We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travel Alert: U.S. Travel Licensing Restrictions Apply for Travel to Cuba. For details, click here

Iberostar Playa Alameda

Save
Share
Las Morlas, Km 19 Punta Hicacos, Varadero 42200 Cuba
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (5074)
Pool & Beach (1065)
Room & Suite (745)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 09/15/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Iberostar Playa Alameda
Updated 09/15/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#20 of 93 hotels in Varadero
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A 5-star establishment, this hotel will allow you to enjoy one of the best luxury resorts on the beach in Varadero. The complex features a fabulous all inclusive accommodation package comprised of 6 bars and 3 buffet and speciality restaurants, plus double rooms with a balcony or terrace, massage service, meeting rooms, beauty salon and hairdressers, outdoor pools and water sports. Enjoy the best that the beach in Varadero has to offer at this Iberostar hotel. This country with lots of history awaits, and it offers you a unique holiday!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Tennis court
Taxi service
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Yoga classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Water sport equipment rentals
Billiards
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Infirmary
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 1 more
4461Reviews436Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,572
  • 1,527
  • 715
  • 393
  • 254
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
82jojo wrote a review Sep 2020
Windsor, Canada2 contributions
first time at this resort ,,,and we will be returning...amazing hardworking staff...amazing food...short walk to the beach and activities...nice clean rooms ..we took my sister and brother in law and they want to return again also...even going out of resort is so safe and everyone so friendly ...I don't get it when people complain...treat staff with utmost respect and graciousness and you get it back....loved showering staff with Canadian gifts...wishing all are safe during these tough times
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Iberostar Hotels and Resorts, Dueño at Iberostar Playa Alameda
Responded Sep 22, 2020
Dear guest, It has been a real pleasure to read this excellent review of your recent holiday with us at our hotel and we really appreciate that you took the time to write and share it with us and other travellers. The fact that we were able to exceed your expectations with our excellent standards in every area that characterise our company is of great importance to us. It is therefore very satisfying for us that you have kept us in your fondest memories and it would be wonderful to welcome you and your family back again. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Playa Alameda
Read more
Guy wrote a review Aug 2020
Montreal, Canada2 contributions2 helpful votes
This was our first time in Cuba, so we didn’t have very high expectations, but we were pleasantly surprised! We would definitely recommend this resort. Pros: - The staff was always available, very friendly and helpful; - Plenty of choice/variety of food & drinks (I’m a bit of a picky eater and I never struggled to find something I enjoyed); - Round-the-clock (or almost) bars/restaurants; - VERY clean, well-maintained beach (we walked along the beach and other resorts honestly could not compete with how clean our beachfront was!); - Inexpensive Wifi available; - Staff will speak Spanish if you engage with them in Spanish, but otherwise will default to English. Another point on language is that they are multilingual - we heard staff speak Spanish, English, Russian, Polish, German, French, etc. - We were there for Christmas, and the celebration was honestly amazing! Santa parachuted onto the beach, they had a beachside bbq going with a band, etc. (Christmas eve was also quite the party!); - You have access to absolutely everything right up until you leave, even after checking out. Cons (keep in mind that we don’t consider these to be major inconveniences, they’re just little things that we think are good to make note of): - A/C in the room was a little iffy - it was either freezing cold or off, it was very difficult to find the "sweet spot"; - While inexpensive, Wifi is only available in the lobby area; - While very friendly & helpful, staff will try selling you all sorts of things, ranging from local currency (which is illegal to leave the country with) to exclusive "uncertified" tours & transportation and cigars. Some staff will also encourage you to leave things behind (one person asked us for our flip flops). While a bit awkward at times, this wasn’t exactly surprising to us considering that they probably don’t get paid very much; - The spa section was small and uninviting. For an adults-only resort, we were expecting a little more than a single massage table in a small (and somewhat sketchy) room next to an empty whirlpool... We wanted to get a couple’s massage, but there was only one man working there, and he seemed a little uneasy at the idea of massaging other men (he wasted no time to tell us that we could wait until the next day since it would be a woman instead).
