We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travel Alert: U.S. Travel Licensing Restrictions Apply for Travel to Cuba. For details, click here

Starfish Varadero

Save
Traveler (2258)
Pool & Beach (363)
Room & Suite (261)
Overview
  • Excellent24%
  • Very good35%
  • Average21%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible11%
Travelers talk about
“aguas azules”(72 reviews)
“seafood”(45 reviews)
“coffee bar”(35 reviews)
Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,169)
Filter reviews
666 results
Traveler rating
114
230
160
72
90
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
114
230
160
72
90
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaguas azulesseafoodcoffee barbeach barporksurf and turffrom spaingrounds keepersbottle of watera la cartequiet poolcloser to the beachworked greatfoam partyfriesentertainment teampublic relations
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 666 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I had stayed at Starfish from March 27th- April 3rd and had a wonderful time! Before arriving and after reading many reviews I was a little worried about the room and thought I should upgrade to be safe. I decided not to...More

7  Thank Melissacamp
Reviewed 5 days ago

The hotel is okay it's a 3*. The supperior room is fine it's a bit far from the beach and the pool but 2 min from the lobby. The service at the hotel is not good, there is not animation, if you want to relax...More

1  Thank marieevebguerin
Response from Director G, General Manager at Starfish VaraderoResponded 5 days ago

Dear guest, On behalf of the Management and the Staff from Starfish Varadero we would like to thank you for your honest review about our Hotel. We are very glad to know that after all, you had a good time, thank you very much for...More

A TripAdvisor Member
99
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The property was old and the rooms were very dirty. The food was good though. But the resort needs lots of maintenance. But they do have a nice beach and pool. They have lots of things to do there, for the adults and the kids...More

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Response from Director G, General Manager at Starfish VaraderoResponded 1 week ago

Dear guest, First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad to see that overall you had a good time and you had fun during your holidays.We are sorry for the inconveniences...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at this resort from March 21st to March 28th with a group of 6 in three seperate bungalows. We arrived later in the evening and were met with a freshly made mojito at check in. Check in did not take longer than 15...More

3  Thank Courtney D
Response from Director G, General Manager at Starfish VaraderoResponded 1 week ago

Dear Courtney, We hope you had a nice flight back home. It has been such a huge pleasure to receive your compliments. Our team will be delighted once they read your wonderful comments. Thank you very much for recommending Starfish Varadero to future guests. You...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel was larger than I expected, lots of rooms in the main building. One section in under renovation. The system of fountains is under repair, there is only one fountain actually functional, the other areas are dry. The bungalows are nice, beds were comfortable,...More

Thank Michelle M
Response from Director G, General Manager at Starfish VaraderoResponded 1 week ago

Dear Michelle, Please receive a trendy regard from Varadero, First of all, I would like to thank you on behalf of all Starfish Varadero team for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad to read that overall you had a...More

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Beachfront
Restaurant
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free Parking
Hotel Amenities
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free Parking
Airport Transportation
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Babysitting
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Tennis Court
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
$93 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
$93 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (2258)
Pool & Beach (363)
Room & Suite (261)
Dining (160)
Family and Play Areas (55)
Business Center & Event Rooms (8)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Sophia B
April 19, 2018|
Answer
Response from cindynmike | Reviewed this property |
it was 30 dollars extra for upgraded room. not sure about bungalow but guest i met staying in one said it was dirty
0
Votes
Kiimberrlyy
April 17, 2018|
Answer
Response from Director G | Property representative |
Dear user, Thank you very much for contact us. Regarding your question I am glad to inform you that our buffet closes at 10 pm, and after that time you can also visit our Sports Bar which is open 24 hrs. Warm regards.
1
Vote
Kiimberrlyy
April 16, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Director G | Property representative |
Dear user, Thank you very much for contact us. Regarding your question I would like to inform you that our hotel has 220v electricity, that is why we always recommend to our costumers to bring their personal adapter to... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Bungalows recommended. Renovated rooms second best. Definitely upgrade your room!"
Read review
"anyone they are great"
Read review
"Bungalows are renovated, spacious and close to everything"
Read review
"The superior rooms are lovely with balcony's however a bungalow is much closer to the amenities."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing