We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travel Alert: U.S. Travel Licensing Restrictions Apply for Travel to Cuba. For details, click here

Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa

Save
Share
Las Morlas Street, Km 15, Varadero 42200 Cuba
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (10079)
360
Panoramas (2)
Pool & Beach (2325)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 10/19/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
Updated 10/19/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 93 hotels in Varadero
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa is located on the white sandy beaches of Varadero, situated on the eponymous Hicacos peninsula. Its beautiful landscapes, and vibrant tourist ambience makes Varadero the perfect background for a tropical adventure where you can explore natural attractions. The luxurious adults-only resort is a cut above other Varadero hotels with its all-inclusive resort facilities designed to create a perfect ambiance for relaxation.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Paid internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Conference facilities
Parking
Internet
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Snorkeling
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Adults only
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
VIP room facilities
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Quiet
Languages Spoken
French, Spanish
7524Reviews2755Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 4,907
  • 1,808
  • 589
  • 143
  • 81
Traveler safety
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
sharon h wrote a review Yesterday
2 contributions3 helpful votes
As it says in the title we have visited this hotel 7 times now. We come back because we love it so much. This will definitely be an honest review. In all the time we have visited we have never had one complaint, I wish that was the case this year. We had upgraded to Diamond club and had paid £668 for this. We have used diamond club previously so knew the benefits of this. This time it was an absolute waste of money. We are very sympathetic and understanding of how Cuba is suffering with COVID but we did expect a decent service. If diamond club cannot be delivered it should be suspended. Diamond Club Alex was in charge of diamond club and the diamond club staff. He was worse than useless. I had to spend most of the holiday finding him out to ask why we were not receiving any service. Benefits of Diamond club:- Butler. Not provided therefore no reservations made for restaurants, no room service, no turn down service and no checking everything was ok. Drinks provided to the room As part of diamond club you pay for 1 bottle of rum and 3 bottles of wine for each week. 1st week ok. 2nd week had to find Alex and ask on 3 occasions they arrived the day before we travelled home! Restaurants. Diamond club allows you to have dinner in restaurants 7 nights per week instead of the normal 3 nights per week. Buffet was closed in the evening so everyone had dinner 7 nights per week in restaurants. Therefore no benefit to Diamond club. Beach bar. There are 2 beach bars, a diamond club bar and the normal beach bar. The normal beach bar is far superior to the diamond club bar. At lunch times the tables are set and you order from the menu. Diamond club have a small hut on the beach with paella and meat and bread. There is not set dining and limited seating so you have to eat your food on your sunbed. Rooms. All rooms are all the same there is no difference for diamond club which is fine as they are lovely rooms. The problem was the rooms for diamond club residents were as far away from the diamond club beach as possible. If you forgot something and needed to pop back to the room it was a bit of a walk. Moving on to the staff. The staff are as amazing as always. Can never do enough, always pleasant and helpful. The problem is with management. When we last visited 2 to 3 years ago. Lorenzo had just taken over as manager. He walked around the hotel talking to guests and staff and was really nice and helpful. What a change, he is now very arrogant and could not care less about the customer experience. Alex in charge of the butler service has a degree in how to say no and refer you to the TUI rep. He does not try to help in anyway. Guests were brought from other hotels an week 2 of our holiday and it turned into a nightmare with the new arrivals fighting, arguing and abusing our group. We had formed a lovely group of about 14 people and everything was great. Everyone got on and we had some great laughs and very enjoyable company.we were a variety of ages from 23 to 70 and not all drinkers. Homophobic abuse was rife towards 2 people in our group and 2 young women in our group were constantly called derogatory names. 2 people were threatened with a knife and one was attacked physically and had to defend himself. The safety and security of residents was none existent. In conclusion. It makes me sad to write this review as this was our favourite place in the world. The staff below the management chain were amazing. The people who we formed a group with were all fantastic and made the holiday bearable. Will we go back. Probably not as this experience spoiled it and unless management get their act together it will be a definite No.!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Guillermo R wrote a review Yesterday
4 contributions
We had planed this trip a long time ago and we were not let down at all. Since the very beginning,we were treated like VIPs. The welcome at the hotel couldn't be better. We adored the "sangría" ( red wine,lemon juice), at the bars we always had it. Butlers' service is a plus to this resort. They are there to help you out at all time. Rooms are nice and clean , but a bit tired, . We heard that they are having some of the under construction already. We loved the jazzbar, best cocktails are there along with great staff. Buffet is amazing with great variety . A-la-carte are very good too, We advise you to buy the lobster diners. Beach,the best of the area with balibeds as well ,which you can rent them . We highly recommend this place, you won't regret it!!. We are coming back soon again. THANKS GUYS!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
