We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
alert icon Travel Alert: U.S. Travel Licensing Restrictions Apply for Travel to Cuba. For details, click here

Mercure Playa de Oro

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
alert icon Travel Alert: Licensing Restrictions Apply More details
Management photos
Mercure Playa de Oro
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

783 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 428: English reviews
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

First let me start by saying that the beach is to die for. From this point it goes downhill the place needs some desperate upkeep,the front staff need to be less serious ( facial expression says alot ), the food is mediocre ( be on the lookout for birds in the buffet dining room picking at the food at practically... More 

Helpful?
Thank dcastrilli
Mercure Playa d... V, Manager at Mercure Playa de Oro, responded to this review

Your comments will help us to know what we need to do in order to do it better next time, accept my sincere apologies for not cover all of your high expectations in this trip as we are working in our training and quality service and we will take actions to avoid this kind of situations in the future. We... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Been to Playa De Oro twice, Love it, staff are great. Went with my friend and was given a single king bed and the staff fixed the issue immediately. I would definitely recommend friends and family to stay there and would visit back again.

Helpful?
2 Thank Simeon S
Mercure Playa d... V, Manager at Mercure Playa de Oro, responded to this review

Thank you for your good comments about our hotel, in Mercure Playa de Oro we strive to deliver the best Quality-Price for all of our guest, all the team will be happy to know that you had a good time with us We all are looking forward to soon have a chance to serve you again Cordialmente, Jean-Luc GROSSIN-GM MERCURE... More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First time in Varadero, an oasis in Cuba with a beautiful beach front, amazing entertainment with world-class Cuban artists: dancers, musicians (wouldn't expect any less in Cuba!) The hotel all-inclusive facilities cover all your standard needs for a relaxing stay. The buffet offers a good selection of food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We unfortunately on a 2-night stay were... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank aligdrummer
Mercure Playa d... V, Manager at Mercure Playa de Oro, responded to this review

Thank you for your good comments about our hotel, in Mercure Playa de Oro we strive to deliver the best Quality-Price for all of our guest, all the team will be happy to know that you had a good time with us We all are looking forward to soon have a chance to serve you again Cordialmente, Jean-Luc GROSSIN-GM MERCURE... More 

Kingston, Ontario
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Keep in mind when you are travelling to Cuba, that the quality of everything is most likely not what it is in your home country. We did not have overly high expectations when we booked and safety was the main concern. Upon arriving we noted that everything was clean! (Not shocking, but let's face it, you never you no matter... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Friendly_Traveller_8
Mercure Playa d... V, Manager at Mercure Playa de Oro, responded to this review

Thank you for your good comments about our hotel, in Mercure Playa de Oro we strive to deliver the best Quality-Price for all of our guest, all the team will be happy to know that you had a good time with us We all are looking forward to soon have a chance to serve you again Cordialmente, Jean-Luc GROSSIN-GM MERCURE... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our 4th time to Varadero and our 7th time to Cuba and this resort certainly did not disappoint :) Resort : Rooms were always clean , shower always had hot water , water was supplied in our room every second day we would just save our bottles and ask the bartenders to fill them up :) Beach: AMAZING... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank Jenna M
Mercure Playa d... V, Manager at Mercure Playa de Oro, responded to this review

Thank you for your good comments about our hotel, in Mercure Playa de Oro we strive to deliver the best Quality-Price for all of our guest, all the team will be happy to know that you had a good time with us We all are looking forward to soon have a chance to serve you again Cordialmente, Jean-Luc GROSSIN-GM MERCURE... More 

Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were there the same time as Searchin4surfin and Emily S, and I have to agree with their reviews for the most part. The hotel is a bit tired but it is Cuba after all and they definitely do their best with what they have. Our AC worked, our doors locked, we were issued 2 keys without asking for them,... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Mare524
Mercure Playa d... V, Manager at Mercure Playa de Oro, responded to this review

Thank you for your good comments about our hotel, in Mercure Playa de Oro we strive to deliver the best Quality-Price for all of our guest, all the team will be happy to know that you had a good time with us We all are looking forward to soon have a chance to serve you again Cordialmente, Jean-Luc GROSSIN-GM MERCURE... More 

Trois-Rivieres, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Out of all our trips to Cuba, this was the most disappointing. Here are a few mentions: -Only one bottle of water in your room when you arrive, after you must purchase from their store -The A la carte restaurants, were nothing special...for the italian restaurant, they took tables and chairs and placed them near the pool and served pizza... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Marc D
Mercure Playa d... V, Manager at Mercure Playa de Oro, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, even when we are working to improve our services we regret did not fulfilled your expectations. All your valuables comments will be taken into consideration to avoid this kind of situations in the future and make sure our guest have the best Quality -Price experience We hope you will give us a chance to show... More 

Travelers are raving about these Varadero hotels

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rooms are clean, king bed very comfy, elevators prompt (1 was not working but 2 others were available), always clean towels, ample toiletries, shower a bit wierd but just fine, lots of hot water. TV works well, nothing comes with the fridge except 1 big bottle of water which you must refill at one of the bars. That was fine... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Donna S
Mercure Playa d... V, Manager at Mercure Playa de Oro, responded to this review

Thank you for your good comments about our hotel, in Mercure Playa de Oro we strive to deliver the best Quality-Price for all of our guest, all the team will be happy to know that you had a good time with us We all are looking forward to soon have a chance to serve you again Cordialmente, Jean-Luc GROSSIN-GM MERCURE... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great place and great people, we love the music and the animation day and night; for food options you are in Cuba and can't get picky...we always find something to eat and the option after hours is very decent .we will return for sure

Helpful?
1 Thank Mar R
Mercure Playa d... V, Manager at Mercure Playa de Oro, responded to this review

Thank you for your good comments about our hotel, in Mercure Playa de Oro we strive to deliver the best Quality-Price for all of our guest, all the team will be happy to know that you had a good time with us We all are looking forward to soon have a chance to serve you again Cordialmente, Jean-Luc GROSSIN-GM MERCURE... More 

Edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose the hotel based on the listed amenities including the tennis courts, weight room, windsurfing, water sports beach activities. Being new to trip advisor, we did not do the research. I traveled with my teenage son. We stayed six days from August 1 – 6 (same time as Emily S review). The review posted by her was spot on.... More 

Helpful?
9 Thank searchin4surf
Mercure Playa d... V, Manager at Mercure Playa de Oro, responded to this review

Thank you for the review of your stay in our hotel, I'm very sorry I did not have a chance to meet with you and know about this situations while you were in the hotel, solutions can be found this way. Your comments will help us to know what we need to do in order to do it better next... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,062 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1038)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (148)
Viewed
Dining (73)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (225)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
View from Room (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Other (449)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varadero
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
1228.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.0 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1262.2 mi away
Ottley's Plantation Inn
Ottley's Plantation Inn
#1 of 6 in Basseterre
5.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
718.2 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#6 of 45 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 stars 398 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the renowned Varadero resort, on a magnificient beach with crytal waters and white sands, 8km from the town centre and 35 min from the airport. The Mercure Playa de Oro offers modern architecture and decor and features an all inclusive formula, 3 restaurants, 3 bars, 1 night club, sea and sports activities and daily evening shows. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Playa de Oro

Address: Carretera Las Morlas Km 12.5, Varadero 42200, Cuba (Formerly Coralia Club Playa de Oro)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Price Range: $109 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Playa de Oro 4*
Number of rooms: 385
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Mercure Playa de Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coralia Club Playa De Oro Varadero Hotel Varadero
Playa De Oro Varadero
Coralia Playa De Oro
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#20 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay