Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa
Traveler (10402)
Panorama at the Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa
360
Panoramas (24)
Pool & Beach (2456)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#29 of 29 all-inclusives in Varadero
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.1
Value
3.9
Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, paradise on Cuba's Playa Azul.5 Star luxury Ultra All Inclusive beachfront eco-resort, situated in the area of Rincón Francés, within the ecological reserve of Varadero. This resort is stylish, charming and private, particularly in its exclusive Royal Service (Adults Only) and Family Concierge areas. The hotel blends in delightfully with the natural surroundings and boasts a spacious lobby very close to the shore on an exclusive cove-shaped beach, beautiful gardens with palm trees, surrounded by tropical vegetation, with terraces from which to enjoy the stunning sunsets. It boasts an original Yhi Spa with walkway and sea views, wedding gazebo, meetings and events area, children's games room and family rooms. Renowned for its modern, stylish rooms, all of which are Junior Suites with views of the sea, gardens or pools. Its Royal Service area offers unique experiences in excellent suites and villas.Recommended for families, weddings, honeymoons.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Tennis court
Babysitting
Parking
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Iron
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles8,611 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa boasts a beachfront location that guests love, though it comes with potential noise and a trek from town. While the hotel atmosphere is vibrant, with engaging activities and lovely room aesthetics, reviewers experienced a mix of service quality, ranging from commendable to disappointingly slow. Room conditions are a concern, with maintenance and hot water issues noted, despite some rooms being spacious and clean. Amenities like the beach and pool areas receive applause, but shortages in supplies detract from the experience. Cleanliness standards are generally high across the resort, yet some guests question the overall value, pointing to inconsistent food quality and costly extras.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Welcoming
Rooms
Dated
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Mixed

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveler reviews and learn more about how the site works.
8,611Reviews795Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 4,451
  • 1,819
  • 1,063
  • 633
  • 645
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Cameron J wrote a review Mar 2020
Cambridge, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Its a Cuban 4*
The Good
Resort is clean and maintained, it’s very open and spacious. The rooms were cleaned daily to the best of the maid’s ability (thnx Janet for always ensuring we had what we needed) our bathroom had been updated with a walk in shower with a rain-head shower but the only problem was the shower didn’t drain effectively. We stayed in the regular section, the room was spacious which met our needs, bed was comfortable. We were located close to the beach and beach restaurant (building 12) which was very convenient to everything.
The lunchtime BBQ at the beach restaurant was good but the same everyday chicken, pork, fish, rice and paella. The restaurant had salads and fruits, lots of seating with a veranda overlooking the beach.
Snack bar food was very good, usually all the choices at the snack bar were worth the wait (pizza, ham and cheese sandwich). Just remember everything happens in Cuban time, no hurry here or a sense of urgency. Breakfast was better than the buffet for us but of course a lesser selection but fresh brewed coffee. (Thanx to Jacqueline for your great service)
The beach is awesome with lots of cabana’s and lounge chairs, service was great (Thnx to Jorge waiter on the beach for your great service). Lots of beach to walk for hours. A couple of days it was very rocky at the shore which made getting into the ocean very troublesome.
The Japanese restaurant was the best a la carte restaurant, food was plentiful and tasty.
The staff was very friendly and always willing to assist if required. They try their best despite some of the short comings of the resort.
OK
The buffet was the same everyday – sometimes the food was warm/not hot. Lots of choice of chicken, pork and beef (not like the beef in North America). I know its Cuba and not expect greatness.
Bad
Numerous days they ran out of Scotch or Irish whiskey or Brandy (Thnx Jose Luis for taking care of us)
The other a la carte restaurants were ok but also had ran out of food on the menus. So just ask what is available on the menu so you don’t get your expectations up.
Ugly
They didn’t have red wine for the first 3 days and once it was available it was being diluted. A couple times at the a la carte’s the wine was 50/50 visible clear red wine.