BMJ0614 wrote a review Yesterday
England, United Kingdom3 contributions4 helpful votes
We have recently returned from a stay at the Royalton Hicacos to celebrate a birthday. Whilst the holiday wasn’t all bad, we absolutely would not return to this hotel. Firstly, the pool was green and cloudy until it was cleaned 2 days before we went home to which it turned a lovely blue colour, as expected. As a result of this I suffered from a UTI and had to be prescribed antibiotics. Secondly, the resort did not feel safe. There were many incidents of homophobic abuse which was shocking to witness, including an incident where a guest was in possession of a knife. I understand that the hotel can not be blamed for the behaviour of guests however this could have been handled better, the safety of guests should have been prioritised, this person with the knife should have been removed from the hotel immediately however was observed strolling through the Bistro the following day without a care in the world. Very worrying. The hotel felt more like an 18-30’s resort with hostile groups of chavs rather than a luxury resort as claimed. During our stay there was a Storm and everything closed down. Again, I understand this is protocol however there was genuinely nothing more than a bit of wind and rain. This was not communicated to guests at all and we did not get told everything was closed until we arrived at the Tex Mex restaurant to locked doors. The message of closures came from other guests. On the plus side, the beach is incredible, the food in the restaurants was better than anticipated, the maids are excellent and Fernando in the buffet is the kindest man and his hospitality alone made up for the poor management of the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Lorenzo Rubio, Director General at Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
Responded yesterday
Dear guest, On behalf of myself and my collaborators, we appreciate your fair assessment of things that have nothing to do with the hotel. First and as you say, we cannot put surveillance on each of our clients, and after the incident the truth is that the client stayed in his room and the next day he was diverted to another hotel. We are not meteorologists and we only follow the instructions of the country during the tropical storm Elsa, myself held a meeting the day before in the theater to explain the services that would be operating in the hotel, apparently you did not attend. It is true that due to the storm one of the two central pools of the hotel was somewhat cloudy, but with the appropriate PH and chlorine parameters, I understand that you ruled out bathing in the crystalline one. Thank you for saying that you liked the rest. We hope to see you here again and that you can enjoy our excellent services. Sincerely, General Manager
Read more
Samantha F wrote a review Jul 21
1 contribution
amaizing place to spend your honeymoon!! We were there last month and we still feel the vibes.Positive: first at all the staff, ocean, weather, buffet and services . Negative; mosquitos, do not forget to bring a spray with you, local guest were a little noise at the Pool and main bar day and night and the swimp up bar was close 😯☹️😭 . We pay extra services, not include, please Cuban pesos are not allowe to be use for foreing people , they are accept only for cubans, so exchange few of your currency at the front desk . Room was very clean. Thank you Royalton Hicacos!!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Lorenzo Rubio, Director General at Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
Responded yesterday
Dear Samantha, On behalf of the Royalton Hicacos staff, we would like to thank you for sharing such a great review of your stay with us. We are glad to know that you spend an amazing time in your honeymoon. We are pleased to hear that you liked our friendly, professional and efficient staff, I would like to thank you for your praise to them, that is the best award and the greatest incentive to continue working to provide a better service. Thank you for choosing us and recommend our resort. We look forward to receiving you again. Warm regards, General Manager.
Read more
Catherine L wrote a review Jul 21
8 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Very clean, people always ready to help us! Big thanks to Mayor domos, Dieny, Ileana, Ronier, David and Veronica! The room cleaner are also very kind! Beautiful beach, great massages, TV in many langages we will come back for sure! ❤️
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lorenzo Rubio, Director General at Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
Responded yesterday
Dear Catherine, On behalf of the Royalton Hicacos staff, we would like to thank you for sharing such a great review of your stay with us. We are glad to know that you see the hotel very clean, which is important in times of covid. We are pleased to hear that you were very well taken care of by our staff, I would like to thank you for your praise to them, that is the best award and the greatest incentive to continue working to provide a better service. Thank you for choosing us and recommend our resort. We look forward to receiving you again. Warm regards, General Manager.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$226 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sandals royal hicacos varadero, sandals cuba, sandals royal hicacos resort spa, royal hicacos
LOCATION
CaribbeanCubaMatanzas ProvinceVaradero
NUMBER OF ROOMS
404
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Varadero Beach (0.9 miles), Cueva de Ambrosio (0.3 miles), and House of Rum (4.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant La Arcada, Xanadu Restaurant, and La Panchita.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including Spanish and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Cueva de Ambrosio (0.3 miles).
Is Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.