We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travel Alert: U.S. Travel Licensing Restrictions Apply for Travel to Cuba. For details, click here

Melia Las Antillas

Save
Share
Autopista Sur, Carretera Las Morlas, Km 14, Varadero 42200 Cuba
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (6698)
360
Panoramas (17)
Pool & Beach (1507)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 06/23/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Melia Las Antillas
Updated 06/23/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#20 of 94 hotels in Varadero
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
All Inclusive Four-Star Plus beach resort covering an area of 6 000 m², with rooms distributed in a modern fivestory building and thee-story bungalows.The hotel is situated beachfront, 35 km from the Varadero airport; 40 km form the city of Matanzas and the Tropicana Matanzas Cabaret; 14 km from the town center; 4.5 Km from the Plaza America Convention Center; 5 km from the Varadero Golf Club and only 100 metros from the Dolphinarium.Located in Varadero facing a fabulous strip of beach• Comfortable and cool ambience• Conceived only for adults and youths over 16 years of age.• Central building and bungalows surrounded by green areas and gardens with artificial lakes, pergolas and small wooden bridges.• Main lobby with natural hanging gardens offering a beautiful view of the second lobby on the ground floor and of the manicured hotel gardens.• Junior Suites with balconies offering views of the swimming pool and the surrounding hotel gardens.• Large swimming pool with Jacuzzi, cascades, wading area and platforms with palapas for relaxing or administering massages.• Recreation area and outdoor amphitheater, ideal for a varied cultural activities• Terraces -gardens, with promenades, pergolas, palapas, lakes and parking area for greater enjoyment of outdoor activities.• Varied culinary offers with a la carte and buffet restaurants, bars and fun pub.• VIP Area, offering exclusive services and attentions to clients accommodated in Junior Suites Superior and Suites
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Paid internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Airport transportation
Parking
Internet
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Adults only
Rooftop terrace
Concierge
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Great View
Languages Spoken
Spanish
5291Reviews571Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,910
  • 1,976
  • 819
  • 364
  • 222
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Travelors722 wrote a review Jun 2020
Regina, Canada8 contributions8 helpful votes
We have visited this resort on our Fourth Trip to this resort. Our stay to celebrate our 25th Anniversary was over the top. The Staff are amazing and we hope to return for our Fifth Stay in the very near future.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Daylis Delgado Fajardo, Ventas at Melia Las Antillas
Responded Nov 11, 2020
Dear guest: We first would like to thank you for making our Meliá Las Antillas your preferred choice for your holidays , it is always a pleasure to welcome back our most loyal guests year after year. We are delighted to know that you have chosen our hotel for such an important occasion and to know you enjoyed all our facilities and services. Thanks for your recognition to the staff. Thanks for being part of our big family and please feel free to contact us for the fifth occasion. Best regards.
Read more
Nuno P wrote a review Jun 2020
Toulouse, France1 contribution
Unfortunatelly, our experience in this hotel was the worst we have ever had and because of this our holidays, planned after month of savings, were completelly ruined. When we arrived in Varadero it was a rainy afternoon and as we got at the hotel, we noticed that there were baskets on the floor completely full of water dripping from the ceiling.  We had our first dinner in the main restaurant and we immediatelly noticed that the hygienical conditions were completelly a disaster. the plates were all dirty, with rests of food on top and under and this situation was the same for all our stay at the hotel. The food was not fresh and not kept in good conditions. Always full of flyers and kept in dirty bowls, expecially in the restaurant next to the swimming pool. Everyday was a problem to find a clean plate to put our food on untill we started getting sick. We started suffering from a strong diarrhea that forced us to go continuously to the toilet, turning our holidays into a real nightmare. But the worst was yet to come. The 11th of June, before leaving for the excursion to Havana, while we were having breakfast, we found a huge insect inside a croissant (the picture is attached). We were completelly disgusted and we almost started to puke all over the table.  We immediatelly showed the croissant to the waitress but she just took it and threw it in the rubbish, without even apologizing or helping us with this situation. We went to the reception to complain and as soon as they saw the picture they called a lady from the customer service. As an apologize, she offered us a free dinner with lobster. How can you offer a dinner with lobster to two people  who already had diarrhea for three days? We did not accept also because we were completelly disgusted and really didn't want to eat anymore any food coming from that kitchen.  As we had to leave for the excursion, the lady told us that they would have contacted us on the next day. During the excursion we started to feel worst and we couldn't wait to go back to the hotel. The day after nobody contacted us and we spoke to Omar, the agent of TUI who was taking care of our excursions, a very nice person who helped us a lot durind this horrible experience. We told Omar about our sickness and he spoke to another lady from the customer service who offered us the medical care at the hotel and the late check-out as an apologize. We went to the doctor who had to inject us a medication to stop the diarrhea and prescribed us antibiotics, other pills that we had to take and a diet for 48 hours (pictures attached). We had to pay for the medications 69 CUC and when whe asked for the receipe she told us that we couldn't get it because we din't pay for the medical care. If we wanted the receipe we had to pay for the appointment. (???) In the meantime, also the conditions of our room were getting worst as everytime that we were taking a shower all the water and the foam was coming out from the floor under the sink located in the other room (picture attached). On top of that sink there were two lights. One of them was broken and from that hole in the ceiling was coming out water: this was a high risk for electrical fires! (picture attached). The towels for the shower and the ones for the swimming pool/beach were often full of brown spots. In our last day, during our check-out, they tried to force us to sign a paper stating that we were happy with the late check-out as compensation and that we wouldn't have taken any further action against the hotel.  Obviously we didn't sign because what happened is unacceptable. We could have a suite in the hotel "Be live experience" for the price of 920 euros per person but we decided to pay more for a normal room because Melia is a brand known all over Europe but for sure we regret our decision because we didn't expect to receive such a bad treatment and to find such a poor customer service from the staff that often preferred to be drinking at the bar near the swimming pool next to the men's restrooms after 5 pm or asking for tips to the ladies using the women's toilet. This is not the experience that we were expecting to have staying in a Melia Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Daylis Delgado Fajardo, Ventas at Melia Las Antillas
Responded Nov 11, 2020
Dear guest: Although we are quite surprised and dismayed by the content of your review regarding your holiday at our Meliá Las Antillas , please rest assured that your comments have been taken onboard and revised by the entire Management team. We first would like to extend our sincere apologies for the imperfections of service you describe in your review and although your comments do not seem to match the usual feedback we receive both onsite and online, we will make sure to discuss your review internally so as to avoid giving this kind of impressions from our dedicated employees. We were most concerned to read your remarks on the service you expérienced whilst staying among us, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests, nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision. We also regret that our buffet couldn´t meet your expectations, mainly because the quality and the diversity of our culinary offer counts to our strengths. We take your comments regarding our cuisine very seriously, because we wish that our gastronomy remains a very special treat for our guests. Thorough cleaning is an absolute must for Meliá Las Antillas and we follow very strict protocols to guarantee satisfying results regarding hygiene and cleanliness in our hotels, for future occasions we strongly encourage you to contact our réception in the event of finding any area of uncleanliness , this will give us an opportunity to bring your remarks to the attention of our housekeeping management. We sincerely lament reading that your stay was not as pleasant as it should have been and we would be very pleased to welcome you again in the future ensuring you in advance of our utmost commitment to make your next Meliá Las Antillas holiday experience an unforgettable one for all the right reasons. Best regards.
Read more
Jessica P wrote a review May 2020
16 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
I visited Melia Las Antillas in May of 2019 with a group of 7 friends. We found the resort to be absolutely charming. We chose Melia Las Antillas because of it's proximity to the town of Varadero, and because of the layout of the resort. Everything was within a 3 minute walk of our room. We usually ask for a second or upper floor because in the tropics, when it rains, water can come in to your room if there is not proper drainage, but we were actually very comfortable on our ground floor rooms. The resort made sure to put all three of our rooms in a row which was a very nice surprise. I unfortunately can not remember our room numbers, but if you were to be looking towards the ocean, we were on the right side in the little cluster of buildings beside the main building. Our air conditioning worked wonderfully, which is a blessing. The beds were extremely comfortable, the shower was terrific, and we had no concerns with the toilet or water pressure. Our view from the sliding glass doors was of a beautiful mango tree and manicured lawn. Our chamber maid was Betty and you could not find a sweeter or harder working lady. She always greeted us with a giant smile, made sure our rooms were immaculate and that our water was fully stocked and she treated us to towel art every day. Every evening we thoroughly enjoyed the musical entertainment on the patio in the main building. The mojito bar is excellent! Honestly, best mojitos I've ever had. We also attempted to try every different fancy coffee and could not get through the list because of the wide selection. One of the best experiences of the resort was the main buffet server Clemente. He was wonderful to speak with, and if my memory serves me correctly he is fluent in many different languages. He would make sure that our drinks were topped before we even noticed that they were running low. He was also extremely entertaining with magic tricks and stories. He went above and beyond to make us feel welcomed and this was so appreciated. As for the resort itself, it is an older facility, but the maintenance staff does a terrific job. We did not use the pool because we are ocean people, but it was clean and the entertainment staff held daily activities to engage the guests. The beach was phenomenal. There were many palapas and we never had any difficulty finding enough chairs and shade for our entire group (we were visiting on off season). Unfortunately, due to no fault of the resort, our entire stay had yellow or red flagged waves but we did manage to spend a great deal of time in the water. There was not a weed to be found on the beach or in the water. This location is not ideal for snorkeling because there isn't much to see, but for $20 USD the staff on the shore will take you out on the little boat to an area about a five minute ride from shore to a reef where there are thousands of fish! I absolutely recommend doing this. It's a nice little activity where you don't need to plan ahead, or leave the resort. The food was good. Based on our previous experiences in Cuba, we usually stick to the freshly prepared buffet options such as the fish grill or the kebab grill or the beach snack bar that served fresh burgers. The food is simple but delicious. If you are looking for a resort to party at, this is not the one for you. It is an adults only resort, but the crowd while we were there was very quiet. There is a discotheque on site, but when we peeked in every night, there was only the dj and the bartender inside. We didn't mind this though, because we had brought card games and enjoyed sitting on the balcony with our specialty coffees and rum based beverages chatting with our friends - that being said, there was one night during the week that there was a party on the beach and that was a BLAST! They brought a dj out and set up a dance floor on the sand. This night was probably the most fun that we had in the evenings. We enjoy using the fitness facilities while on vacation - gotta work off all that buffet - and there was one available. The machines were very limited, but if you are not picky you can definitely make due. I wouldn't really recommend the showers, I did use them once, but they were cramped and dark. The entertainment was good. My favorite night was the synchronized swimming. Cubans are warm and inviting people, but things will be different than what you are used to. I get upset when I hear people complaining about the food not being good or things not being 100% perfect. At the end of the day, you are in a different country, and one of the most charming things about Cuba is learning about their rich culture and history. I fully believe that if you have realistic expectations and are adaptable and able to go with the flow, you will have the best best time in Cuba. I can't wait to go back. This vacation was exactly what we were looking for: peaceful, relaxing and serene.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Daylis Delgado Fajardo, Ventas at Melia Las Antillas
Responded Nov 11, 2020
Dear guest: It is really nice to read the detailed feedback you had placed about your stay in our resort. We do appreciate the time you had taken to share your valuable impressions to other users. We are glad you refer all the activities and services you enjoyed during your stay and for your comments about the staff and please be sure, we are going to extend your congratulations to them, especially the ones you mentioned. We are sure we will able to see you again in Melia Las Antillas and please feel free to contact us directly. Best regards.
Read more
SnookumsNovaScotia wrote a review Mar 2020
Digby, Canada18 contributions4 helpful votes
one of the best hotels in Varadero! The staff is so very friendly, one can always find something you like to eat in the buffet or the speciality restaurants.....we liked that we could have our lunches at the speciality restaurants . The staff were exceptional! as was the beach......
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from melia-las-antillas, Director General at Melia Las Antillas
Responded Mar 25, 2020
Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Meliá Las Antillas. We are sincerely happy to know that you enjoyed it and you certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver the best standard of service and a warm and memorable experience. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards. Laurent Labal General Manager Meliá Las Antillas
Read more
Steffi02041987 wrote a review Mar 2020
Berlin, Germany109 contributions52 helpful votes
+1
We stayed there for 6 nichts after a 5 days tour through West Cuba. The hotel is composed of a main building where also the restaurant is located and bungalows around so that the whole complex is within a life garden and Pool Area. Rooms are spacious with a balcony and bathtube. The beach can be reached through directly from the pool, where also a bar is located. At the Pool Bar you get all Drinks from 10AM. The buffet in the Restaurant was really tasty with a fresh pasta station to create it's own pasta, besides chefs have grilled fresh meat and a huge choice of sweets was offered Evers day. Also the Shows each evening wer great and before we enjoyed a Cocktail in the roof top Lobby bar. Nice and friendly staff and recommandable Hotel on the white sand beach
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from melia-las-antillas, Director General at Melia Las Antillas
Responded Mar 25, 2020
Dear Steffi, Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Meliá Las Antillas. We are sincerely happy to know that you enjoyed it and you certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver the best standard of service and a warm and memorable experience. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards. Laurent Labal General Manager Meliá Las Antillas
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$124 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
melia las antillas hotel varadero, melia hotel varadero, melia hotel las antillas, beaches varadero cuba
LOCATION
CaribbeanCubaMatanzas ProvinceVaradero
NUMBER OF ROOMS
350
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Melia Las Antillas
Which popular attractions are close to Melia Las Antillas?
Nearby attractions include Varadero Beach (0.3 miles), Cueva de Ambrosio (0.8 miles), and House of Rum (4.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Melia Las Antillas?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Melia Las Antillas?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Melia Las Antillas?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Melia Las Antillas?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Melia Las Antillas?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant La Arcada, Xanadu Restaurant, and La Panchita.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Melia Las Antillas?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Melia Las Antillas have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Melia Las Antillas offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Melia Las Antillas?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Melia Las Antillas offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Melia Las Antillas?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Cueva de Ambrosio (0.8 miles).