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Iberostar Hotels and Resorts, Dueño at Iberostar Playa Alameda
Responded Sep 1, 2020
Dear guest, Thank you first of all for choosing Iberostar for your recent holiday. Your review is another incentive for us to continue working in a positive and motivated fashion to give our absolute best so our guests feel as comfortable as you were. We would like to express our gratitude for your helpful feedback and we will certainly be making sure it is brought to the attention of the appropriate management. We thoroughly appreciate the importance of such details as they can help us in our quest to provide our guests with the very best experiences whilst in our hospitality. Once more, we thank you for your kind words and look forward to your next visit to an Iberostar Hotel & Resort. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Playa Alameda
Read more
Sara R wrote a review Jun 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
This was my first time in Veradero, but I have been to Cuba 3 other times in the last 5 years. I never had issues anywhere else in Cuba. The food was bad. I'm not a picky eater, but I struggled with the food. Be prepared to eat rice and beans. There were no potatoes. The A la carte's serve the buffet food presented in different ways, so you never get a break. We were talked into purchasing an expensive lobster dinner one night that no one could eat because of how bad it was. We went to the buffet after and they were serving lobster. We had a group of 4 couples. The rooms were muggy and smelled bad. It was difficult to sleep due to the smell of the sheets. They smell like a chemical. One member of our group left his phone in the safe for the entire week and he found it had water damage when he took it out, (that's how muggy the rooms were). I had to change rooms the first day because the door lock wouldn't work. We told the front desk and they said they would send a technician. We waited hours for the technician to come fix it, (they never showed up) and when we went back to the front desk they gave us a different room. The new room had a working lock but had no bathroom door. One couples shower flooded the bathroom after every use. We found throughout the week every one of the door locks malfunctioned. They would only have one bar open at a time and the only one that you could get a special drink at was the piano bar. Those special drinks were also very inconsistent. It was really difficult to exchange towels due to the weird hours of the exchange place/ being out of towels when they were open. Some of the staff were amazing but overall not impressed. The housekeeping staff did a good job and left us cute little notes. One day we were told you can't get coffee at the buffet, the next you could. One hour you can get a mojito at the snack bar, the next hour the staff tells you no. Seemed like it was just whatever the staff felt like making is what you could get. The resort was in a good location and it was easy to get out and explore. The ocean was nice. The pool was ok. It was always packed and there is no swim up bar but it was clean and big enough. Our trip was still fun, as we went with good friends, met some great people, and went on some fun excursions, but that had nothing to do with the resort. Also, now that I have been there it bothers me a lot of these reviews seem sugar coated. This is my honest review. If it had been rated 3 stars I would not have been so disappointed, but this is far from a 5 star establishment.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from ReputationOnline, Quality Manager at Iberostar Playa Alameda
Responded Jul 3, 2020
Dear Guest, We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing our tropical, beachfront, four-star hotel for your holiday and for sharing your experience with us. It is lovely to hear that you were so pleased with our staff, at Iberostar we are renowned for our excellent service and kind and friendly employees, they will be delighted to know that they enhanced your stay. However, we are particularly sorry to hear the food was not to your liking as we invest a lot of time and effort into providing a creative culinary selection at each meal. However, we will pass on your feedback to our professional chefs who strive to make our guests gastronomic experience unforgettable. Rest assured we have also taken on board your comments regarding other issues and will be making sure that they are reviewed. We hope that you did enjoy the rest of your stay and that you have taken some wonderful memories home with you from Cuba. Again we thank you for this feedback and hope to see you again soon in the future. Best regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Playa Alameda
Read more
Expedition659614 wrote a review Apr 2020
1 contribution
Wendy at the dinner res. & reception desk is superb Best Ala cart restaurant "Romantica", best barman Frank, best maid Jessica, Mr Adworda Chou also made our visit very enjoyable. A great place to holiday. Thanks to everyone.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Our suite had a view of the ocean
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from ReputationOnline, Quality Manager at Iberostar Playa Alameda
Responded Apr 15, 2020
Dear guest, We would like to express our appreciation for your kind words and positive rating of our hotel. It was a pleasure to read your description of our establishment and it motivates us to maintain our standards. Of course, we will relay your compliments to our team, they will be delighted to know that they enhanced your holiday experience. It would be an honour to serve you again in the future at our hotel, until then we wish you all the best. Kind regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Playa Alameda
Read more
Charles S wrote a review Apr 2020
1 contribution
Understand ppl if you want exceptional service tipping goes a long way no matter where you vacay, and vacation is what you make of it piss and moan or enjoy the sun and sand, in our experience every one went above and beyond to make our multiple stays memorable
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from ReputationOnline, Quality Manager at Iberostar Playa Alameda
Responded Apr 6, 2020
Dear guest, We would like first and foremost to thank you for choosing our fantastic in beachfront 5 star hotel for your recent holiday. Every day is a new and exciting challenge for us as we work to provide our guests with a feeling of staying at a home away from home. Again we thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Playa Alameda
Read more
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
iberostar playa alameda varadero, iberostar varadero, playa alameda varadero
LOCATION
CaribbeanCubaMatanzas ProvinceVaradero
NUMBER OF ROOMS
391
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Iberostar Playa Alameda
Which popular attractions are close to Iberostar Playa Alameda?
Nearby attractions include Varadero Beach (3.0 miles), Cueva de Ambrosio (1.9 miles), and Plaza Las Morlas (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Iberostar Playa Alameda?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Iberostar Playa Alameda?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Iberostar Playa Alameda?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Iberostar Playa Alameda?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Iberostar Playa Alameda?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Panchita, Kike-Kcho, and La Laguna.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Iberostar Playa Alameda?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Iberostar Playa Alameda offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Iberostar Playa Alameda?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Russian.
Are there any historical sites close to Iberostar Playa Alameda?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Cueva de Ambrosio (1.9 miles).
Does Iberostar Playa Alameda have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.