. The food was the same every day unbelievable.The sunwing representative very disrespectful , did not do nothing for us. The shows were good. Ice cream machine broke, toster machine broke. The entertainer were great. The management does not have good communication. We wait an hour for wait to get hot dog in the outside ....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Eliany B
General M, Director General at Starfish Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Sr. Thank you for having chosen our Starfish Varadero to spend your holidays. We appreciate you took the time to express your experience in www.tripadvisor.com. We are deeply sorry that your experience was not as good as you expected and that you were not completely satisfied with our service. We wish to assure you that here at Starfish Varadero...

Reviewed 1 week ago

First time at this hotel and at a three star resort but very pleased with our choice. Wendy from the hotel customer relations and Nelly our Sunwing representative were very pleasant and helpful in ensuring that we had our needs met. We travelled with kids and elderly and they have taken our request seriously and followed up with us in...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Ema G
General M, Director General at Starfish Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Starfish Varadero. Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback. We also are very pleased you enjoyed the all-inclusive program which includes a wide range of delicious food and beverage and the different activities. It...

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed there for the second time in January. Food is getting better every time. Would highly recommend staying in bungalow, worth the extra $$. Between 9 months of staying there they opened a sports bar, a night club and moved a restaurant. The Italian is worth it with great service. Beautiful beach, keeps me coming back! A good place to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank v0yageur10
General M, Director General at Starfish Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It was certainly our pleasure hosting you at Starfish Varadero. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our services and facilities and that your vacation experience was a memorable one. We passed your nice comments to the rest of the team! Thank you for making Starfish Varadero the preferred resort for your vacation and we look forward...

Burlington, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

I wanted to get away for a week again... It was nice to go back to Azules.... now Starfish Varadero. From the start it was a great time there... I know what to expect from this resort and it actually exceeded my expectations.. As always the staff was so nice to me and friendly, from Rocky at the front door...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jimbocoach
General M, Director General at Starfish Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It was certainly our pleasure hosting you at Starfish Varadero. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our services and facilities and that your vacation experience was a memorable one. We passed your nice comments to the rest of the team! Thank you for making Starfish Varadero the preferred resort for your vacation and we look forward...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

We ended up being 6 people travelling together in 3 rooms. Before leaving, I booked a bungalow based on the reviews I read. I was expecting a small hotel in need of major repairs but I was pleasantly surprised. Yes, there were broken tiles in places and some areas needed a fresh coat of paint. But in general, the resort...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marnie M
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,227 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1189)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (311)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (177)
Viewed
Dining (73)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (84)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
1:59
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (474)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varadero
0.0 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
173 reviews
1227.8 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oyster Pond
176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1244.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Colombus Hotel
Colombus Hotel
#7 of 8 in Oyster Pond
30 reviews
5.2 mi away
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Starfish Varadero

Address: Carretera las Morla Km 14 | Varadero Beach, Varadero 42200, Cuba (Formerly Hotel Aguas Azules)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Price Range: $94 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Starfish Varadero 3*
Number of rooms: 411
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Starfish Varadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Aguas Azules
Aguas Azules Hotel
Club Amigo Varadero Cuba
Club Amigo Cuba
Amigo Varadero Club Cuba
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Varadero
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Starfish Varadero staff and other travelers.
326 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (326)

Questions? Get answers from Starfish Varadero staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Bungalows are quieter and closer to the beach. Book them through your travel supplier/agent.”
 of 5 bubbles allkindzacute, 4 days ago | Read review
“Book the Bunglow”
 of 5 bubbles tonyrA9873XI, 1 week ago | Read review
“Ask for a room on the first floor if unable to take the stairs (not all elevators are functional)”
 of 5 bubbles , 1 week ago | Read review
“Choose a bungalow otherwise you will be staying in a much older part of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles v0yageur10, 1 week ago | Read review
“This resort has bungalows. if you like an upgrade pay for a bungalow before you arrive”
 of 5 bubbles jimbocoach, 1 week ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question