Numerous occasions they would run out of plates, utensils at the buffet and we weren’t always assured that they were totally sanitized properly.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GeneralManagerPVA, Director General at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa
Responded Apr 13, 2020
Dear Traveler, Thank you very much for having chosen the services of Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa on your recent vacation and for recommending our hotel services and facilities. Our team feels fortunate for your past choice and for knowing that we have provided you with good service along with an unforgettable experience. We thank you also for all your recommendations according to what you found deficient in our service, surely your thoughts will be very helpful to improve our service. We would like to welcome you back home, in the near future, Best regards, Paradisus Varadero Managment
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mary B wrote a review Feb 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our second trip to the Paradisus in Royal Service and we were very pleased with our ten days at the resort. Other family members, also staying in Royal Service, were conveniently located nearby. Staff were so pleasant and accommodating, and many remembered us from our vacation there two years ago. Our second floor ocean view room was beautiful and the outdoor shower was truly delightful and a nice treat for us Canadians. Meals at the Bella Mar were always tasty and the Japanese Tepanaki restaurant was delicious and fun. We took advantage of the complimentary green fees at the nearby Varadero Golf Club and played one eighteen hole round of golf early one morning and then spent the afternoon back beside the exclusive Royal Service pool enjoying the hot sun and refreshing drinks. Bartender Jorge made an iced coffee that rivals Tim Hortons’s Ice Capuccino, while his partner Havier made a mean batch of sangria! The resort boasts a beautiful and spacious beach area. A rain storm on the day of arrival and high winds likely contributed to the heavy deposits of coral, rocks and seaweed on parts of the beach but within a day or two resort staff from all departments were out clearing rocks and sorting coral and removing seaweed, making for a much improved beach experience. We look forward to returning again with family and friends.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Royal Service is nice and quiet as it is adults only. Second floor room is more private.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GeneralManagerPVA, Director General at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa
Responded Feb 28, 2020
Dear Traveler, Thank you so much for have chosen our hotel services one more time! There is no more reward than knowing today your experience regarding your stay with us. Thank you for higligthing our Royal Services, the facilitites in this section, the food options offered there and at the rest of the Resort, as well as the service provided from our staff, who made even more special your stay. Is rewarding knowing you enjoyed our beach area and our Royal Service Private pool, we look forward to have the chance to host you a third time in our facilitites and serve you again! With Appreciation, Sergio Martínez Van Casteren General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
Kayla wrote a review Mar 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited this resort from canada from march 6 to the 13

Check in / rooms
Got at the resort very late, check in went great we stayed in the standard section. First got to our room, was very far from everything and our view was a swamp and didn't look like anyone was staying in the other rooms. Next day we asked to be switched to pool view still in standard section and we had no problem got to our new room everything was fine except our AC did not work to good but was not really a big problem for us. Found a lot of mosquitos and little black flys in room. Did not have a problem with our maid she was very nice. Overall room was a 3.5/5

Entertainment / beach / pools
Poor entertainment at this resort and not a lot of people participate. Night show started at 9:30 and ended at 10:10 so did not last for long at all. One night it said “circus show” and never ended up being that. Pool was great clean and refreshing. Grounds were a bit dirty had pigeon poop on chairs and grounds near the pool. Beach was very nice beautiful clear waters hardly any waves although they do not clean the sand very well a lot of rocks, cigarette buts ext.. one part of the beach was a bit rocky when going in the water so needed to go in on side to avoid walking on sharp rocks so maybe bring water shoes. Also not a lot of entertainment at the beach. Overall 4/5

Food / drinks / service
Food was very poor at the main buffet. Always the same thing ate rice, bread and noodles almost the whole week. Some of the food was cold and they would often run out of certain stuff like butter , salad dressing , fries and would often not get any for a few days. Ate at the japanese a la carte one night only had a reservation at 7:30 but food was great no complaints for the food there. Snack bar close to pool was alright. Drinks were decent often needed to say “light alcohol “ or else they would ruin the drink by putting to much. One day they ran out of ice, often ran out of certain drinks. also one day they ran out of cups so we couldn’t get any drinks for a couple hours although the resort did not look very busy. Service at the main buffet depended on the servers some of them where very nice always refill your drinks ask if everything was ok but others would not even bother to bring you water. Overall 2.5-3/5

Bugs
On windy days and night mosquitoes where not really a problem. On humid nights where there was no wind you would need bug spray or tee tree oil spray also worked for us. Our family personally did not get any bites at all but the other couple with us got a lot of bites even when they wore bug spray. Did not see any cockroaches or anything.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GeneralManagerPVA, Director General at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa
Responded Mar 16, 2020
Dear Kaylafougere, Greetings from Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa! Thank you so much for have choosen our services for your past vacation at Varadero. We felt honored with your choice and because you take part of your valuable time and let us to know the outcome of your stay eve we don't meet your expectations. We regret our gastronomical offers didn't meet your expectations. Our chef work very hard to get close to our main objetive which is obtain guest totally sastisfied with their offers. We apologize for not have been able to sucess on you and most regarding the service you perceive which is not the one that defines us. We would like you to give us the opportunity to assist you at our resort to ensure we provide the attentive and quality service that you and your family deserve and that has preceded us over the years. Best Regards! Sergio Martinez Van Casteren General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mike H wrote a review Mar 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
For a supposed 4* it leaves a lot to be desired. The Royal Service, for which we paid extra was non-existent and feel this was a bit of a con. There is a Jacuzzi in the bedroom and and an outside shower, which was not so good for the wife when shaving her legs with goosebumps in the shower. There is a sign in the bathroom requesting you don’t use the Jacuzzi to preserve the water. I learnt some Spanish, “Sin Senal” which translates to “No Signal” (on TV) which was the case for the entire holiday. On the second night, we turned up at our pre-booked restaurant 20 minutes late and they wouldn’t serve us. We made sure we were early every other night. Many of the options on many of the different restaurant menus were not available. We paid for ‘Royal Service’ but didn’t get much of it of an evening as we had to eat at the restaurants the butlers booked for us. A Mexican meal was never an option even though we ate at other restaurants two or three times. The food was basic. Every issue and problem we asked the butlers to put right was never acted upon, but they had 3 well practised expressions 1) Shock, used when you first complain about something. 2) Content, used with a thumbs up to say problem is fixed and 3) Horror, used when problem re-occurs next day, because it was never fixed or even looked at. The water supply was off and on intermittently. We had to compete with Canadians for available Sunbeds (a bit like the Germans). Canadians would tip staff with chocolate, which is probably responsible for the staffs occasional lack of enthusiasm. On the plus side, the staff were nice and seemed happy even though they had to queue in the local supermarkets for bare essentials. They probably didn’t really understand what we were complaining about when food options were limited and wine wasn’t available. Vintage cars were brilliant. The Cubans are definitely not a throw away society, which is nice. Most of their houses looked very basic. We complained to the Virgin Reps about various issues but they responded by not doing a thing. The clocks changed on the Saturday night prior to our Sunday flight. Our Virgin Rep gave us the wrong flight time, but good job we knew not to trust him. All in all, for such an expensive holiday, we were extremely disappointed and would not recommend this hotel to anyone. We will not be going back and will not use Virgin Holidays again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GeneralManagerPVA, Director General at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa
Responded Mar 12, 2020
Dear michaelhP8507UU, Thank you on behalf of the Paradisus Varaero Resort & Spa team for have chosen our hotel services for your past Holidays in Varadero. We know there is so many destinations and you decided and bet for us, that's why we feel grateful with your choice. We regret our Royal Services rooms did not live up your expectations. Our Royal Services Bathrooms are designed this way with the Balinese shower outside, this is a feature we have available at our website and is in all brochures also available for the knowloegde of our guest. We truly regret you haven't found a nice experience in this. We feel very dissapointed to know you coudn't enjoy the TV during you stay, certainly this must be a puntual problem, we haven't register any complain about it, it would be very usefull for the team you would have transmitted this particular situation during your stay, in order we could have offering all of our assistance with this particular matter. Regarding the A la Carte Restaurant, we always share to the guest, and even is written on the reservation, to be on time for the dinners and we always offer a 15 minutes of courtesy. You must understand there is a lot of guest who wants to enjoy the Restaurant as well, and a delay on the service will incurs on a late enter at the next sitting at the Restaurant causing delays on the services and more guest feeling unhappy. You must know we feel very disappointment for not had been able to fulfill your culinary expectations, our chef and personal work very hard to obtain in every of our guest's palade great expectations, certainly we cound't sucess on you this time. We apologoize with you for not had been able to give you the Holidays you deserved and the one we are used to gave to our guest and we hope you can have the pleasure to host you again in the near future under better circunstances and be able to offer you the true real levels of our services. With appreciation, Sergio martinez Van Casteren General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul B wrote a review Feb 2020
Manitoba, Canada
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We just arrived home after 7 days in Varadero at the Paradisus Varadero. The resort was decent and the rooms were good for the 3 of us.

I know a lot of people comment on the food at the Cuban resort's but there is no reason for cold food. It's frustrating when you fill you plate for lunch or dinner at the Main buffet and when you take a bite most of the food is cold. The best food on the resort was at the snack bar where the fried eggs, omllettes and pizzas were good.

If you only like Cuban rum and beer you will enjoy this resort. If you like wine, Pina coladas and other common Carribean drinks you will be disappointed. The only bar that offered Pina coladas was the Beach bar but they ran out after our second day. The one thing I will say is the staff working the Beach bar were some of the friendliest people on the resort... that's why their tip glass was full. I also want to include Jaquelin with the dark hair at the Snack bar because she was always smiling and helpful.

My suggestion would be to have the cleaning staff and the guys maintaining the resort switch duties with the servers and waiters. Every cleaning person and maintenance person smiled and took the time to say good morning while the wait staff barely smiled or even acknowledged you.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GeneralManagerPVA, Director General at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa
Responded Feb 28, 2020
Dear H8837OSpaulb, Thank you so much for have chosen our hotel facilities for your past Holidays in Varadero, and for taking part of your valuable time and share your impressions about the Resort. We regret knowing we haven't meet your expectations at all, and more regarding our beverages options and the way they were prepared, and the service they provided (waitress). We must apologize for this incident, which we are sharing with the head of the department involved, for the proper follow up. We also take note from your dissapointed thougths regarding the cold food, we have't experiment any particular mantainance problem with the machiines at the buffet, that's why we are going to share your comments with the rest of the managment. Our guest have the best of the priority, because we work for your total satistaction! We apologize for not had been able to offered you the best of the Holidays, the one we are used to offer to our costumers. Looking forward to host you under better circunstances! Sergio Martínez Van Casteren General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tanja wrote a review Jan 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 6 nights at Paradisus Resort. The resort is very nicely designed, with spacious and clean rooms, a large swimming pool (although without sunshades and shade), a large beach with lots of beds, palm trees below which you can lie in the shade. But the service is horrible, nothing works. Everything we asked for (extra water, coffee for coffee maker, umbrella) we got nothing, even after a lot of interventions and requests. If they serve soup, then there is no spoon, if they serve juice, then no glass ..... and so on forever for 6 days. There are plenty of cocktails on the bar, but when you order, then no lime for most Food is average, just like everywhere else in Cuba, but far, very far from 5 *. Absolutely too expensive
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Not near the pool, because of night events and noise
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GeneralManagerPVA, Director General at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa
Responded Jan 16, 2020
Dear TanjaCooky, Thank you so much for have chosen Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa for your past holidays in varadero. We appreciate your feeback because we value your opinion, and even we didn't meet your expextations your words are very important for our managment, so we wan througth your comments and recomendations, improve our service. We apologize if we cound't left a good impression on you, and because you didn't enjoyed your holidays with us, and more regarding the service received, and the quality from our facilitites. In this senses we will like to express those are not common ways of service at the Resort, that's why we are regretting not been able to fulfill your execptations. We hope we can have the chance to host you again in the near future under better circunstances! Best Regards! Sergio Martínez Van Casteren General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
liamharriser wrote a review Mar 2020
Sleaford, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
So my partner and I had booked almost 2 years prior to our visit with Thomas cook, and with there consuquenial collapse we decided to book everything individually.
This meant having constant communication with Liller(social media manager) and driatne(wedding coordinator)who went above and beyond any question or query asked. Lillier was amazingly helpful with any information needed, booking a return taxi for our friends and even a video call to answer our queries.
Upon arrival at the hotel with our 16 other guests my partner and I was whisked away to our upgraded room in the royal service section (as part of the FREE wedding package due to the amount of guests).
Our room was excellent, although classic cuban tired, but was above and beyond our expectations! The royal service section was great, drinks were amazing and service to match.
So on our first week in the hotel the food in the main section area was particukarly bad, seemed to be no organisation whatso ever and noticeably unhappy staff which led to my family and friends being pretty upset. There seemed to be a large shortage of what was on the actual menus, was told allot when we went to order that they didnt have that today, which seemed to be a common theme.
4 of our guests(2 rooms) where not happy with there rooms of which 1 couple decided to speak to the staff in which they got moved to a great room with a great view!
On the lead up to our wedding we had a couple of meetings with driatne the wedding coordinator who is seriously amazing at her job, she had thought of everything and she could not have done more for us. The day of our wedding was awsome, it all went smoothly from the hotel providing me the groom with a separate room for the night before, pressing my shirt and delivering the flowers etc.
The location was decorated beautifully, the reception and food after on the beach was amazing with a private bar was everything we could have asked for!


The main lobby bar, understaffed and a huge glass shortage, drinks quality really varied but if you like rum your in the right place. It did spoil the main lobby area knowing you had to wait 10 plus minutes for a drink.
The day after our wedding we was given a feedback from in which we wrote the above. The day after that I was told the executive chef had been removed from his post and a new chef instated in which we Immediately noticed a dramatic improvement to the buffet area.
So kudos for that.
Overall we had a amazing stay made great by great staff a beautiful location.

So if any managers are reading this you seriously need to appreciate liller and driatne, they 100% made our stay.
Once the food issues are resolved you will be much more of a contender in the world market when it comes to holiday locations!
Beautiful place and wonderful people!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GeneralManagerPVA, Director General at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa
Responded Mar 18, 2020
Dear liamharriser, On behalf of all the Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa team we thank you for have chosen our hotel services for your past holidays. We feel grateful because among so many destinations in Varadero and Cuba you choose us as the perfect spot for your wedding celebration. Today is very rewarding for us knowing you had a lovely weeding in our hotel facilitites, that you received a good service and that part from our staff contributed in making of your stat and wedding memorables ones. We thank you also for all your recommendations and thougths regarding improvements in our service. Certainly your words are our most important tool to identy our hotel weakness and also to celebrate our good work. We hope we can have the chance to host you and your family in the near future, do not hesitate to contact us if you need assistance with your next booking. With Appreciation, Sergio Martínez Van Casteren General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ajmon wrote a review Feb 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived on Feb 13th for a week, travelling with 16 of us. The resort is beautiful and the beach is amazing. The staff is rude and the quality of the food is very poor. No cola at any bar after 2pm, or pina coladas. Room service never shows up and our fridge was never restocked even after talking with our concierge every day. We stayed at the reserve side and the rest of the group stayed at the standard area. If you do go don’t waste your money at the reserve side stay at the standard area it’s close to the beach and pool area. Very disappointed with this resort and probably will not return to Cuba.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GeneralManagerPVA, Director General at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa
Responded Feb 28, 2020
Dear Traveler, Thannk you for have chosen our hotel services for your past stay at varadero Cuba and for share your thougths and recomendations with the community. We regret you haven't found in our facilitites a good Resort to return. Is very dishearting for us knowing you didn't enjoyed our facilities and more regarding the quality fo our culinary offers at Bufet and Drinks at the room, and in general the service. We look forward to improve them and to provide the best service to our guest, because at the end of the day is all about your total satisfaction! Best Regards! Sergio Martínez Van Casteren General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hilal wrote a review Feb 2020
Toronto, Canada
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I took my family here for a week from February 16-23 and we stayed at The Reserve section (aka Family Concierge). The property is large and is beautifully landscaped and the beach is fantastic. I enjoyed the paella and the fish and chicken at the daily beach BBQ. Breakfast buffet was poor and dinner buffets were average. I ate lunch mostly at the beach BBQ. The à la carte restaurants were decent and the only place where prawns and shrimp were served. The sea here is gorgeous. The waters are blue, warm, shallow and calm when the weather is good. The staff at The Reserve pool and pool bar and snack bar were rude and offered poor service, so we spent most of our time at the pool on the 'regular side' of the resort. Room service had limited offerings and most items were not available. There was no sugar or creamer or coffee for the coffee maker, so we ordered coffee in the morning via room service and it took almost an hour to arrive every time. The room service guys always hang around for tips, which got annoying and I had to ask them to leave often. I enjoyed the property and the beach but the general manager and food and beverage manager of this resort should be replaced for the pathetic food options at the buffets. There was no shrimp or prawns for lunch or dinner on even a single day and food was very repetitive and this brings down the entire experience for non-Royal Service guests. Many guests complained there was no bacon for breakfast. I overheard people complain of the quality of meat used and the lack of boneless chicken breasts. Seafood choices were poor despite Varadero being a fishing town! For the poor food choices on offer, the GM is directly responsible. You rarely saw management walking around and asking guests if everything was OK. Plates and glasses at restaurants always were dirty. Plastic cups at pool bars were rinsed at sink in front of you and reused, which is not sanitary! Friends who stayed at a neighbouring resort paid less than we did and had better food on offer there.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GeneralManagerPVA, Director General at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa
Responded Feb 28, 2020
Dear hilalsuhaib, On behalf of all the Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa team we will like to thank you for have chosen our hotel services for your past Holidays and also for share your experience with the communnity. First of all we thank you for share your best thougths regarding our beatiful beach and hotel sourroundings. On the other hand we regret you have found in our hotel an average experience, that our The Reserve side didn't meet your expectations at all. For us is very disheatening knowing you didn't enjoyed our hotel services and more regarding some issues with our culinary options. Our executive cheft will take note from your recommedantions so we can improve our services througth your comments. We look forward to your visit under better circunstances! With Appreciaiton Sergio Martinez Van Casteren General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Camilo G wrote a review Jan 2020
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
When I booked at the hotel I was promised a ton of things that were frankly not in the hotel. The food was horrible (not even the restaurants were mildly good), attention was terrible as there were huge lines to eat. We had a reservation for the 31st of december for a special new years dinner, which was frankly disgusting, and for which we had to stand in line for 40 minutes past the hour we had reserved. The attention was horrible, and we had to ask for the same thing to four or five different servers in order to get it. Even the costumer service lines were huge, and they did not help us at all with several issues in our rooms such as missing bathroom doors, lights that would not turn off, horrible paint smells in the rooms, keys for the doors that would not work well, and lots of other issues. In my stay there I met mexicans, peruvians, argentinians, germans, hungarians, and a lot of persons, and the general feeling was one of disapointment. I did not meet the first person who actually thought the hotel was worth the money. I frankly felt like I was staying at a two star hotel. TWO STARS. It was supposed to be an all included stay. My conclusion, is that the only thing that was all included was being hungry all day. The drinks were not good in the bar, and all my family was frankly disapointed. Bad food, bad attention, insuficent buffetes (if you arrived past the time it opened they ran out of many things). The only good thing in the hotel was the beach. If you were to judge the hotel by the ammount of complaints client services received, I dont think the hotel would have had a good score.

Aditionally, I think that many of the reviews in this page are biased or false. The big pool in the hotel was closed until december 28, and many of the services were also closed. It was a really bad stay for a lot of clients, particularly in december, and I dont think that the reviews reflect it, particularly the reviews which date to december.

Do yourself a favor and DO NOT STAY HERE. It was frankly disapointing.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GeneralManagerPVA, Director General at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa
Responded Jan 6, 2020
Dear 127camilog, Greetings from Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa! On behalf of all of our entire team we will like to thank you for choosing us as your holidays destination and sharing your experience even we didn`t meet your expectations. We regret that you have experienced those inconvenience with getting in line for the buffet, the lack of attention and the several issues with your room. Those are not a commom way of service at the resort. We are sorry to hear that our buffets did not live up your expectations. The food variation in our buffets is an essential part of our quality standards .Our executive Chef will take note of your feedback to make appropriate changes in the future. We are so disappointed to know how much we have failed in meeting your expectations. It's so disheartening all of this, since is our commitment is accomplish our guest's desires and making their stay comfortable and pleasant. We will like to host you in the future, under better circumstances! Best Regards! Sergio Martínez Van Casteren General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Frank Yuan Fan O
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada56 contributions46 helpful votes
Yes there is a store on site which between the lobby and the pool. However, their time of opening can change from time to time.
Answer from Renée Du Canada
Canada295 contributions95 helpful votes
I would recommend it. We needed two beds, girls trip that the reason the Royal section was not for us. Royal has only king size beds. But I really like the bar, the smaller restaurant at the Reserve. The Royal has rooms by the ocean. I don’t know the price.
Answer from Renée Du Canada
Canada295 contributions95 helpful votes
Our room was in the Reserve section with a balcony facing a pool. Block#40. All the rooms had a balcony with sliding doors. But we had a regular room, not a 1 bedroom master suite. I don’t know if this answer well your question.
Justin A wrote a tip Jul 9
Hamilton, Canada2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring Mosquito repellent for sure. And medicine incase you need it. "
Read full review
Susan G wrote a tip Jun 2024
Calgary, Canada7 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Mosquito repellent and sunscreen. Most of all come to enjoy not complain . Respect "
Read full review
Jeffrey R wrote a tip Jun 2024
Ostend, Belgium3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Being cash, a lot (dollars, euros). We ran out quickly in Havana and unfortunately had nothing left once we reached the hotel."
Read full review
Traveler615972 wrote a tip Jun 2024
3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is available. Just be careful with your belongs"
Read full review
Obiora N wrote a tip May 2024
Hamilton, Canada1 contribution2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Would be nice to know if they offer services and entertainment at peak seasons only. We only had some band play during one of the days."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Varadero area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
paradisus varadero hotel varadero, paradisus varadero resort and spa, varadero paradisus, paradisus varadero cuba
LOCATION
CaribbeanCubaMatanzas ProvinceVaradero
NUMBER OF ROOMS
802
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PARADISUS VARADERO RESORT & SPA - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Playa Varadero (1.6 miles), Cueva de Ambrosio (0.6 miles), and Varahicacos Ecological Reserve (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Xanadu Restaurant, Restaurant La Arcada, and La Panchita.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
All Varadero HotelsVaradero Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Varadero
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars